View Full Version : Next years first division
Philosophizer
14/11/2016, 4:15 PM
Is there any evidence of this ? Which DDSL clubs are genuinely trying to join the LOI ? Have any of them expressed a firm interest (St Kevin's was mentioned above, but it seemed to be more rumour than fact) ?
St Kevin's def were in contact with the FAI about joining the 1st Div. more info here - http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/exclusive-frustrated-kevins-ponder-loi-entry-after-u17-rejection-31518488.html
EatYerGreens
14/11/2016, 5:10 PM
Thanks - an interesting read.
It's probably unfair to assume the FAI refused entry to them just because they didn't want too many Dublin clubs. Surely it was that, combined with the fact that they thought there were other Dublin Clubs who's involvement was preferable ? In which case I can't see how they would get into a First Division that currently contains 3 Dublin clubs out of 8 already ? In otherwords, a) Already contains too many Dublin clubs, and b) Has others that are in a stronger position to make a claim on a place than St Levin's ? Cabinteely were 'right time, right place' lucky to get in when the FAI were desperate to not have a ridiculous 7 team league, but I can't see that being repeated unless something unexpected happens.
Also - is it just me or is there something grubby about a boy's team wanting to join the senior set-up entirely to pursue player sell-on fees?
legendz
14/11/2016, 7:18 PM
I just don't see what's in it for 99%+ of current non-LOI teams to want to enter the senior ranks to be honest. We'll see over the next few years. There is support in some quarters for an intermediary league. Again I can't see it being given consideration until the U13 league is in place.
If non-LoI teams are in the underage leagues and an intermediary/U23 league is formed, it would seem fair to invite them as well.How that might lead to any joining senior ranks will be up to the powers that be.
16/11/2016, 4:24 PM
Heard a ridiculous rumour Mullingar town are looking to join the league. Didn't one of the Mullingar teams make a big push years back to try get in and it went tits up? Would be great for ourselves and athlone to have another Derby but wouldn't see them having any support or facilities.
16/11/2016, 4:25 PM
That was about 15 years ago alright; maybe even longer.
Had a team full of foreigners too - Nigerians and Poles and all sorts. This was in the days before that kind of stuff of course! Was a weird one.
Philosophizer
16/11/2016, 5:28 PM
Heard a ridiculous rumour Mullingar town are looking to join the league. Didn't one of the Mullingar teams make a big push years back to try get in and it went tits up? Would be great for ourselves and athlone to have another Derby but wouldn't see them having any support or facilities.
Yep, a Mullingar bloke who had gone to England and made a bit of money had hoped to create a LOI club in his home town. Not sure why he chose Mullingar Town, because they've always been the v poor neighbour of Mullingar Athletic - the big club in town. Athletic have always been very well run and have outstanding facilities and big membership. They won an FAI award for best junior club in the country a few yrs back. They have 5/6 pitches that are like billiard tables and a few astros, one of them full size, lovely big clubhouse - they'd put a lot of LOI clubs to shame.
Anyway, i think the deal was that Mullingar Town and their new investor were allowed to enter a team into the u21 (as it was then) league and if they showed enough progress and won the u21 league they'd be considered for entry into the senior league. They brought a coach and a whole squad over from England - all lads from in and around London who had been trialists at football league teams but hadn't made the grade. I think they were all getting between 100-200 quid a week. They did ok for a few yrs in their u21 leinster group - think they finished 2nd or 3rd, but then the team was pulled out. Not sure if their investor lost interest/money or if they were eventually denied entry to the senior division or what, but the dream died after a few yrs and they went back to being a v ordinary junior club. They had an ok little pitch with a small shed on one side and a small astro but nothing else. And they were located in a less than desirable part of the town.
Funnily enough, around that same time (early to mid noughties), Mullingar Athletic were considering becoming a LOI club one day too, so they also entered a team into the u21 league. So, for a few yrs i think there were 2 LOI u21 teams in the town, but they played in different groups (Leinster had double the amount of teams to every other province so they split it into 2). Unlike Town, Athletic had a squad full local lads, only a couple of whom got any money. They finished mid table for about 2/3 yrs in a row but then i think they pulled out too. I think they realised that there would never have been enough support in the town to keep a senior LOI club afloat. I think Athletic are back playing in the midlands league now, where they're one of the top teams along with a couple of good junior clubs from Athlone.
Philosophizer
16/11/2016, 5:34 PM
found an old article explaining the Mullingar Town set-up from that period - http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/mullingar-town-import-entire-squad-in-bid-to-gain-league-status-26078551.html
legendz
16/11/2016, 6:41 PM
Heard a ridiculous rumour Mullingar town are looking to join the league. Didn't one of the Mullingar teams make a big push years back to try get in and it went tits up? Would be great for ourselves and athlone to have another Derby but wouldn't see them having any support or facilities.They seem to get mentioned from time to time because of the year they applied to join. Like everyone else, they'll link up with the underage leagues first if they are genuinely interested.
16/11/2016, 9:16 PM
Yep, a Mullingar bloke who had gone to England and made a bit of money had hoped to create a LOI club in his home town. Not sure why he chose Mullingar Town, because they've always been the v poor neighbour of Mullingar Athletic - the big club in town. Athletic have always been very well run and have outstanding facilities and big membership. They won an FAI award for best junior club in the country a few yrs back. They have 5/6 pitches that are like billiard tables and a few astros, one of them full size, lovely big clubhouse - they'd put a lot of LOI clubs to shame.
Anyway, i think the deal was that Mullingar Town and their new investor were allowed to enter a team into the u21 (as it was then) league and if they showed enough progress and won the u21 league they'd be considered for entry into the senior league. They brought a coach and a whole squad over from England - all lads from in and around London who had been trialists at football league teams but hadn't made the grade. I think they were all getting between 100-200 quid a week. They did ok for a few yrs in their u21 leinster group - think they finished 2nd or 3rd, but then the team was pulled out. Not sure if their investor lost interest/money or if they were eventually denied entry to the senior division or what, but the dream died after a few yrs and they went back to being a v ordinary junior club. They had an ok little pitch with a small shed on one side and a small astro but nothing else. And they were located in a less than desirable part of the town.
Funnily enough, around that same time (early to mid noughties), Mullingar Athletic were considering becoming a LOI club one day too, so they also entered a team into the u21 league. So, for a few yrs i think there were 2 LOI u21 teams in the town, but they played in different groups (Leinster had double the amount of teams to every other province so they split it into 2). Unlike Town, Athletic had a squad full local lads, only a couple of whom got any money. They finished mid table for about 2/3 yrs in a row but then i think they pulled out too. I think they realised that there would never have been enough support in the town to keep a senior LOI club afloat. I think Athletic are back playing in the midlands league now, where they're one of the top teams along with a couple of good junior clubs from Athlone.
Yeah I've seen the facilities out at Athletic, absolutely unreal. If they could build a stand like in Feerycarrig it would be more than suitable as a LOI ground apart from the distance it is outside the town. The ground would need to be bang centre if Mullingar if they were to ever attract anyone to games.
16/11/2016, 9:30 PM
I recall being told some years back that there was such bad blood between the two Mullingar teams that the fans/members of one would rather support Longford than the other lot if they were in the LOI. They didn't like Athlone either apparently.
Philosophizer
16/11/2016, 9:55 PM
Yeah I've seen the facilities out at Athletic, absolutely unreal. If they could build a stand like in Feerycarrig it would be more than suitable as a LOI ground apart from the distance it is outside the town. The ground would need to be bang centre if Mullingar if they were to ever attract anyone to games.
I guess the reason Athletic were able to purchase such a large amount of land and build such excellent facilities is precisely.yhat reason - because its so far outta the town.
There was talk of building a little stand back in the day when they had an u21 team but that quickly disappeared.
@outspoken: really interested to hear where that rumour came from. Do you rem if it was Town or Athletic? I cant imagine it was town, their club consists of a pitch at the back of a housing estate. I dont even think they have any underage teams. It would have to be Athletic if the rumour was true. Fair play to them if they go for it. They're an excellent club, sensibly run and are well liked in the community. I can't imagine there would be any talk of titles or getting into europe. They'd be more of a Cabinteely type of addition to the league than a Sporting Fingal, unless they've got a secret investor of course.
Philosophizer
16/11/2016, 10:17 PM
I recall being told some years back that there was such bad blood between the two Mullingar teams that the fans/members of one would rather support Longford than the other lot if they were in the LOI. They didn't like Athlone either apparently.
I'd guess that would be the view from Town. They're the poor relations and seem to bear a lot of ill will toward Athletic. They're always in Athletic's shadow and have an "us against the world" mentality, which might explain their dislike for Athlone too. While Athletic folk probably don't love Town either, I dont think they spend too much time thinking about them to be honest.
NeverFeltBetter
16/11/2016, 10:18 PM
How many other junior sides in the country would be in a similar position, in terms of facilities?
Philosophizer
16/11/2016, 10:39 PM
How many other junior sides in the country would be in a similar position, in terms of facilities?
Ive never been to Salthill Devon's ground but its supposed to be excellent, but of course the aren't a prospective LOI team any more given the agreement with Galway utd.
There are plenty of clubs around the country with a decent pitch and a bit of astro but the amount of pitches and the quality of Mullingar Athletic is really praiseworthy. Its 5/6 yrs since ive been there but they had at least 4 excellent grass pitches at the time, a full size astro and 2 small 5-a-side astros, two storey clubhouse with a shop. They might have developed even more since then.
17/11/2016, 7:03 AM
I am from Mullingar so let me answer a few of your points (early in the morning)
The big club in the town will, and always will be, Mullingar Town, cause they are in the town itself, and are the original team. They always organise local town leagues during the summer as well, that further strengthen the bond of the town to the team.
Athletic on the other hand, are the team of, how should I say.......the more well do to types....the sons of Garda and the like. Unlike Town who are in one of the worst areas you could possibly imagine. There was full scale riot near there a while back, with helicopters from Dublin and the riot sqaud!
Yes they did bring over a star squad from England a few years. It did create huge excitment in the town, and was fun at the time. It mostly was done to try and propel them into the LOI. The FAI rejected them twice, over Dublin city and Kildare county, so how well did that go. At least Mullingar Town had real money behind it from a local who does care about the club and the town. I guess he cant do much with the team if he isnt in the good books of the FAI.
Mullingar Ath also were in the Under 21 league at the time, and yes they have great facilities, but i dont think it is well run at all in terms of developing players. I have seen some seriously gifted players play for them underage just to fall by the wayside due to bad coaching and a lack of a will to progress them. If they cant sell them to England then thats that. Sure they have all the pitches, buts that because they are one of JD's "special clubs"
Now both teams play in **** leagues, which is a terrible shame as both were in the Leinster league a few years ago, which tells you all you need to know about club development.
The manager that came over with the London stars still lives in the town. Nice guy, always in the bookies though,lol!
And yes, to what other posters have mentioned. The two teams HATE each other. I cant see them joining together.
And of course Mullingar has a thing about Athlone, isnt that normal!!
Philosophizer
17/11/2016, 8:24 AM
I guess he cant do much with the team if he isnt in the good books of the FAI.
Mullingar Ath also were in the Under 21 league at the time, and yes they have great facilities, but i dont think it is well run at all in terms of developing players. I have seen some seriously gifted players play for them underage just to fall by the wayside due to bad coaching and a lack of a will to progress them. If they cant sell them to England then thats that. Sure they have all the pitches, buts that because they are one of JD's "special clubs".
Do athletic sell many to england? I heard of Conor Smith who went to Watford at 16 a few yrs back, but never heard of anyone else. Seems like he's made a living in professional football too - he's playing with Plymouth Argyle now according to wikipedia.
You're right tho, ive seen some outrageously talented lads at Athletic who never went anywhere. But i know Athletic suffer the same fate as many Meath clubs in that their best kids usually get poached by the dublin clubs. I know a few lads who had played with athletic and then moved to Home Farm, belvo and cherry orchard and the likes. They also battling many of their best teenagers who decide to focus more on GAA instead. And I think every club loses teenagers who invariably arent arsed with football once they discover booze and birds.
Im interested to know more about the supposed cushy relationship between Athletic and JD. Did he give them cash or something? From what I know they bought a big plot outside the town when it was cheap and gradually developed it over time.
Do Town still have that investor? And is there any specific reason why he's not in the FAI good books?
17/11/2016, 10:25 AM
I guess the reason Athletic were able to purchase such a large amount of land and build such excellent facilities is precisely.yhat reason - because its so far outta the town.
There was talk of building a little stand back in the day when they had an u21 team but that quickly disappeared.
@outspoken: really interested to hear where that rumour came from. Do you rem if it was Town or Athletic? I cant imagine it was town, their club consists of a pitch at the back of a housing estate. I dont even think they have any underage teams. It would have to be Athletic if the rumour was true. Fair play to them if they go for it. They're an excellent club, sensibly run and are well liked in the community. I can't imagine there would be any talk of titles or getting into europe. They'd be more of a Cabinteely type of addition to the league than a Sporting Fingal, unless they've got a secret investor of course.
I could have mixed up the two clubs, more likely to be athletic as you said.
17/11/2016, 12:23 PM
Do athletic sell many to england? I heard of Conor Smith who went to Watford at 16 a few yrs back, but never heard of anyone else. Seems like he's made a living in professional football too - he's playing with Plymouth Argyle now according to wikipedia.
You're right tho, ive seen some outrageously talented lads at Athletic who never went anywhere. But i know Athletic suffer the same fate as many Meath clubs in that their best kids usually get poached by the dublin clubs. I know a few lads who had played with athletic and then moved to Home Farm, belvo and cherry orchard and the likes. They also battling many of their best teenagers who decide to focus more on GAA instead. And I think every club loses teenagers who invariably arent arsed with football once they discover booze and birds.
Im interested to know more about the supposed cushy relationship between Athletic and JD. Did he give them cash or something? From what I know they bought a big plot outside the town when it was cheap and gradually developed it over time.
Do Town still have that investor? And is there any specific reason why he's not in the FAI good books?
I think they had someone who was a scout for Blackburn rovers or something, or even Celtic.....but yeah not much progress.
Good point about the GAA, and small town distractions........that's definitely true
But you have to remember that Athletic had some good underage teams that were regularly making the FAI cup last 16 year in year out at underage level, and once even getting to the last four one year. Its a shame to see good teams waste away like that.......
Nowadays the meath teams are jumping ahead!! That hurts for a westmeathian!!
If any new team from the midlands were talking about the LOI, id expect it to be Tullamore Town tbh, they have a decent team, but i dont know what their set up is like
I say cosying upto the FAI cause Delaney is always throwing grants at them.....while the Town get nothing, but i guess that's politics.
I think Town still have that investor. He is Mullingar through and through, and is good to the club. I think a lot of people in the town were peed off with the FAI after not getting the application. Maybe they were right, but I mean Dublin city, another Dublin club ffS!!!
For both clubs that was the time to push on through......but now its gone, and both are playing in pish poor leagues.....with feck all interest. But perhaps Athletic have looked at what Cabinteely did.....but i cant imagine how they think they could do this without a half decent enough squad
Philosophizer
17/11/2016, 12:38 PM
Cheers for the info Benno. Do you know if Town have any underage teams these days?
Back in the day I remember they only had teams at 1 or 2 age groups, while Athletic had about 2 teams at every age group!
@Mods, sorry for dragging this whole thread off on a tangent about a possible team in Mullingar. You can move it to a separate thread if necessary.
17/11/2016, 1:49 PM
I don't think any potential new club in the league should be entering based on whether or not their current first team would be good enough. First and foremost, structures and facilities should be the main priority, they'd have to sign a heap of players for the First Division regardless.
It would be great to see a team from Mullingar in the league. I think it's a town that could really get behind a senior football team.
17/11/2016, 2:06 PM
Yeah but you dont want a situation like Salthill Devon, getting beaten every week. Do they have enough in place to have a regular supply of players good enough for the LOI, despite them currently playing in a midlands league or something?
They should at least try and get back into the leinster senior league, to see how they'd manage with a gradual step up. Signing players could be a nightmare for them....
legendz
17/11/2016, 3:36 PM
Yeah but you dont want a situation like Salthill Devon, getting beaten every week. Do they have enough in place to have a regular supply of players good enough for the LOI, despite them currently playing in a midlands league or something?
They should at least try and get back into the leinster senior league, to see how they'd manage with a gradual step up. Signing players could be a nightmare for them....Should they make efforts to join the League of Ireland's U15, U17 and U19 leagues? I thought that's the route now for those with aspirations to join the league?
Philosophizer
17/11/2016, 3:54 PM
Should they make efforts to join the League of Ireland's U15, U17 and U19 leagues? I thought that's the route now for those with aspirations to join the league?
Well we don't even know if either of the Mullingar clubs are actually considering joining at any level. This whole thread is based off a rumour that Outspoken heard. We don't know if there's anything to it at all.
Saying that, i was surprised that Mullingar Athletic didn't have teams in the national underage leagues. As mentioned here earlier, they tend to have outstanding underage teams and always seemed like an ambitious club. On the other hand, maybe they applied but were turned down because we already have Athlone and Longford in the midlands. Who knows...
Interestingly though, their ground has been one of the FAI emergeing talent centres of excellence (http://www.fai.ie/domestic/take-part-programmes/emerging-talent), ahead of either Athlone or Longford. They're the only location in the midlands.
legendz
17/11/2016, 5:30 PM
Well we don't even know if either of the Mullingar clubs are actually considering joining at any level. This whole thread is based off a rumour that Outspoken heard. We don't know if there's anything to it at all.I'm throwing the question out there for those more in the know really. Can we dismiss rumours like this as nonsense if these clubs are not showing interest in linking up with the underage leagues which must surely be the first step?
Philosophizer
18/11/2016, 11:05 PM
I'm throwing the question out there for those more in the know really. Can we dismiss rumours like this as nonsense if these clubs are not showing interest in linking up with the underage leagues which must surely be the first step?
It would seem like a sensible first step all right, but I don't think it's necessarily a prerequisite before joinong the senior league.
legendz
19/11/2016, 2:28 PM
Are St Kevins Boys the only club known to have shown some interest since last new club joined the league?
19/11/2016, 6:41 PM
People still melt over a team being called youths imagine their reaction to st Kevin's boys
21/11/2016, 12:43 PM
People still melt over a team being called youths imagine their reaction to st Kevin's boys
Presumably their first team would be called St.Kevin's Men.
KeepersBall
21/11/2016, 9:08 PM
Athlone Town supporters trust have told the FAI they intend applying for a first division licence
21/11/2016, 10:09 PM
Athlone Town supporters trust have told the FAI they intend applying for a first division licence
So basically athlone are f*cked unless the supporters can pull this off?
22/11/2016, 9:14 AM
Presumably their first team would be called St.Kevin's Men.
Newell's Old Boys in Argentina would be goosed then ;)
KeepersBall
22/11/2016, 1:01 PM
Actually no.
By the looks of things both Athlone and the supporters trust are going to apply.
The fans down there want the current board out, the board don't want to go, hence the stand off
sbgawa
22/11/2016, 1:21 PM
You'd have to wonder why the board want to stay, if its typical LOI they are unpaid volunteers who are taking Dogs abuse (rightly or wrongly I have no idea) for feck all.
I wonder why anyone would want that ?
22/11/2016, 1:25 PM
Perhaps the upcoming Athlone derby will invigorate the game in the town. :)
Shades of the last days of Danny Drew in Limerick tbh.
The mental thing here is that Athlone are a members club. In theory the members should be able to take control at any time from the current board. The situation seems to be very confused and acrimonious.
atfconline
22/11/2016, 4:49 PM
An EGM was called and a motion of no confidence passed in the current committee, who claimed the meeting wasn't legitimately convened etc. Then they refused to accept any registered post when it was tried to call another EGM. AGM is normally around February.
KeepersBall
22/11/2016, 7:50 PM
An EGM was called and a motion of no confidence passed in the current committee, who claimed the meeting wasn't legitimately convened etc. Then they refused to accept any registered post when it was tried to call another EGM. AGM is normally around February.
So who do you reckon theF AI will back then,surely to God they can't give both of them licences
22/11/2016, 8:24 PM
Where would the Supporters Trust plan on playing their games? I assume the current regime has a lease on the stadium and they'd have to nominate a ground for licensing. We could do them a deal on the CCS I suppose.
03/12/2016, 7:08 PM
One step closer to a Monaghan return to the league with the news the Monaghan/Cavan side are entering the under-19 league in 2017 and hope to add the under-15s too. Potentially a senior side there within 2/3 years.
gufcfan
04/12/2016, 5:37 AM
Monavan United?
legendz
04/12/2016, 11:35 AM
One step closer to a Monaghan return to the league with the news the Monaghan/Cavan side are entering the under-19 league in 2017 and hope to add the under-15s too. Potentially a senior side there within 2/3 years.
U19 is natural progression for Monaghan-Cavan. U15 is no surprise. I think all of Kerry's squad is U17 next year. I'll imagine they'll naturally move up to U19 in 2018. Kerry are hoping to add the u15s next year as well.
EatYerGreens
04/12/2016, 1:29 PM
Would be great to see the Mighty Mons back in the league - and great for the league to have another Ulster team.
They've got a ground that is well able for LOI football, and a decent club house.
Why did they drop out last time though ? Was it finances or capacity that was the main issue ?
04/12/2016, 2:16 PM
Fair to say there were no problems in accommodating their regular crowds. They just found it too difficult to get enough money in to keep the show on the road, and didn't have anyone willing or able to subsidise them like a lot of other clubs do.
Eminence Grise
04/12/2016, 3:03 PM
Monavan United?
Oh, CaMon. That's so bad I wish I'd thought of it!
bluewhitearmy
04/12/2016, 3:22 PM
Pity its not someone like Kilkenny making their way back.
legendz
04/12/2016, 7:16 PM
Pity its not someone like Kilkenny making their way back.Again, haing them enter teams into the U15, U17 and U19 leagues will be a start. Same goes for the likes of Mayo, Kildare and Tipperary.
There's been some talk about Clonmel. Mayo have shown initiative before in the A Championship and League Cup.
Philosophizer
05/12/2016, 10:02 AM
Should they make efforts to join the League of Ireland's U15, U17 and U19 leagues? I thought that's the route now for those with aspirations to join the league?
Can we dismiss rumours like this as nonsense if these clubs are not showing interest in linking up with the underage leagues which must surely be the first step?
Again, haing them enter teams into the U15, U17 and U19 leagues will be a start. Same goes for the likes of Mayo, Kildare and Tipperary.
While entering the underage leagues would seem like a sensible pre-cursor to joining the senior league, it's by no means a rule.
EatYerGreens
07/12/2016, 12:59 AM
Fair to say there were no problems in accommodating their regular crowds. They just found it too difficult to get enough money in to keep the show on the road, and didn't have anyone willing or able to subsidise them like a lot of other clubs do.
Sorry - 'capacity', as in human resource/people available to keep a club operational (which was apparently what killed Kilkenny City off). Not as in the number of people Gortakeegan can hold :)
07/12/2016, 6:07 AM
I did wonder about that!
NeverFeltBetter
22/12/2016, 2:52 PM
What's the current status of things in Athlone? Would it be correct in saying they are the only club in a position where a license is not a foregone conclusion?