View Full Version : valentines day

exile
10/02/2005, 11:31 AM
what will you be doing, any idea's suggestions

10/02/2005, 12:11 PM
Happily I'll be ignoring it.
Neither my girlfriend nor myself need Hallmark to designate a day for us to be romantic, can't believe she agreed with me ;)

Then again, i'll probably buy a safety card in case she turns up with one leaving me caught out.

10/02/2005, 1:02 PM
I'll prolly have a good w*nk for myself. Special treat.

10/02/2005, 1:11 PM
Neither my girlfriend nor myself need Hallmark to designate a day for us to be romantic, can't believe she agreed with me ;)

Then again, i'll probably buy a safety card in case she turns up with one leaving me caught out.

Tictok what have you got her smoking/slipping into her tea to make her so...so...reasonable?

Im thinking card and a few DVDs she has her eye on

I'll prolly have a good w*nk for myself. Special treat.

Sounds too much like hard work

carrickharp
10/02/2005, 2:46 PM
Signing a contract for a house we are buying in Donegal (nothing to do with the date just that my solicitor is in Dublin on Monday).
Wasn’t planing to do this but it is a bargain and can move some of our valuables into it (less chance of a break-in :mad: up there) I suppose I have to get on the property ladder sometime :rolleyes:

finlma
10/02/2005, 7:32 PM
I'm going on a week long camping trip with the bird here in NZ. Just so happens that it coincides with Valentines. I'll be able to sit under the stars and share my vast astronomical knowledge with her - "there's the moon love."

14/02/2005, 2:31 PM
Well since nobody else is gonna be honest I will!

I'm going to spend the day convincing myself that Valentine's Day is a sham and that I'm better off out of it and recasting all my exes as hatchet-faced b1tches in my head (bar the last who I still understandably have a soft spot for). This pretence will last until approximately 11pm tonight when I will listen to all sorts of depressing music in the dark (Counting Crows, Dashboard Confessional, you all know the sorta thing) and turn into a big, bleary-eyed girl. I will then probably crack and text at least one and possibly more of my exes who if they respond at all wil do so only to ask have I started drinking. This is my first single Valentine's Day since 2002 so I'm gonna go back to the old habits with a bang! :D

14/02/2005, 3:11 PM
i'm spending it in college wishing my girlfriend was going to UCC and not Mary I, Limerick. still though, we had "Love Day(tm)" on Saturday and the gay and lesbien society are bouncing around college like loonies so that makes up for it.

14/02/2005, 3:17 PM
i'm spending it in college wishing my girlfriend was going to UCC and not Mary I, Limerick.

I wish your girlfriend was in UCC too for your sake. I spent five years in Mary I, sampled the females there on occasion and they all go bloody mental in the end! :confused: Get out now while you still can! :p

Ruairi
14/02/2005, 3:19 PM
I wish your girlfriend was in UCC too for your sake. I spent five years in Mary I, sampled the females there on occasion and they all go bloody mental in the end! :confused: Get out now while you still can! :p

Sh!t i just kinda started seeing a girl who goes to mary I... looks like i'm in trouble so... and she lives on the aran islands so i certainly know how to pick em :o

blobbyblob
14/02/2005, 3:24 PM

You are so screwed man. I tried that once. They are all smiley and happy and think you are only messing. And you think she is the greatest thing ever. Obviously there cant be too many men around in the world with girlfriends as understanding as yours.

But wait til ya see. She'll be there. Grinding her teeth behind the clenched smile and if she doesnt get you back tonight, retribution is close at hand.

Beware of what lies beneath!!!

14/02/2005, 3:25 PM
Sh!t i just kinda started seeing a girl who goes to mary I... looks like i'm in trouble so... and she lives on the aran islands so i certainly know how to pick em :o

I used to live with a Mary I Aran Islander, in fact she's still there. If you want me to do a free scouting mission for you Ruairi just let me know. I'll call in a few favours! ;)

Karlos
14/02/2005, 3:26 PM
I've managed to convince the missus to head out for a quiet drink tonight. Just so happens whereever we go, their will be a screen tv with the Arsenal game on it!! Had to buy extra good presents to make up for when she notices my REAL intentions!!! :D :D

p.s. it is murphy's law that Arsenal will lose as a result of my devious ways!! :confused:

14/02/2005, 3:34 PM
I've managed to convince the missus to head out for a quiet drink tonight. Just so happens whereever we go, their will be a screen tv with the Arsenal game on it!!

I've been asked to go for a drink because she's a Palace fan and wants to see the game. How sorted is that!? :)

14/02/2005, 3:35 PM
How sorted is that!? :)

I hope you lose ;) :)

14/02/2005, 3:40 PM
I hope you lose ;) :)

I can't lose mate.
If Palace win I'll be her "celebration"! ;)

Karlos
14/02/2005, 3:40 PM
I've been asked to go for a drink because she's a Palace fan and wants to see the game. How sorted is that!? :)

the joys of being in love with a female football fan! :D

My Missus is a bloody Black Belt in Tae-Kwon-do so here's hoping the presents are good enough to take her mind off the fact I've bribed her to watch the gooners! If it all goes wrong I won't be typing for a while!! :D

14/02/2005, 3:42 PM
the joys of being in love with a female football fan! :D

Jeebus! Steady on!
Who said anything about love!? :eek: :D

14/02/2005, 3:45 PM
I can't lose mate.
If Palace win I'll be her "celebration"! ;)

kind of what I was hinting at there Peadar :D
Bonne Chance. ;)

14/02/2005, 3:47 PM
kind of what I was hinting at there Peadar

I'd say you were alright. ;)

By the sounds of it, you need "Bonne Chance" a lot more than I do when you get home from work. :D

14/02/2005, 3:49 PM
By the sounds of it, you need "Bonne Chance" a lot more than I do when you get home from work. :D

I have the pre-emptive card and pressie in the car, in case she's purchased.
I'll be alright, don't worry :D

14/02/2005, 3:53 PM
I have the pre-emptive card and pressie in the car, in case she's purchased.

Are you sure you're not from Cork? ;)

14/02/2005, 4:25 PM
i'm spending it in college wishing my girlfriend was going to UCC and not Mary I, Limerick.
You're doomed mate. I have gone out with trainee teachers in Dublin in the past (long ago now, thank God). They were more contrary and less, ehm, active, than almost any other women I have hung about with, never mind, ehm, pursued activities with. Worst of all, they become teachers when they grow up... and even if they never do (the wounds are still deep).

Sympathies to SLK, I was in Mary I once or twice (same result, funny enough). I presume you were doing Arts there - you don't sound too teacher-y (painful, painful memories). Is that weird indoor grotto by the church still there?

14/02/2005, 4:49 PM
My bird is Chinese . . . I was going to cook her a special meal but it looked like too much hard wok. :D
Get off the Stage :o

Gareth
14/02/2005, 5:12 PM
Make a card, put Hallmark out of business :)

14/02/2005, 8:44 PM
Sympathies to SLK, I was in Mary I once or twice (same result, funny enough). I presume you were doing Arts there - you don't sound too teacher-y (painful, painful memories). Is that weird indoor grotto by the church still there?

The indoor grotto is still there and will be when the rest of the city crumbles into dust I'd imagine. And your guess was right, I was a lazy, unmotivated Arts person there for far too long and went through a number of student teachers. Not bad girls but at the same time, they all had something weird going on... :eek:

15/02/2005, 7:59 AM
You are so screwed man. I tried that once. They are all smiley and happy and think you are only messing. And you think she is the greatest thing ever. Obviously there cant be too many men around in the world with girlfriends as understanding as yours.

But wait til ya see. She'll be there. Grinding her teeth behind the clenched smile and if she doesnt get you back tonight, retribution is close at hand.

Beware of what lies beneath!!!
Shouldn't have gone early.... believed that she really meant that just a card this year as we have so much to get for the house.... Never again, even if it's some ridiculously overpriced bunch of flowers.... :eek: :D

15/02/2005, 12:46 PM
Yup. Always need to give something on Valentine's but the value isn't as important as you might think.
You've all been there - 'so any cards this year' - and when you are going out with someone there is pressure on from other people to see what you got.

I got nothing from a guy I was with awhile ago - we didn't even meet up that day...

15/02/2005, 12:50 PM
You're doomed mate. I have gone out with trainee teachers in Dublin in the past (long ago now, thank God). They were more contrary and less, ehm, active, than almost any other women I have hung about with, never mind, ehm, pursued activities with.

jackeen girls are hardly the same as lovely cork girls now are they ;)

ive been going out with her for 2 years, i dont need you to tell me i'm doomed ;) shes quite... active. :confused: :D

15/02/2005, 1:50 PM
the joys of being in love with a female football fan!

not always a good thing
cant escape to the match and have a laugh and a few beers with the lads

15/02/2005, 1:54 PM

well?
I'd imagine 5-1 may have put the end to that :D
I'd say the only kissing going on was Reyes and the Crest, a sure sign he wants out :p :D :D

15/02/2005, 2:01 PM
well?

She wanted to go home at 3-0, but sadly not to my place. ;)
Suppose I didn't help by saying that AJ was trying to impress AW in hope of a move to a big club. :D
Made her wait 'til the end and watch the replay of all the goals after the game.
Well, I had to get a little pleasure from somewhere, didn't I!? :D

exile
15/02/2005, 2:53 PM
reading what alot of guys posted here just hope none of your girlies read your posts on the subject :D

Karlos
15/02/2005, 3:27 PM
She wanted to go home at 3-0, but sadly not to my place. ;)
Suppose I didn't help by saying that AJ was trying to impress AW in hope of a move to a big club. :D
Made her wait 'til the end and watch the replay of all the goals after the game.
Well, I had to get a little pleasure from somewhere, didn't I!? :D

lets be honest Peader, in footballing terms, watching your team scoring five goals is a multiple orgasm! :D

15/02/2005, 3:30 PM
watching your team scoring five goals

But Cork City FC weren't playing last night? :confused: ;)

Ruairi
15/02/2005, 3:32 PM
lets be honest Peader, in footballing terms, watching your team scoring five goals is a multiple orgasm! :D

unless you lose 6-5, in which case its more like a bad w@nk

Karlos
15/02/2005, 3:46 PM
But Cork City FC weren't playing last night? :confused: ;)

ha ha, ya know what I mean! :D

Although another way to look to at it, is in footballing terms it was like sleeping with 'just a friend' behind your girlfriend back! i.e. it mightn't be your first love but it feels good and p1sses the missus off none the less!!! :D

harpskid
15/02/2005, 3:50 PM
cant escape to the match and have a laugh and a few beers with the lads

Mine's a hardcore Harps fan too :eek: which means I can get to the match no problem. The few beers with the lads is never really a problem until a 'few' becomes a 'lot' :o

lopez
15/02/2005, 4:18 PM
I'll prolly have a good w*nk for myself. Special treat.Funny, but that's what I ended up settling for. :eek: :o Except that it was in the romantic surroundings of Valencia airport bogs. :cool:

15/02/2005, 5:10 PM
Mine's a hardcore Harps fan too :eek: which means I can get to the match no problem. The few beers with the lads is never really a problem until a 'few' becomes a 'lot' :o

Is handy though cos Friday night is never an issue.

anto eile
16/02/2005, 4:39 PM

good safety bet.i got stung before with one of them "agreements" turnign into a quick "disagreement"
but feck it "love day" sorry i mean valentines day is a complete scam!!ive no time for it.i happily watched tv on monday night....thouhg having no money after a weekend on the beer in lacostepool aided that situation..

16/02/2005, 7:52 PM
jackeen girls are hardly the same as lovely cork girls now are they ;)

ive been going out with her for 2 years, i dont need you to tell me i'm doomed ;) shes quite... active. :confused: :D

Jackeen girls are enough to make one look to foreign climes.
Cork girls are lot better... I better get my coat :p

17/02/2005, 7:33 AM
Jackeen girls are enough to make one look to foreign climes.

I've often been away working in places like, Paris, Copenhagen, Helsinki, Stockholm, Amsterdam, Munich, Toronto, New York, London etc. and when I get home, it always strikes me how gorgeous the women in Dublin are.
London and Paris compare well but they've got about 8 times the population of Dublin.
Is that the sound of a worm can being opened that I can hear!? :D

lopez
17/02/2005, 1:42 PM
...it always strikes me how gorgeous the women in Dublin are...Me and Sylvo's highlight of our visit to Dublin last week was the young coleen who teased a group of skangers getting off the dart at Lansdowne Road by pretending to whip her t-shirt up and show us her beberones. We christened her Hibernia, as we both took in the Dublin Castle tour the following day (to keep us out of the pub BTW) and saw Hibernia getting her left bap out for George III's coronation as pictured on the President's hall ceiling. As confirmed republicans we wanted either the British government to remove this disgusting piece of 'art' or else allow some members of the travelling community to remove it instead, and get in someone to paint Hibernia in the same pose but on the dart with an audience of local chavs and two dirty 2G pervs.

17/02/2005, 6:09 PM
I've often been away working in places like, Paris, Copenhagen, Helsinki, Stockholm, Amsterdam, Munich, Toronto, New York, London etc. and when I get home, it always strikes me how gorgeous the women in Dublin are.
London and Paris compare well but they've got about 8 times the population of Dublin.
Is that the sound of a worm can being opened that I can hear!? :D

are you for real?
Stockholm and Berne are full of gorgeous women. dublin is full of ugly pastered in make-up slappers, and the odd non-heiffer culchie in for the weekend.

http://www.st-andrews.ac.uk/~whockey/pic/Dublin%20girls%20on%20ferry.jpg

ooooh gorgeous

17/02/2005, 10:16 PM
have to say I have only ever gone out in Dublin city centre once, and I was more impressed than I thought I'd be. But its not a patch on many other places: Copenhagen, Longford ;), Madrid, Germany as a whole, University of Limerick :)

17/02/2005, 10:23 PM
Not bad girls but at the same time, they all had something weird going on... :eek:
seeing as no-one else has said it......

Mary I = Virgin Megastore yawn :)

by the by, I'll always remember a piece of advice I was given about student women in Limerick at the start of First Year by my friends housemate (he was in Fourth Year)
"get it while you can, because they go like rabbits for the first 6 months, then the money dries up, they stop drinking and spend the next 3 and half years wondering what their mother would say." :)

18/02/2005, 12:15 AM

just 'txtd' Trina there to see what she makes of that one...

18/02/2005, 7:29 AM
are you for real?

Yes, very much so.

Many people go away for a weekend, see two or three nice birds and come back saying the place was full of rasher.
I spent 6 months in Amsterdam and refused to extend my contract.
I spent over two months in Copenhagen and the same again in Helsinki.
If you're into stereotypical blondes with nothing interesting to say for themselves then you'll like those places.
As a complete package, with regard to looks, personality and being generally up for a bit of craic, they're not a patch on Irish women.

Personally, blue eyed brunettes do it for me.

http://www.st-andrews.ac.uk/~whockey/pic/Dublin%20girls%20on%20ferry.jpg

ooooh gorgeous

Using a picture taken on a lesbian boat trip is hardly a great base for your argument, Gav. :D

18/02/2005, 11:40 AM
seeing as no-one else has said it......

Not forgetting...

Mary I = Mary Dry

There's another couple as well that I'm forgetting... :rolleyes:

On a related note I arrived in Durham the other day and for a fairly small city the talent is savage. It's bloody cold and there's little skirts all over the place. Super, super, super. :)