24/02/2017, 8:12 PM
And 4-1 for Limerick and Derry

SeanDrog
24/02/2017, 8:13 PM
Bohs 1-4 Derry
Lims 4-1 Sligo

CraftyToePoke
24/02/2017, 8:15 PM
Is game on 95fm?i only got rugby,i l listening to Limerick soccer live with Alan o brien and Noel o conner good too.

Updates only. Where are you getting yours from ?

SeanDrog
24/02/2017, 8:18 PM
Pats 1-2 bray

Correction still 0-2 bray

CraftyToePoke
24/02/2017, 8:24 PM
Missed pen in Limerick for 5-1

SeanDrog
24/02/2017, 8:28 PM
Galway 0-1 Drogs .... 🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗

SeanDrog
24/02/2017, 8:29 PM
Lims 5-1 😱

CraftyToePoke
24/02/2017, 8:29 PM
5-1 now anyway.

SeanDrog
24/02/2017, 8:36 PM
Pats down to ten men

24/02/2017, 8:37 PM
9 men

SeanDrog
24/02/2017, 8:38 PM
Dundalk 2-1 rovers

SeanDrog
24/02/2017, 8:40 PM
Galway 0-1 Drogs FT ..... i am over the moon .... what a great start

CraftyToePoke
24/02/2017, 8:41 PM
All over in Limerick, 5 goals and 2,300 souls.

24/02/2017, 8:44 PM
Ya official Att: 2,357.

Great result to start us off. 5-1, hat-trick for Tosi and a game under the belt for Whitehead and Robson at the back.

In classic LOI fashion, a loads of red cards in the last few minutes of the games.

thomas72
24/02/2017, 8:54 PM
Limerick very impressive tonight scored 5 could of scored 10 missed pen aswell look very very dangerous going forward

patrickccfc
24/02/2017, 8:59 PM
Finished 1-0 up in Finn Park.. Good to get a win away to start off.

SeanDrog
24/02/2017, 9:03 PM
Athlone 1-0 Waterford

24/02/2017, 9:07 PM
0-0 in Tolka. Not very good, we were the better side for the most part but Davy O'Sullivan missed a one on one and a penalty in quick succession just before half time and we created very little after that. It can always be worse though (sorry for your troubles Sligo fans).

24/02/2017, 9:10 PM
Closer than it should have been at the end for Dundalk, but this Rovers team has grit.

24/02/2017, 9:10 PM
Ha! Athlone! Best league in the world

sbgawa
24/02/2017, 9:31 PM
Prety encouraging for rovers tonight , team will improve. Athlone !! Ffs wonder did many bet on that : )

ToberonaTornado
24/02/2017, 9:36 PM
Waterford :D😂 we've long memories up here in Dundalk ;)

thomas72
24/02/2017, 9:46 PM
I thought Waterford might do a Limerick and go nearly 30 games unbeaten they failed after one game :)

White Horse
24/02/2017, 9:54 PM
Dundalk made hard work of it against a mediocre side.

Still three points are three points, but a big improvement is needed.

Not sure how they will fill the big Any Boyle sized hole in the defence.

White Horse
24/02/2017, 9:55 PM
Galway 0-1 Drogs FT ..... i am over the moon .... what a great start

Great start for Drogheda. Delighted for Pete and Giller.

oldyouth
24/02/2017, 9:59 PM
In 2015, Wexford Youths strolled to a 1st Division title having lost 1-0 away to Cabinteely in the opening game. Cabinteely finished last that year. I wouldn't hang out the bunting yet

sbgawa
24/02/2017, 10:02 PM
Dundalk made hard work of it against a mediocre side.

Still three points are three points, but a big improvement is needed.

Not sure how they will fill the big Any Boyle sized hole in the defence.

Its corks title to lose : )

White Horse
24/02/2017, 10:08 PM
Its corks title to lose : )

Both Dundalk and Cork have problems at centre half. The league winner will be the team that fixes the problem.

I hope Rovers fans are patient with Bradley. Lots of young lads who were up for a battle and did well for big parts of the game.

I though Finn let the young lads down by not starting the game. Lopes is a headless chicken and Rovers needed composure in the middle of the park. Dundalk took over the midfield from 20 minutes until about 70 minutes and that was the winning of the game.

24/02/2017, 10:13 PM
In 2015, Wexford Youths strolled to a 1st Division title having lost 1-0 away to Cabinteely in the opening game. Cabinteely finished last that year. I wouldn't hang out the bunting yet

I recall us thrashing Fingal 5-1 on the opening night in 2008 then going on to lose 11 successive games shortly thereafter. Not worth jumping to conclusions tonight.

sbgawa
24/02/2017, 10:27 PM
Both Dundalk and Cork have problems at centre half. The league winner will be the team that fixes the problem.

I hope Rovers fans are patient with Bradley. Lots of young lads who were up for a battle and did well for big parts of the game.

I though Finn let the young lads down by not starting the game. Lopes is a headless chicken and Rovers needed composure in the middle of the park. Dundalk took over the midfield from 20 minutes until about 70 minutes and that was the winning of the game.

He will get time . 9 debutants tonight even some of our unreasonable fans would accept you need a few games to get organised. Looking like a compeitive league.
You guys have a better squad this year but last year's first 11 were better. Room for improvement in both teams matches against Cork in next few weeks will be interesting

24/02/2017, 10:47 PM
Reckon that Cork will win the league this year.

24/02/2017, 10:50 PM
Harps and Cork played on a very soft pitch with zero bounce so hard to gauge what either side are like to be fair.

Maguire was the difference with his only genuine chance of the game when we failed to clear a ball and he nicked in to finish. Neither keeper overly troubled otherwise.

Harps have definitely improved the team and will play alot more football this year. O'Connor looks a class act, reminds me of Kevin McHugh in his younger days, intelligent, strong, uses his body well to shield the ball and makes good decisions on it.

Disappointed to lose the game but on the other hand, Cork, Dundalk, Roves, etc are not teams we are going to be looking towards as points we should be taking. Anything from those games are just a bonus.

ToberonaTornado
24/02/2017, 10:53 PM

Thought Ryan Connolly was also poor for Rovers and young O'Connor too(despite his early disallowed goal and enthusiasm).
Burke was a disgrace and deserved the red.I honestly hate to see players who know they've fucxed up BIG time still protesting the red even when they know it's full deserved.
http://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2529&stc=1

24/02/2017, 10:57 PM
By the way did I see that Eddie Dsane came on for Harps?! Good luck with that.

24/02/2017, 10:59 PM
By the way did I see that Eddie Dsane came on for Harps?! Good luck with that.

Yeah, don't want to be too harsh after just 15 mins or so but looked out of his depth big time.....

24/02/2017, 11:14 PM
Yeah he's not a Premier Division player (and I'd question if he'd be a worthwhile addition at the higher end of the First) but what's worse is that based on his time with us he won't work and just sulks if things aren't going his way.

24/02/2017, 11:58 PM
Weather is OK in Ballybofey, light drizzle just. Weather forecasts are positive. https://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Ulster/Ballybofey/hour_by_hour.html
"Yr no place" is a pretty decent summary of Ballybofey in general I'd say.

25/02/2017, 12:12 AM
Not a great game in Dundalk and the amount of niggle certainly didn't help. Still, some promising spells for Rovers and nobody expected it to all fall into place within 90 minutes. Dundalk looked off their best and Barrett is a huge downgrade on Boyle, but we didn't have the quality to take advantage of it and, to be fair, Dundalk did a good job covering the weakness.

Burke is an idiot. Can't remember who the tackle was on (McEleney?) but completely uncalled for and hope he's OK.

joey B
25/02/2017, 12:17 AM
Announced at Finn park tonight 'Could Gordon Heapes come behind the town end goals and bring the keys to the car ;)#greatestleagueintheworld

25/02/2017, 2:20 AM
Sligo were absolutely flattered by the 5 1 scoreline tonight would have been 8 or 9 easy if we hadn't took the **** for the last half an hour.

Whether we are amazing or they are dog**** remains to be seen.

One think is certain Rodrigo Tosi is the greatest player to ever grace our league

25/02/2017, 2:35 AM
Sligo were absolutely flattered by the 5 1 scoreline tonight would have been 8 or 9 easy if we hadn't took the **** for the last half an hour.

Whether we are amazing or they are dog**** remains to be seen.

One think is certain Rodrigo Tosi is the greatest player to ever grace our league

A hat trick on your debut is some going, to continue the parallels with our 5-1 win over Fingal in '08 that I mentioned earlier in the thread (I'd get more craic out of this if Fingal ever had any fans but anyway) Darren McKenna got one for us on his debut that night. Fun fact.

ToberonaTornado
25/02/2017, 3:18 AM
Burke is an idiot. Can't remember who the tackle was on (McEleney?) but completely uncalled for and hope he's OK.

Jamie McGrath.
Shams were hitting a good phase in the game at the time.13 mins left and i think was then 5 injury added.Crazy for him to do that.

Pablo Escobar
25/02/2017, 4:57 AM
Jamie McGrath.
Shams were hitting a good phase in the game at the time.13 mins left and i think was then 5 injury added.Crazy for him to do that.
I'm just going to put it out there that Burke reacted to McGrath throwing himself on the ground. I'm not suggesting that Burke was right, but it was probably a reaction to that.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/02/2017, 6:51 AM
I'm just going to put it out there that Burke reacted to McGrath throwing himself on the ground. I'm not suggesting that Burke was right, but it was probably a reaction to that.

Ah now. That's like the Spurs manager trying to defend Ali for that tackle on Thursday night saying he was fouled beforehand. Disgraceful stuff from Burke. Good to see you trying to blame Dundalk for it all the same!!

And disgraceful stuff from us as well. No heart in the players who played last night. At least the Shams lads kicked a few people around the place. We couldn't get close enough to kick anyone. Lot of hard work to be done on the training ground. And Dundalk on the way next weekend.

Pablo Escobar
25/02/2017, 6:59 AM
Ah now. That's like the Spurs manager trying to defend Ali for that tackle on Thursday night saying he was fouled beforehand. Disgraceful stuff from Burke. Good to see you trying to blame Dundalk for it all the same!!

And disgraceful stuff from us as well. No heart in the players who played last night. At least the Shams lads kicked a few people around the place. We couldn't get close enough to kick anyone. Lot of hard work to be done on the training ground. And Dundalk on the way next weekend.
Please point to where I'm blaming Dundalk? I'm also not defending Burke. There's no excuse for doing it. I'm just trying to find the reasoning behind doing something so stupid. McGrath did throw himself down so I'm suggesting that it was a reaction to it. I'm in no way defending the action.

ToberonaTornado
25/02/2017, 7:10 AM
Bit of trolling going on.Usually happens half way through the season but 1 game in and here we are

Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/02/2017, 7:27 AM
Please point to where I'm blaming Dundalk? I'm also not defending Burke. There's no excuse for doing it. I'm just trying to find the reasoning behind doing something so stupid. McGrath did throw himself down so I'm suggesting that it was a reaction to it. I'm in no way defending the action.

There's no defending or reasoning for it in my eyes (and I'm only winding you up on the Dundalk comment). As mentioned already the photo where he looks shocked when he gets the red card is the funniest.

Actually thought Shams might have knicked a point if he hadn't been such an idiot. They had plenty of momentum at that stage (and could still have knicked one right at the end)