View Full Version : LOI fixtures Friday 7th - Tuesday 11th October.

Pages : 1 [2]

marinobohs
09/10/2016, 8:41 AM
I'm not a Corky and have absolutely no ties to the place, but would love to see City complete the double (as they will win the FAI Cup) by landing the league title; and Cobh to secure, and win, the promotion play-off

Looking at Dundalk fixture list it will be truely amazing if they win anything ! Ridiculous state of affairs but great chance for Cork (who have been much better this season IMHO especially away.
Tuesday night should be some game

Ezeikial
09/10/2016, 8:47 AM
Looking at Dundalk fixture list it will be truely amazing if they win anything ! Ridiculous state of affairs but great chance for Cork (who have been much better this season IMHO especially away.
Tuesday night should be some game

Anything other than a Dundalk win on Tuesday night would probably hand the title to Cork. Will JC revert to type and come looking for a point?

sbgawa
09/10/2016, 8:56 AM
Anything other than a Dundalk win on Tuesday night would probably hand the title to Cork. Will JC revert to type and come looking for a point?

The way they are playing at the moment they would be crazy to come looking for a draw. Chance to get ahead rather than hope for other results

El-Pietro
09/10/2016, 3:00 PM
I was at a wedding so missed last nights game, was getting texts keeping me up to date, each one was harder to believe than the previous. What a run in this is going to be. Will mean nothing if we don't take advantage on Tuesday though.

On another topic, can we all agree that Rogers is nowhere near the best keeper in the league? McNulty kept his 19th clean sheet of the season last night.

Calcio Jack
09/10/2016, 3:12 PM
I was at a wedding so missed last nights game, was getting texts keeping me up to date, each one was harder to believe than the previous. What a run in this is going to be. Will mean nothing if we don't take advantage on Tuesday though.

On another topic, can we all agree that Rogers is nowhere near the best keeper in the league? McNulty kept his 19th clean sheet of the season last night.

For the day that's in it , to paraphrase "he's not even the best keeper in Dundalk"

Comic Book Guy
09/10/2016, 3:47 PM
The crazy thing about the way the first div is finishing is that the 2 teams that were almost guaranteed a playoff spot a few weeks ago are now unsure as they play each other. Ramblers must be odds on to get a playoff spot now with their game being against Athlone and a win will be enough. I can't help thinking that if ramblers go up it could be a season too soon.

I understand where you're coming from but you'd have to take the opportunity if it presented itself, promotions are hard won when they come along, the key for us though is that if and when it does happen that we learn from the last time we were up (2008), in other words we don't go mad spending what we don't have, otherwise we'd be back in the same old cycle taking several years to re-build on and off the pitch.

legendz
09/10/2016, 4:22 PM
the key for us though is that if and when it does happen that we learn from the last time we were up (2008), in other words we don't go mad spending what we don't have, otherwise we'd be back in the same old cycle taking several years to re-build on and off the pitch.Were ye fortunate to have an intermediary league in which to get by when ye were rebuilding?

09/10/2016, 4:55 PM
[QUOTE=Longfordian;1893409]Agree. Mathews has done more with them in a couple of months than Big Yann had a shocker I'd be surprised if he's picked again.

Big Yann was player of the month for September how they came up with that is mind boggling for me anyway, agree with you I wouldn't pick him again either, but then I'd have left him out after the Wexford game, not all his fault thought to be fair to him, no protection for the back 4 from midfield regardless of who plays

thats where my issue lies with the supporters club on this. its a select committee that votes on it. why on earth did they change it? it worked well when the fans voted for it.mind you not too many fans go to away games anymore so they would have to vote on what they see at home games..

09/10/2016, 5:14 PM
Fair play to Drogheda for the guard of honour coming onto the pitch last night.

I know it's not that unusual, but I always like to see it happen.

sbgawa
09/10/2016, 6:44 PM
I understand where you're coming from but you'd have to take the opportunity if it presented itself, promotions are hard won when they come along, the key for us though is that if and when it does happen that we learn from the last time we were up (2008), in other words we don't go mad spending what we don't have, otherwise we'd be back in the same old cycle taking several years to re-build on and off the pitch.

I will be glad to see cobh back up if it happens another great away day ��

sbgawa
09/10/2016, 6:45 PM
Might even persuade the wife that the roads from cobh are bad and it needs to be an overnight : )

Comic Book Guy
09/10/2016, 9:19 PM
Were ye fortunate to have an intermediary league in which to get by when ye were rebuilding?

It did no harm to us to be fair, kept us in the picture, especially when we played off against salthill back in 2011, I remember a huge crowd up from Cobh for the away leg, it said to me that there was still an appetite for loi even though the club was in the doldrums at the time.

Comic Book Guy
09/10/2016, 9:22 PM
They do occasionally take the roads in for the night. You can use that excuse, it really works!

09/10/2016, 9:39 PM
[QUOTE=Longfordian;1893409]Agree. Mathews has done more with them in a couple of months than Big Yann had a shocker I'd be surprised if he's picked again.

Big Yann was player of the month for September how they came up with that is mind boggling for me anyway, agree with you I wouldn't pick him again either, but then I'd have left him out after the Wexford game, not all his fault thought to be fair to him, no protection for the back 4 from midfield regardless of who plays

Sure nobody even knows who picks that anymore, it use to be open to all fans to text in but like everything else at the club it's a big fecking secret these days.

09/10/2016, 9:49 PM
True enough, we don't have a defensively minded midfielder in the squad. Kevin O'Connor's legs have gone and Gannon can't tackle.

Gannon had his best game in a town shirt since last season last night. Agree with you he isn't a holding player but when he moves the ball he's quite a good passer of the ball but sadly we don't see this enough from him. If he played like he did last night week in week out in the FD he could be a good player for us. Mathews seems to have time for him anyway so don't be surprised to see him sign back for next year. Personally I think this squads mentality is rotten, they had the chance to turn things around last night and plain out bottled it. Apparently Mathews said he might look to bring in 14 or 15 new players next season and I'd totally agree with him Doing So. Tear this rubbish squad apart and start fresh.

10/10/2016, 12:36 PM
I would expect there to be a large turnover of players all right. There are a few he likes though by all accounts, Gannon as you mentioned, Davy, Cowan, and McGlynn also. Whether we can keep them is another question.

10/10/2016, 5:00 PM
Wouldn't cry if we didn't keep any. Davy would score goals in the FD, Don is hit and miss and mcglynn is one of the first I'd show the door tbh. We need 4 proper out and out wingers in the squad next season. It's been a problem for years now

Town Legend
10/10/2016, 9:39 PM
Mathews has already started the clear out for next season. Good to see him getting things sorted this early.

ToberonaTornado
11/10/2016, 9:01 PM
Fair play Harps,kept going to get a late draw against Pats in FP.
Prob safe now?

11/10/2016, 9:59 PM
Absolutely fantastic last 20 minutes in Finn Park and a beautiful strike by Houston to equalise.

Injuries hitting hard now and looks like Keith Cowans season could be over at Finn Park after being taken off on a stretcher tonight.

joey B
11/10/2016, 10:01 PM
Important point for Harps and another goal from Houston who's been a great signing for us,Pats looked pretty disinterested tbh and we actually hit the post after we scored.
Says a lot about Pats at the minute when their Facebook page couldn't even be bothered mentioning that their first team had a game tonight , big changes coming there I'd imagine.

12/10/2016, 9:13 AM
Sean Houstons equaliser for Harps in the 91st minute.

ForzaHoop
12/10/2016, 9:22 AM
Cowan is 100% out for the season, cruciate and broken fibula - He is due to head to either Belfast or Dublin today for operation - long road ahead to recover

12/10/2016, 9:44 AM
Cowan is 100% out for the season, cruciate and broken fibula - He is due to head to either Belfast or Dublin today for operation - long road ahead to recover

Ah christ, that's awful. Michael Black, the fitness coach, was saying nothing was broken as he was being carted off in the ambulance, so it's pretty devastating for all involved there is a break.

That's career threatening stuff there.

EDIT:

Ollie Horgan given a new one year deal at Harps:

http://www.donegalsporthub.com/ollie-horgan-set-handed-new-contract-finn-harps/

Ezeikial
12/10/2016, 10:48 AM
Ollie Horgan given a new one year deal at Harps:

http://www.donegalsporthub.com/ollie-horgan-set-handed-new-contract-finn-harps/

I suppose that quashes the Shamrock Rovers rumours then?

12/10/2016, 11:21 AM
I suppose that quashes the Shamrock Rovers rumours then?

There was a Shamrock Rovers rumour?

I know there was rumours he was in for the Galway job, but never heard a thing about Rovers.

disgruntled
13/10/2016, 9:55 AM
There was a Shamrock Rovers rumour?

I know there was rumours he was in for the Galway job, but never heard a thing about Rovers.

Neither did Rovers apparently :eek:
He's done a good job at harps & good luck to him.