Drogheda United v Cobh Ramblers
Shelbourne v Athlone Town
Saturday 3rd September:
Premier Division:
Longford Town v Bray Wanderers
Sligo Rovers v Finn Harps
First Division:
Limerick v Waterford United
Looks a pretty brutal crowd in Tallaght for Rovers v Pats. Hardly much more than 1,500 there.
02/09/2016, 7:16 PM
Oh dear...miss of the season by Graham Kelly. That was horrendous.
02/09/2016, 7:37 PM
HT Scores:
Bohs 0-1 Dundalk
Rovers 0-0 Pats
Derry 0-0 Galway
Cabo 0-1 UCD
Drogheda 1-0 Cobh
Shels 2-0 Athlone
02/09/2016, 8:34 PM
Cobh 2-0 down at Drogheda, looks as though play-off contenders are all but decided. Ramblers really needed to be winning that one to have a chance of making it. 6 points to make up with 5 games left is a tall order.
White Horse
02/09/2016, 9:02 PM
Nice win for Dundalk this evening. With Cork crying off playing a game, the gap is back to four points.
kksaints
02/09/2016, 9:19 PM
Nice win for Dundalk this evening. With Cork crying off playing a game, the gap is back to four points.
What happened with your second goal? Extra time said that the Bohs fans were very unhappy with the free being awarded.
Entertaining 0-0 in Tallaght this evening. O'Malley made some cracking saves and Kelly missed a sitter.
02/09/2016, 9:29 PM
What happened with your second goal? Extra time said that the Bohs fans were very unhappy with the free being awarded.
Entertaining 0-0 in Tallaght this evening. O'Malley made some cracking saves and Kelly missed a sitter.
There was little entertaining about it I thought. A fairly dour 0-0. O'Malley well deserving of his man of the match. Kellys miss will go down as one of the worst of the season. Aside from that, there wasn't a whole lot to talk about from that game.
White Horse
02/09/2016, 9:31 PM
It was a free. No doubt about that. O'Donnell was taken out of it.
kksaints
02/09/2016, 9:35 PM
There was little entertaining about it I thought. A fairly dour 0-0. O'Malley well deserving of his man of the match. Kellys miss will go down as one of the worst of the season. Aside from that, there wasn't a whole lot to talk about from that game.
Plenty of chances for both teams moreso for Shams. Decent play from both teams at time. Thought it was a decent watch.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
02/09/2016, 9:50 PM
Plenty of chances for both teams moreso for Shams. Decent play from both teams at time. Thought it was a decent watch.
Same here
I enjoyed it. Thought Pats shaded first half but O'Malley's saves were top class. Rovers better in second half but Pats threatening on the break. Neither team are great but was still entertaining
mcgonigle
02/09/2016, 10:01 PM
It was a free. No doubt about that. O'Donnell was taken out of it.
Before the free the ref blew up for a Bohs injury, Dundalk were in possession at the time. The ref then dropped the ball to Mountney I think on the edge of the Bohs box which he shouldn't have done. Mountney knocked it back to O'Donnell who played on because he rightly thought it should be our possession. Bohs fans got annoyed because they thought they should have had possession, not sure why though.
jinxy lilywhite
02/09/2016, 10:22 PM
Fantastic result. This ensures a top 10 finish for us :)
Louth4sam
02/09/2016, 10:27 PM
Before the free the ref blew up for a Bohs injury, Dundalk were in possession at the time. The ref then dropped the ball to Mountney I think on the edge of the Bohs box which he shouldn't have done. Mountney knocked it back to O'Donnell who played on because he rightly thought it should be our possession. Bohs fans got annoyed because they thought they should have had possession, not sure why though.
Nonsense really. We had possession and Bohs players thought we would play the drop ball back to their keeper for some reason? We did the right thing by playing on
Comic Book Guy
03/09/2016, 1:22 AM
Desperately disappointed with the result but not the effort. Drogheda took their chances, we didn't. Can't fault the effort. When I think where we were last season to now being disappointed to be likely to lose out this season it's progress. Also quite a number of good young players are coming through so we're going in the right direction.
wexfordned
03/09/2016, 7:30 AM
Ref dropped the ball deep in Bohs half. What normally happens then is either dundalk tap it back to Bohs goalkeeper or Bohs drive it down the field back to dundalk keeper. So when ref dropped the ball Bohs waited for the back pass only for dundalk player to attack. Bohs caught unexpectedly, Prendergast commits the foul and dundalk score from the free kick. One way to score a goal but to do it that way to got to act so small and petty you could parachute out of a snake' ass.
Didn't need to do it either, Dundalk far superior to Bohs at that stage. Kurtis Byrne scored another contender for goal of the season a few minutes later and Bohs battered them for last 20 min but just couldn't score
03/09/2016, 8:22 AM
It was a brutal game of football. 2 very poor sides.
Ezeikial
03/09/2016, 8:54 AM
Ref dropped the ball deep in Bohs half. What normally happens then is either dundalk tap it back to Bohs goalkeeper or Bohs drive it down the field back to dundalk keeper. So when ref dropped the ball Bohs waited for the back pass only for dundalk player to attack. Bohs caught unexpectedly, Prendergast commits the foul and dundalk score from the free kick. One way to score a goal but to do it that way to got to act so small and petty you could parachute out of a snake' ass.
Didn't need to do it either, Dundalk far superior to Bohs at that stage. Kurtis Byrne scored another contender for goal of the season a few minutes later and Bohs battered them for last 20 min but just couldn't score
You are way off the mark here
What you fail to say is that Dundalk were in possession and on the attack when the ref stopped play for a Bohs player to get attention.
There was absolutely no reason to expect Dundalk to yield possession from the drop ball. The maximum expectation is that Bohs would take the ball uncontested and return it to Dundalk
It was bizarre in the extreme that Bohs players did not either (a) agree this on the pitch or (b) contest the drop ball.
It was up to Bohs players to sort this out.
Louth4sam
03/09/2016, 9:24 AM
What normally happens is the team that was in possession gets the pall back, Bohs player refused to do this so ref told players to contest the ball. McMillan did, and the rest is history. Never let facts get in the way of a good whinge though
Bohs players were dropping like flies. Dundalk were on the attack so the ref dropped the ball and the attack continued. Why a Bohs player didn't present himself for the drop ball I'll never know. Silly foul on O'Donnell and then the free kick that seemed to be miles out somehow managed to go into the bottom corner. Looked perfectly straight and not travelling particularly fast by the time it hit the back of the net. Not sure if Supple was watching the ball at all.
When did Kurtis Byrne learn to score? Great goal from him. He was still frustrating to watch. Disinterested at times and couldn't be bothered running. He was the same with us.
I saw on facebook a number of Bohs fans calling Dundalk cheats due to them thinking they should have had a peno. He really should have went to the Olympics. Guaranteed at least a bronze with his dive!
4-5 nil should have been the score before Bohs scored. After their goal which was totally against the run of play they got back into the game. We really made a poor team look good.
03/09/2016, 11:22 AM
Desperately disappointed with the result but not the effort. Drogheda took their chances, we didn't. Can't fault the effort. When I think where we were last season to now being disappointed to be likely to lose out this season it's progress. Also quite a number of good young players are coming through so we're going in the right direction.
I reckon if ye keep the squad together with one or two additions ye should be challenging to win the first division next season.
total hoofball
03/09/2016, 12:05 PM
Cobh's record against the bottom 4 teams is very good (W9 D3 L1) but against the top 3 not so good (W1 D2 L7) could go either way for them next season depending if the standard at the top of the division drops further or if the likes of Waterford & Shels start performing
marinobohs
03/09/2016, 12:51 PM
What normally happens is the team that was in possession gets the pall back, Bohs player refused to do this so ref told players to contest the ball. McMillan did, and the rest is history. Never let facts get in the way of a good whinge though
Play was stopped due to an injury caused by a shocking bad tackle which was 'missed' by the ref. The ref told Bohs not to contest it, why the hell would they not contest it otherwise ?
Ask your players before spouting rubbish. Dundalk broke no rules, no question of that but goal did leave a sour taste and should have been avoided.
On the match itself Dundalk were excellent first half and could/should have been more than one up at the break. once Kurtis pulled a goal back (and we played a second striker) Bohs had the better of the last quarter.the loss of Akinade and Dundalks excellent play left Byrne very isolated up front and the introduction of kelly changed us for the better. Good game and a good crowd with both teams going for it. Poor reffing throughout but thats unfortunately the norm in this League.
White Horse
03/09/2016, 1:05 PM
The whingeing of some Bohs fans on twitter about the second Dundalk is hilarious.
If a Bohs player had not clattered O'Donnell there would have been no free kick. Any confusion over the refs instructions about restarting play is a red herring.
This debate is a distraction from a very good game and an excellent Kurtis Byrne goal.
03/09/2016, 1:39 PM
I treat every misfortune that befalls bohs as a direct consequence of them signing akinade. :good:
Ezeikial
03/09/2016, 1:52 PM
The ref told Bohs not to contest it, why the hell would they not contest it otherwise ?
You guys really need to get your story straight.
Your fellow Bohs fan, Daryl Geraghy writing on leagueofireland.ie says
Then, after telling the players to compete for the drop ball, the ball was thrown in the direction of the visitors, assuming the ball would go back to the keeper to restart, but Dundalk played on from the midfield.
He goes on to say
some might say it was naïve from Bohs not to react
Whatever about Bohs players being naive, it was the stupidity of Prendergast to give away a needless free that resulted in the goal
Dalymountrower
03/09/2016, 2:22 PM
If McMilan took advantage and was "unsporting" as per the RTE report, so what? Not sure why Dundalk fans are being so defensive about it?
Ezeikial
03/09/2016, 2:54 PM
If McMilan took advantage and was "unsporting" as per the RTE report, so what? Not sure why Dundalk fans are being so defensive about it?
Are Dundalk fans under attack?
kksaints asked what happened, and got a number of versions of it. Some of them were pure fantasy.
The RTE reporter is entitled to his/her opinion too. Soccer Republic should clarify for those who were not there. Maybe even for those who were there wearing blinkers
Louth4sam
03/09/2016, 3:38 PM
Ask your players before spouting rubbish. Dundalk broke no rules, no question of that but goal did leave a sour taste and should have been avoided.
OK then.
https://mobile.twitter.com/DMcM88/status/771828368870211585
https://mobile.twitter.com/DMcM88/status/771828610449674240
Oh and that sour taste is the sour grapes you've been sucking on since last night.
03/09/2016, 3:42 PM
David O'Sullivan back for Town tonight. Really fancy us to do it tonight
Ezeikial
03/09/2016, 4:00 PM
Ask your players
Stephen O'Donnell:
“They don’t know what is happening up in the stands,” said O’Donnell. “We had the ball, they wouldn’t kick it back and the ref said ‘contest it’. We weren’t going to kick it back to Bohs so….end of story.
“I think I’m fair and I’m a sportsman but if the ref says ‘contest it’ and nobody does anything then you just play on,” he added. “They can have no qualms about it. I’d feel bad if I was out of order but I wasn’t out of order.”
https://medium.com/@McLaughlinGavin/odonnell-bohs-can-have-no-complaints-faed6796b7f0#.5fizdffgv
I treat every misfortune that befalls bohs as a direct consequence of them signing akinade. :good:
Nothing beats the misfortune of being from Limerick. You must have done some really bad stuff in a previous life... :D
The league champions beat a mid table team. There was a seemingly questionable call on the pitch. Social media drama. Shocker.
RathfarnhamHoop
03/09/2016, 6:19 PM
I though it was a great game to watch. One of the best nil all's I've seen in a while. The standard wasn't amazing but both teams went out to win and tried to play good football for the most part. Really wish we had kept O'Malley but hindsight is a great thing. Also about your first post id say around 2,000-2,500 there which considering it was on tv, Leinster were playing, EP is on and there was a game on tuesday isn't bad
RathfarnhamHoop
03/09/2016, 6:29 PM
Longford VS Bray looking like it could be called off because of the rain, kick off is delayed for pitch inspection
EDIT: It's off!
ToberonaTornado
03/09/2016, 7:18 PM
Sligo vs Harps abandoned.
Dundalk or Cork to blame for these shenagininans ? :D
03/09/2016, 7:19 PM
Limerick 4-0 Waterford coming towards the end.
So Limerick down to needing 19 goals from 5 games to hit the ton. Today's match was the bare minimum they needed to keep on track.
03/09/2016, 8:00 PM
Game should never have started at the Showgrounds.
Lot of surface water from heavy rain all evening.
Dundalk of course. I can't believe you had to ask that!
patrickccfc
03/09/2016, 8:11 PM
Sean Maguire and Kevin O'Connor were on international duty last night so yeah it's our fault of course.
Unconfirmed reports that Maguire slipped on a crisp packet for the penalty....
thomas72
03/09/2016, 8:12 PM
Limerick 4-0 Waterford coming towards the end.
So Limerick down to needing 19 goals from 5 games to hit the ton. Today's match was the bare minimum they needed to keep on track.
Limericks 4th goal tonight was there 100th in all competitions this season was announced along with mulhall the goalscorer
redarmyfaction
03/09/2016, 8:16 PM
Game should never have started at the Showgrounds.
Lot of surface water from heavy rain all evening.
The rain started at 6:15, there was an inspection at 7pm which passed, though it obviously not playable at KO, I suppose the fact the players were on the pitch and the supporters were in the stands him chance it.
03/09/2016, 8:24 PM
Ah they definitely had to get it going but it was clear by the end of the warmup that the game would never last 90.
Just funny that both games in the showgrounds have been abandoned now.
Summer football lads!
Comic Book Guy
03/09/2016, 8:25 PM
Cobh's record against the bottom 4 teams is very good (W9 D3 L1) but against the top 3 not so good (W1 D2 L7) could go either way for them next season depending if the standard at the top of the division drops further or if the likes of Waterford & Shels start performing
You're spot on but next season the first division won't or at least shouldn't have an utterly dominant side like Limerick. What we badly need is a player who'll give 15 or so goals.
MattB11
03/09/2016, 8:41 PM
Shocking weather in Sligo, game to be rescheduled ASAP, once Cork and Dundalk give the all clear I'd assume
patrickccfc
03/09/2016, 9:23 PM
Shocking weather in Sligo, game to be rescheduled ASAP, once Cork and Dundalk give the all clear I'd assume
Can't be Tuesday anyway, the u21's are in Serbia
D24Saint
04/09/2016, 9:00 AM
Was relatively happy with our performance on Friday , there was plenty of fight & effort. It was a awful miss by Kelly but overall he did well.Thought Rory Feely was excellent considering he is only 19 he has a big future in football. As for Billy Dennehy his crossing was awful but he replacement Kinsella didn't fare much better, get the bray match out of the way and move on to the cup game.
sullanefc
04/09/2016, 9:02 AM
Bohs players were dropping like flies.
Beautiful irony here considering Dalk's form in this regard.
Dundalk must be feeling the pressure having to sink to such lows to score and given Kenny's pen counting and crisp packet comments. :D
Beautiful irony here considering Dalk's form in this regard.
Dundalk must be feeling the pressure having to sink to such lows to score and given Kenny's pen counting and crisp packet comments. :D
Right so. Maybe I've been watching different matches to you. I've actually been watching Dundalk.
Ezeikial
04/09/2016, 9:39 AM
In post-match interviews, Brian Gartland and Dane Massey also very clear about the hop ball incident
https://twistedwave.com/audio_files/77625/23033fae9323aead8823ec727785796b
https://twistedwave.com/audio_files/77623/6369c91a6449ffd65238d63dc9984477