View Full Version : Moldova V Republic of Ireland - Sunday, 9th October 2016 - World Cup 2018 Qualifiers

09/10/2016, 6:26 PM
Starting XI announced: https://twitter.com/FAIreland/statuses/785167923635712000
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CuV53mvW8AAjxf5.png

https://twitter.com/FAIreland/statuses/785168864216842241

Ireland Subs: Lawlor (GK), Rogers (GK), O'Shea, Keogh, O'Dowda, O'Kane, Rooney, Christie, Meyler, McShane, Hayes, Pearce. #COYBIG

09/10/2016, 7:09 PM
Rogers on the bench?

09/10/2016, 7:37 PM
Rogers on the bench?
yep, two keepers on the bench, same as Thursday night. Hope we see Rooney make his deubt

rebelmusic
09/10/2016, 7:42 PM
http://0dt.net/video/566031.html#

09/10/2016, 7:48 PM
That ball was ridiculous!!!

09/10/2016, 7:49 PM
Shane Long, what goal drought??

09/10/2016, 7:49 PM
Get in.

09/10/2016, 7:53 PM
Wessi is a genius. Why can't managers just accept it? Hopefully push on for a confidence building comprehensive win now.

sbgawa
09/10/2016, 7:53 PM
2 mins on the pitch and wes sets up a goal. O Neill is pathetic

09/10/2016, 7:54 PM
Hopefully we try and sit back and hold what we have...

09/10/2016, 7:54 PM
Would be nice if O'Dowds, Christie and Rooney could get some game time too if it's going well.

09/10/2016, 7:56 PM
What is up with the tv picture on sky? Is it bad on RTE as well?

backstothewall
09/10/2016, 7:57 PM
2 mins on the pitch and wes sets up a goal. O Neill is pathetic

Is this the same O'Neill who picked Wes for tonight? How can he win here?

09/10/2016, 8:00 PM
yep, two keepers on the bench, same as Thursday night. Hope we see Rooney make his deubt
He played for Dundalk last night though?

09/10/2016, 8:01 PM
Every time Wes does something like that I get sick at the thought of the missing years.

09/10/2016, 8:01 PM
Great ball by Wes! If he was Messi he would be playing for Argentina but no doubt paying all his taxes too.

backstothewall
09/10/2016, 8:03 PM
I note that the Georgia side who we beat the other night drew with Wales in Cardiff today.

09/10/2016, 8:04 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KNCwMCIm4WI

09/10/2016, 8:05 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WabtZ31BEdg

09/10/2016, 8:08 PM
He played for Dundalk last night though?
Not that one, it's the other Rogers - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Danny_Rogers

sbgawa
09/10/2016, 8:08 PM
Is this the same O'Neill who picked Wes for tonight? How can he win here?

Yes ..but he should be playing every match.

09/10/2016, 8:10 PM
Ah! I'd forgotten about him - but it does make more sense. Thanks!

We're playing nice stuff here.

backstothewall
09/10/2016, 8:12 PM
Yes ..but he should be playing every match.

He's 34!

09/10/2016, 8:14 PM
We are doing so well, and a superb early goal.

Moldova are woeful, and they'll only look decent if we allow them to.

backstothewall
09/10/2016, 8:27 PM
The stadium is excellent. I can think of a good few Irish cities which could do with something similar

09/10/2016, 8:31 PM
Close from McClean there, did well to keep it in the ground. Nice free kick.

09/10/2016, 8:31 PM
FFS! :excruciating:

09/10/2016, 8:32 PM
Balls. That was awful. Possible negative to Wes, losing it a little cheaply in the corner?

09/10/2016, 8:33 PM
Daft to get caught with the entire defence so far forward

09/10/2016, 8:34 PM
Why was our defence so high up?

Randolph could have come out a bit more. Why give the player so much of the goal to aim at?

McClean does my head in.

09/10/2016, 8:34 PM
Ah shyte.

DeLorean
09/10/2016, 8:37 PM
Good God Duffy (in particular). Such an unprofessional goal to concede. Really annoying. I'd like to see O'Dowda instead of McClean.

09/10/2016, 8:37 PM
Chris Coleman just be p*ssing himself.

09/10/2016, 8:39 PM
We are in big trouble, I was worried we did not look like scoring but then I never though they would,
now we have to score and they know it. They are 9-1 to win it now, that is generous.

09/10/2016, 8:39 PM
Dangerous free kick outside their box and somehow McClean can pull rank and get to take it over Wessi?!!! Words fail me.

Not noticed McCarthy...

DeLorean
09/10/2016, 8:42 PM
I thought it was ideal for Whelan actually (may have been getting treatment though?), not sure I've ever seen Hoolahan take one. It certainly shouldn't have been McClean anyway.

09/10/2016, 8:42 PM
Shocking defending we made that goal for them.

TheOneWhoKnocks
09/10/2016, 8:48 PM
Everything was going so well. I thought it was a good performance up until that colossal brainfart. Reminds me of the build up to Duffy's dismissal against France when there was a ridiculous amount of players pushed high up the pitch at a ridiculous time in the match.

Creating pressure for ourselves.

09/10/2016, 8:50 PM
We are doing so well, and a superb early goal.

Moldova are woeful, and they'll only look decent if we allow them to.

Couldn't agree more, some of the one-touch, two-touch stuff has been excellent.

That said, Walters and McCarthy have had very minor influences on the game, which McClean has, but unfortunately he's not done much with a significant amount of ball.

While I would love to see O'Dowda, Hayes and Rooney see some game time, I suspect O'Shea, and more likely Meyler will come in instead.

Give credit it where it is due lads, Glenn Whelan has been excellent tonight. Ward and Coleman have been good. Clark has been good, and I'd have no blame attributed to him, it's Duffy's fault pure and simple.

I wouldn't rush into a change, we've deserved another goal if not two. However, we deserved nothing on Thurs and got some luck. Lets hope this is not lady luck dealing her hand more evenly tonight.

09/10/2016, 9:01 PM
Kingdom - excellent to me is a 9 out of 10 performance. Whelan has been Whelan tonight. I'd love to see some OPTA diagrams for his passing tonight.

TheOneWhoKnocks
09/10/2016, 9:01 PM
Walters having an improved second half.

Need a bit more composure from Hoolahan.

TheOneWhoKnocks
09/10/2016, 9:03 PM
Kingdom - excellent to me is a 9 out of 10 performance. Whelan has been Whelan tonight. I'd love to see some OPTA diagrams for his passing tonight.

http://data.whicdn.com/images/24469547/original.jpg

He's the backwards man.

09/10/2016, 9:05 PM
I'd have said Whelan has been good tonight. But then that goal happened. He was caught when yer man git to it fr the pass over the top. Would have broken his neck to get there.

09/10/2016, 9:06 PM
O'Dowda on for a hamstrung Long.

09/10/2016, 9:06 PM
O dowda has not scored for ages!

09/10/2016, 9:07 PM
well he scored i the u21's

TheOneWhoKnocks
09/10/2016, 9:08 PM
Hoolahan's decision making has been gash in this half.

Long will be a big miss.

09/10/2016, 9:13 PM
At fooking last :)

The Fly
09/10/2016, 9:14 PM
Yesssssssssss!!!

09/10/2016, 9:14 PM
Time to sit back and soak up the pressure :)