View Full Version : Who will you play first???

Pages : 1 [2]

harpskid
15/02/2005, 3:55 PM
What is it with yous hoors bookin' holidays for the start of the season,

Tut, tut :eek:

15/02/2005, 3:58 PM
just thinking about it, Bray away would have to be everyone's opening day nightmare :eek:

Neish
15/02/2005, 3:58 PM
What is it with yous hoors bookin' holidays for the start of the season,

Tut, tut :eek:

Aye I know but Its the only time that suited as 3 of my fellow travellers are attending college and thats their week holiday and a study week.

One got thing is that I May learn some Chinese swear words for the visiting keepers :)

harpskid
15/02/2005, 4:00 PM
At least we'll have an extra couple of fans if we're in Dublin and you convince yer mates to go

Agreed DeTown, Bray would be a nightmare

Neish
15/02/2005, 4:05 PM
One of the guys has already said he would. Still may make A HOME GAME ON the Saturday depending on what time busses run Sunday our flight leave dublin at 4pm, but bus timetable only valid to march 16th

15/02/2005, 4:25 PM
just thinking about it, Bray away would have to be everyone's opening day nightmare :eek:
Why the hell would bray away be a nightmare!!!!!! Because we're so good and talented... ;)

15/02/2005, 4:26 PM
Why the hell would bray away be a nightmare!!!!!! Because we're so good and talented... ;)
Nothing in Bray is good or talented ;) ;) ;)

15/02/2005, 5:20 PM
Shels Vs City. nice teaser to whats ahead for the rest of the season. top 2 teams in ireland lock horns early on and hopfully catch them while their new players are trying to settle in

15/02/2005, 5:24 PM
We'll have Monaghan or Dublin at home ;)

15/02/2005, 5:32 PM
We'll have Monaghan or Dublin at home ;)

how could you say such things? shur dont you know we always travel to play ye first, always.

15/02/2005, 5:33 PM
Shels Vs City. nice teaser to whats ahead for the rest of the season. top 2 teams in ireland lock horns early on and hopfully catch them while their new players are trying to settle in

It will have happened in the Setanta Cup by then anyway though.

Maynard
15/02/2005, 5:37 PM
Well we got Cork away last year so I wouldn't be surprised if we got Cobh away :rolleyes:

Although my official guess would be Monaghan away.

kevincronin2000
15/02/2005, 5:39 PM
away to finn harps

Finn harps -v- Cork city

15/02/2005, 5:42 PM
It will have happened in the Setanta Cup by then anyway though.

would prefer 3 league points at tolka TBH

Mad Moose
15/02/2005, 5:44 PM
In the words of Martin Luther King or was that Noel King (unlikely) 'I had a dream'.

Standing at the gates of United Park so we'll be meeting Drogheda United.

Brendan

(I notice Harpskid hijacked my dream with his prediction)

1 9 2 8
15/02/2005, 5:45 PM
how could you say such things? shur dont you know we always travel to play ye first, always.
Not always we had Galway at home last season as our first game ;)

Mad Moose
15/02/2005, 5:47 PM
The North West's Finest!!!.

Your having a laugh right. Best of luck next season.I may drop in for a few games at the showgrounds next season in passing.

Brendan

15/02/2005, 5:51 PM
would prefer 3 league points at tolka TBH

You can always dream. How longs it been now?

15/02/2005, 5:56 PM
You can always dream. How longs it been now?

could and should have got 6 there last season.... must be our bogey team ;)

Kerry Blue
15/02/2005, 6:21 PM
Yeah. We were away to Kildare.
So we'll probably start at The Showgrounds this time.

15/02/2005, 6:30 PM
Away to Longford, Res- 1-1. Just a spare of the moment thought ;)

1 9 2 8
15/02/2005, 9:36 PM
Before sligoman corrects me ;) again I meant Galway was our first home. Dundalk away was our first game :cool:

Your having a laugh right. Best of luck next season.I may drop in for a few games at the showgrounds next season in passing.
No we are the north west's finest and always will be :p

16/02/2005, 9:45 AM
At home to Waterford!....maybe, Hopefully! :o

19/02/2005, 3:20 AM
We'll probably get one of Longford, Drogheda, or Waterford first.

Dear FAI NL fixture computer,

May we have 2 away trips to Finn Harps, Longford, and Bray please?

And just the 1 trip only to Shels, Pats, UCD, Waterford, and especially Cork and Derry, though we'll probably have to travel to at least one of them twice. :(

Don't mind about the other clubs.

And can you throw in our last game to be at home too? Home advantage may prove decisive in the 33rd league game of the season.

Thanks. :)

19/02/2005, 9:33 AM
I had a premonition this morning whilst asleep:

Bohemians - Shelbourne
Shamrock Rovers - Cork Village

19/02/2005, 9:39 AM

WHY????? :confused:

19/02/2005, 11:44 AM
in fairness to shels there numbers are growin.
i am not tryin to be funny but is what is the story with the bohs numbers droppin?i noticed it at dalyer last year when there was a lot of empty seats in the jodi when we played yiz and very empty when i have seen highlights on eircom league weekly.

Are fans gettin fed up with the problems at the club
Sorry -- took my eye off the ball there for a week or two.
I don't think it's finances etc. IMHO most (oops -- nearly said 'real' there) fans go for football and don't want to think about balance sheets, profit and loss, and all that baloney, until we're talking out-and-out bankruptcy or Hoops-like status. Other than members, who are probably going to have to stump up more, only amateur blazers and sad anoraks obsess about accounts.
But numbers went down all right when the mood dipped, and there was a weird vibe. Some of the players deserved a roasting and got it, but it was more than that. Sort of confused, directionless feel that didn't really go away with Kenny. Little empathy between team and support -- at times it felt like we were playing a grudge match with each other! Horrrible.
I think Gareth Farrelly is/could be a really good manager -- tactically, he showed that, and the stats reflect it, but it wasn't a dramatic impact that you could feel in your gut. He doesn't do that Roddy feel-good-for-a-season stuff.
I'm hoping a fresh start. (By all accounts some of our players are fresh from the Rotunda).

19/02/2005, 4:10 PM
At home to Waterford!....maybe, Hopefully! :o

I'm so ahead of the game!! well done me! :p

kevincronin2000
20/02/2005, 9:18 AM
away to finn harps

Finn harps -v- Cork city

you heard it here first :D :D

20/02/2005, 3:50 PM
At home to St. Pats

I LOVE being right :D

21/02/2005, 1:29 PM
I LOVE being right :D
Very good ROO69.... Now can you predict the result.... Pleasea home win!!!!!! ;)

22/02/2005, 3:42 AM
Dear FAI NL fixture computer,

And just the 1 trip only to Shels, Pats, UCD, Waterford, and especially Cork and Derry, though we'll probably have to travel to at least one of them twice. :(

And can you throw in our last game to be at home too? Home advantage may prove decisive in the 33rd league game of the season.

Thanks. :)

So what did the computer come up with? It wasn't too kind to Rovers this year.

2 away trips to Bohs, Pats, UCD, Drogheda, and Derry to come, with just one trip to Longford, and Bray. On the plus side, we travel to Donegal twice, while there are 2 home games with Shels, and Cork to look forward to. Both our first and last games are away, like last season. Hopefully UCD - Rovers won't be a survival six-pointer clash at Belfield in Game 33 in mid-November. :cool:

22/02/2005, 1:52 PM
Hopefully UCD - Rovers won't be a survival six-pointer clash at Belfield in Game 33 in mid-November. :cool:
Amen to that!