View Full Version : How is this right?

liam88
02/02/2005, 4:49 PM
Amg oing to share with you why I'm having a bad day but there's a bit of backgroudn so bear with me.....
I'm a St. John Ambulance cadet-every year cadets can be nominated for the county cadet of the year prize bazed on their contribution to the organisation. their peers etc. I was nominated and among the 4 picked for the finals where we had team challenges, interviews, a presentation, a cv to write etc. I won-making me the Surrey St. John Ambulance cadet of the year :D
The coty from each county over England and Northern Ireland head to Oxford for a national coty competition over a week (this was about 2 weekends back). It was a really great weekend and although I didn't win I had a really good time and met some really great people.....especially the lass from Notinghamshire! We got on really well through the whole weekend and at the party I asked her to dance-she said no. I still liked her and we hung out for the rest of the weekend.
Now last night we were speakign and she told me that she really likes me but was to nervous to dance (not many people were!) and that she wishes we lived closer together..........as I'm now it the situation where I am at a college of 700 girls and 300 guys but the one lass who I really really like and who really like me lives 180 miles away :rolleyes:

shedite
02/02/2005, 5:33 PM
And you're from Cobh too ..... bad time all round.

02/02/2005, 5:35 PM
LMAO :D :D

liam88
02/02/2005, 5:52 PM
:rolleyes: tpyical city boy response :D

02/02/2005, 6:36 PM
first of all liam ,well done on your great win, :) its a very valuable skill that you are learning.

long distance relationships (although its not really that far ;) ....has it a chance ?.who knows.. its up to the two of you to make it work. :)

green goblin
03/02/2005, 8:56 AM
All that mouth to mouth training and for what? :eek:
I went out with a girl from Manchester for years, before I met Mrs GG (Who's 2g Irish from the same town as myself, it turns out!). Long distance relationships can work, but they're hard work. Oh yes, and expensive... :o Good luck anyway. :)

03/02/2005, 9:58 AM
the one lass who I really really like and who really like me lives 180 miles away :rolleyes:

I know how you feel.
Here I am, stuck in Reading while Kristin Kreuk (Lana Lang in Smallville) lives somewhere in North America. :D

Hibs4Ever
03/02/2005, 10:13 AM
I went out with a girl from Manchester for years, before I met Mrs GG (Who's 2g Irish from the same town as myself, it turns out!). Long distance relationships can work, but they're hard work. Oh yes, and expensive... :o Good luck anyway. :)

Agree, I'm with my Czech girlfriend 5 years now, and she only moved to Dublin a year ago, so can be really expensive. But if you want it to work enough, it will. ;)

And to make it better, she loves football, and is getting a season ticket for the Saints :D SWEET

03/02/2005, 10:32 AM
You're too young to get caught up in that stuff Liam. Plenty more fish as they say....

If I was you in a College of 700 females then I know I'd be making sure I was going to enjoy myself :D

You won't be long in forgetting ;)

If you get caught up in a long distance relationship now at your young age it'll just hamper your next few years growing up. Fair enough it'd be good when you do see her but then you'd spend miserable nights when you weren't together.

Just txt her and say "Tough sh!t baby, you had your chance but it'd be morally wrong of me if I didn't share my body with with the hordes of females at my college".

She won't be long in forgetting you that way either :D

03/02/2005, 10:44 AM

:D :D :D

I met Mrs GG (Who's 2g Irish from the same town as myself, it turns out!)

Same town "over here" or at "home"? If the former, did she attend SJA?

:) PP

Terry Phelan
03/02/2005, 10:48 AM
If its meant to happen,it will occur naturally,unknown to yourself!

03/02/2005, 10:49 AM
I had a really good time and met some really great people.....especially the lass from Notinghamshire... the one lass who I really really like and who really like me lives 180 miles away :rolleyes:

www.midlandmainline.com

www.gobycoach.com

Try either one. Nottingham's not a universe away (although many of its occupants do seem to inhabit another planet ;) ). You seem to find London easily enough, although given the time it takes you to save the money to buy me a pint, you'll be retiring before you ever have the train fare to go and see yer wan... ;)

:D PP

03/02/2005, 1:36 PM
You're too young to get caught up in that stuff Liam. Plenty more fish as they say....

If I was you in a College of 700 females then I know I'd be making sure I was going to enjoy myself :D

You won't be long in forgetting ;)

I'd go along with this. Long-distance relationships are all well and good I suppose but having made the effort a few times I'd be wary of trying it again (though as I say this I should own up to missing my own emigration date last week because I was talking to an ex long-distance girlf about moving to Cork and trying again. We're not. I hope to emigrate next week finally).

Er... anyway, where was I? Oh yeah, back to you Liam, the very fact that you're open enough to ask for advice from the hordes of cynical, jaded reprobates on this site suggests to me that you're a decent, trusting sort of fellow. Stay in touch with the girl by all means. Text her on and off, e-mail her if possible, call every once in a while. And who knows where it will lead.

But in the meantime you've got 700 girls to practice on! Make the most of it! Just don't tell them you're from Cobh! ;)

green goblin
03/02/2005, 1:59 PM
:D :D :D

Same town "over here" or at "home"? If the former, did she attend SJA?

:) PP

Almost both, strangely.
Although Dad's from Waterford/Kilburn, he's lived in Cobh for years. My wife's mum is from Cork City. We met at a party in Chalfont, where we were both brought up. It amuses us that although we'd both gone out with people from far away, we ended up settling down with someone from the same town, with the shared experience of growing up 2g, and all the baggage that goes with it. It also means that when we go back we can visit all the rellies in one go.

green goblin
03/02/2005, 2:01 PM

Sorry, but interfering with marine wildlife is always going to be wrong.

Aldini98
03/02/2005, 2:02 PM
Ever meet Richard Treacy in the St.John Amb. ? You'd know if you did, he's a tosser :)

03/02/2005, 2:03 PM
Sorry, but interfering with marine wildlife is always going to be wrong.

Your job for today is to find out the technical term for fornication with marine life. :D

sylvo
03/02/2005, 2:44 PM
To back up what 12th said, well done son, done a course myself with the SJA and failed, so I pretty much know the time and dedication you must have put in to have passed it, and good luck in the finals BTW.

As for the young seniorita, remember nothing ventured nothing gained, at least if nothing comes of it you can at least say that you tried.

03/02/2005, 3:15 PM
.....can I make a stab @ 'fish-worrying' ? ;)

Can you roast fish or just bake it? :eek: :D

fosterdollar
03/02/2005, 3:17 PM
Can you roast fish or just bake it? :eek: :D
Peader, you need some sexual eel-ing by the sounds of things.

God i love puns... we're so funny

03/02/2005, 3:22 PM
we're so funny

Poor Liam has opened his heart to us and we hijack his thread.
Sorry Liam. ;)

03/02/2005, 3:48 PM
Liam. well done on the course. As for the young lady ...I promise I'm not talking down to ya but at your age I'd say let her walk mate. That's coming from someone who p i ssed away the best years of youth in dead end long term relationships when I could've been in on the hunt (well officially I could've been in on the hunt anyway ;) )

That said best of luck with whatever you decide. :)

Love ....love exciting and new!!!!!!!!!! :D

liam88
03/02/2005, 4:26 PM
Poor Liam has opened his heart to us and we hijack his thread.
Sorry Liam. ;)
No worries buddy :D
Thanks lads on the congratualtion and advice....really is much appreciated-always found you guys good for advice (ye lal older and wiser with a lot more experience than me :D )
Aye we have both decided a long distance relationship isn't going to work out in the long run and I'll be activily available at college (although I won't stop wearing ma Cobh jersey!)
This situation may change if, when a Buckingham Palace for the St. John Ambulance Grand Prior reception in March, me and her end up together......it'd just be the classest joint for a first date :D

Thanks again lads! :D

03/02/2005, 5:07 PM
it'd just be the classest joint for a first date

Why would you take the poor girl to the German Embassay for a first date?

03/02/2005, 5:49 PM
No worries buddy :D
Thanks lads on the congratualtion and advice....really is much appreciated-always found you guys good for advice (ye lal older and wiser with a lot more experience than me :D )
Aye we have both decided a long distance relationship isn't going to work out in the long run and I'll be activily available at college (although I won't stop wearing ma Cobh jersey!)
This situation may change if, when a Buckingham Palace for the St. John Ambulance Grand Prior reception in March, me and her end up together......it'd just be the classest joint for a first date :D

Thanks again lads! :D

would it help liam if we put a light-hearted poll ?.

like options

1/go for it.........its possible to sail this ship

2/abandon ship.........its impossible to keep afloat

2/a sailor must visit many ports on life's journey :rolleyes:

liam88
03/02/2005, 8:38 PM
would it help liam if we put a light-hearted poll ?.

like options

1/go for it.........its possible to sail this ship

2/abandon ship.........its impossible to keep afloat

2/a sailor must visit many ports on life's journey :rolleyes:

On a bright note I have just been selected as the Lord Lieutenants Cadet :D
This means that I have been specifically chosen to spend a year escoting the Lord Lieutenant of Surrey on her roayl visits, funtions, ceromonies etc. !
Got the news while I was up at ma divison tonight-am dead pleased !

06/02/2005, 2:05 PM
(although I won't stop wearing ma Cobh jersey!)

Nothing like the tried and tested method of birth control

liam88
06/02/2005, 8:49 PM
Why would you take the poor girl to the German Embassay for a first date?
:D :D
Great post; am looking foward to visiing the poshest house in Britain-I am an Irishman but it is a great historical site (que jokes about the Queen..) with some pretty cool stuff :D

liam88
06/02/2005, 8:51 PM
Nothing like the tried and tested method of birth control
Hey well.....she fell for me when I was wearing ma Munster Jersey what's the judgment on that :D

finlma
06/02/2005, 9:07 PM
I lived in London for 2 years and never saw Buckingham Palace. Never got round to it.

On another note Liam - long distance relationships are tough. When I moved to London I tried to keep a relationship going in Ireland but to no avail. I think you need to be in the same location.

Though - I'm one to speak. I'm going out with a Canadian girl now and looks like I'll have to make the plunge and move there.

liam88
07/02/2005, 1:39 PM
On another note Liam - long distance relationships are tough. When I moved to London I tried to keep a relationship going in Ireland but to no avail. I think you need to be in the same location.

Though - I'm one to speak. I'm going out with a Canadian girl now and looks like I'll have to make the plunge and move there.

:D :D Cheers for the advice mate; on another note I tell a lie! It wasn't a Munster jersey the night we met it was a GUildford Ice Hockey jersey though am not sure if Réiteoir rates that any higher than Cobh :D

07/02/2005, 6:15 PM
:D :D Cheers for the advice mate; on another note I tell a lie! It wasn't a Munster jersey the night we met it was a GUildford Ice Hockey jersey though am not sure if Réiteoir rates that any higher than Cobh :D

Hockey > Kick in the balls > Cobh > Munster

liam88
07/02/2005, 7:12 PM
Hockey > Kick in the balls > Cobh > Munster

Ya what?
:eek: :D

edit: oh ok I've got it now-a hockey jersey nis better than a kick in the balls which is better than Cobh...etc.

Well buddy any of those will beat Leinster or Bohs :D !

Now if it was between ma jersey collection and living in Nottinghamshire....... ;)

07/02/2005, 7:19 PM
Ya what?
:eek: :D

edit: oh ok I've got it now-a hockey jersey nis better than a kick in the balls which is better than Cobh...etc.

Well buddy any of those will beat Leinster or Bohs :D !

Now if it was between ma jersey collection and living in Nottinghamshire....... ;)

Rovers 4-6 Bohemians > The Sexualness in Nottinghamshire > everything else > kick in the balls > Ollie Byrne

07/02/2005, 8:15 PM
It was a really great weekend and although I didn't win I had a really good time and met some really great people.....especially the lass from Notinghamshire! We got on really well through the whole weekend and at the party I asked her to dance-she said no. I still liked her and we hung out for the rest of the weekend.
Now last night we were speakign and she told me that she really likes me but was to nervous to dance (not many people were!) and that she wishes we lived closer together..........as I'm now it the situation where I am at a college of 700 girls and 300 guys but the one lass who I really really like and who really like me lives 180 miles away :rolleyes:

I used to have a mad thing for one of my friends in college for fecking ages, but nothing ever came of it. After our finals (while drunk of course) I told her about this and I got the 'Ok' and odd look sort of thing, now she's in the same class as me in my masters. (Before this I had scored a friend of ours, who had a thing for me although I wasnt really up for anything serious she was still interested in me after that, but this is just a side issue). 2 weekends ago was it was her (the girl I had a thing for) birthday and she introduced me to one of her friends who was pretty damn cute and also mentioned that this friend thought that I was very nice :) Anyway we got on really well and swapped numbers and what have you. 3 days after I was talking to my friend and she tells me that now she likes me and wishes that she had told me this when I origionally said it to her! We had already arranged that the same group would go out the next Saturday, so in the same place would be the girl I now like, the girl that now likes me and the girl that might liked me all along, and they're all fecking friends of eachother. Bloody brilliant!

I did the only thing that I could do and got very very drunk and told the girl that I was with before that I wasnt interested in her, so thats one down and one to choose from ;)

As far as I can see, the morel of the story is that Im a stud :D :cool:

TheJamaicanP.M.
07/02/2005, 8:23 PM
I used to have a mad thing for one of my friends in college for fecking ages, but nothing ever came of it. After our finals (while drunk of course) I told her about this and I got the 'Ok' and odd look sort of thing, now she's in the same class as me in my masters. (Before this I had scored a friend of ours, who had a thing for me although I wasnt really up for anything serious she was still interested in me after that, but this is just a side issue). 2 weekends ago was it was her (the girl I had a thing for) birthday and she introduced me to one of her friends who was pretty damn cute and also mentioned that this friend thought that I was very nice :) Anyway we got on really well and swapped numbers and what have you. 3 days after I was talking to my friend and she tells me that now she likes me and wishes that she had told me this when I origionally said it to her! We had already arranged that the same group would go out the next Saturday, so in the same place would be the girl I now like, the girl that now likes me and the girl that might liked me all along, and they're all fecking friends of eachother. Bloody brilliant!

I did the only thing that I could do and got very very drunk and told the girl that I was with before that I wasnt interested in her, so thats one down and one to choose from ;)

As far as I can see, the morel of the story is that Im a stud :D :cool:

Fair play to ya Tony. You are a stud by the sounds of it. I reckon you should give it a lash with the wan who you originally liked and you will have completed the hattrick.
You're more prolific than Tony Cascarino, but hardly as prolific as Tony Cottee. :D

liam88
07/02/2005, 8:39 PM

Anyone ever considered making a soap out of foot.ie-we'd have some classic polt lines :D

08/02/2005, 4:29 PM
Anyone ever considered making a soap out of foot.ie-we'd have some classic polt lines :D

Ya see Liam there is hope.

I know Troy in the real world and he's an ugly looking fella :D

liam88
08/02/2005, 4:45 PM
Ya see Liam there is hope.

New poll......best looking bloke on foot.ie :D

liam88
08/02/2005, 4:48 PM
This 'honour'
Aw lads ya gotta admit it's a pretty cushty crib :D

09/02/2005, 2:49 PM

"Thats not what she said last night!" ;)

I still havent sorted things out as we (me and the origional girl) are snowed under with work this week but I might give it a lash alright.

A foot.ie soap would be great alright though! :D