View Full Version : What foreign clubs do you support?

15/02/2005, 11:11 AM
....and be honest because there are some people on here who like to slag the English game but support a team underneath it all.

Personally, I mainly support Man Utd and look out for the results of Gillingham.

15/02/2005, 11:13 AM
Darlington, but I have also have a soft spot for Blyth Spartans and always look out for their results, its my dream that one day Pats get to play these. I suppose we all live in hope.....

Hibs4Ever
15/02/2005, 11:14 AM
....and be honest because there are some people on here who like to slag the English game but support a team underneath it all.

Personally, I mainly support Man Utd and look out for the results of Gillingham.

I lived in London for 4 years and was a season ticket holder at Barnet FC. Was there the day day got relegated at home to Torquay :( But they're now 15 points clear at top of the conference. Come on the Bee's :D

Karlos
15/02/2005, 11:17 AM
I'm a Gooner but for some reason have always had a liking for Charlton Athletic since I was about 8 or 9. I think I liked the crest in my panini album back in the day. Always look out for their results after the gunners.

15/02/2005, 11:26 AM
Super Leeds!!!!!!!! :cool:

Also keep an eye out for Queens Park Rangers as I had their school bag when I was a wee fellah and still have their subbuteo team :)

cullenswood
15/02/2005, 11:32 AM
Man United fan since '84, but have always kept an eye on Wycombe Wanderers since their days in the Vauxhall conference, and their battles with Kidderminister Harriers. I think they lost out on goal difference the year before they got promotion

15/02/2005, 11:38 AM
Whoever has the Irish. :)

15/02/2005, 11:45 AM
Manchester United

15/02/2005, 11:49 AM
I change 'my' team in the UK almost by the season, though my soft spot will always be Liverpool.

This season though I have liking for Palace, Villa, QPR, and I will always look out for Lincolns results, as I used swap fanzines with them.

15/02/2005, 11:58 AM
Im a Man U fan through and through..... But always look out for Plymouth's results as a former Bray player is with them...... ;)

joey B
15/02/2005, 11:59 AM
Liverpoool.

15/02/2005, 12:31 PM
Leeds

15/02/2005, 12:32 PM
Are a lot of the Leeds fans got to do with what David O'Leary did there :confused:

15/02/2005, 12:42 PM
Used to be Liverpool, but I took an instant dislike to Houllier, who took over at around the time I started going to UCD games, so that's faded a lot now. Have been keeping an eye out for Colchester's results since they were relegated to the Conference in 1990 because they had a young highly-rated Irish midfielder playing for them (Mark Kinsella). Also keep a close eye on AFC Wimbledon, storming the Ryman League Division One!

Closed Account 2
15/02/2005, 12:51 PM
Tranmere Rovers

15/02/2005, 12:55 PM
Me's Leeds too and not because of O'Leary either.
Had tickets for Watford game last August but game was postponed because of U-21 call-ups :(
Got a free trip around Elland Road though when we turned up and explained what happened, as well as a refund.

15/02/2005, 12:59 PM
Im a Man U fan through and through..... But always look out for Plymouth's results as a former Bray player is with them...... ;)

Snap.

15/02/2005, 1:03 PM
Liverpool since I was a young fella, always look out for teams with ex CCFC players which at the moment are Wrexham, Hull and Bury.

adamcarr
15/02/2005, 1:07 PM
Birmingham City!

15/02/2005, 1:57 PM
Manchester United for me. Dundalk FC vs. Manchester United in 1994 - what a day. Since then I have gone to at least one game a season in Old Trafford.

liam88
15/02/2005, 2:04 PM
Nearest teams here are Aldershot, Fanborough, Woking (all eqaul distance);
One of ma best mates from school plays for Aldershot so have a spot for them :) they are my pick fo those 3.
Only English team of any sport I strongly support, regularly watch, have jersey etc. is Guildford Flames ice hockey :D

trevy
15/02/2005, 2:06 PM
Liverpool.I've supported them since the late 80's when we had a great team.
We're not half the team nowadays but you have to stay loyal.

Ruairi
15/02/2005, 2:36 PM
Birmingham City!

ooohh. was over at villa park recently and came back with an unexplainable hatred of ye bluenoses....

martin_rules_ie
15/02/2005, 2:50 PM
ManU through n through.
the Irish connection lik!

aberharp
15/02/2005, 2:55 PM
man utd

15/02/2005, 3:45 PM
Used to like Leeds, but my interest faded when I started supporting City, and when that pillock O'Leary took over, I began to actively DISlike them. The man really annoys me. I always look out for Blackburn, and the teams with ex-city players: Bury, Hull and Wrexham. But after City, Real Madrid would be my second team

harpskid
15/02/2005, 4:09 PM
Don't particularly have an English team, although I went through a faze around '94 with Man U, but started followin' Harps then and haven't looked back since.

Like Pineapple, i always keep an eye on AFC Wimbledon's results and always look out for S****horpe, mainly because they have a supporters club here that is run by a big Harps fan

corkharps
15/02/2005, 4:39 PM
Derry City! :eek:

15/02/2005, 4:42 PM
Lol :D :D

joeraki
15/02/2005, 4:48 PM
Derry City! :eek:

Only someone living Cork could think Derry was in England :rolleyes: ;)

West Ham for me, true working mans club, and I lived neaby the ground for 3 years

ollie
15/02/2005, 5:21 PM
Blackburn.it started because kevin Moran was playing with them.

adamcarr
15/02/2005, 5:23 PM
ooohh. was over at villa park recently and came back with an unexplainable hatred of ye bluenoses....
Ill prob be making the trip over next year to the blues Vs The scum anyway!

15/02/2005, 5:29 PM
crystal palace ever since i was a toddler. going over again in april for a massive game against norwich. tickets came through the door last week :D

adamcarr
15/02/2005, 5:30 PM
going over again in april for a massive game against norwich.
How did you manage to get tickets for that?? ;)

15/02/2005, 5:33 PM
How did you manage to get tickets for that?? ;)

almost sold-out already. probably palaces biggest game of the season

Docboy
15/02/2005, 5:33 PM
20 years next year following the yids, ie spurs,and finally we look like we're getting a side together. Was at the game v West Brom at the weekend,very impressed with keane's nerve having to wait 4 mins before sticking the peno away,bags of confidence.

15/02/2005, 5:36 PM
Man U but also like Sunderland(minus their manager), Cardiff and Birmingham.

15/02/2005, 5:38 PM
Ill prob be making the trip over next year to the blues Vs The scum anyway!

From the stories we were told a few wks ago, you would probably be well advised to steer clear of Blooooze Vs Villa.

Besides, having been at both their stadiums, VP is far nicer than SA.

Kerry Blue
15/02/2005, 6:36 PM
Manchester United since 1982.

liam88
15/02/2005, 9:56 PM
always look out for ex-ramblers.....Man United,Man City :D
Aye deffo says somthing about our club feeding Man. Utd compared to the City boys feeding Wrexham.....mabye there was something in "City are the second best team in Cork" afterall :D

16/02/2005, 8:10 AM
Aye deffo says somthing about our club feeding Man. Utd compared to the City boys feeding Wrexham.....mabye there was something in "City are the second best team in Cork" afterall :D
Ahh these young fellas. Probably before ye were born.
The ex City player at Wrexham is Brian Carey who was signed from City by Alex Ferguson after the 89 Cup Final. He was captain of the Man Utd reserves for a long time but due to the Bruce-Pallister situation at the time he never really broke through. Has been a great servant to Wrexham.
Also I believe it was Notts Forest that Ramblers fed and not Man Utd.

16/02/2005, 12:47 PM
I dont I'm Irish not english.

A few lads put all english league clubs in a hat a few years back and picked out northampton town. They go over once a year just for the p1ss up really they couldnt give a fcuk about the club. IMO that's the way it should be.

Irish people supporting an english club sums up this country :mad: Although I have absolutely no problem if they support their local EL club first.

16/02/2005, 12:48 PM
A few lads put all English league clubs in a hat a few years back and picked out Northampton Town. They go over once a year just for the p1ss up really
Quality!

Although I have absolutely no problem if they support their local EL club first.
I think that was implied (or at least, it's true in most cases here)

4tothefloor
17/02/2005, 12:35 AM
Liverpool since I was about 5. Can't understand how people can change the clubs that they support, whether you dislike the manager or not. A true supporter has one loyalty, and sticks with that club through thick and thin. Apart from Liverpool, I have no interest in any other English club. In Spain I look out for Barca's results, can't stand Real Madrid. In Italy, I look out for AC Milan's results, but I wouldn't consider myself a real fan of these clubs.

17/02/2005, 3:20 AM
i wonder is their any topics on english sites "what IRISH teams do you support?"

dont think so ;)

17/02/2005, 10:52 AM
F***ing great news

pats have just announced a friendly v Darlington.....now if only we can swing a game v Spartans my dreams will have come true!!!!!!!!!!!1

17/02/2005, 10:54 AM
Dont support any 'English' club but support Cardiff City who play in the English league. Used to live over there and went to the games, the Div 1 standard was decent enough, far better than EL or SPL

I've been looking out for Everton lately, they've a mighty spirt

17/02/2005, 11:24 AM
Not really....that's due mainly to the arrogance of their media & pundits....only took an interest in La Liga & Serie Á when Eng.players went to play there....... :rolleyes:

your point being what?????? the spanish media couldnt give a fiddlers about the premiership in england and only acknowledged its existence (in any form) when reyes signed for arsenal - jaysus get over your colonoiztion inferiority complex

its perfectly natural

17/02/2005, 11:35 AM
davros...i think we all know by now you dont like the EL :rolleyes:

17/02/2005, 11:38 AM
Stay on topic please lads.

Davros, if you have nothing constructive to post, open a Celtic thread or something. This thread is about which English teams do people support, not about anything else.

Anyways, Im going to London in 2 weeks to see Fulham Vs Charlton in Craven Cottage. Easyjet is pure cheap lately.