View Full Version : Squad Announcement

Pages : 1 [2]

03/02/2005, 12:39 PM
(Is Rangers v Dundee really top-flight??)
Technically, it was a cup semi-final, so Colgan's alright! :p

Bad performances by Irish keepers...Given's let in four a couple of times this season alone (played v. Fulham?) to get the ball rolling...

03/02/2005, 1:11 PM
and it was Dundee Utd, not Dundee. There could be a Dundee fan lurking on here. :p

Junior
03/02/2005, 1:42 PM
Colgan didn't play too well (I can't recall all the goals but was definitely at fault for the second). However, some of the defending was Sunday league stuff. If a team gets beat 7-1 you can rest assured the outfield players have themselves to balme - however, this will not have helped Colgans confidence one bit.

2-0 down at half time, Dundee Utd brought it back to 2-1 after 50 minutes and were having a great spell including a shot which went off both posts before bouncing out. At 2-2 who knows what would have happened.

However, as is generally the norm with Celtic or Rangers once they pull away the other team doesn't have the discipline, ability, confidence to stop it.

03/02/2005, 2:29 PM
and it was Dundee Utd, not Dundee. There could be a Dundee fan lurking on here. :p

There might not be a Dundee fan (though if my fellow Limerick fan Nempton is around then there is) but there's a Dundee United fan in my good self. :(

03/02/2005, 3:05 PM
This must be a record for the number of goals conceded by an Irish keeper in a top-flight game ( Is Rangers v Dundee really top-flight?? ) - who is the resident statistician??
Good point on anohter thread - Colgan himself conceded seven for Barnsley against Man City in the League Cup earlier this season! Not top flight still, but he must have the monopoly on most goals conceded by an Irish keeper in a (foreign) cup tie!

03/02/2005, 4:32 PM
Didn't Packie Bonner concede 5 or so in a UEFA Cup tie for Celtic against Neuchatel Xamax - spelling way off there, Swiss team - about 91/92??

07/02/2005, 8:56 PM
I decided to go and look at what the general view is with Southampton fans on Delap and here is a couple of recent posts I pulled out from their forum (remember he played right back at the weekend):

funny how the team functions in midfield as soon as Delap is removed.

Yes I was there and I thought we were brilliant but for once the weak link in the team wasn't Delap.

http://saintschat.com/ipw-web/bulletin/bb/index.php

Closed Account 2
07/02/2005, 9:07 PM
Lads, what know ye of the keeper Murphy?

Was great for us at Tranmere, but then his contract was up and decided to go to WBA when they first got promotion to the Premier League. Has been at them since, but rarely played - tho he did keep up his stat of saving a pen on every debut (he came on as sub and saved a Michael Owen pen at Anfield, previously he'd done this for Tranmere and Ireland U21s - or might have been U19s). However he didnt play much for WBA and was loaned out to Walsall this season where he's been pretty average. I always thought he looked a bit too short to be a top class goalie, but maybe he's gained some height since then.

And I think I'd rather get Niall Quinn out of retirement and stick him in goal than play Nick Colgan, the man was a disaster last time I saw him play for us vs Nigeria at Charlton in the summer.

08/02/2005, 8:51 AM
And I think I'd rather get Niall Quinn out of retirement and stick him in goal than play Nick Colgan, the man was a disaster last time I saw him play for us vs Nigeria at Charlton in the summer.

Actually I thought Colgan kept it respectable. At least 2 decent saves and the goals were hardly all his fault. Having a centre half pairing of Cunningham and Doherty, with little or no pace between them, against the likes of Agahowa probably contributed more to it than anything.

Having said that he's at best 3rd choice keeper at the moment, and probably will be 4th by the time the World Cup rolls around