View Full Version : Maginn Park
28/02/2017, 1:41 PM
Is there any elevation apart from that little stand thingy we presumably aren't allowed into anyway?
But much having to travel 4500 miles to stand pitchside.
EatYerGreens
28/02/2017, 2:04 PM
Is there any elevation apart from that little stand thingy we presumably aren't allowed into anyway?
A round trip from New York for the game ?
P.S. Wait until you see Finn Park :D
28/02/2017, 2:07 PM
Basically the same as Mervue only with a small stand on one side
There is also a concrete stepped terrace either side of the seated area.
bluewhitearmy
28/02/2017, 2:26 PM
Joke that its being allowed we had to pay to get an away stand for Jackman and we weren't even gonna be in there all season. And as bad as Jackman is it even had a lot more terracing than this place.
ger121
28/02/2017, 6:32 PM
A round trip from New York for the game ?
P.S. Wait until you see Finn Park :D
It's a Limerick fan. They're prone to exaggeration on here.
01/03/2017, 9:10 AM
Joke that its being allowed we had to pay to get an away stand for Jackman and we weren't even gonna be in there all season. And as bad as Jackman is it even had a lot more terracing than this place.
Presumably, 10% of those stand tickets will be reserved for away fans though.
joey B
01/03/2017, 11:28 AM
The Nw Derby is gonna be a nightmare to get tickets for there!
bluewhitearmy
01/03/2017, 12:29 PM
Presumably, 10% of those stand tickets will be reserved for away fans though.
Possibly which would be something I supose. It's more the inconsistencies of the FAI that bother me we had to spend thousands of Euro for what everyone knew was a few months thing and ye are spared that expense in a ground basically the exact same as the one we were using if anything a bit worse viewing wise.
bluewhitearmy
01/03/2017, 12:30 PM
Anybody know parking situation around there? Parking at the ground or anywhere handy nearby?
01/03/2017, 12:40 PM
It's a Limerick fan. They're prone to exaggeration on here.
This is the most disgusting, hate filled, thing I've ever seen.
DannyInvincible
01/03/2017, 2:39 PM
Anybody know parking situation around there? Parking at the ground or anywhere handy nearby?
Parking along the street in town is 'pay and display'.
There may be somewhere handier closer in to the ground (someone else may know as I'm not in Buncrana all that often), but I do know there's plenty of parking space (I'm open to correction on this, but I'm pretty sure it's free and open to the general public as we saw no instruction to buy a ticket last time we were down and parked there a few months back) along Grianan Park (near the shore) and opposite the Buncrana Leisure Centre. That'd be about 1 kilometre (or a 10-15 minute walk) from Maginn Park.
Here's the route from car-park to ground on Google Maps: https://www.google.ie/maps/dir/Buncrana+Leisure+Centre,+Ardaravan,+Buncrana,+Co.+ Donegal/Maginn+Park,+2-26+Maginn+Ave,+Ardaravan,+Buncrana,+Co.+Donegal,+F 93+N4C0/@55.1324365,-7.4609293,917m/data=!3m1!1e3!4m14!4m13!1m5!1m1!1s0x485ffba7514cda 01:0x880d6e4bc211514f!2m2!1d-7.4602863!2d55.1308199!1m5!1m1!1s0x485ffb9f6ddd64b d:0xf5414cee8bbf6e88!2m2!1d-7.4516914!2d55.1345543!3e2
I'd imagine the car-park on St. Patrick's Road (closer to the ground and at the back of St. Mary's Church) will also be free: https://www.google.ie/maps/@55.1330675,-7.4568403,3a,75y,23.37h,83.18t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sjFgb2rDiWz2UPVZBUUuZ8Q!2e0!7i1 3312!8i6656
You could always give the town council a ring on (074) 9320020, or even try Buncrana Parish on (074) 9361253, to double-check. I'm sure they'd have further info.
DannyInvincible
01/03/2017, 2:46 PM
Just noticing that Google is informing people that the game on Friday is in the Brandywell...: https://www.google.ie/webhp?sourceid=chrome-instant&ion=1&espv=2&ie=UTF-8#q=derry+city+v+limerick+fc&*
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc12/poguemahone85/Capture_zpsihyhdgcd.png
bluewhitearmy
01/03/2017, 2:53 PM
Parking along the street in town is 'pay and display'.
There may be somewhere handier closer in to the ground (someone else may know as I'm not in Buncrana all that often), but I do know there's plenty of parking space (I'm open to correction on this, but I'm pretty sure it's free and open to the general public as we saw no instruction to buy a ticket last time we were down and parked there a few months back) along Grianan Park (near the shore) and opposite the Buncrana Leisure Centre. That'd be about 1 kilometre (or a 10-15 minute walk) from Maginn Park.
Here's the route from car-park to ground on Google Maps: https://www.google.ie/maps/dir/Buncrana+Leisure+Centre,+Ardaravan,+Buncrana,+Co.+ Donegal/Maginn+Park,+2-26+Maginn+Ave,+Ardaravan,+Buncrana,+Co.+Donegal,+F 93+N4C0/@55.1324365,-7.4609293,917m/data=!3m1!1e3!4m14!4m13!1m5!1m1!1s0x485ffba7514cda 01:0x880d6e4bc211514f!2m2!1d-7.4602863!2d55.1308199!1m5!1m1!1s0x485ffb9f6ddd64b d:0xf5414cee8bbf6e88!2m2!1d-7.4516914!2d55.1345543!3e2
I'd imagine the car-park on St. Patrick's Road (closer to the ground and at the back of St. Mary's Church) will also be free: https://www.google.ie/maps/@55.1330675,-7.4568403,3a,75y,23.37h,83.18t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sjFgb2rDiWz2UPVZBUUuZ8Q!2e0!7i1 3312!8i6656
You could always give the town council a ring on (074) 9320020, or even try Buncrana Parish on (074) 9361253, to double-check. I'm sure they'd have further info.
That was a way more informative answer than I was expecting thank you.
sbgawa
01/03/2017, 3:06 PM
Just noticing that Google is informing people that the game on Friday is in the Brandywell...: https://www.google.ie/webhp?sourceid=chrome-instant&ion=1&espv=2&ie=UTF-8#q=derry+city+v+limerick+fc&*
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc12/poguemahone85/Capture_zpsihyhdgcd.png
Would'nt listen to Google , according to them Pat Fenlon still manages Rovers
01/03/2017, 3:11 PM
Parking at the ground won't be permitted, I'd assume. It'd be a nightmare otherwise. There's a decent amount of parking around the town though. The library on St Mary's Road has a grand sized car park, and there's also plenty of on-street parking around there too.
If you're down early enough, take the second exit on the roundabout (onto Old Road) as you come into Buncrana from the south (on the main Derry road). The ground is basically straight ahead (on Marian Park) but there's streets off there with parking. Aldi, Lidl and Supervalu have car parks near the ground too, but I doubt we'll be allowed to park there.
The turnstiles are on Ferris Lane, on the northern side of the ground. They may also use the entrance on the eastern side at Marian Park, not sure about that yet.
For pre-match refreshments, there's any amount of pubs on Main Street. O'Flaherty's is where I'll be heading, it's got craft beer. There's plenty of cafés, restaurants and a few chippies on Main Street as well. You'll find the famous Buncrana 'pink and white' ice creams on Main Street too.
Outside of the very centre, but still less than 10 minutes walk from the ground, there's the Drift Inn (on Railway Road, first exit off the roundabout). Lovely pub with decent food, beer and gin. It's also beside the Inishowen Gateway Hotel and decent wee nine-hole golf course (head to North West Golf Club if you're looking for more though, great course).
01/03/2017, 3:22 PM
Parking along the street in town is 'pay and display.....There may be somewhere handier closer in to the ground (someone else may know as I'm not in Buncrana all that often), but I do know there's plenty of parking space (I'm open to correction on this, but I'm pretty sure it's free and open to the general public.
Pay and display is very cheap (€2.50 a day), but will likely be free by it's free in th evenings anyway (from 18:30, iirc).
The spots beside the shore front are free, yep.
If you're down early enough, take the second exit on the roundabout (onto Old Road) as you come into Buncrana from the south (on the main Derry road). The ground is basically straight ahead (on Marian Park) but there's streets off there with parking. Aldi, Lidl and Supervalu have car parks near the ground too, but I doubt we'll be allowed to park there.
There is also a bunch of space on the right just after you pass Lidl and Aldi, used as parking for The Lunch Box opposite it in day time but in evening should be fine to use. There is loads of parking near Maginn, it should not be an issue.
Garda Info here: https://www.facebook.com/derrycityfc/photos/a.430032553905.219874.137900283905/10155776640903906/?type=3&theater
bluewhitearmy
01/03/2017, 6:55 PM
Thanks folks
DannyInvincible
01/03/2017, 7:41 PM
Pay and display is very cheap (€2.50 a day), but will likely be free by it's free in th evenings anyway (from 18:30, iirc).
The spots beside the shore front are free, yep.
Did anything come of the idea to have shuttle buses running down to Buncrana from Derry (and back again after games) specifically for supporters? I was told Philip O'Doherty mooted the possibility a while back, but I haven't heard any confirmation of it since.
02/03/2017, 1:16 PM
Did anything come of the idea to have shuttle buses running down to Buncrana from Derry (and back again after games) specifically for supporters? I was told Philip O'Doherty mooted the possibility a while back, but I haven't heard any confirmation of it since.
That would require the club having to do at least a degree of organising and planning.
So, no, obviously that's not happening.
Partizan
02/03/2017, 5:56 PM
What happened to Institute's ground? Surely that would have been more suitable than Maginn Park?
DannyInvincible
02/03/2017, 8:45 PM
What happened to Institute's ground? Surely that would have been more suitable than Maginn Park?
The Riverside (http://www.footballgroundguide.com/northern-ireland/institute/) is a nice wee ground but I think the pitch is used for training or coaching on Friday nights and Institute play on Saturdays when they're at home.
Even if it suited in terms of co-ordinating available times, there may also have been security concerns considering the stadium is on the outskirts of the city in Drumahoe (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drumahoe) (on the Waterside), which is a pretty solid unionist/loyalist area often bedecked in Union flags and 'Ulster Banners' (https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/jul/27/derry-drumahoe-sectarian-flags).
DannyInvincible
03/03/2017, 6:10 AM
A BBC story on Derry's use of Maginn Park: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-foyle-west-39138900
http://ichef.bbci.co.uk/news/624/cpsprodpb/A3CA/production/_94903914_buncrana.jpg
Nestled on the edge of Lough Swilly, just 15 miles from Londonderry, Buncrana is the seaside destination of choice for Derry sun seekers in the summer months.
The invasion of Candystripes fans in March will be a new experience for locals, many of whom hope to reap financial reward.
'Boost for business'
"I can't see it being anything but good for the town," said Pauric O'Flaherty who runs O'Flaherty's bar on the Main Street.
"We're looking forward to it, hopefully now this brings a bit of trade into the town and everyone gets a deal, restaurants and taxi men."
http://ichef-1.bbci.co.uk/news/624/cpsprodpb/EE02/production/_94903906_c441socwcaayg6v.jpg
"If you're not going to get a boost on a Friday night with Derry City coming down you may close your front doors because you should welcome everybody with open arms.
"Buncrana's a great town with great bars, great restaurants, so come down early and take the dog for a walk and then go town to Maginn to watch the games," added Mr O'Flaherty.
It may have seen a rise in the number of young people playing Gaelic Games in recent years, but Buncrana remains a football-mad town.
Oisin O'Flaherty plays for Buncrana Hearts, and reckons the matches will be a sell-out.
http://ichef.bbci.co.uk/news/624/cpsprodpb/16332/production/_94903909_cxpmb8rxeaa16vs.jpg
"Inishowen is a soccer area, I play a bit of Gaelic, but soccer is the number one sport down here and I actually think it will be hard to get a ticket down there," he said.
"Friday night is a good night for it because the Inishowen league is on a Sunday. I think it's going to be brilliant, I really do."
'Maginn Park's ready'
Cockhill Celtic's Gerard McLaughlin believes the excitement is palpable now the match is imminent.
"There's a lot of talk about it now," he said. "The sheer fact it's League of Ireland football and is something new means people will come out.
"It will be big for Buncrana, I would say most clubs in Inishowen, players, supporters, officials... they'll all come to Maginn to watch Derry City."
Candystripe
03/03/2017, 11:11 AM
Official capacity is 1574.
First game is sold out to home fans. Only tickets left are reserved for the Limerick fans.
EatYerGreens
03/03/2017, 11:28 AM
"So come down early and take the dog for a walk and then go town to Maginn to watch the games".
Does the capacity for the stadium include dogs ? It could end up like a scene from 101 Dalmatians down there.
Candystripe
03/03/2017, 1:32 PM
Edit. Replica post.
03/03/2017, 5:35 PM
How long are Derry playing there? The whole season, or just part of it?
LFC Blue
03/03/2017, 7:14 PM
Lights gone out at 1-1🙈🙈🙈
03/03/2017, 9:46 PM
25 minutes evidently.
El-Pietro
03/03/2017, 10:35 PM
Great to see Limerick are managign their record of scoring and conceding in every game even in shortened games. Back them BTTS every week.
04/03/2017, 12:03 AM
Whole season. Assuming the lights work.
DannyInvincible
04/03/2017, 12:27 AM
It'll be for the whole season unless an alternative is found in the mean time (http://www.derrycityfc.net/2016/12/derry-to-start-season-at-maginn-park/). Not sure how likely it is that an alternative will be found though. Europa League games will definitely have to be played elsewhere, however. The Showgrounds in Sligo has been mentioned as a possibility for those games, although there's been no official confirmation on that front yet.
Nightmare start for Maginn Park this evening though.
LFC Blue
04/03/2017, 2:15 AM
Limerick offered to replay the game tomorrow at 2pm which was surely making the best out of a bad situation however Kenny Shiels and co declined the offer.
AnnaghRed
04/03/2017, 10:03 PM
Shiels is contrary as ****
mrtndvn
05/03/2017, 2:25 AM
Limerick offered to replay the game tomorrow at 2pm which was surely making the best out of a bad situation however Kenny Shiels and co declined the offer.
The decision has absolutely nothing to do with what KS does and doesn't want.
NeverFeltBetter
05/03/2017, 1:18 PM
Presumably Derry did have some input on it though right?
bluewhitearmy
05/03/2017, 2:38 PM
Ah that whole we'll play it tomorrrow is a nonsense anyway it's not just the two teams that need to be ok with it would have to be sure ambulances security whether it be stewards or whatever and everything else that goes with running a game is in place.
DannyInvincible
06/03/2017, 12:38 PM
Admission to the rescheduled game against Limerick on Tuesday the 21st of March will be free, according to a club statement: http://www.derrycityfc.net/2017/03/statement-on-limerick-game/
It was unfortunate that the floodlights failed on last Friday night at Maginn Park and that the match had to be abandoned. The weather was foul but the pitch itself and the standard of football from both teams was of a high standard.
“It was also very pleasing that the match was played in front of such a large crowd and in a very positive atmosphere. We want to thank our supporters for the manner in which thy responded to the abandonment of the match and their appreciation of the limited facilities of Maginn.
“Our supporters will want to be assured that while lighting of the facility is not our prerogative or responsibility, the appropriate authorities had examined and assured the Club that the floodlights were up to appropriate standards.
“The club is also aware that there were a number of small seating and visibilities issues on the night.
“These were mostly down to teething problems and every effort will be made to improve and eradicate as many of these as is possible.
“Thanks to Limerick FC. for their magnanimity.
“Their courtesy and understanding could not have been greater. We also want to thank the people of Buncrana for their warm welcome.
“The Club has decided that admission to the return game will be free.”
I'm not entirely sure what that means in practice. Will it be ticketless and will anyone be abe to just show up and walk in then on a "first-come, first-served" basis?
Hitman
06/03/2017, 1:22 PM
Just out of curiosity, is it still the case that there's VAT applied to ticket sales in the north? If so, is it applied to season tickets and advance sales in Derry, then matchnights in Buncrana are exempt?
joey B
06/03/2017, 1:55 PM
Admission to the rescheduled game against Limerick on Tuesday the 21st of March will be free, according to a club statement: http://www.derrycityfc.net/2017/03/statement-on-limerick-game/
I'm not entirely sure what that means in practice. Will it be ticketless and will anyone be abe to just show up and walk in then on a "first-come, first-served" basis?
What if 3000 people turn up? Unlikely but it could potentially be a nightmare!
DannyInvincible
06/03/2017, 2:07 PM
Indeed, although with it being on mid-week - on a Tuesday night - the club is bound to be banking on this not becoming an issue. Buncrana is a bit out of the way for people as it is; even just those travelling from Derry.
EatYerGreens
06/03/2017, 3:24 PM
It'll be so dark that no-one will be able to tell :p
So, what was the attendance at the 25 minute game?
On the TV highlights it looked well over the capacity of 1500+
I'd estimate well over the 2,000+
EatYerGreens
07/03/2017, 1:15 PM
As the game only lasted for 25mins, if you pro-rata the attendance up to a full 90min event there were almost 5,500 at it. Impressive stuff really.
07/03/2017, 1:28 PM
1,574 was the sell out capacity. Place doesn't physically hold an awful lot more than that. Estimates of 2,000 are well off the mark. People would be packed in like sardines at that
bluewhitearmy
07/03/2017, 2:19 PM
1,574 was the sell out capacity. Place doesn't physically hold an awful lot more than that. Estimates of 2,000 are well off the mark. People would be packed in like sardines at that
And at that there was a load of space where away fans were and loads of space in the section just next to where we were so nowhere near what the place could safely hold was full.
wonder88
07/03/2017, 7:14 PM
I see Martin Russell has not made a big deal of what happened the other night according to the Irish Mirror. He says that these things happen and that Derry travel more miles than any other club. I find this a very sensible and refreshing attitude to take, as this was not the first game ever abandoned due to a power failure. I suppose Harps are not too far behind in terms of miles traveled. Which club would come 3rd in the travel league?
07/03/2017, 7:47 PM
I see Martin Russell has not made a big deal of what happened the other night according to the Irish Mirror. He says that these things happen and that Derry travel more miles than any other club. I find this a very sensible and refreshing attitude to take, as this was not the first game ever abandoned due to a power failure. I suppose Harps are not too far behind in terms of miles traveled. Which club would come 3rd in the travel league?
Cobh possibly?