View Full Version : Austria v Rep of Ireland - Ernst Happel Stadium, Vienna - Sat, 12th Nov 2016 - WCQ

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7

11/11/2016, 7:49 PM
McGeady got a chance of starting? I really hope not.

11/11/2016, 7:50 PM
Hitler, Atilla the Hun, Hermann Maier

Nobody picked Alaba even though he's buried us twice. I suppose that's because he's a class player who demands respect, unlike Polster who looked like a washed up porn film actor........eh so i'm told.

11/11/2016, 9:00 PM
Did you never see Polster?

11/11/2016, 10:32 PM
Did you never see Polster?
Eh Stutts, of course i've seen the mulletted wonder, but (unlike you perhaps) I would not know what a porn actor looks like.

backstothewall
11/11/2016, 10:48 PM
Nobody picked Alaba even though he's buried us twice. I suppose that's because he's a class player who demands respect, unlike Polster who looked like a washed up porn film actor........eh so i'm told.

There's only 5-6 million of us though. Burying 5 million people isn't all that remarkable for an Austrian

11/11/2016, 11:04 PM
Eh Stutts, of course i've seen the mulletted wonder, but (unlike you perhaps) I would not know what a porn actor looks like.

Toni Polster

http://media.philly.com/images/RonJeremy.jpg

DeLorean
11/11/2016, 11:28 PM
I always thought Stoger was the pornstar. Polster looked more like a fairly sound biker dude that just happened to make us cry.

11/11/2016, 11:49 PM
Stop ruining everyone's fun Delorean.

(plus you're a bit wrong)

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/11/2016, 12:01 AM
Toni Polster

http://media.philly.com/images/RonJeremy.jpg

David Seaman?

12/11/2016, 7:14 AM
Well played TOWK. :)

12/11/2016, 7:15 AM
I don't feel great about today's game. Going with a comfortable 2-0 to the Austrians.

DeLorean
12/11/2016, 8:47 AM
I don't feel great about today's game. Going with a comfortable 2-0 to the Austrians.

Jeez... and I'm the one ruining everybody's fun ;)

gastric
12/11/2016, 9:31 AM
1 nil us,Arter to score a beauty! Too easy.

DeLorean
12/11/2016, 9:40 AM
They'll have to come at us pretty strong. Whelan's going to be really important (which worries me) but hopefully we can frustrate them and the crowd and grow into it. Anything can happen then, they seem flaky enough which is the one thing we're not.

12/11/2016, 10:13 AM
It's as if it's a game where there aren't great expectations of getting anything, therefore we just might do a something special performance.

Visions of Austrians celebrating have gotten dimmer overnight.

12/11/2016, 12:29 PM
Haven't beaten Austria since 1963, that's the longest since the last win over any side, second is Belgium haven't beaten them since 1966

12/11/2016, 1:30 PM
Haven't beaten Austria since 1963, that's the longest since the last win over any side, second is Belgium haven't beaten them since 1966
The match report on that game says there was 40,000 at Dalymount. Austria equalised in the 85th min and Noel Cantwell hit the winner from a penalty in the 89th min, must have been very sweet.

This team is not tied by history, Ireland had never ever beaten Germany in a competitive game before we did beat them in 2015.
The big factor is this is an away game.

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/11/2016, 2:24 PM
AZ Alkmaar keeping tabs on Horgan supposedly, although a move to Holland should probably be considered a near impossibility.

Reading, Newcastle, Ipswich, Aston Villa and Melbourne City the other - more realistic - transfer destinations on the horizon.

12/11/2016, 2:40 PM
There's a list of scouts attending the game here: https://twitter.com/benjmnblake/status/797112317444050945
Of course, they could be watching anyone

12/11/2016, 2:54 PM
A very interesting team selected with Wes and Harry starting.
Brady at fb

12/11/2016, 2:56 PM
starting XI named: https://twitter.com/FAIreland/statuses/797466583006330880
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CxEqcUqXcAEaIyx.png

subs: https://twitter.com/FAIreland/status/797467526775111680

Ireland Subs: Westwood (GK), C. Doyle (GK), O'Shea, Keogh, McGeady, McGoldrick, Horgan, K. Doyle, Meyler, McShane, O'Dowda, Pearce. #COYBIG
no place for Boyle

12/11/2016, 3:12 PM
Best side MO'N could put out given the circumstances. Hopefully Arter does the business.

DeLorean
12/11/2016, 3:13 PM
Sure I announced that last week (http://foot.ie/threads/217334-Austria-v-Rep-of-Ireland-Ernst-Happel-Stadium-Vienna-(WCQ)-Saturday-12th-Nov-2016?p=1897207&viewfull=1#post1897207) :o

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/11/2016, 3:19 PM
Best side MO'N could put out given the circumstances. Hopefully Arter does the business.

I fear the hype has set him up for a fall but hopefully that's not the case.

12/11/2016, 3:22 PM
It's actually a fairly good looking team. I'll revise my 2:30am prediction to a slightly more optimistic 1:0 victory to the Austrians as of 10:30am...

COYBIG!!

12/11/2016, 3:29 PM
Strange that we'd need two goalkeepers on the bench..

DeLorean
12/11/2016, 3:36 PM
I fear the hype has set him up for a fall but hopefully that's not the case.

Absolutely. That Ballon D'or nomination is going to be the death of him.

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/11/2016, 3:40 PM
I'd be talking about the Paul Pogba like hype surrounding a Bournemouth player, not David Alaba.

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/11/2016, 3:48 PM
What is it with travelling Irish fans sleeping in stadiums during away matches?

12/11/2016, 4:01 PM
Drunk?

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/11/2016, 4:05 PM
Drunk?

I'm sure the people who actually wanted to watch the match and couldn't get tickets will be delighted to see that.

NeverFeltBetter
12/11/2016, 4:06 PM
Not a great start, Austria piling forward. Looks like they're just trying to weather the storm for a while, hopefully they'll get more into it.

Colbert Report
12/11/2016, 4:07 PM
Why is Hoolahan giving the ball to Austria every single time he receives it?

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/11/2016, 4:16 PM
Why is Hoolahan giving the ball to Austria every single time he receives it?

Hendrick and Arter have been guilty of that too. Haven't even noticed Whelan.

12/11/2016, 4:19 PM
Not watching this today unfortunately as having issues with connections. Croatia Iceland game on TV and Croatia just took the lead with a goal that was a replica of McAteers for Ireland v Holland in 2002 qualifying in Amsterdam.

12/11/2016, 4:19 PM
What is it with travelling Irish fans sleeping in stadiums during away matches?

only here for the beer

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/11/2016, 4:20 PM
Rather than lump it into row Z at the first sign of danger, we remain calm and pass the ball along the floor. And we end up winning a free kick and escaping from a potentially dangerous situation. And the world didn't end! As I type, we still have possession.

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/11/2016, 4:23 PM
I didn't think Arter should take that corner, but it was a good one.

12/11/2016, 4:23 PM
looks like Whehan going off

NeverFeltBetter
12/11/2016, 4:25 PM
Thought for a second they were putting Horgan on. Would love to see him take a run at some of these Austrian defenders.

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/11/2016, 4:33 PM
If that Arnautovic foul on Clark isn't a yellow card then what is?

CraftyToePoke
12/11/2016, 4:34 PM
Any good stream please lads ?

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/11/2016, 4:36 PM
In some of these situations where Hoolahan is showing good feet to retain the ball in tight situations, Arter hasn't shown enough quick thinking to provide an outball.

12/11/2016, 4:37 PM
Is Arter the next victim? You seem to have moved on from Walters...

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/11/2016, 4:38 PM
Good challenge by Arter. Referee is giving them everything.

12/11/2016, 4:39 PM
Well played TOWK

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/11/2016, 4:39 PM
Is Arter the next victim? You seem to have moved on from Walters...

Arter and Walters aren't victims if they are deserving of valid criticism. It's the same as everyone else.

If you notice I followed that comment with a compliment.

Some of ye really need to move on from this persecution complex surrounding some of the players I comment on.

12/11/2016, 4:41 PM
i could see that one coming we left a big hole in front of the penalty area leaving a man in acres of space

TheOneWhoKnocks
Randolph has probably been our best player. He may have prevented that goal by making himself big.

Clark and Duffy have been decent so far.

Sorry I was just poking the bear. Was joking. Obviously just bored as I have no way to watch this one...