View Full Version : Premier Division 2017-WE'RE BACK
LFC Blue
19/02/2017, 6:48 PM
Over 470 days since THAT night of horror in Finn Park we're back where we belong with a competitive squad. What a time to be a Limerick fan. In my 25 years of following the club I can never recall being this enthusiastic and excited ahead of a new season...
Prediction...Tosi to fire us to European football ✈️
LK37oldskool
19/02/2017, 7:11 PM
Love the enthusiasm but with the back four we have at the moment, European football is a POS pipe dream.
thomas72
19/02/2017, 7:32 PM
Love the enthusiasm but with the back four we have at the moment, European football is a POS pipe dream.
Unfortunately I agree sorry to say we are a top centre half and a left full away from a cracking team.
That back four will let in 2+ a game it's extremely poor to make it worse imagine when we get one or two players out back there which will happens suspensions injuries etc.
BUT iv been told today we can expect definitely 1 in 80% done for a 2nd coming what I don't know is the quality of both players.
bluewhitearmy
19/02/2017, 7:54 PM
One is done just has to arrive im told too.
thomas72
19/02/2017, 9:14 PM
One is done just has to arrive im told too.
Know anything of the quality of him?
Centenary
19/02/2017, 9:55 PM
Yes! Love preseason enthusiasm..I don't see why Europe is that far off, time we showed ambition now.
Does anyone have the team which started our first match of the season two seasons ago just to compare?
bluewhitearmy
19/02/2017, 10:51 PM
If its who I think it is then I don't really know much about him but would expect him to be decent.
21/02/2017, 12:44 PM
I've only seen us against Waterford but would like to see us start as -
Hall
Kelly
Whitehead
Williams
Robson
Hery
Duggan
Lynch
Ogbene
Tosi
Clarke
Subs:
Clarke
Thibaut
Brouder
O'Conor
Turner
Kenny
Mulhall
bluewhitearmy
21/02/2017, 1:28 PM
Turner has to start imo only one all pre season to get decent delivery into Tosi.
21/02/2017, 4:33 PM
Turner has to start imo only one all pre season to get decent delivery into Tosi.
Going to be a hard call. Turner has had great delivery but Clarke looks very sharp also. Prefer to see Ogbene on the right also. Thought he had to cut in too much on Friday night.
Mastershake87
21/02/2017, 9:57 PM
I think Freddy Hall is calamity waiting to happen. Don't think he covered himself in glory last year and under increased scrutiny in the Premer League he is going to make a lot of costly errors.
How has Brendan Clarke played in preseason? Does anybody think he can be first choice?
22/02/2017, 6:13 PM
I think Freddy Hall is calamity waiting to happen. Don't think he covered himself in glory last year and under increased scrutiny in the Premer League he is going to make a lot of costly errors.
How has Brendan Clarke played in preseason? Does anybody think he can be first choice?
Brendan can definitely be first choice. If Hall does mess up he will be replaced by Clarke. Should be a good battle for no.1 jersey there.
thomas72
22/02/2017, 6:58 PM
Really looking forward to Friday.
Any idea how ticket sales are going so far?
LK37oldskool
22/02/2017, 7:11 PM
I think they may need to look at alternative ways of buying tickets pre match day. A butchers shop in town isn't the best idea. Galtee fuels aren't doing it any more which is odd considering it's Pats business.
thomas72
22/02/2017, 7:56 PM
I think they may need to look at alternative ways of buying tickets pre match day. A butchers shop in town isn't the best idea. Galtee fuels aren't doing it any more which is odd considering it's Pats business.
Galtee fuels not doing it????
Is that 100%
Two friends of mine are going there tomorrow for there tickets
topfan
22/02/2017, 8:24 PM
Definitely not was in there today, they sent me to McMahon's butchers were I got the ticket. Club should def look into selling tickets in different locations around the county to make it easier to get them. Anyone buy the tickets online? How did it work out?
LK37oldskool
22/02/2017, 8:25 PM
I rang today and was told not doing them this season. I bought mine there all last season. It was very handy. I knew quite a few that got their tickets there too.
thomas72
22/02/2017, 8:44 PM
I rang today and was told not doing them this season. I bought mine there all last season. It was very handy. I knew quite a few that got their tickets there too.
Ya same I know 7 or 8 people who get them there
bluewhitearmy
22/02/2017, 10:53 PM
Was good when Gleeaons did em too.
Centenary
22/02/2017, 11:36 PM
Don't think there is an online option?
Agree that a better spread of options around the county would be a good idea too.
bluewhitearmy
23/02/2017, 1:33 AM
Strongly disagree with this tbh for every mistake there has been from Freddy there has been 3 or 4 world class saves that have won us points and games. Some unbelievable performances from him imo Derry in the cup last year springs to mind off the top of my head no way we made the final without Freddy. Plus he has already played in the premier and played a massive part in us almost staying up.
EL_Limerick
23/02/2017, 5:02 AM
I think the club should look into a deal with the student unions to sell them out in the colleges, UL has a deal with Munster already. Could be a way of getting a few more in the gate who wouldn't normally go. Somewhere like Gleesons or Limerick sports store would be dead handy too
23/02/2017, 9:00 AM
There are student rates and are availed of regularly by students of all colleges. Whats the student rate for a Munster game v Leinster?
23/02/2017, 9:42 AM
The problem with spreading out ticket sales is finding places to sell them that won't look for a cut first of all and also it takes longer to account for all tickets when they are spread out in different locations.
Never a problem really getting tickets at the ground if you arrive 20 minutes early. Only time delays happen is when a big bulk of the crowd start arriving 5 minutes before kick off.
blueblood
23/02/2017, 11:39 AM
I'd say the stand will be a sell out especially if the weather stays as bad, can't tickets be ordered online then collected outside MF
thomas72
24/02/2017, 9:08 PM
Well that was impressive some of the football tonight was fantastic sligo can count themselves lucky it's was only 5.
Going forward we look fantastic Tosi touch and aerial ability is a level above surprised to see Ogbene on the bench after the pre season he has had.
Great crowd aswell I always think there is alot more there was expecting around the 3,000 mark
da bishop
24/02/2017, 9:44 PM
Missed it but caught it all live on Limerick Soccer Live on Mixlr....very good commentary.great result ,what a start fot Tosi.well done all.
LFC Blue
24/02/2017, 10:10 PM
Absolutely superb from start to finish. Hery and Tosi superb signings. Top of the league tonight 👍👍👍
thomas72
24/02/2017, 10:24 PM
Absolutely superb from start to finish. Hery and Tosi superb signings. Top of the league tonight 👍👍👍
I agree obviously Tosi was excellent hat trick and all but I thought Hery was absolutely brilliant his composure on the ball and his wide range of passing was fantastic.
Also I thought Tommy Robson was really solid good on the ball aswell.
LK37oldskool
24/02/2017, 10:41 PM
Very impressive performance. A privilege to witness such a game.
CraftyToePoke
24/02/2017, 11:30 PM
Fantastic. Must have been some buzz to witness that for those lucky enough to.
Market's Field
24/02/2017, 11:55 PM
Total buzz! What i don't know is whether we were great or Sligo woeful. Hery, Lee J, Robson and Tosi first class. Russell got it spot on with his starting 11
blueblood
25/02/2017, 12:00 AM
Fcuk that was some performance slight so lucky it was only 5 1, tosi is an animal, hery absolute class, Robson absolutely class too, lunch duggan brilliant. Whitehead great too.Williams faultless .
Then the bench is so strong ogbene ****ing great, with that performance Mulhall looked ok only because everyone else is so awesome 😁
joey B
25/02/2017, 12:03 AM
Heard at Finn park tonight over the tannoy 'Could Gordon Heapes come behind the town end goals and bring the keys to the car';) #greatestleagueintheworld
NeverFeltBetter
25/02/2017, 8:16 AM
Some start. Sorry I missed it.
Lims4ever
25/02/2017, 8:59 AM
Thought we were very impressive solid all round , tosi was always going to get motm after his hatrick and he was superb but hery surely ran him close with an excellent display . Tommy Robson very impressive also as was lee j , turner , Shaun Kelly was good but all the players gave a rock solid display . Only complaint especially first half we **** around too much at times with passing the ball around at the back nearly got caught once or twice and will get badly caught against the better teams . Whitehead is a good defender but is not comfortable with the ball at his feet like Williams is who put in a great display . What a dream start great display and great attendance and the atmosphere was top notch.
Mastershake87
25/02/2017, 9:06 PM
Yeah it was a brilliant display by all the team last night. Very dominate and I thought we looked solid defensively which bodes well when we're playing the best in this division. Sligo had a decent bit of possession last night but our intensity and work rate from the midfield trio was very impressive. Hats off to Russell and the club as the players they have brought in in the preseason look like they will improve us.
Don't like dwelling on negatives especially after a performance like that but Hall's concentration levels need to improve this year. Thought he had a good game some very good saves but we cant afford to give away cheap goals like last night.
LFC Blue
25/02/2017, 10:17 PM
The only fault i had with the entire night was the poor acoustics for the samba music when Tosi scored....
bluewhitearmy
26/02/2017, 12:10 AM
What a welcome back to premier football that was then. I know everybody says this but it looked like there was more than the official attendance there to me.
Honestly don't think there was a single player you could say played badly and the three brand new lads Hery Tosi and Robson made very good first impressions. Pleased too that at least for this game the Ian Turner from his run of good performances before he left showed up caused their left back problems all night and put in some great deliveries. Lee J excellent too the man tasked with stopping him was taken off at half time he was run ragged by that stage. Deligthed to see Tony Whitehead take his chance so well too lovely youngfella with a fantastic attitude never sulks never causes bother keeps the head down works hard and really appreciated the position he is in.
Everything about the night was great and anyone that was there would wanna be mad not to come back. Get a point in Derry even now and no matter what happens in Dundalk I'd be thrilled with the start. Obviously its one game and no need to get carried away or anything but definitely is a need to enjoy that win given how we started our last season in this league.
26/02/2017, 8:53 AM
For me the best part was how solid we looked defensively. Robson really looked comfortable and Williams was excellent. Whitehead did really well too, with Kelly reliable as always. Then we had Hery in front of them protecting them. It all looked good.
All that said, Sligo were hopeless and other teams will ask more questions of us, but let's wait and see what happens.
thomas72
26/02/2017, 11:26 AM
Hery was fantastic everything you want in a midfielder composure excellent passing range
CraftyToePoke
26/02/2017, 5:34 PM
Get a point in Derry even now and no matter what happens in Dundalk
Or a win in Derry and a point the week after, for a right craic :)
bluewhitearmy
26/02/2017, 6:34 PM
Or a win in Derry and a point the week after, for a right craic :)
Stop now took me a day and a half to sober up since Friday haha
LFC Blue
27/02/2017, 11:17 PM
Soccer Republic obviously sent someone with a camera phone to cover the Limerick game. Brutal footage.
bluewhitearmy
28/02/2017, 12:06 AM
Soccer Republic obviously sent someone with a camera phone to cover the Limerick game. Brutal footage.
They didn't send anyone that was the problem
thomas72
28/02/2017, 5:18 AM
Can't even get a camera to film games now typical of the state league of Ireland football is in a joke all around
fieldofmarkets
28/02/2017, 7:46 AM
Boyle for Derry City looked like he could do some damage, otherwise they didn't look too strong (from the 2 minute highlights anyway).
28/02/2017, 7:48 AM
Boyle for Derry City looked like he could do some damage, otherwise they didn't look too strong (from the 2 minute highlights anyway).
Hopefully with another weeks training together and a match under their belts our back 4 will be starting to gel.
Cruyff
01/03/2017, 11:47 AM
Quick one lads regarding wheelchair tickets, do you need to book in advance or what's the story? Tried ringing but no answer
01/03/2017, 5:17 PM
Quick one lads regarding wheelchair tickets, do you need to book in advance or what's the story? Tried ringing but no answer
keep trying, i know the club are upping ship and moving to Donegal tomorrow but you have loads of time to sort before the Bohs game.