View Full Version : No Premier Division Licence...

Xlex
11/02/2005, 11:28 AM
Apperently, all is in hand.....

Some outstanding paperwork.... Max has the inside line but just decided to speak on it on his own personal ego builder...

Frankly, I think it's a big downer being the only club who has not achieved the licence and quite frankly I think it's such behaviour that has this Leagues image down the sh1tter!

Sort it out.

11/02/2005, 11:40 AM
Frankly, I think it's a big downer being the only club who has not achieved the licence and quite frankly I think it's such behaviour that has this Leagues image down the sh1tter!

Sort it out.
Very dissappointed that we are the only premier division club not to get one. More ammo to be used against as a club.

Some outstanding paperwork.... Max has the inside line but just decided to speak on it on his own personnal ego builder...
Wondered where everyone had gone. Far more relaxed since everyone's left. Has Cop On got a link?

11/02/2005, 11:46 AM
You have to ask yourself "Would this have happened if you had a tashless director of football?"

makes you think.....

the only way rovers could have got one is if clarkson paid the substantial tax bill - which means maguire is stuck with the clarkson route full stop come wot may

rumour is pats had help from new investors - very positive if true (and more announcements in the pipe line....

piratemousey
11/02/2005, 12:56 PM
Longford fail to earn licence
11/02/2005 - 13:06:27

Longford Town have failed to gain an FAI Club Licence for the Premier Division and could face relegation to the First Division.

A short statement released by Longford read: “Longford Town FC would like to confirm that our appeal of the First Instance Club Licensing Committee decision has been unsuccessful.

“We are addressing the areas of concern and hope to have this completed in the next week. We would like to thank Bob Breen and his staff for their assistance to date.”

If the club do not satisfy the Appeals Committee by next week, they could face relegation from the First Division in line with guidelines in the FAI Club Licensing Manual.

Meanwhile, Dublin City failed to gain a First Division licence though club secretary Ronan Seery revealed that he was confident that they will receive a licence next week.

He said: “We failed because we have furnished the FAI with one document. We have been given a week to get it and we’re just waiting on it to arrive.”

Cork City, Shelbourne, St Patrick’s Athletic, UCD, Bray Wanderers, Finn Harps and Drogheda United have all confirmed they have gained Premier Division Licences.

from breakingnews.ie

threads merged

11/02/2005, 4:32 PM
We'll hope for the best but wheels turn slowly with these things..Not that simple a thing really it involves sorting out areas that were really badly neglected by previous committees, it was incredibly amateurish for a long time and is causing problems for those trying to sort it out now and who have been sorting alot of other issues out over the past 2 seasons or so. With a bit of luck all will be done but it's going to be a tight one. I don't like to think what could happen if it's not.

btw Amusingly enough, Max can't post on here from work as his incredible amount of time spent on foot.ie has led to his department having firewalled it

11/02/2005, 4:48 PM
So what is the story ..... if it is just paperwork and not its content then there is no sweat, who gives a toss if you didn't get it this time ... just as long as you get it the next time round.

What actually needs to be done ??

11/02/2005, 4:50 PM
Ah lads, I know ye didn't get the licence, but this (http://www.breakingnews.ie/2005/02/11/story188957.html) won't help :D

11/02/2005, 5:15 PM
Very funny Eanna :D ..Face, don't want to go into too much detail here but it is under the legal criteria that we went down, those at the helm will do their very best but it's tricky enough to get it done in time, hopefully everything will work out and if it does we'll be all set for a good season.

Sonic
11/02/2005, 5:36 PM
look longfordian if you know something will you dish the dirt and never mind this not too much detail crap.we are longford town fans and if we are fcuked down down down to the first division we wpuld like to know what for.i know its the worst case senario but that the only info we are given

11/02/2005, 6:24 PM
look longfordian if you know something will you dish the dirt and never mind this not too much detail crap.we are longford town fans and if we are fcuked down down down to the first division we wpuld like to know what for.i know its the worst case senario but that the only info we are given

If the club didn't release it in a statement to the media it's not my place to say it on here. It's an ongoing process and I don't want to do anything or say anything which may in any way affect it, if the worst happens i'm sure all will be revealed and if, hopefully, a positive outcome is reached then that may be the time to explain what was happening but it's not my place to do it now

town73
11/02/2005, 6:31 PM
If the club didn't release it in a statement to the media it's not my place to say it on here. It's an ongoing process and I don't want to do anything or say anything which may in any way affect it, if the worst happens i'm sure all will be revealed and if, hopefully, a positive outcome is reached then that may be the time to explain what was happening but it's not my place to do it now

Agree in full. It's not the sort of thing can be discussed, as frustrating as it is for Town fans at the moment - includes me.

12/02/2005, 7:21 AM
Could this paperwork etc not have been ready before this? Surely the club were informed of what was needed?

12/02/2005, 7:25 AM
btw Amusingly enough, Max can't post on here from work as his incredible amount of time spent on foot.ie has led to his department having firewalled it

big brother is alive and well.
i'd say there are a good few on here that risk a similar fate :eek:

Sonic
12/02/2005, 12:16 PM
Could this paperwork etc not have been ready before this? Surely the club were informed of what was needed?

Thats what worries me maz. i mean they released a statement saying they are confident of getting the paperwork work together in a weeks time wat may i ask were they doing for the last two weeks or so when all other clubs were bursting a gut to get their applications in on time :mad:

12/02/2005, 4:00 PM
We'll put you in charge of the next application so Sonic..Nobody has any idea how much of a mess this club was in up until about two seasons ago when new people took over in vital positions and tried to address these problems rather than burying their heads in the sand as had been done for years beforehand. Those within the club (rightly in my opinion) like to deal with the problems out of the public eye.

It's taking and has taken a hell of alot of effort to get it anywhere near sorted and the club is very nearly there, to say they weren't bothering getting everything together is very much untrue. The main problem in our club is not enough people want to actually do anything but like to spout off about what everyone else should be doing.

14/02/2005, 7:19 AM
How real is the threat of dropping down a division? Is our UEFA Cup spot and Setanta Cup spot safe?

14/02/2005, 9:50 AM
Delaney (I think) has come out & said that if we don't get the licence, we'll still be able to participate in the Santy cup but not in the UEFA competition ....
The deadline for a UEFA licence isn't until the end of May though. Setanta cup more important financially anyway.....

Laker
14/02/2005, 10:07 AM
Setanta Cup more important than the UEFA!!!!! Thats Nonsence.

14/02/2005, 10:28 AM
€150,000 grand for winning it, big gates against the Northern teams. Financially I'd say it is more important.

Take out the travel costs for the UEFA, and 2 home games (at best, if we actually get through a round) against relatively unattractive opposition, I think it'd be a close run thing.

We'll get a bigger crowd for the home game against Linfield, than we did against Lovech or Vaduz.

Certainly I'm looking forward to the Setanta Cup more than Europe - If nothing else we have chance of winning the Setanta and becoming champions of the island.

14/02/2005, 10:33 AM

The word "Nonsence" is Nonsense!

reminds me of the brasseye episode where they set up Nonce-sense to combat paedos :D

Laker
14/02/2005, 11:33 AM
Its not all about money you know

14/02/2005, 11:36 AM
Its not all about money you know
No it's not.
Which is more winnable, the UEFA Cup or the Setanta Cup?
Which will have the higher profile, the UEFA Cup or the Setanta Cup?

Laker
14/02/2005, 11:47 AM
To win a couple of rounds in europe is far better than winning the setanta cup.
We have enough sliverware.....

Sonic
14/02/2005, 3:09 PM
your missing the point longfordian.i am only commenting on the information given to us.if it is just legal documentation that needs to be handed in i cant see why it could not have been handed up before deadline.if it is as serious as you suggest im mearly suggesting that the club inform the supporters as to what is going on instead of realeasing a statement saying everything is going to be hunky dory next friday.the above posts suggest we wont get the licence next friday.i am not saying it is your duty to display all you know on foot.ie but i do feel it is the clubs duty to let us know what the problem is instead of getting our hopes up to be dashed this coming friday. :ball:

14/02/2005, 3:30 PM
If all goes to plan we'll have our licence on Friday maybe even before then..It's just an issue of timing, whether we can get what we need from an outside party by Friday. If they decide to be prikks about it we may run out of time which would be most aggravating as there's no real long term problem. Our external accountant didn't appreciate the urgency of it moreso than the club if you're looking for someone to blame for the documentation not being in on time..again time is the problem, if we had another week we'd be fine I'd say and hopefully we will anyway

Albert
14/02/2005, 4:00 PM
lets just hope it is all sorted, and while I know we probably keep things based in Longford and thats cheaper and more homegrown perhaps we should be looking at having our company secretarial, legal and accounting work being done by one of the major legal or accounting firms who deal with the FAI all the time and have dedicated sport law units................not that Id tout for business for anyone :D

Dillo
14/02/2005, 6:18 PM
The sooner this mess is sorted out the better for all concerned. It reflects poorly on Longford Town and the EL and is totally unacceptable.

14/02/2005, 7:18 PM
Harsh Dillo, you have to submit I think it's 300 different things to the Licensing Committee, we're missing 1. It's looking at the moment like we'll have it done in time, so hopefully we'll have good news maybe Thursday or Friday, as soon as we get that document in, we'll be approved for our license almost immediately.

Our accountant is a partner in a large Dublin practice and if anything had too many things to be doing and didn't seem to appreciate the urgency of our situation and thought he could get everything sorted in a couple of days then found it would take longer.Not trying to get into the blame game but it's not all the club's fault, I'd imagine other clubs have had similar dificulties. It was and is far from ideal but if we get our licence all will be well that ends well.

tallaghtfornia
15/02/2005, 11:48 AM
i was so stunned to hear longford did not get a license. find it hard to think of a more progressive (i.e stadium, player signings) and upcoming club (i.e cup successes) club in the country.
hope the FAI get their ar*es in gear and help town out!!!!

15/02/2005, 12:11 PM
i was so stunned to hear longford did not get a license. find it hard to think of a more progressive (i.e stadium, player signings) and upcoming club (i.e cup successes) club in the country.
hope the FAI get their ar*es in gear and help town out!!!!
Cheers tallaghtfornia. Its good to get support from fans of other clubs, esp. fans from Dublin :D

15/02/2005, 12:22 PM
My opinion is that if a club doesn't get a licence for a relatively minor technical reason relegation should not be considered.

Possibly point deduction should be the sanction but that would depend on the extent of the breach. However the sanctions should be made clear to the clubs well before the deadline for original submissions. Not sure if that happened.

Hopefully in 5 years time we'll see licencing as being something that helped our clubs progress on a lot of fronts.

tallaghtfornia
15/02/2005, 12:40 PM
Cheers tallaghtfornia. Its good to get support from fans of other clubs, esp. fans from Dublin :D

no probs de town, despite the bad publicity rovers fans get from fans and "experts" in this country we will stand up and support clubs in this league.we have been helped thru our long struggle that will hopefully end soon because a rovers with their own ground is good for the league.

Granted, there has been a few flare ups with rovers in longford but we do respect your club and what u are tryin to do down there and u not gettin a license is a disgrace,

look forward to a drink fuelled,heavy security trip to the flansiro soon!!!

15/02/2005, 12:41 PM
If we get over the line this time we won't have any major problems keeping up those standards it's just the time factor that increases the pressure..possible sanction I've heard mooted is losing our UEFA spot which I would not want to happen. Hopefully we'll get there by Friday anyway

15/02/2005, 12:51 PM
I thought clubs had until May anyway to get the UEFA licence. I don't think Shels or City have it yet. Wouldn't be fair if Longford had less time to get the UEFA licence than other qualified clubs.

15/02/2005, 12:53 PM
I thought clubs had until May anyway to get the UEFA licence. I don't think Shels or City have it yet.
Was it announced that Shels and Cork had gotten the Premier, but not the UEFA, or just that they'd gotten the Premier? Did they even go for the UEFA licence at this stage?

15/02/2005, 1:08 PM
Apparently you must have a league licence to get a UEFA Licence, and to get a League Licence we have until Friday. The proverbial holes are being bursted to get it done so here's hoping

town73
16/02/2005, 3:00 PM
Can't believe we don't have Techs calling for Matthew's head on this one. Anyone heard from him - has he gone to ground??

I think he has seen the light and removed that signature. Maybe he's lost the stick to beat his drum . . .

higgins
17/02/2005, 9:54 PM
Whats the story Longford???

If its just documents like it was with the other 3 clubs then why dont you sort it.... Whats going on?

1 day to go.....

You need the license to get the UEFA License so it would mean Drogheda probably getting a chance woulnt it? Cant see you being allowed to compete if you fail the premier license. Cant believe your not there yet :(

18/02/2005, 1:18 AM
The club has submitted all documentation it was asked to submit, it was submitted about six today (yesterday :confused: ) so tomorrow morning 'should' bring the official announcement barring unforeseen circumstances..either way watch out for it on our official website

18/02/2005, 9:42 AM
I was waiting for you to bring that one back up Cop On :)