View Full Version : city hall taken over

31/01/2005, 9:39 AM
cork city hall has just been taken over by people including socialist mick barry and johnathon o connor of SF in protest of service charges and bin charges

GO ON I SAID!!!!!!!!!!!!

31/01/2005, 11:07 AM
Sad to see Cork has its spongers too just like the "Double" :rolleyes: Tax Brigade in Dublin.

31/01/2005, 11:09 AM
Whatever about the bin charges, the new regime that have for bin collections in Cork is the stupidest thing I ever heard of -- there's an enormous pile of rubbish at the end of my street, and this regime is just making it bigger. Whoever came up with this to replace pay-by-weight deserves to be taken outside and beaten to within an inch of his or her life.

With the rubbish.

31/01/2005, 11:11 AM
BTW thecorner, where did you hear this? I'm just around the corner from City Hall, but I'm damned if I'm walking over if there's not still something happening.

31/01/2005, 11:13 AM
BTW thecorner, where did you hear this?

96fm

they are in the managers office and after ordering lunch

could be a long day for them

31/01/2005, 11:14 AM
funniest story ive heard is about a bin not being emptied because it was open by a few mm :eek:

31/01/2005, 11:22 AM
funniest story ive heard is about a bin not being emptied because it was open by a few mm :eek:If it really was just a few mm, that's a binman with a ridiculour power complex; but if it was an exaggeration the binmen are perfectly right to leave it there, since the lifter won't empty it properly, and it could bork the machine completely.

They've taken to sticking "illegal dumping" stickers on the rubbish down here now, I'd love to know how they're going to enforce that. Couple guards staking out the bins perhaps? :rolleyes:

Why they can't just give up this idiocy and add it into general taxation I don't know. It's just going to keep going until they do it anyway.

31/01/2005, 11:22 AM
Bin Payment dodgers will come up with any excuse not to pay their way.

In Dublin i've seen them complain about bin charges saying not enough recycling done & now they being charged per use they just coming up excuses.

Why should smaller households subsidise larger households with common charge? Irish people won't recyle unless given financial encentive.

31/01/2005, 11:25 AM
If it really was just a few mm, that's a binman with a ridiculour power complex;

they are been followed down here to make sure they dont take them by members of the city hall

eoinh
31/01/2005, 11:29 AM
Ironic that a SF man is complaining about rubbish charges while the IRA is involved in ilegal dumping. Thats some cheek.

Being charged per use is the totally correct way to go.

31/01/2005, 11:29 AM
Why should smaller households subsidise larger households with common charge?Which is why pay-by-weight is the sensible option, however we all know it's not going to work -- enforcement is next to impossible. And you could give that argument on a ton of issues anyway pete. Why should I subsidise $politicalParty's Oireachtas mail when I don't support $politicalParty, for example. Why should someone that drives a 4L car pay the same tax as someone with a 10L car? I haven't had any dealings with the GardaĆ­ in a few years now, can I have a portion of my tax removed please?

On the topic above, and in a slightly different vein, in Cork why should smaller household be penalised with 2-3 weeks worth of rubbish smelling up their houses because of the idiotic system implemented by the morons in City Hall? Can we have said morons pay higher taxes, since they're forking it up for everyone else?

31/01/2005, 12:40 PM
On the topic above, and in a slightly different vein, in Cork why should smaller household be penalised with 2-3 weeks worth of rubbish smelling up their houses because of the idiotic system implemented by the morons in City Hall? Can we have said morons pay higher taxes, since they're forking it up for everyone else?

Firstly as dublin city council don't generally collect from apartments (won't come inside gates) & since private collector not charging per weigh i;vre zero incentive currently.

You voted for the councillors so if don't like what they doing don't vote for them. Besides anyone living in a house with any bit of a garden should be able to compast all their vegetable waste which just leaves animal waste.

31/01/2005, 12:44 PM
Besides anyone living in a house with any bit of a garden should be able to compast all their vegetable waste which just leaves animal waste.

That's why the Pay-Per-Weight scheme is great in West Cork.
The majority of waste can be recycled now.
Having a dog helps too. ;)

31/01/2005, 12:44 PM
Its ridiculous and only leading to illegal dumping of waste all over the place.
But yet another display of masterful planning by those morons.

Mate of mine lives next to a rented house and there is a huge pile of rubbish thrown down the side of the house.
The rats in the city must be having a field day.

31/01/2005, 12:47 PM
Having a dog helps too. ;)

The last link in complete recycling solution :D

31/01/2005, 12:57 PM
The last link in complete recycling solution :D

It's the start of a new one though because you have to scoop up the dog mess and put that in a bin, which has to be collected. :D

31/01/2005, 1:01 PM
Firstly as dublin city council don't generally collect from apartments (won't come inside gates) & since private collector not charging per weigh i;vre zero incentive currently.It's apartments here too, but not gated. City centre, so the binmen won't come down the street, so everything has to be left at the top of the street. "Everything" is really starting to mount up now.

You voted for the councillors so if don't like what they doing don't vote for them.Throw that line at other people pete, not me. It might be good advice for some people around here, but when you say it to me it just sounds patronising.

Besides anyone living in a house with any bit of a garden should be able to compast all their vegetable waste which just leaves animal waste.I don't have a garden. My mother does, but I can't see her starting to compost at 60-odd -- she'll see it as a rotting pile in her garden, rather than a compost heap. And she's not a gardener anyway.

Plus saying all that's left will be animal waste is a real stretch, except for complete organic nazis. The council has strict rules on what they will and won't take for recycling. Plastic wrappings, greasy paper, etc, all have to go in the trash.

31/01/2005, 1:09 PM
Here we are, nice photo. Looks pretty next to the grotto, doesn't it?

31/01/2005, 1:25 PM
What's a "mature politician"? Over 60 like?

31/01/2005, 1:32 PM
Here we are, nice photo. Looks pretty next to the grotto, doesn't it?
and one bin in the middle of it for show.
At least the cover is down fully on it.

Is this a considered response to the situation by mature politicians or a chance to get as many morons as possible ringing Joe Duffy...You mean ring Neil Prenderville, surely.

31/01/2005, 1:36 PM
- Pete, it is double taxation since the VAT rate was put up to cover the loss of local rates. Personally, I think it should be all on income tax, but if they're going to re-introduce rates/service charges there should be a reduction in VAT, other tax.

- a major factor in the "waste crisis" is the fact that "people" won't deal with their own waste. Every city/town/county should have it's own incinerator (if they won't accept landfill).

- Green bins simply don't take enough types of waste that could be recycled, and then don't collect them often enough.

- The limited recycling facilities in the community are not emptied often enough. I tried to bring my numerous cans and bottles for the last 3 weeks and they bins have been overflowing. We gave up and drove (very environmentally friendly) to the DL-Rathdown facility.

- Facilities don't take the full range of recyclable. Councils throw in a can and bottle bank in a car park and think job done. They should have steel can banks, tetra packaging banks, plastic bottles etc etc in every community.

- Since they were privatised bin collections have become a money making racket - "Green Issue" me arse....

31/01/2005, 1:44 PM
Apartment dwellers should not be allowed to dump their waste bags (should ye not have large wheelie bins now?) on the side of the street cos its called littering.

Pay per use has to be kept - how its actually implemented is open to debate but more collections mean cost will increase.

I don't buy the double tax rubbish ;) The only true double tax is VRT i.e. ((car+Vat)VRT)

31/01/2005, 1:47 PM
I don't buy the double tax rubbish ;) The only true double tax is VRT i.e. ((car+Vat)VRT)
It's not just the bin tax, also the development levies, infact anything that the council used to provide free before the abolition of rates. Either reintroduce them, or an alternative (such as on income tax) or reduce the VAT rate to what it was pre the abolition of rates....

Jim Smith
31/01/2005, 1:48 PM
The main gripe I have about all of this is the fact that most of the rubbish I have to dump or recycle is forced on me by retailers. Now I always buy organic fruit and veg but I can't buy it loose in any of the supermarkets and I can't get to the English Market through the week. I'd much rather get my milk in a glass bottle.... The list goes on.

Now I know there is a problem with waste but its not the likes of me and you that are the biggest contributors to waste production so why are we the ones that have to pay for it. I've no problem paying my way but its the same nonsence that you have when PAYE people get taxed and the likes of Irive Welsh can live here tax free. Paying tax wouldn't hurt him or many like him. Does Daniel O'Donnell pat tax?

31/01/2005, 1:52 PM
Is this a considered response to the situation by mature politicians or a chance to get as many morons as possible ringing Joe Duffy...
Sure wasn't Bertie the Socialist down there giving the peace sign to all and sundry, singing The Marseilles, shouting "United We Stand" and expressing the wish that his brothers would break free from the shackles of the Capitalist agenda and that the people will prevail.........

31/01/2005, 2:12 PM
Apartment dwellers should not be allowed to dump their waste bags (should ye not have large wheelie bins now?)I don't have a wheelie bin at all because the building owner hasn't provided one, or more accurately the council took it away because he didn't pay his bin charges. I haven't pressured him about it because I don't care -- I take my two bags (one rubbish, one recycled) out to the mother's gaff once a week.

on the side of the street cos its called littering.I don't disagree pete, but let's pretend we're living in the real world now for a little while: How exactly do you propose to stop them?

Pay per use has to be kept - how its actually implemented is open to debate but more collections mean cost will increase.Indeed, but the current system is, to be perfectly frank, disgusting, and was developed by idiots.

I don't buy the double tax rubbish ;) The only true double tax is VRT i.e. ((car+Vat)VRT)Several people have rebutted your comments on double taxation with valid commentary and arguments pete, either have the courtesy to respond in kind or keep the trap shut, m'kay?

31/01/2005, 3:11 PM
The sit-in is about the unhealthy build up of uncollected rubbish, rather than bin-charges per se, according to this report. This is a different thing altogether and could become a major public health issue:

Cork councillors continue to stage sit-in

A number of Cork's city councillors are continuing their sit-in at the city manager's office in Cork City Hall.
Councillors Chris O` Leary, Jonathon O` Brien, Annette Spilland and Mick Barry had a meeting earlier with mangaer Joe Gavin to discuss the escalating rubbish problem in Cork, with concerns raised over a danger to public health posed by uncollected and decomposing rubbish.

Councillor Barry has called on the people of Cork to bombard Cork City Hall with telephone calls today to demand that action be taken to tackle the problem, which stems from new collection regulations introduced this month.

New charges and a tagging system, as well as demands that bin lids be completely closed before collection, have resulted in hundreds of bins going unemptied over the past fortnight. As rubbish builds up, each bin is less and less likely to be dealt with by the city`s bin collectors.

Rubbish is now being dumped illegally all over the city, leading to worries of rat infestation as it lies in streets and doorways. Countryside areas around Cork have also been polluted when used as illegal dumping grounds.

Joe Gavin has condemned the move by the councillors, each from the smaller parties represented in city hall, to take over his office while the councillors, for their part, have said they have been refused food and water while there.

blobbyblob
31/01/2005, 4:13 PM
I can see it at the oscars next year....

blobbyblob
01/02/2005, 9:22 AM
Have the boys surrendered city hall yet?