View Full Version : Premier Division Fixtures - March 3rd

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

05/03/2017, 7:45 PM
Well done Cobh tonight. Took their chances when they came.

We're dreadful. No chance of being in the promotion mix. Players didn't look like they gave a damn. Club took the easy option appointing Mathews and now we're seeing the result of this. He brings nothing

think thats a shameful way to treat our most successful manager in our history. not one person has mentioned that it was TC that caused the entire mess in the first place. People are getting carried away with ourselves with us goin up crap. Not once in our history have we gone up in the first place straight away. I think it will take time. But I am not standing for it with people jumpin on Mathews back straight away.

05/03/2017, 8:45 PM
Jesus, are you banging gartland or something.
" my lovely Brian wouldn't never do a thing like that "....
Does it really bother you that much or are you completely paranoid about any criticism of your team!
Get a grip mate, will ye.

Well your cage has been pretty well rattled too by the defence of Gartland.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
05/03/2017, 9:32 PM
We were beyond useless in the first half. Don't even think Dundalk played that well. We never tracked any of their runners from midfield and eventually one of their balls over the top led to the second goal.

Ayunga was by far our best player but now has a suspension ahead of him. Pats on Friday night already a huge game. Cork and Bray after that and hard to see us getting anything out of those.

magicman
05/03/2017, 10:04 PM
Walking on air after tonight's result. Rain threatened to ruin the game at times but both teams tried their best in testing conditions. Good crowd from Pats, fair play to them given the weather.

At half time I felt we should have been at least one up but to no avail (hit the bar and missed at least one that was easier to score tham miss).

In the second half Pats threatened more and hit the post in a ten minute good spell but they faded after their substitutions (imo). Their midfield looked good but the back line was very nervious once pressed.

I do think some pats players dropped the heads well before the end of the game - some (not all) seemed to be going through the motions.

Again we need to keep taking this one game at a time but I am enjoying looking at the league table tonight. Pete has instilled an honest hard working approach to the team and it's very enjoyable to watch.

Cork next week will be a very tough game but who knows how we may do 😇

Brought my eldest to the game along with my dad, two cousins, met other cousins and uncles plus a few neighbours - our clubs are more than just football,they are community - pity many people don't realise this wealth in our misth.

How did Ryan McEvoy look when he came on? He have a chance of becoming a starter?

SeanDrog
06/03/2017, 5:45 AM
How did Ryan McEvoy look when he came on? He have a chance of becoming a starter?

He was solid but very difficult to make comments beyond that given the time on the pitch and the weather tbh

Fine beard though

PartySaint
06/03/2017, 10:00 AM
F*ck off Pats.

DannyInvincible
06/03/2017, 12:43 PM
Derry have announced that entry to the rescheduled game against Limerick on the 21st of March will be free: http://www.derrycityfc.net/2017/03/statement-on-limerick-game/

06/03/2017, 5:51 PM
think thats a shameful way to treat our most successful manager in our history. not one person has mentioned that it was TC that caused the entire mess in the first place. People are getting carried away with ourselves with us goin up crap. Not once in our history have we gone up in the first place straight away. I think it will take time. But I am not standing for it with people jumpin on Mathews back straight away.

Personally I feel the board were just as responsible for last season as that w*nker cousins. They promised an AGM this year so new blood could get onboard but once again they lied. If Mathews turns out to be an awful appointment will the board be held responsible for appointing him? Course not they get away with ridiculous decisions every time.

06/03/2017, 6:58 PM
Personally I feel the board were just as responsible for last season as that w*nker cousins. They promised an AGM this year so new blood could get onboard but once again they lied. If Mathews turns out to be an awful appointment will the board be held responsible for appointing him? Course not they get away with ridiculous decisions every time.

fair enough point. Forgot about the board promisin an AGM.

sulywaterfordfc
06/03/2017, 8:33 PM
Highlights from Waterford's 3 nil over Cabinteely https://youtu.be/egZMunaiAoE

Seagull
06/03/2017, 8:46 PM
Gallagher did a great job coming for the ball, and took a boot to the face for his troubles. McCabe should have put the ball out.

Why should McCabe put the ball out? The ref didn't stop the game, McCabe gets the ball and puts it in an empty net. That's his job.

06/03/2017, 8:54 PM
Why should McCabe put the ball out? The ref didn't stop the game, McCabe gets the ball and puts it in an empty net. That's his job.

Sportsmanlike behaviour maybe. The ref should have stopped it, as had he stuck to the rules, he would have stopped the game immediately, as he later done when Dylan Connolly went down holding his head.
McCabe was under no obligation to do so by the laws of the game, but has made himself look rather poorly as a result of proceeding when Gallagher was down in visible distress.

06/03/2017, 9:54 PM
I don't know if players should be expected to know what level of distress other players are in. Referees are in the best place to judge and should be the ones stopping games.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/03/2017, 8:13 AM
Can't believe anyone would expect sportsmanlike behaviour from Gary McCabe

Duggie
07/03/2017, 8:26 AM
in fairness the ball just came to him and he shot at goal. he didn't really have time to put the ball out even if he wanted to.

dundalkfc10
07/03/2017, 11:43 AM
Its a pity it wasn't Buttimer who got a kick in the head

bluewhitearmy
07/03/2017, 12:22 PM
in fairness the ball just came to him and he shot at goal. he didn't really have time to put the ball out even if he wanted to.

He didn't have time to kick it out? Really that's what you are going with?

Duggie
07/03/2017, 12:41 PM
He didn't have time to kick it out? Really that's what you are going with?

what would you have done, the ball comes out to you. had he time to look around and asses the players that had just collided a few seconds earlier. he did what anyone would do he kicked it at the goal. simple. its up to the officials after that.

bluewhitearmy
07/03/2017, 1:22 PM
what would you have done, the ball comes out to you. had he time to look around and asses the players that had just collided a few seconds earlier. he did what anyone would do he kicked it at the goal. simple. its up to the officials after that.

I'm not saying he should of shouldn't have kicked the ball out but to say he didn't have time to is ridiculous it would have taken the same amount of time to kick it out as if did to kick it in the goal.

thomas72
07/03/2017, 2:10 PM
Put the ball in the net ask questions later

bluewhitearmy
07/03/2017, 2:15 PM
Put the ball in the net ask questions later

I'd bet you would be the first on here moaning if it happened to us.

07/03/2017, 2:29 PM
I'd bet you would be the first on here moaning if it happened to us.
Martin Russell's failure to invest in helmets in the off-season is bound to come back to bite you.

07/03/2017, 2:49 PM
Martin Russell's failure to invest in helmets in the off-season is bound to come back to bite you.

All our players are fitted with state of the art titanium and kevlar head protection. It was surgically placed inside their scalps.

On the McCabe thing it's nice to be nice but supposing he puts the ball out harps knick a point and at the end of the season bray miss out on Europe by a point. If I was a bray fan I'd burn his house down. And are finn harps gonna pay for a new house?? Exactly.

Seagull
07/03/2017, 4:22 PM
McCabe was under no obligation to do so by the laws of the game, but has made himself look rather poorly as a result of proceeding when Gallagher was down in visible distress.
Ball comes to McCabe, open goal in front of him, ref not stopping play- it's nuts to think he'd put it out of play instead of into the net. It was Buttimer's job to stop the game, he didn't, end of story. We've been on the receiving end of Buttimer's dubious decisions in the past so I'll gladly take last Friday night, it's swings and roundabouts.

onlooker
07/03/2017, 8:47 PM
Highlights looked great with all the goals. What was it like to watch it live in full? Haven't been to bray in a while myself.

littlebray
08/03/2017, 11:19 PM
McCabe was under no obligation to do so by the laws of the game

Did they not spell that out in the rules a couple of years ago, to make it clear there was no obligation to stop unless the whistle went?

08/03/2017, 11:29 PM
The player shouldn't have to stop. They should play on and, if necessary, the referee should disallow the goal even in the whistle hadn't been blown. The ball went right to McCabe and he probably didn't even notice Gallagher was down, just that the goal was empty. Buttimer had no excuse as he saw him down and decided not to blow.

09/03/2017, 4:56 PM
Jaysus, painful viewing of the highlights.

Buttimer had a shocker on the free for the first goal, the pen decision and Gallaghers injury. Only looking at it from a Harps point of view, I'm sure Bray could pick out plenty of howlers against them too.

I've zero problem with Bray players whatsoever. If I was managing them and they didn't capalise on those things then I'd be fuming. Up to the ref to police the game, not the players.