View Full Version : Stand up - Speak Out
14/02/2005, 1:49 PM
Tom Humprhries and Gary Neville are bang on the money, I give it a couple of months before ultra-humane Nike bring out the T-shirts
To be fair, Thierry Henry wanted to highlight the problem so he went to Nike for help. Someone had to produce them. Henry couldn't make them himself so he asked for something back from Nike.
Neville is only having a go because of this.
He couldn't care less.
If it was Van Nistlerooy who headed the campaign he wouldn't have said a word. He's just another Ferguson clone, all mouth.
Talking about charity day's, I see that Alex Ferguson has his own campaign going here at the moment. You can buy big red noses in most shops. :D
14/02/2005, 1:53 PM
To be fair, Thierry Henry wanted to highlight the problem so he went to Nike for help. Someone had to produce them.
Not knocking Henry at all; though as for your comment regarding what Neville would have said if it was VanN's idea, I think if you look back, you'll find that our Rio was the other figure spearheading this when it came out, so it's not some Arse -v- Ferg vendetta, the lad's simply saying what he believes, anyway, he'll cop enough sh1t from the PLC at old trafford as Nike are sponsors.
All I'm saying is that if Nike wanted to be charitable, they could have absorbed the cost of production. As it is it's free advertising, because the manufacture isn't costing them a penny (well, it's probably costing them exactly one penny per band).
Karlos
14/02/2005, 1:54 PM
Nike were initially involved in the Lance Armstrong campaign which was set up by the Lance Armstrong Organisation to highlight cancer survivors struggle and was the first of it's kind and IS a very worthwile campaign, speaking as someone who lives with a cancer survivor.
The other campaigns mentioned (pink, blue, red, black) are not Nike involved campaigns but campaigns that jumped on the success of the cancer research ones. The BBC in the UK were involved in the blue wristband campaign.
Nike have done the anti-racism ones at the request of 'Va Va Voom' according to the man himself and one suspects that giving the racism he encountered this year, had his sponsor been puma, reebok or adidas for that matter he would have been looking for their involvement in some form of anti-racism campaign anyway, it just happens he is with NIKE.
If it was Van Nistlerooy who headed the campaign he wouldn't have said a word. He's just another Ferguson clone, all mouth.
Ferdinand is also involved isn't he?
Karlos
14/02/2005, 1:57 PM
Ferdinand is also involved isn't he?
Correctemondo! As is RvN - in fact their is more Man Utd Players in the advertising campaign than from any other club - well played! :)
14/02/2005, 1:57 PM
ok i'm sorry dahamsta i will stop annoying people and i'm sorry if i offened you sorry Now stop spamming the site. Three posts in a row saying essentially the same thing is not acceptable. If you really feel the need to make an addition to a previous post, edit it. I'm binning all of your posts and resetting your post count to 0. I won't tolerate post count wh*res on Foot.ie.
14/02/2005, 1:58 PM
I think if you look back, you'll find that our Rio was the other figure spearheading this when it came out, so it's not some Arse -v- Ferg vendetta
Are you sure that wasn't the bullying campaign?
14/02/2005, 1:59 PM
To be fair, Thierry Henry wanted to highlight the problem so he went to Nike for help.
That's the most ridiculous bit -
TH - "'Allo iz zat Nike? I have a problem with nasty racists, can you guys help? Merci"
Nike - "Dia duit Terry, no problem at all. Why don't we take out 2 page ads in 442 and stick Nike branding all over it. We'll get some brilliant marketing out of it and rid the world of racism forever"
TH - "Va Va Voom!"
Nike - "Wrong endorsement Terry"
TH "Merde"
14/02/2005, 2:02 PM
That's the most ridiculous bit -
TH - "'Allo iz zat Nike?...
Now, now WAR, you're making fun of a very serious subject.
I put on the voices when I read your post in my head. :D
Are you sure the perosn in Nike was Irish? ;)
14/02/2005, 2:14 PM
Are you sure the perosn in Nike was Irish? ;)
Of course, it was their Irish Head of Marketing - a Mr. Aldodo. :D
aldodo
14/02/2005, 5:36 PM
[Banned for a week. --adam]
shedite
15/02/2005, 10:46 AM
Awh... I was just gettin used to the little fecker.
I was wondering tho, do people think that this campaign is one that needs funds anayway? With the livestrong one, the money went to cancer research. but with this, where does the money go? Advertising? logos? traing tops? There are a LOT of more worthy causes than this.
DeTown, any chance you could pick me one up when in london? If ya PM me your address I'll send ya an stamped addressed envelope
15/02/2005, 11:03 AM
Awh... I was just gettin used to the little fecker.
I was wondering tho, do people think that this campaign is one that needs funds anayway? With the livestrong one, the money went to cancer research. but with this, where does the money go? Advertising? logos? traing tops? There are a LOT of more worthy causes than this.
DeTown, any chance you could pick me one up when in london? If ya PM me your address I'll send ya an stamped addressed envelope
If I see them around, I will buy a fair few coz there is loads of people who want them around the place. I'd sell them fairly easily. If I get some though I will send ya 1!
Karlos
15/02/2005, 2:03 PM
Please excuse the caps, copy & paste job from www.standupspeakup.com :)
'WRISTBANDS ARE AVAILABLE FROM STORES ACROSS EUROPE. NIKE ASKS THAT IN RETURN FOR THE WRISTBAND YOU MAKE A MINIMUM DONATION OF €2 (£1.50 UK). ALL THE MONEY RAISED WILL BE ADMINISTERED AND DISTRIBUTED BY THE INDEPENDENT KING BAUDOUIN FOUNDATION (KBF) TO SUPPORT ANTI-RACISM PROJECTS AND INITIATIVES ACROSS EUROPE. A MAXIMUM OF 25% OF YOUR DONATION GOES TOWARDS THE COST OF THE WRISTBAND.'
aldodo
21/02/2005, 8:46 PM
i'm back!!!!!!!! :D
adamcarr
21/02/2005, 9:41 PM
i'm back!!!!!!!! :D
Fcuk Off then! :rolleyes:
22/02/2005, 9:42 AM
Exactly. Your just a **** stirrer :mad:
aldodo
22/02/2005, 3:47 PM
do you see that adam cursing at me for no reason they should be banned for a week
22/02/2005, 4:07 PM
adamcarr, de town, aldodo, stfu the lot of ye.