View Full Version : Roy Keane out of the Portugal friendly.
05/02/2005, 5:10 PM
Breaking news........
05/02/2005, 5:10 PM
Breaking news........
Where did you hear this? :confused: He was playing today and scored and all!
Closed Account 2
05/02/2005, 5:11 PM
Alex Ferguson MD, has diagnosed him with a sore knee.
It was just announced it on Talksport Radio.
05/02/2005, 5:15 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport/default.stm
Watch the latest news teletype. (near the top).
05/02/2005, 5:21 PM
No injury:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/internationals/4239773.stm
05/02/2005, 5:29 PM
KEANE MISSES PORTUGAL FRIENDLY
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/news/story_get.dor?STORY_NAME=soccer/05/02/05/SOCCER_Republic_Snap.html&TEAMHD=soccer
Manchester United skipper Roy Keane has pulled out of Republic of Ireland's friendly against Portugal on Wednesday with a knee injury.
Keane scored the opening goal in his side's 2-0 win over Birmingham at Old Trafford on Saturday but given the number of important fixtures United have the next month, manager Sir Alex Ferguson revealed he did not want his captain to play in midweek.
"There are so many games coming up and I do not want to put a strain on him," said Ferguson. "It is not wise for him to play midweek, he needs a break."
TYPICAL !! who gives a Fúck either way, its not liek were stuck
1MickCollins
05/02/2005, 5:35 PM
TYPICAL !! who gives a Fúck either way, its not liek were stuck
What counts is his availability for the Israel games, if you think we are better without him then you must have missed the last campaign. And we are actually pretty stuck without him. Rest up and Roy and stay fit for the important ones...
05/02/2005, 5:37 PM
I'm beginning to doubt whether he's really injured or not. He'll proberly be playing again next weekend for United :mad:
05/02/2005, 5:41 PM
I'm beginning to doubt whether he's really injured or not. He'll proberly be playing again next weekend for United :mad:
eh, he's not injured. Fergie never said he was.
05/02/2005, 5:44 PM
I have no problem with Roy missing the match as long as he is
there for the matches that matter.
It actually gives a us chance to get a look at other younger players.
I don't think we will learn anything new about Roy at this stage of
his career.
05/02/2005, 6:45 PM
we need everyone for the WCQ's, i was saying its neither here nor there for the friendly
Its obvious Keane will never play a freindly so whats the point in calling him up for the squads.
Not that it really matters but no chance he really injured.
05/02/2005, 7:17 PM
Alex Ferguson MD, has diagnosed him with a sore knee.
manager Sir Alex Ferguson revealed he did not want his captain to play in midweek.
Deja vu, once again this Scots c*nt gets involved in managing the Irish team and gets away with it. Does Keane want to play for Ireland or not or does he want to pick and choose the games in which he plays? After all the ballyhoo about him committing again to Ireland he chose not to play in the Unity Cup games and the game against Holland. No other player in the squad would be allowed to do it.
What is the point of playing a friendly against strong opposition in preparation for an important game, when the composition and shape of the team that plays in the WCQ will be different from that that plays in the preparation game.
06/02/2005, 12:03 AM
I don't think people should look upon this in a negative way,
if Roy played it would be his third game in about a week.
Roy doesn't even play every game for Man U now, he also
has a heavier schedule than most players due to the champions
league and cup competions.
I think the idea that he must play every game to show loyalty is
pretty daft, its far more important to give other players a run out,
they would gain from the experience.
What would Roy gain apart from a possible injury?
06/02/2005, 10:31 AM
.....its far more important to give other players a run out, they would gain from the experience.
Agree when it comes to games such as China, immediately after a WCQ, where it is likely that several of the first team will not play and other players will get a run.
This game against Portugal is a big game for us for a number of reasons:
- we havent played for three months
- were playing one of the best teams in Europe
- our next game is an important WCQ, probably the most important we will play.
I want to see our best team here getting ready for Israel. Supposing for one minute whatever midfield four play against Portugal have a stormer individually and as a unit, is it fair that one will have to make way for Keane.
If Keane or any other player was injured fair enough, but he is not injured, he played a full game yeaterday and you can bet you life he will play next Sunday against Man.City.
Ireland played for 2 years without Keane and did reasonably well. Whether if was right or wrong to bring him back does not matter any more, but now that he is back, it is wrong that he (or Ferguson) can pick and choose what games he will play in.
When Keane announced his return he said 'I believe, without a shadow of a doubt, that I can combine my appearances for United with those for Ireland"
I am beginning to lose respect for Brian Kerr for allowing himself to be manipulated by the Manc. mafia.
06/02/2005, 1:24 PM
eh, he's not injured. Fergie never said he was.
eh, yes he is, knee injury.Is that not an injury? :confused:
Manchester United skipper Roy Keane has pulled out of the Republic of Ireland's friendly against Portugal on Wednesday with a knee injury.
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/p228.htm
06/02/2005, 1:37 PM
The people here criticising Keane are doing it because they don't like the man.
1. I have seen the word injur in this thread about 10 times. Where does Ferguson, Keane or Kerr mention any injury?
2. Roy turned up for an away match (:eek: ) against Poland carrying an injury and had to be sent home. The physio said he still wanted to travel to Poland but wasn't allowed. Players like Duff, Kilbane, Robbie, Carr, O'Brien, Dunne and many more pulled out of this "meaningless" match. Do you honestly think it was his decision to pull out of this?
3. What does Roy Keane as a person gain if it was his decision to pull out of this squad? Absolutely feck all. He knows he has the "don't do friendlies" reputation so it is only doing his reputation in this country harm. Therefore, he came back to play for Ireland to help his country as if he cared more about his personal reputation he would have turned up to this game.
So, if it was Keane's decision to pull out he has put his country before himself. If it wasn't his decision to pull out, then it wasn't his decision to pull out.
06/02/2005, 1:39 PM
sligoman, the BBC mentioned a knee injury (they must have been making excuses so Fergie doesn't have to) and every other part of the media have just copied that. Don't believe me? here's the original:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/internationals/4239773.stm
I usually skip to quotes when reading these things and Ferguson never mentioned an injury. If there was I am 100000% sure the BBC would have quoted him.
06/02/2005, 1:44 PM
in all fairness what has roy keane have to gain from playing in these meaningless friendlies.
time to blood players is what these friendlies should be for. leave some youngsters gain experience
Condex
06/02/2005, 2:06 PM
in all fairness what has roy keane have to gain from playing in these meaningless friendlies.
time to blood players is what these friendlies should be for. leave some youngsters gain experience
Agree, hes played sparingly at Utd...
06/02/2005, 2:13 PM
in all fairness what has roy keane have to gain from playing in these meaningless friendlies
You could say the same for Duff, Given, Cunningham and Robbie Keane, all of whom are more or less guaranteed to start in Ireland's best starting XI.
The difference is they actually want to play for Ireland. Do you think Mourihno wants Duff to risk injury a couple of weeks before the Champions League?
Keane only thinks of himself and if he wants to put MU before Ireland, then that is up to him, he is well used to doing that. I only want to see players in the national team who are totally committed and not players who use it for their own purposes.
Spurious injuries have always been used, especiallly by MU, to pull players from internationals, what about Ryan Giggs? If Wednesday's game was a WCQ against France, Keane would be available to play and there would have been no mention of injury.
06/02/2005, 2:17 PM
You could say the same for Duff, Given, Cunningham and Robbie Keane, all of whom are more or less guaranteed to start in Ireland's best starting XI.
The difference is they actually want to play for Ireland. Do you think Mourihno wants Duff to risk injury a couple of weeks before the Champions League?
Keane only thinks of himself and if he wants to put MU before Ireland, then that is up to him, he is well used to doing that. I only want to see players in the national team who are totally committed and not players who use it for their own purposes.
Spurious injuries have always been used, especiallly by MU, to pull players from internationals, what about Ryan Giggs? If Wednesday's game was a WCQ against France, Keane would be available to play and there would have been no mention of injury.
did you just completely ignore my post? :confused:
06/02/2005, 2:18 PM
Keane only thinks of himself .
at the age of 33 u cant blame him for doing so
Closed Account 2
06/02/2005, 2:47 PM
Why is he still being put in the squad for friendlies, its clear he'll never play a friendly for us again so why name him in the squad two or so weeks before the game?
06/02/2005, 4:58 PM
did you just completely ignore my post? :confused:
which particular part?
06/02/2005, 5:17 PM
which particular part?
are you serious? Absolutely everything you said is answered in my post so I'll just paste that in here.
"The difference is they actually want to play for Ireland."
- 2. Roy turned up for an away match ( :eek: ) against Poland carrying an injury and had to be sent home. The physio said he still wanted to travel to Poland but wasn't allowed. Players like Duff, Kilbane, Robbie, Carr, O'Brien, Dunne and many more pulled out of this "meaningless" match. Do you honestly think it was his decision to pull out of this?
"Keane only thinks of himself and if he wants to put MU before Ireland, then that is up to him, he is well used to doing that. I only want to see players in the national team who are totally committed and not players who use it for their own purposes."
- 3. What does Roy Keane as a person gain if it was his decision to pull out of this squad? Absolutely feck all. He knows he has the "don't do friendlies" reputation so it is only doing his reputation in this country harm. Therefore, he came back to play for Ireland to help his country as if he cared more about his personal reputation he would have turned up to this game.
"Spurious injuries have always been used, especiallly by MU, to pull players from internationals, what about Ryan Giggs? If Wednesday's game was a WCQ against France, Keane would be available to play and there would have been no mention of injury."
- 1. I have seen the word injur in this thread about 10 times. Where does Ferguson, Keane or Kerr mention any injury?
06/02/2005, 5:54 PM
still don't see what Keane has to gain as a person from pulling out of matches so arrogance shouldn't come into it.
M@ttitude
06/02/2005, 9:05 PM
He's a legend though http://www.putfile.com/media.php?n=Un-edited%20Tunnel
06/02/2005, 10:49 PM
the whole point in these "meaningless friendlies" is that its practise for the competitive games. What if brian kerr wants to try out a new player in midfield, or a new system- if keane isn't there, how does he know he'll slot intot it? I have no problem with older players being rested occasionally, or only playing half a game, but no player should be able to pick and choose. Even if he came over for training, and didn't play the game, it would be something- the more often he trains with the Ireland squad the better- IMo thats more important than a friendly game
Eire06
07/02/2005, 8:09 AM
Think this game is important Portugal are one of the top teams in Europe and to beat them would boost the squads moral and get them ready for the WCQ comin up...
Keane will be missed he has an ability of boosting the squad by just being there..
and no matter what he does he will be critised cause half the country love him and the other half hate him..
He is 33 and has to take it easy but I don't think he'd make up an injury just to miss a friendly match especially against a top team like Portugal, he is one of the most dedicated players around at the moment and always puts everything he can into every match he plays.
07/02/2005, 8:12 AM
No problem with this game but I would have a huge issue if Taggart tried the same stunt before Israel away. He also pulled Ferdinand and Giggs (big surprise here in Giggs misses friendly shocker :D ). All 3 will no doubt play on sunday v Man city.
Ultimately wednesday's game in meaningless. Israel is an absolutely massive game.
It's Roy Keane.
Who is remotely surprised that he makes himself available for selection and at the last moment bails out for no apparent reason other than his preference for the red shirt over the green.
At least it's not the eve of the World Cup, or just before a crucial qualifier, or following Brian Kerr's apppointment. I suppose we should be thankful for small mercies...
Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz I'm beginning to think you're Cathal Dervan.....
Thank god the knick knack from cork aint playing.He doesnt belong on dublin soil anyway or on ireland soil for that matter.
From fai.ie
Keane pulled out with an ongoing knee problem with Manchester United’s medical team believing that a week off is needed.
Republic of Ireland manager Brian Kerr said: “Roy was withdrawn by Manchester United. He had a pain killing injection before the game on Saturday and didn’t finish the game
So, if it was Keane's decision to pull out he has put his country before himself. Either that or he has a few of the lads coming over this week. ;)
barglee
07/02/2005, 9:22 AM
hasnt Kerr been known to drop players for pulling out of friendlies.
e.g. Harte , Delap.......
I know Keane is a "special" player but in any team al players shud be treated fairly.
this is a great oportunity for the players to play together and wud be ideal if ireland could put out their 1st team.
ok, were not going to learn anything new about Roy Keane from this friendly but the same cud be said about a lot of the players. e.g. Shay Given, Damien Duff, Robbie Keane ....
also wouldnt it benifit the fringe players coming in to play with Roy.
Does anyone know if Keane is going to travel with the squad to Dublin?????
07/02/2005, 9:30 AM
Lads the real reason is , that the players are going to go see Ikeano tonight in the olympia and roy pulled out as he could not take a slagging either that he was afraid he would hurt his ribs with all the laughing.
Seriously he wont be pulling out of the Israel match unless he actually cant play. I see onthis forum people calling for experimentation etc in friendlies. Roy not playing and getting a rest which will do him good after a few great performances recently, will give Kerr an opportunity to play Kavanagh in midfield and get more caps under his belt and a bit more experience against a top class team. Kavanagh is a good player but lacks experience of playing against top class players regularly. Keane maybe injured in Israel and if so you need a player that is comfortable at this level.
I was reading 4-4-2 the other day and Bobby Robson was talking about the relationship between club managers and international managers. He said that Alex Ferguson was the easiest to deal with and the fairest. Sometimes he asked for a bit of leeway with friendlies but was always willing to return the compliment.
Is the Manchester United medical team the same experts who told him he couldn't play a World Cup qualifier but could play the same week in the Champions League, and subsequently that he could never play international football again?
Is that Iran away game? Again. Get over it, you're turning into Davros.
Why is he still being put in the squad for friendlies, its clear he'll never play a friendly for us again so why name him in the squad two or so weeks before the game?
Ray Houghton made a great point on the premiership on saturday evening. He said that Kerr / Keane should contact eachother before the squad is announced to see what the suitation is before releasing it to the press. Would save face from both sides and stop moaney w@nkers spitting out the same stuff over and over any time Keane pulls out of an Irish Squad.
But making himself available for selection and then withdrawing because of some phantom injury that only the ManU medical team spot? Does he think we're all children and won't spot the same pattern again and again? What about all the 'honesty' which his fan club go on about, or was that another bit made up by Dunphy?
Well Kerr seems happy with it, so what does it matter what the rest think. The only people that seem to have a problem with it are people who have a problem with Keane.
Don't think it's that strange that a player his age, who had to have an injection to play last saturday, isn't actually fit enough for a game on the Wednesday. I'd hazard a guess that if it was a Champions League game on Wednesday, that he wouldn't have played on Saturday....
07/02/2005, 10:38 AM
Internationals
"Rio Ferdinand's got a hamstring and Roy Keane's got a knee injury so we'll have to withdraw them. With so many games it's putting the strain on them. It's not wise them playing games midweek at this moment in time, they need time off. They've played a lot of football in the past few weeks, but all the rest of the lads are fit. I've got about 14 or 15 players away this week. It's hard to handle, but you just have to get on with it."
That logic disqualifies any opinion about footballers once the managers tolerate their behaviour.
I would take that Kerr has more of idea of what is (or isn't) wrong with Keane than you. But sure, what would Kerr and qualified medics know compared to you, eh?
07/02/2005, 11:43 AM
Jaysus, a thread of 3 pages because Keane pulled out of an Ireland squad... :rolleyes:
You believe everything football managers say? So if Wenger says Arsenal players never cheat, or Chelsea say they never tap up players, you just believe it? You honestly think that all the games Giggs, and Keane missed for their countries was some very very unfortunate coincidence?
That's almost...cute...
I said Kerr, not Ferguson. If he wasn't happy with Keane, he would say so, and he has already when there was all the "will he, won't he" debates.
07/02/2005, 11:55 AM
Keane has a pain killing injection before every game. Nothing new, if it was a CL game he would be playing in midweek. TBF, its only the media that are making excuses. Kerr said what he was told although I doubt he "had" to be taken off at the end of the Birmingham match.
07/02/2005, 1:20 PM
Jaysus, a thread of 3 pages because Keane pulled out of an Ireland squad... :rolleyes:
Yea, I think there should be a site solely devoted to Roy Keanes knees.
www.the_battle_of_saipan.com
barglee
09/02/2005, 10:27 AM
interesting thing to note is that today Duff wins his 50th cap while Giggs (who has been playing for Wales since early 90's) was in line for his 50th today but is "injured"
just illustrates the rate Ferguson/Man U players pull out of friendlies
09/02/2005, 10:35 AM
Yeah but Ryan Giggs does have a lot of trophies to his name while Damien Duff has the League cup. There is more to football than just international football. Although I much prefer international football not every players thinks the same.
09/02/2005, 10:48 AM
Although I much prefer international football not every players thinks the same.And some just aren't allowed think at all.
09/02/2005, 10:50 AM
Well Ferguson gets a hard time from people in here about withdrawing players from friendlies but most international managers say he is one of the fairest in relation to this issue of releasing players. To be honest the worst has to be Daglish who threatened Charlton that if he ever did to to the Liverpool players what he did to David O Leary he would not see any of them play international football again.