View Full Version : Best Kids Club in Ireland?

Pages : 1 [2]

Mad Moose
14/03/2005, 3:52 PM
CapparyHERE (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=236145#post236145)

Cappry Rovers

Brendan

Mad Moose
14/03/2005, 3:57 PM
So there are separate shower and changing facilities for the referee at Finn Park. Ive been in them dressing rooms often enough. Thats a new one on me.

Brendan

harpskid
14/03/2005, 4:01 PM
So there are separate shower and changing facilities for the referee at Finn Park. Ive been in them dressing rooms often enough. Thats a new one on me.

Yes!

Beside the away changing rooms - they've had to put them in as the Dublin refs wouldn't be as lenient as Curly, Duddy etc about things such as that

Derek
14/03/2005, 7:15 PM
Mr Admin,
Can you fix this thread up, there seems to be some topics unrelated the best kids club in Ireland.

Thanks

harpskid
14/03/2005, 7:24 PM
Best kids club in Ireland...

Probably Cherry Orchard I'd say or Home Farm.

Up in Donegal there's a load of good kids clubs - Kildrum Tigers, Raphoe Town, Glenea United, Harpsbear's Drumbar, Letterkenny Rovers being just a few off hand

Mad Moose
14/03/2005, 8:18 PM
I apologise for I shudn't have continued on the thread after it went off topic. I have but a couple of questions/suggestions. Had it not been for this particular thread I wouldn't have come across a man of the same footballing ethos as myself, that been that football is about fun and enjoyment. Having spent my entire youth on a football field with very often the moon as imaginary floodlights allowing me to play longer and very often on my own, Ive seen the change over the years and while we have a football field here in Donegal I see very few kids actually using it outside of coached session's. Wains are increasingly directed by TV, Playstation's etc and spend less time outdoors than ever.Many do not actually know what it is to play outdoors. Or so I thought the case was, its not entirely that bleak and yes when offered the opportunity to play they are more than willing. Yesterday was a prime example when 22 wains turned up early on sunday morning to travel. I was struck by their eagerness and willingness to get stuck in. Tonight I had a photograph taken for the paper with my underage sides, there must have been a good forty kids or more. This in a small rural town with a population of some 5,000 people and 3 other clubs within a 3 mile radius.

In much the same way as I'd seen at Merville Utd yesterday there is no limit to what can be achieved. I have wee fella's and girls who cannot kick a ball, who are scared of the ball but it doesn't mean they won't come back. With the right encouragement they return stronger and more determined. This is success, this is what its all about and ultimately what I want to see in the game and encourage in the game. I'm proud to say Ive helped a child, supported them, encouraged them. Our club cannot compete with Home Farm or Mervue Utd, nor will we try to. In fact i know a couple of boys just over the road who travel to Home Farm every saturday. That says alot for Home Farm who always have impressed me. At the same time there are players at our club who are without doubt as good as any Ive ever seen. All I will ever look to do is support and encourage them, offer them the opportunities. Its down to them where they want to take it. I will make sure that if and when they have to make a decision they no exactly who to turn to.

I'm always willing to hear from people involved at underage level as I did yesterday in Merville, to hear their vies, to listen to their advice. I would therefore like to see a section dedicated to underage soccer (I dont want to sound pushy on that, if its possible thats all). To learn a wee bit more about whats out there. Any suggestion's or maybe I'm asking to much. It would be nice to create links with people in the same area.

While I'm on the subject just wondering about club's in Roscommon. Underage football is my passion and since my job may just take me there, theirs one thing holding me back currently. I couldn't see myself not been involved at underage level. I just want to continue what I started.

Thanks,

Brendan

MervilleUnited
14/03/2005, 10:12 PM
Mr Admin,
Can you fix this thread up, there seems to be some topics unrelated the best kids club in Ireland.

Thanks
When I started this thread :D it simply was looking for comment on a subject close to my heart, Underage Football. And thanks to this thread, over 50 kids enjoyed a day out, and went home happy, win or lose. And from my clubs point of view, we see it as an chance to play football at a level unorganised in the Sligo Leitrim Area. I also got a chance to see (And Enjoy!) great talent from Donegal, and I look forward to the return. And tonight, thanks to Derek, I see a chance to give kids in my area, some from disadvantaged backgrounds, a chance to have happy memories for the rest of thier lives!

And thats from one thread!! :) Not Bad! So as Brendan Said, lets hope for a dedicated section for Underage football Mr. Admin!

As for the best Kids Club in Ireland... any club where all children who participate go home happy, as our lot did yesterday (even those who got thumped!) is worthy of the title!

14/03/2005, 11:41 PM
Just to say thanking Brendan and his club for coming down to Sligo Today for the challenge: Drumbar United and Merville United :D
Played in sticky conditions, both sides are to be applauded for what were bruising, but fair contests. Today, over 50 children enjoyed football, that simply would not have happened without forum such as this :)

However, I am looking forward to the return, when I get to do a bit of coaching, without the pressures of parental stress!!

Derek: I will be in touch shortly about your offer! Looking forward to it :ball:

I was at that match, Sligo played ye out of the ground,lol :p :D

Derek
14/03/2005, 11:44 PM
Merville, did you check your private messages?

It would be great if you could read them and send me a reply.

Thanks.

Derek.

Mad Moose
15/03/2005, 8:32 AM
For anyone who has read the my posts above you'll get a feel of the passion I have particularly for underage level football. I work very closely with children during my 9 to 5 and I really enjoy it. There is nothing I love more than to finish work on Monday evening and Wednesday evening and coach children. There's nothing I love more than to tog out on Saturday morning and take to the field. More often than not I'm a bigger wain than most of them.

I have an important decision to make in the coming weeks regarding my future which may take me further south. Its a decision that wont be made lightly and the most important factor is the availability of a club where I can carry on what I have started. If anybody would be so kind as to give me ideas on clubs in the county, contacts etc. Its alot to ask but its an important factor in my decision.

Thanks in advance.

FAO Sligoman :D :D
Here Sligoman I'm still wretching with vision's of the showgrounds. Don't like to see my wains playing to close to that. No offence Merville Utd. It was like a bad dose of food poisoning. :D

Brendan

MervilleUnited
15/03/2005, 6:29 PM
Hello all,
Dicovered a kids soccer section on foot.ie, not used in 6 months ;)

Its in the world football section :confused: !!

May all the interested parties get together there :o
Maybe we couls organise an online "Chat" at a prearranged time to tease out ideas and suggestions! :)

Regards
RD

MervilleUnited
15/03/2005, 8:17 PM
OOOH! That move, pluked from the land far far away was painful :eek: :confused: :D !!

Spread the word!! :ball:

MervilleUnited
24/03/2005, 5:54 PM
Just been talking about Merville Uniteds Draw with Knock Kiltimagh in Round 4 of the Connacht Cup U16 (The Competition is a Farce, but we will put up with it!! :confused: )

Seems that KK have teams in the QF of the Connacht Cup at U12, U14, U16 and U18 Levels! Not Bad Performance throughout the structure!!

Looking forward to meeting them! :)

Mad Moose
28/03/2005, 1:32 PM
Best of luck with that RD. I take a special interest in that one for my homeplace is just 'down the road from Knock' as Christy may have sang. Now RD ya didn't know that. Send me a text with the details of that fixture if ya get a chance in the unlikely instance I'm passing through.

Our U-10's finished runners up in a very successful U-10's South Donegal Schoolboy's League Blitz at the weekend. Things didn't quite take off for us as we opened with a win over neighbours Copany Rovers 1-0. This was followed by defeat by the same score-line to Donegal Town before securing runners up spot with a 4-0 disposal of Erne Wanderers. The weather was fantastic and a great day was had by all. So worked up about it as I was I didn't sleep a wink the night before. Mad or what :D

Away now with the U-12's to Copany Rovers. Our U-12's haven't kicked off the season just yet.

I was hoping to add some pictures to this particular forum but I wouldn't have a clue. Even to create a link. I have pictures downloaded to the laptop but don't know what to do from there. Just pictures (one) from our day in Merville, pictures of our ground and from Saturday's competition.

Just an idea.

BTW. Well done to everybody who has helped make a good home for Kids Soccer on foot.ie. I take it we are here to stay!!!

Brendan Grufferty,PRO
Drumbar Utd F.C
Donegal

winger
20/04/2005, 12:53 PM
i agree with some of the comments made about cherry orchard poaching players, and the comments about home farm, st kevins and stella maris only picking the best. there is a club in dublin called templeogue united they have 36 schoolboy teams 2 senior teams i think 6 girls teams and two senior ladies teams with a number of internationals in the ladies section. my son plays for them and the ethos is that if a child wants to play the beautiful game teams are provided, yes they will pick the best for the 'a' teams but even the less skillful players will have a team and a league to play in. they start from 4 to 5 yr olds and the focus is on enjoyment not competition, fair play to them. check out their web site www.templeogueunited.com

Mad Moose
21/04/2005, 1:29 PM
Good stuff Winger. Sounds good and what its all about.

Brendan

winger
22/04/2005, 12:11 AM
thanks for the comment brendan.if only a lot of clubs had the same idea
there would be less hassle for referees and the children playing. also at 7,8,9 and 10, the "win at all cost mentality" should be forced out of the game. i know there is a shortage of refs and that a "home " ref is quite common but
to see them blatently cheating the kids ia appalling.

Mad Moose
22/04/2005, 8:47 AM
thanks for the comment brendan.if only a lot of clubs had the same idea
there would be less hassle for referees and the children playing. also at 7,8,9 and 10, the "win at all cost mentality" should be forced out of the game. i know there is a shortage of refs and that a "home " ref is quite common but
to see them blatently cheating the kids ia appalling.

Tell ya what Winger but there are no shortage of clubs of the same idea. I found quite a few here courtesy of foot.ie. Its never quite as simple as that. I get frustrated with the game because in a sense I'm set in my ways and this is for me about equal opportunity and enjoyment. I feel since I started out I have really got places not least the respect of the kids involved but in terms of interest in what I'm trying to achieve. Parents will support you I've found because when you set out to do the right things in life you'll find particularly the parents will be of the same thinking. Its bloody hard work but for me its very very fulfilling.

I can see a book out of this!!!!!

Brendan Grufferty,PRO
Drumbar Utd,
Donegal Town

Mad Moose
05/05/2005, 8:38 AM
I feel since I started out I have really got places not least the respect of the kids involved but in terms of interest in what I'm trying to achieve.

I got my wish yesterday evening. All my hard work paid off. A friendly game was organised last night with local side Killymard Utd. Most of my regular U-10's were away with Community Games so only 3 of my regular 10's side turned up. This was complimented by 11 U-8's and U-9's. Most of the boys had been with me all along and while a few haven't got the hang of the game yet I was delighted to give them all a run out. They were just told to go out and enjoy themselves.In a 9 -aside game all 5 subs were introduced at one point for a run out and they really enjoyed it. Think we were 3-0 down but it finished 3-2 to Killymard.I'm still trying to get Alan to declare his side's ages mind!!!

An interesting point of the game was reached when the referee for the game told me I couldn't bring on 2 subs because they weren't wearing shinguards. I told the boys to run on and informed the ref that he would have to abandon the game because few if any of the Killymard boys wore any. The game went on and the ref didn't come near me after.

In terms of setting up the game I've found myself setting up the pitch as far away from the spectators/parents. I expect to be the only one talking to them during the game and I have found parents get carried away and essentially really feic the whole thing up. I knew a few of our boys getting their first game would be nervous so it was up to me to encourage and support them.

Again football was the winner.A wee few encouraging words at the end and the boy's went home happy.

Think we have a small matter of a challenge on Sunday. See here for further details.

Brendan Grufferty,PRO
Drumbar Utd,
Donegal Town

MervilleUnited
07/05/2005, 1:01 PM
Its a battle keeping all, of all skill levels and indeed none, involved. Satisfaction is well work it though. Sombody in poer needs to look at the big picture however. I know that most people with youth and kids soccer in thier blood can dedicate 10 hours a week plus to it, and be expected to have the wisdom of Sigmund Freud when dealing with players and parents :) Not to mention the loss of earnings through no overtime etc. Not to mention the grief from the other half about mowing the bloody lawn!

If it costs 80k a year to keep a prisoner in Jail, think of the impact 5k a year to kids clubs would make?

Still, a bit of hard work makes the pint taste sweeter! :)

Mad Moose
08/05/2005, 9:19 PM
Its a battle keeping all, of all skill levels and indeed none, involved. Satisfaction is well work it though. Sombody in poer needs to look at the big picture however. I know that most people with youth and kids soccer in thier blood can dedicate 10 hours a week plus to it, and be expected to have the wisdom of Sigmund Freud when dealing with players and parents :) Not to mention the loss of earnings through no overtime etc. Not to mention the grief from the other half about mowing the bloody lawn!

Here here Richie. Some good points. At this stage I'm absolutely shattered. Jus to give people an idea of a typical weekend for me. This weekend I finished work on friday night and was absolutely shattered. I got home and I went out and uncustomarily got blathered (Tough work at week!!) Saturday morning out for training at half 10 with a sick stomach, the onslaught of flu and time only for a banana for breakfast. One and a half hour of a session and then the pitch to set up depending on the upcoming fixture. Left that at 3 to go and have lunch and take in an U-12 game 2 hours later.

Not fit to do anything else on Saturday. Did however attempt a page of a popular Freud classic.

Sunday morning, out to the pitch at 11.30 with a slice of dry toast for breakfast as I drive and another sick stomach. Shattered by 3.30 and next thing ya know its back to work.

But seriously it takes so much time and effort.I suppose I may complain but I would be a lesser mortal without that passion.

If it costs 80k a year to keep a prisoner in Jail, think of the impact 5k a year to kids clubs would make?

Still, a bit of hard work makes the pint taste sweeter! :)

5K a year and your talking miracles. We are performing miracles on little more than shoestring budget.

About the pint and sweeter and all that Richie..............as long as you dont bring that up with the kids.

Brendan

MervilleUnited
09/05/2005, 10:07 AM
5K a year and your talking miracles. We are performing miracles on little more than shoestring budget.

About the pint and sweeter and all that Richie..............as long as you dont bring that up with the kids.

Brendan

Not a mention! :) That said, lets hope for a few Barstool Experts to get up and give a hand!