View Full Version : Supporters Trust/500 club

08/02/2005, 9:37 PM
Wouldn't that mean lots of money ?? :eek:

its a shame we dont have a 500 club or whatever. 500 x 500 = €250,000. no small drop in the ocean. maybe the supporters club could get involved, make it a section of the club. have little bonuses for the 500 club, small things like a "cork city credit card" (ie, tab) to book your tickets in advance of big games. or an annual game, the 500 club v the players, for charity or something.

08/02/2005, 9:42 PM
500 x 500 = €250,000

2000 x 500 = €1,000,000 ..... now you're talkin' !!

08/02/2005, 9:46 PM
2000 x 500 = €1,000,000 ..... now you're talkin' !!

yeah but getting the great unwashed to give up a week in Santa Ponsa de la Pána might be harder than the 500 or so rugger buggers who occupy the upper echelons of the donie. ;)

08/02/2005, 9:53 PM
500 is far too ambitious in terms of numbers & cost per person.

The only version of the "one hundred club"or similar i know anything about the is the Shamrock Rovers one where those members have 1-2 people nominated to the board. Their cash was ring fenced for something i can't remember now :eek: but they have completely different structure to their club.

09/02/2005, 2:51 PM
its a shame we dont have a 500 club or whatever. 500 x 500 = €250,000. no small drop in the ocean. maybe the supporters club could get involved, make it a section of the club. have little bonuses for the 500 club, small things like a "cork city credit card" (ie, tab) to book your tickets in advance of big games. or an annual game, the 500 club v the players, for charity or something.
I think it would be worth considering. It would have to be on strict conditions like the Lotto- i.e. the money can't be used for wages or other day to day expenses. Why not consider using it for the training facilities? And if the training facilities were built, the club could do what Longford do, and rent out astro-turf pitches- maybe members of the 500 (or whatever) club could get priority/reduced rates on pitch rental?

harpskid
09/02/2005, 2:59 PM
We have a 500 Club in operation wherby members pay €6.35 per week and they are entered into a draw that pays out €300, €200 and €100 in prizes every week.

Our membership is no-where near what it potentially could be but it still brought in over €30 grand to the club last season.

10/02/2005, 12:31 PM
Maybe the supporters club could look into this one !!

10/02/2005, 12:42 PM
Maybe the supporters club could look into this one !!

Who? ;)

Redzer
10/02/2005, 12:52 PM
We have a 400 club, 20 yo-yos a month by direct debit. Last season 75K handed over to the club. the rest given in monthly prize's of 1X500 and 5X100 each month.

10/02/2005, 8:11 PM
Isn't there some sort of tax scheme for sports clubs like the one charities have where they can claim back the tax you'd have paid on monies you donated? I think might only be for infrastructure but i know Munster rugby are using it for Musgrave Park redevelopments...

colblimp
10/02/2005, 9:48 PM
I think this is a fantastic idea. Although 500 people giving away €500 is unrealistic, I think a good proportion of die-hard City fans would do this for, say, entry into a prize draw to win cash every week/fortnight/month, a chance to spend a match day with Dolan perhaps, an awayday trip on the players coach.......whatever the incentive, I feel this could work.

Bring it on GavinZac!!! :D

joeraki
10/02/2005, 10:07 PM

The only version of the "one hundred club"or similar i know anything about the is the Shamrock Rovers one where those members have 1-2 people nominated to the board. Their cash was ring fenced for something i can't remember now :eek: but they have completely different structure to their club.

More like 300 I see from their website, still poor though I think. Fair play, can't see many clubs fans been arsed doing it when the ****e hits the fan literally

11/02/2005, 9:25 AM

Rovers have a 400 club and thats AFTER the cost of medical equiptment.

If City do this right they can definately get 500 people. 500 people paid c.500 in a week's notice to go to Nantes. Although the big cash prizes thing would attract people, im pretty sure no-cash rewards would attract people too. Win a training session with Colin O'Brien (for the kids and/or girls who were teenagers when Colin was the hot young stud of the team), a ticket to the Rebel Army Ball, travel to an away match on the team coach, a bit of the old shed when its knocked, and the others i mentioned above.

the amount of money people plough into their local GAA clubs is outrageous, and if City can capture that spirit in just 500 people they'd have €250,000. jaysus like 500 is nearly as small as a UCD attendance.