View Full Version : LOI fixtures 10/11 & 13th March 2017

Pages : 1 [2] 3

oriel
11/03/2017, 9:57 PM
Brian Duff, now that's a blast from the past. I met him at a Dundalk event pre match last season, nice fella. He won fai cup with us in 1981, good service to Athlone too. Hardly anyone on here will remember but he was with another ex Dundalk player & that guy did something I think that has not been repeated since in a modern times fai cup final.

His name was John Archbald, older Dlk will know, good quiz question. 1981 cup final. Dlk v Sligo. Anyone ?

Yossarian
11/03/2017, 10:14 PM
Brian Duff, now that's a blast from the past. I met him at a Dundalk event pre match last season, nice fella. He won fai cup with us in 1981, good service to Athlone too. Hardly anyone on here will remember but he was with another ex Dundalk player & that guy did something I think that has not been repeated since in a modern times fai cup final.

His name was John Archbald, older Dlk will know, good quiz question. 1981 cup final. Dlk v Sligo. Anyone ?

Hazy memory but did he score direct from a corner?

oriel
11/03/2017, 11:33 PM
He did indeed, first goal that day, Mick Fairclough with the second. Funny thing, Archbald told me he knew with the wind that day he had a good chance of scoring direct.

wonder88
11/03/2017, 11:42 PM
A blast from the past indeed, I remember him scoring twice for Galway(and gave a brilliant individual performance) in an exciting 3-2 win over Bohemians at Terryland. Don't remember how long Duff stayed at Galway for, maybe just the one season. A very good player, was at Liverpool in his younger days of course.

12/03/2017, 7:41 AM

Think he played with us also or was it his brother?

12/03/2017, 7:43 AM
Let's just assume he meant to say first hat-trick, in that case it looks like they'll be erecting a statue to Athlone Town's Brian Duff so. 15/09/85. That's nice of them. :)

Yeah correct! Is that only the second time that there is a hat-trick in an el classic derby for the midlands?

onlooker
12/03/2017, 11:46 AM
I see Shelbourne got a last minute equaliser v Cobh yesterday. Good result for them away from home. Anybody go down to see that ? Anyone know why it was an afternoon kick off?

atfconline
12/03/2017, 12:07 PM
Yeah correct! Is that only the second time that there is a hat-trick in an el classic derby for the midlands?

Sounds like it, Duff's was the only one on our side at least.

Jd2793
12/03/2017, 1:09 PM
I see Shelbourne got a last minute equaliser v Cobh yesterday. Good result for them away from home. Anybody go down to see that ? Anyone know why it was an afternoon kick off?
Was there ya shocking game no real goal chances apart from one early for shels. Goal they scored was very lucky deflected cross wrong footed cobh keeper and lobbed him. Theres something wrong with the floodlights im told thats why the game was on at 4

Jd2793
12/03/2017, 1:45 PM
How did Sligo Pats play out? A game i'd have expected Pats to sneak a win. Tough start to the season for both

Comic Book Guy
12/03/2017, 3:39 PM
Was there ya shocking game no real goal chances apart from one early for shels. Goal they scored was very lucky deflected cross wrong footed cobh keeper and lobbed him. Theres something wrong with the floodlights im told thats why the game was on at 4

A lot of bulbs need replacing apparently, due in, but as far as I know the athlone game next Saturday will be the last afternoon kick off and will revert back to the usual 7.15 kick off after that.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
12/03/2017, 6:42 PM
How did Sligo Pats play out? A game i'd have expected Pats to sneak a win. Tough start to the season for both

Awful stuff

SeanDrog
12/03/2017, 6:44 PM
Awful stuff

Enough with the over the top micro detailed analysis - give the man a summary will ya! ;)

DannyInvincible
13/03/2017, 12:10 AM
Derry have some injury worries (on top of Schubert's suspension) for Dundalk's visit to Maginn Park tomorrow evening: http://www.derrycityfc.net/2017/03/injury-worries-for-city-ahead-of-lilywhites-visit/

A new generator was installed in Maginn Park last week but unfortunately the first team boss has seen his injury list lengthen since the Limerick game. Having lost Ben Doherty and Rory Patterson on the opening night, Conor McDermott then picked up a knock in the USL and Lukas Schubert must save a one match ban following his red card on Friday night.

Ronan Curtis and Aaron McEneff are also likely to miss out as they picked up injuries on Friday night. It was also clear that the defensive effort required by the ten men in the final quarter on Friday may take its toll, as Aaron Barry and Ryan McBride were stretching with every break in play in the closing stages.

xRedmanLFCx
13/03/2017, 8:24 AM
Derry have some injury worries (on top of Schubert's suspension) for Dundalk's visit to Maginn Park tomorrow evening: http://www.derrycityfc.net/2017/03/injury-worries-for-city-ahead-of-lilywhites-visit/

Dundalk have a few injuries themselves.

sbgawa
13/03/2017, 10:27 AM
Feeling hopeful of a good performance tonight, putting Friday down as a bad day at the office.

Fingers crossed.
only 6 points behind 30 games to go :)

White Horse
13/03/2017, 10:29 AM
Feeling hopeful of a good performance tonight, putting Friday down as a bad day at the office.

Fingers crossed.
only 6 points behind 30 games to go :)

Can Bradley afford to lose another game?

sbgawa
13/03/2017, 11:41 AM
Can Bradley afford to lose another game?

As long as we finish top 4 and qualify for Europe he is safe as houses, the members can see what is going on behind the scenes and its really positive.
Our Schoolboy setup is super and only getting better.
I genuinely expect this team to improve a lot over the next few weeks, last years top 3 and a Dublin derby in first 5 games was always going to be a tough start for a brand new team.

Ezeikial
13/03/2017, 12:23 PM
As long as we finish top 4 and qualify for Europe he is safe as houses, the members can see what is going on behind the scenes and its really positive.

Expectations getting moderated already?

I doubt many Rovers fans / members would share the view that 4th place would be acceptable (to the extend that Bradley would not be under threat).

13/03/2017, 12:31 PM
I feared the worst when Schubert received an oddly-delayed red card after kicking the ball away; he "crossed" the ball after passing over the end-line. He knew what he was doing and it was a silly thing to do, but I think a red overall was a bit hard on him considering his initial booking was for jersey-pulling. The fact that the ref only sent him off well after he had committed the second offence compounded the sense of harshness. It was as if the home crowd's jeers had influenced the ref's decision, but I guess them's the rules and all that...

I think Schubert was only going to get a warning from the ref initially, but he ran past him on his way back up the field, when clearly the ref wanted to talk to him. I reckon that was what got him the second yellow, not so much the crowd reaction. It was pretty deserved, IMO.

Great result for us. Despite the general sloppiness of a lot of play, we didn't look under too much threat. Thought Shamrock Rovers were poor enough, did they even have a shot on target? Gerard Doherty had little to do all night.
Not the greatest game to watch for the neutral, I'd imagine. Must be disappointing for Rovers, as there was a decent sized crowd there and all.

sbgawa
13/03/2017, 12:36 PM

I doubt many Rovers fans / members would share the view that 4th place would be acceptable (to the extend that Bradley would not be under threat).

Expectations would be higher and def not moderated, just meant 4th would be a minimum achievement before members would be too upset.

DannyInvincible
13/03/2017, 12:44 PM
I think Schubert was only going to get a warning from the ref initially, but he ran past him on his way back up the field, when clearly the ref wanted to talk to him. I reckon that was what got him the second yellow, not so much the crowd reaction. It was pretty deserved, IMO.

I did note that RTÉ put Schubert's second yellow down to dissent in their match report (https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2017/0310/858859-shamrock-rovers-v-derry-city/), so you may well be right.

The visitors saw full-back Lukas Schubert sent off after picking up a second yellow card for dissent 20 minutes from the end but they held out comfortably to make it two wins from two in Dublin.

Great result for us. Despite the general sloppiness of a lot of play, we didn't look under too much threat. Thought Shamrock Rovers were poor enough, did they even have a shot on target? Gerard Doherty had little to do all night.

Can't recall any. Rovers were toothless.

13/03/2017, 5:16 PM
Schubert really should be more composed in such situations

13/03/2017, 5:19 PM
Schubert really should be more composed in such situations

That's it!!

You're on my liszt.

Kingswood Rover
13/03/2017, 6:10 PM

Rovers fans accept the fact that we are not going to win the league this year, at present the club is more important than the 1st team and its all about getting the foundations right. On many fronts the club are leading the way in Ireland. excellent season ticket sales this season indicates that the vast majority of fans are fully supportive of the manner in which the club is being led.

AlanOB
13/03/2017, 6:18 PM
Live coverage of Limerick v Bohs here: mixlr.com/limerick-soccer-live (http://mixlr.com/limerick-soccer-live)

13/03/2017, 6:42 PM
That's it!!

You're on my liszt.

No way bach from that

sbgawa
13/03/2017, 7:55 PM
Currently only 3 points off top spot :) :) love these early kick offs .....
Well deserved win tonight.

Dalymountrower
13/03/2017, 8:43 PM
Currently only 3 points off top spot :) :) love these early kick offs .....
Well deserved win tonight.

Yeah level with Bohs, congrats.

SwanVsDalton
13/03/2017, 8:47 PM
Two horse race for the title already. Let's dance Limerick. :cool:

ger121
13/03/2017, 8:56 PM
Some result tonight against the 2017 League Champions

WoodquayBoy
13/03/2017, 9:01 PM
No way bach from that
Last thing Derry will want is to have to go Chopin and changing a winning side

WoodquayBoy
13/03/2017, 9:02 PM
Enjoy it while you can as the 2018 First Division champions will take ye down a peg or two on Friday

DannyInvincible
13/03/2017, 9:03 PM
Super comeback and result for Derry tonight. Sava had a nightmare in goals for Dundalk. Failure to get his hands on a new keeper will cost Stephen Kenny; the goalkeeping position has been Dundalk's Achilles heel for a while now.

Nevertheless, Derry's impressive start to the season continues. Two away wins in Dublin and a convincing home win against the champions out of three games is the form of potential title contenders.

thomas72
13/03/2017, 9:11 PM
Bohs keeper was outstanding and got MOTM saved them on 6 or 7 occasions limerick finishing very poor tonight had enough chances to win 3 games free headers one on ones with the keeper all saved

sbgawa
13/03/2017, 9:14 PM
Yeah level with Bohs, congrats.

To you to 😘

13/03/2017, 9:14 PM
Finn Harps won.

That'll do.

ger121
13/03/2017, 9:24 PM

Enjoy it while you can as the 2018 First Division champions will take ye down a peg or two on Friday

Not a chance you'll beat the LSC 2016 Champions. Unless of course you beat us.

13/03/2017, 9:26 PM

Came out of the cauldron that is the Markets Field with a famous victory.

In all seriousness though while not offering anything really in attack Bohs got their tactics absolutely spot on and in the end our lads were like headless chickens. Hopefully we learn from this game, especially the new lads to the league.

ger121
13/03/2017, 10:05 PM
Came out of the cauldron that is the Markets Field with a famous victory.

In all seriousness though while not offering anything really in attack Bohs got their tactics absolutely spot on and in the end our lads were like headless chickens. Hopefully we learn from this game, especially the new lads to the league.

Followed the radio live stream. Those 2 lads are excellent by the way. No doubt we rode our luck a fair bit but I felt fairly comfortable listening after the goal. Still a massive win for us all the same. It's a mad League as usual.

13/03/2017, 10:13 PM
Picking a goalkeeper from the opposing team as man of the match as a way to try and justify a crap performance was so pathetic. time up sunday for Russell if he doesnt get a win against harps.

13/03/2017, 10:21 PM
Finn Harps won.

Pats beat ourselves really. Awful stuff. We are in such serious trouble. Three defeats out of four, and we haven't played any of the top teams yet. Hard to see where a win is coming from.

13/03/2017, 10:29 PM
Pats beat ourselves really. Awful stuff. We are in such serious trouble. Three defeats out of four, and we haven't played any of the top teams yet. Hard to see where a win is coming from.

Apart from Harps.

13/03/2017, 10:37 PM
Apart from Harps.

Touché. :D

DannyInvincible
13/03/2017, 10:41 PM
Barry McNamee's missed chance after 14 seconds for Derry against Rovers didn't look as bad or as clear-cut on Soccer Republic as it did in the flesh. He could and should have done better, but forgivable nevertheless.

Thought Shamrock Rovers were poor enough, did they even have a shot on target? Gerard Doherty had little to do all night.

Miele had a free-kick on target for Rovers in the first-half. I hadn't recalled that until I saw it again on Soccer Republic there, but that was their only shot on target all night.

El-Pietro
13/03/2017, 10:45 PM
Not a great game in Cork tonight. We were much the better team in the first half but couldn't find the final ball. Sligo came south with a game plan and it worked for the most part. From the first moment their plan was to disrupt us and frustrate us. Lots of professional fouls as we broke through midfield. The ref let it go for a while and was slow to bring out the yellow cards and the game threatened to spill over as the fouls evolved from merely cynical to dirty. Thankfully no one was injured.

Second half they started strong, but after 5 or 10 minutes retreated back into their own half, I think at one point they won the ball in midfield and only 3 of their players crossed the half way line as they started to break.

They scored from a breakaway, nice finish from Sadlier I think. I understand they have had a tough start to the season and a result away in Cork would have been huge, but the celebration seemed way over the top. It upset many, I was more bemused. I think this was the turning point, it got the crowd, and the team going and we scored almost right away, a long ball flicked down by Campion for a cracking first time volley from Beattie (two ex Sligo players).

I turned to my friends a few minutes later and said "We're grand, Seanie hasn't scored yet".

Solid three points in a game we might have lost last year. Naivety from Sligo in riling up the crowd and players possibly cost them the points.

wonder88
13/03/2017, 11:23 PM
So the ref or linesman did not see the handball from Shaw before his second goal for Shamrock R. I was about 50-60 yards away in the old stand and did not spot it but most of the Galway players did and complained. Having the officials give a team the benefit of the doubt can be a vital edge in a tight game and this young Shamrock R team are certainly having it this season.
ps.Agree fully with Alan Crawley on Soccer Republic re the set up of the Rovers midfield. Also Murray had a great 2nd half, and looks a good player and a leader from what I have seen of him.

joey B
14/03/2017, 12:41 AM
Great win for us in Inchicore,watched it on the stream thingy and we hung on a bit in the end but we looked good in the first half from what I could see,Houston is our most important player and again finished wonderfully for our equaliser a real underrated player in our league.

Just one more thing has there been a falling out between Fagan and Bucko? seems madness to leave a player of his quality out when the team is really struggling??

CraftyToePoke
14/03/2017, 1:00 AM
Picking a goalkeeper from the opposing team as man of the match as a way to try and justify a crap performance was so pathetic. time up sunday for Russell if he doesnt get a win against harps.

That's the spirit.

14/03/2017, 3:30 AM
Great result for us. Despite the general sloppiness of a lot of play, we didn't look under too much threat. Thought Shamrock Rovers were poor enough, did they even have a shot on target? Gerard Doherty had little to do all night
Nope, not a shot on target. Derry weren't great but you were the away side so nobody would expect you to dominate. On balance, the game was headed for a draw except we gifted you a goal.

Decent performance tonight. Gary Shaw is a big gain for the side as he's a proper modern centre forward who can do a little of everything rather than Boyd and O'Connor who are still learning. With Burke back we should have a bit of variety up front now.

We'll do well to finish fourth again but some signs of optimism in Tallaght for once, and the crowds are coming out for the time being, so can't be too downhearted.

Great win for Derry at home to Dundalk - going to be very competitive among the top three if Derry can keep their squad fit.