View Full Version : Eastenders

15/02/2005, 11:08 AM
I wonder who'll be the first person to say 'it's sh!t' or say 'why do you watch that rubbish' etc!! :rolleyes:

It's going to be class this week. The whole revenge on Den storyline is really heating up now. I actually reckon it won't be Sam Chrissy or Zoe that kills him and that there will be surprise twist.
As for Andy Hunter, he thinks he's the main man and Johnny Allen doesn't seem to appriciate this so I reckon he'll be responsible for Andy's downfall. I actually think it's a shame that they are killing off Andy as he's probably the best character in it, has a real nastyness about him and a meanacing tone of voice and facial expressions.
One hour special on Friday night, think I'll have a few beers whilst watching it before heading out. :)

lopez
15/02/2005, 11:11 AM
It's sh*t! Why do you watch that rubbish?

15/02/2005, 11:12 AM
It's sh*t! Why do you watch that rubbish?

:D :D :D :D

15/02/2005, 11:17 AM
I think it gets funnier and funnier. So Den convinces some girl to pretend to his son that she's having his baby only she can't get his son to give her the necessary semen ergo Den pops up and volunteers and now he's in trouble with his wife who will take his pub and the girl is upset and her family is upset and the son has disappeared blah blah blah.

There are episodes of Star Trek with less nonsense in them.

It's on the up big time though Conor. They've brought back the producer from years ago and he's really shaking things up. The addition of Johnny Allen and his family (it's just a pity we can't have him AND Andy) and the axing of the Ferreras will go a long way to improving it. Peggy, Phil and Grant Mitchell are also supposed to be returning before the end of the year and he's also trying to tempt Frank Butcher to come back.

Gareth
15/02/2005, 11:17 AM
I kinda catch bits of this show on tv cos people in my house watch it, so like any soap, 20 minutes of seeing it now and then and your pretty much up to speed. Eastenders seems to be trying to pull all the old boys out of the hat and its not working. You had Den return, now Barbara Windsor is returning with the Mitchell brothers, Phil (confirmed he's returned) and Grant (in discussions) coming back. The Asian family they had in it were so annoying and that new bunch they introduced seem to have taken up the role of most annoying. I think its a dreadful program personally and does little to interest me. That Lil Mo one, her facial expressions look as thou she is 10 degrees past demented.

15/02/2005, 11:19 AM
I think it gets funnier and funnier.
Are you sure it's Eastenders you're talking about? Most depressing soap, ever. Even the missus has given up on Eastenders now as it písses her off so much. Supposedly the East End was reknowned for it's wit and humour, you wouldn't think so watching that programme.

Hibs4Ever
15/02/2005, 11:20 AM
Not gonna be worth watching now that Zoe is leaving :(

DAM SHE FINE :D

15/02/2005, 11:20 AM
I kinda catch bits of this show on tv cos people in my house watch it

Ah yes that old one! ;)
It just happens to be on so you can't avoid watching it!! :D

lopez
15/02/2005, 11:27 AM
There are episodes of Star Trek with less nonsense in them.Actually you are right there. :) I mean, so she tells some porkies about being in the family way. In real life it'd be oops, I dropped it down the khasi. In Soaplandia she sleeps with a decrepid old murderer and Bobs your auntie, she's up the duff.

I think it is acutally quite real life...to what happens in Radlett where the show is made (well the cr*p part where the Jews don't live), which is a long way from the East end. Full of mockney w*nkers who wouldn't know their ar*e from their elbow, talking like Parker out of Thunderbirds. Actually I quite like it. :o Missed the Friday version. Durrty Den's gonna get his cumuppence, make no mistake? He'll be back in fifteen years to bang up another unsuspecting teenager. More real life - and a better example - would have been charging the c*nt for underage sex with the new mouthy Slater bird and watching him put in with the nonces in Strangeways. But hey, this is Soaplandia! :D

Ruairi
15/02/2005, 11:31 AM
Paul from the show was in the office yesterday.. he got killed off recently or somethin he's tiny.. well the same height as me like...

Aldini98
15/02/2005, 11:38 AM
Glad they're getting rid of Andy, I'd fancy me chances of kicking the sh*t out of him, its stupid that Alfie doesn't just clock him one anytime he makes a smart comment.

15/02/2005, 11:40 AM
Ah yes soap operas -working class people depicted the way middle class people feel most comfortable percieving them -workshy, belligerent, passively criminal turning to actively criminal the instant they're offered an "in" on a "stroke", bad minded, swindling, dole grabbers who can't operate even the most basic contraceptive devices and will s h i t on each other for a fiver. :rolleyes:

No comebacks about how working class people love soaps please.
Very tired argument as study after study shows working class and lower income groups are watching more and more TV in record numbers as it's relatively cheap entertainment.

As for Eastendahs wot a carry on eh? :rolleyes:

15/02/2005, 11:43 AM
It has to be the most depressing heap of rubbish on the telly, barely one step above reality TV.
I don't get people watching soaps at all, your own life is depressing enough without having to put up with someone else's fake depressing life.

Anyway, if eastenders was really true to life, they'd all sit around in that dingy coffee shop talking about what happened on Coronation Street the previous night.

Jesus, read a book, go for a walk, don't waste your life watching that rubbish.

15/02/2005, 12:32 PM
It's tv, fantasy, light relief, soap opera...not real life or reflective of it, even though they pretend it is by putting up public service announcements warning you "if you have been affected in any way by what you have just seen " blah blah.

Its a good laugh if you don't take it too seriously. I'd be more of an Emmerdale man myself....that Amy Nuttall that Alan Smith is porking, and yer wan, the Aussie behind the bar with the huge baps....now theres a soap worth watchin'... :D :D

$Leon$
15/02/2005, 12:39 PM
. I'd be more of an Emmerdale man myself....

in a word KATIE

Babysis
15/02/2005, 12:40 PM
It has to be the most depressing heap of rubbish on the telly, barely one step above reality TV.

Eastenders is depressing for the most part, especially compared to corrie. Much funnier, even when its covering depressing stories. Soaps are just meant as a bit of escapism.

15/02/2005, 12:50 PM
Soaps are just meant as a bit of escapism.

That's just it, I'd sooner not have my escape tunnel come up in the middle of the Queen Vic ;)

15/02/2005, 1:32 PM
Even if he got the pig, he did better than Harry Kewell whose wife was also stuck behind the Woolpack for a while.
Stuck behind, or stuck under ;)

Emmerdale has pretty good story lines, for a soap, though a plane crash and terrorist attack is a bit mch in a Yorkshire Valley. Corrie has come back well in recent years.
The Lockerby storyline - big controversy over that, even coincided with the anniversary. Think that was when it went from being Emmerdale Farm to Emmerdale, if not it was certainly when they made the change over character wise.

Corrie remains the best imo, the right mix of comedy and serious story lines. Chesney, Tyrone, The Duckworths and now the Goths. :D

15/02/2005, 1:43 PM
Stuck behind, or stuck under ;)

Evil..but funny.. :D

15/02/2005, 4:07 PM
Corrie remains the best imo, the right mix of comedy and serious story lines. Chesney, Tyrone, The Duckworths and now the Goths. :D
agreed

18/02/2005, 12:20 PM
Well lads it's the big one hour special tonight. To be honest I couldn't give a sh!t about the Den story but the clash between Andy and Johnny is going to be class.

18/02/2005, 12:55 PM
I was always an Eastenders boy but it's gone through the floor in the last few years. Corrie is about a million times better now I'd say though I only watch either of them a coupla times a week if I'm near a telly.

18/02/2005, 1:30 PM
the clash between Andy and Johnny is going to be class.

Yes...it's going to be good alright...Johnnys gonna get Andys ass kicked...probably by one of the Moon boys or this new geezer who's just been released. I reckon Johnnys also gonna start throwing one into that near-human underground road tunnel, Paaaaaat !!

Good actor tht guy that plays Johnny, he also played bent copper Don Beech for many years in The Bill....Billy Murray I think his name is.

18/02/2005, 1:55 PM
There's a really fit bird in it I think.
Something Ryan is her name in real life??? (I'm too lazy to google)
Dark hair, young enough?
If I knew she was going to be on I could tolerate it with the sound down.

Aldini98
18/02/2005, 2:05 PM
I was always an Eastenders boy but it's gone through the floor in the last few years. Corrie is about a million times better now I'd say though I only watch either of them a coupla times a week if I'm near a telly.

Corries good but the whole Shelleys love life thing is a f-ing joke, NOBODY can be that blonde !!!!! :rolleyes:

18/02/2005, 2:12 PM
whole Shelleys love life thing is a f-ing joke

What's happening with her?
I think I might fancy her but I'm not sure.
She's so not my type which is why I'm confused.
Is she still with Mr. Mother & Daughter Combo?

18/02/2005, 4:07 PM
Good actor tht guy that plays Johnny, he also played bent copper Don Beech for many years in The Bill....Billy Murray I think his name is.

Yeah he's very good alright.
The guy who plays Andy, Michael Higgs, also played a bent copper in the Bill. Eddie Santini.
Both of them are excellent actors imo.

lopez
18/02/2005, 4:44 PM
Yeah he's very good alright.
The guy who plays Andy, Michael Higgs, also played a bent copper in the Bill. Eddie Santini.
Both of them are excellent actors imo.The Bill was tops for totty recently. Although not to everyone's taste there were the blonde bird - Kerry?? - with the big lips that got shot; the black bird that looked like Mica Paris but without the attitooood; and the veteran Samantha Dixon. Phwoooooaarr!! :eek: It's gone down hill of late IMO, though. :(

footballplease
18/02/2005, 5:12 PM
...'There's a really fit bird in it I think.
Something Ryan is her name in real life??? (I'm too lazy to google)
Dark hair, young enough?
If I knew she was going to be on I could tolerate it with the sound down.'

... ah yeah - Zoe Slater - best body ive ever seen on TV (drooool!!!)

:cool:

18/02/2005, 5:14 PM
ah yeah - Zoe Slater - best body ive ever seen on TV (drooool!!!)

:cool:

I don't fancy her at all at all.
Sam is probably about the best of the Eastenders women at present.

footballplease
18/02/2005, 5:25 PM
yeah colm - but the body!!!!

lopez
18/02/2005, 11:31 PM
Like Mica Paris? There's about 5 people who can picture what you mean!!In The Bill? :confused:

sylvo
19/02/2005, 7:57 AM
Jesus, read a book, go for a walk, don't waste your life watching that rubbish.

You have hit the nail right on the head and I couldn't agree more, last thing I want to see after a day of stress with workers fighting with management (myself included) and stress through sitting in traffic jams is to come home and have people in s***e soap operas playing stressed out f**kers who just want to fight with each other.

sylvo
19/02/2005, 8:08 AM
Are you sure it's Eastenders you're talking about? Most depressing soap, ever. Even the missus has given up on Eastenders now as it písses her off so much. Supposedly the East End was reknowned for it's wit and humour, you wouldn't think so watching that programme.

It may have been a funny place to live with witty Cockneys before the Lufftwaffe came along and turned it into a replica of the map of Holland, but now its best known for everyone being a mate of the Krays and every one who's native to the area being a bit of a gangster, high rise tower blocks but a great place to go for a curry.

21/02/2005, 8:32 AM
now its best known for everyone being a mate of the Krays
And they all forget they tried to take Manchester and failed :cool:

Watched Eastenders there yesterday (lost control of the remote as I'd managed to get most of the BBC FA Cup games in!). Fairly pathetic if you ask me. If thats the best they can do after weeks of planning etc then they're really in trouble. Compare it to the final Richard Hillman episodes or Mad Maya - not up to standard at all...

lopez
21/02/2005, 2:32 PM
...If thats the best they can do after weeks of planning etc then they're really in trouble. Compare it to the final Richard Hillman episodes or Mad Maya - not up to standard at all...Sad...but, can't wait for Our Katy to do in her Ginga* dad, Tommy after aborting her baby when she believes Tommy's accusation that 'Florence' is having an affair with Street bike, Sally Webster, who's having an affair with the German manager out of Footballers Wives instead. :o This plot looks like being the mother of all unlikely soap plots. :rolleyes:

* No 'racism' implied as my old man is ginga.

04/03/2005, 7:22 AM
It's on the up big time though Conor. They've brought back the producer from years ago and he's really shaking things up. The addition of Johnny Allen and his family (it's just a pity we can't have him AND Andy) and the axing of the Ferreras will go a long way to improving it. Peggy, Phil and Grant Mitchell are also supposed to be returning before the end of the year and he's also trying to tempt Frank Butcher to come back.

Jaysus there'll be a storyline with Pat Butcher as a lesbo coming soon so.

$Leon$
04/03/2005, 9:48 AM
Jaysus there'll be a storyline with Pat Butcher as a lesbo coming soon so.
as far as i no she is a lesbian in real life

04/03/2005, 2:16 PM
as far as i no she is a lesbian in real life

i heard that too, christ she is an awful sight for any human to get close to, isn't she? i loved frank butcher, he was great craic. and janine, the bitch was great too.