View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2016/17

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13

Fairkop
21/03/2017, 8:08 PM
Brian o Callaghan did a good job at Regional ,almost got there a few times in terms of trophies and signed some quality players during his tenure.Be very surprised if they plump for Mike Aherne,and anyway he manages Carew park does he not?no doubt plenty looking for that job.

AlanOB
22/03/2017, 9:17 PM
Born Offside: How Aisling Annacotty ended a 39-year wait for glory (https://limerickdl.wordpress.com/2017/03/22/born-offside-how-aisling-annacotty-ended-a-39-year-wait-for-glory/)https://limerickdl.files.wordpress.com/2017/03/17353502_2266324310258462_6231791937674535359_n.jp g?w=600

faceoff
26/03/2017, 7:33 PM
Enjoyable read AOB,fairplay
is there anyway u could do a podcast with Paulie O Donnell and Eddie o 'Donovan before the MJC semi final?

Haha he's 2 chances of that.none and none.I wouldnt even put slim in.

deadly man
26/03/2017, 9:46 PM
Haha he's 2 chances of that.none and none.I wouldnt even put slim in.

And why is that?both men would be very obliging i would assume,maybe mikey Ahearn will interview them on the radio
is there a date set yet for this derby?

Kennycon
27/03/2017, 5:19 AM
And why is that?both men would be very obliging i would assume,maybe mikey Ahearn will interview them on the radio
is there a date set yet for this derby?
Pike for me then are hitting form should be a great derby game

Treaty Gooner
27/03/2017, 1:28 PM
A podcast with those lads could set the record straight and we could all get on with our lives

faceoff
27/03/2017, 1:49 PM
Set the record straight about what????I will guarentee you here and now that he will get no Podcast.Why would they when he has a personal vendetta against one and slaughters the others club at every oppurtunity and you expect them to give him airtime and publicity.Are you for real??He burned his bridges too many times and its all coming back to haunt him now.He made his bed now he must lie on it.

Treaty Gooner
27/03/2017, 2:58 PM
It'd be great craic tho. Downloads would quadruple

booster 03
29/03/2017, 6:31 AM
Set the record straight about what????I will guarentee you here and now that he will get no Podcast.Why would they when he has a personal vendetta against one and slaughters the others club at every oppurtunity and you expect them to give him airtime and publicity.Are you for real??He burned his bridges too many times and its all coming back to haunt him now.He made his bed now he must lie on it.

No article this week in the leader

Sea Bird
29/03/2017, 10:04 AM

I think the Leader gig has been shelved!!

faceoff
29/03/2017, 1:32 PM

Well holy God.

deadly man
29/03/2017, 9:18 PM
Predictions for this weekend games

Janesboro 2 1 Carew
Fairview 3 0 Regional
Pike 3 1 Kilmallock

some good local games on this week and good to see midweek games back also

Treaty Gooner
29/03/2017, 9:38 PM
Some crackers between Thursday's and Sunday's games, we'll know who's in and out of the hunt soon. There's surely a few twists and turns but I'm sticking with the Boro I think.

Kennycon
30/03/2017, 5:26 AM
Some crackers between Thursday's and Sunday's games, we'll know who's in and out of the hunt soon. There's surely a few twists and turns but I'm sticking with the Boro I think.

Boro look like they are sliding abit they need a win against Carew and that won't come easy , pike for the league

faceoff
30/03/2017, 12:18 PM
Pike v Boro Sunday.That will tell the tale.

pearse4t3
30/03/2017, 7:59 PM
'Boro 2 Carew 0
Pike 6 Kilmallock 2
Fairview 3 Regional 2

deadly man
30/03/2017, 8:32 PM
Pike v Boro Sunday.That will tell the tale.

Pike to win the league for me,should be a blockbuster sunday
anyone know why is this game not fixtured for after dinner to give other teams a chance to go and watch it

AlanOB
30/03/2017, 8:46 PM
Janesboro 2-0 Carew Park: ‘Boro defeat champions to edge closer to glory (https://limerickdl.wordpress.com/2017/03/30/janesboro-2-0-carew-park-boro-defeat-champions-to-edge-closer-to-glory/)https://limerickdl.files.wordpress.com/2017/03/borocarew.jpg?w=600

deadly man
31/03/2017, 9:42 PM
[QUOTE=AlanOB;1914266]Janesboro 2-0 Carew Park: ‘Boro defeat champions to edge closer to glory (https://limerickdl.wordpress.com/2017/03/30/janesboro-2-0-carew-park-boro-defeat-champions-to-edge-closer-to-glory/)

https://limerickdl.files.wordpress.com/2017/03/borocarew.jpg?w=600[/QUOTE

Super report as usual,keep up the good work Alan

deadly man
01/04/2017, 9:45 PM
Predictions for tomorrows games lads

Boro 1 2 Pike
kilmallock 2 3 Fairview
Carew 2 1 Moyross
Geraldines 0 4 Regional

AlanOB
02/04/2017, 1:53 PM
Janesboro 2-1 Pike Rovers: Indisciplined Hoops fall to ‘Boro in title six-pointer (https://limerickdl.wordpress.com/2017/04/02/janesboro-2-1-pike-rovers-indisciplined-hoops-fall-to-boro-in-title-six-pointer/)https://limerickdl.files.wordpress.com/2017/04/boropike2017.jpg?w=600

Fairkop
03/04/2017, 4:50 PM
Janesboro 2-0 Carew Park: ‘Boro defeat champions to edge closer to glory (https://limerickdl.wordpress.com/2017/03/30/janesboro-2-0-carew-park-boro-defeat-champions-to-edge-closer-to-glory/)https://limerickdl.files.wordpress.com/2017/03/borocarew.jpg?w=600

Super report AOB,would have loved to have seen this one,some disaster of a season for the champions especially given all the hype preseason.

Fairkop
03/04/2017, 5:09 PM
Good report,huge win for Janesboro,poor but competitive match i thought.Second Janesboro goal looked out of play from my viewpoint but having said that linesman was up with play,Pike players should have played to the whistle and keeper was poor.Boro centreback Mullins best player on the pitch imo.Fine crowd present but some of the stuff dished out to the officials was terrible.

AlanOB
03/04/2017, 6:10 PM
Tough call between Mullins and Ryan for man of the match, alright; agonised over it a bit, before finally plumping for the latter.

AlanOB
05/04/2017, 3:08 PM
https://limerickdl.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/capture27.jpg?w=600

Latest LDL Premier Division table and statistics here (https://limerickdl.wordpress.com/statistics-201617/), after Barry Sheedy's hat-trick (the sixth player to rack one up this season) drove Kilmallock United to a 6-2 victory away to Carew Park. Credit to newly-promoted Kilmallock for doing the double over the champions, and scoring ten goals in the process...

passandmove
05/04/2017, 5:28 PM
Must be the worst premier league in years no standout team ,cant remember seeing a decent game

Treaty Gooner
05/04/2017, 7:47 PM
Agreed. For me, Balla to retain the Lawson, Boro to win the league, St Michaels for the Munster Junior. This probably is one of the worst seasons in terms of quality that I can think of. For example, Boro win on Super Sunday but lose a cup final. Regional imploding. Pike probably will finish the season empty handed. Fairview bottling the bigger games. Nenagh running out of puff. One of two teams who have put together super cup runs in recent years will be relegated. Most importantly, the biggest indicator is that there is no Limerick team in the semi finals of the FAI.

Fairkop
05/04/2017, 8:42 PM
Agreed. For me, Balla to retain the Lawson, Boro to win the league, St Michaels for the Munster Junior. This probably is one of the worst seasons in terms of quality that I can think of. For example, Boro win on Super Sunday but lose a cup final. Regional imploding. Pike probably will finish the season empty handed. Fairview bottling the bigger games. Nenagh running out of puff. One of two teams who have put together super cup runs in recent years will be relegated. Most importantly, the biggest indicator is that there is no Limerick team in the semi finals of the FAI.Regional imploding?their season is as normal as it usually is ,all that is different is o callaghan is gone.the team that imploded is surely Carew,last years League and Touhy champions i am surprised you have not mentioned them,what a meltdown for them.agree fully with the rest.

Treaty Gooner
05/04/2017, 9:39 PM
You're right, don't know why I didn't mention Carew. To say there was 8 teams with a mathematical chance of winning the league even into February would suggest that it's been a strong league. In reality everyone's been beating everyone else and when push has come to shove in the bigger cups they've come up short. Case in point Aisling winning the premier cup, beating Boro and Pike and in between losing to a Broadford team that were never even in contention for their own league. .

Kennycon
11/04/2017, 10:20 PM
Very poor season for carew park considering they are the holders , the dines will be disappointed it's been a tough season for them

deadly man
12/04/2017, 9:08 PM
I see Pat Sheehan looking for nominations for player of the year and manager of the season

i'd go with Shane Clarke and Mike McCarthy myself,anyone any thoughts?

Kennycon
12/04/2017, 10:48 PM
I see Pat Sheehan looking for nominations for player of the year and manager of the season

i'd go with Shane Clarke and Mike McCarthy myself,anyone any thoughts?

1 Steven Bradley
2 mike Mc Carthy

pearse4t3
13/04/2017, 3:45 PM
Steven Bradley for POTY
Derek McCarthy for manager

Treaty Gooner
13/04/2017, 4:32 PM
Seconded. Bradley's been the best player in the league all season, Derek has worked wonders with a promoted team.

deadly man
13/04/2017, 8:04 PM
Anyone any idea why moyross won an objection against Carew park and got awarded the points?

Fairkop
13/04/2017, 8:54 PM
Anyone any idea why moyross won an objection against Carew park and got awarded the points?

It seems the Carew park manager? came on as a substitute during the game even though he was not signed,amazing as that sounds ,given you would think he of all people would know he was not on a form.

AlanOB
13/04/2017, 8:58 PM
Yes, Albert Slattery was fielded as a substitute at home to Moyross United, despite being unregistered as a player. Carew fall to ninth as a result of the 3-0 scoreline awarded to Moyross:

https://limerickdl.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/capture29.jpg?w=600

...and a report from Pearse Stadium:

Janesboro 4-0 Regional United: Clarke double drives ‘Boro closer to glory (https://limerickdl.wordpress.com/2017/04/13/janesboro-4-0-regional-united-clarke-double-drives-boro-closer-to-glory/)

https://limerickdl.files.wordpress.com/2017/04/bororeg.jpg?w=600

...and the latest goalscoring chart and stats here: https://limerickdl.wordpress.com/statistics-201617/

Kennycon
14/04/2017, 7:10 AM
It seems the Carew park manager? came on as a substitute during the game even though he was not signed,amazing as that sounds ,given you would think he of all people would know he was not on a form.

I am surprised with carew park and that leaves Geraldine's no chance of survival I wonder what punishment will be handed out

AlanOB
16/04/2017, 1:10 PM
Lawson Cup quarter-final report....

Janesboro 1-3 Carew Park: Carew advance to Lawson last-four (https://limerickdl.wordpress.com/2017/04/16/janesboro-1-3-carew-park-carew-advance-to-lawson-last-four/)https://limerickdl.files.wordpress.com/2017/04/borocarewlawson.jpg?w=600

Kennycon
17/04/2017, 7:08 AM
This was a very good game , Alex Purcells goal should never have been allowed to stand, frahill in midfield put in a great shift very under rated player for carew park , boro will feel they let this one slip away with a few missed chances

AlanOB
17/04/2017, 11:04 AM
Agreed on Purcell's goal, Frahill, and the missed chances, but not your first point unfortunately.

I thought the game was a very poor advert for junior football, for a number of reasons.

Kennycon
17/04/2017, 12:28 PM
Standard all round has dropped that's just the new generation coming through, a few premier clubs just training once a week this would play a part on why the level isn't what it should be.

Treaty Gooner
18/04/2017, 1:27 PM
Could be set up for a grand stand finish. Boro no game for the next wk or so, chasing pack can make up ground to put the pressure on. My predictions:

Thursday
Aisling 1-3 Fairview
Nenagh 0-2 Pike

Sunday
Pike 2-1 Aisling

Thursday
Fairview 2-0 Balla

bluewhitearmy
20/04/2017, 1:37 PM
You'd want to match up superblues37's IP address with a certain very active user on the Limerick FC forum, the 12th man! Going by his post history, that account looks like it was specifically created to have a pop at me, and I'd know that wall-of-text, writing "style" anywhere.

And, hey, at least I know who Eoin Hand is...:o

Well this is awkward I only ended up in this section because I checked superblues37 posts to see could I figure out who it was. Little did I know it was me.

AlanOB
20/04/2017, 9:07 PM
Latest table, stats, and goalscorers chart here (https://limerickdl.wordpress.com/statistics-201617/), after tonights' results:

AA 2-4 Fairview
Nenagh 4-1 Pike R.
Moyross 1-1 Ballynanty R.

Fairkop
20/04/2017, 9:26 PM
Thats 9 goals Pike have conceded to Nenagh in the league ,amazing really.Good win for Fairview after the disappointment over the weekend.Decent point for Moyross in whats been a terrible season for them.

AlanOB
20/04/2017, 10:04 PM
45% of Pike's goals conceded have been shipped to Nenagh. Pretty incredible alright, although they had a very makeshift back four this evening.

Treaty Gooner
20/04/2017, 10:08 PM
Well I definitely fancied Pike to beat Nenagh but how silly of me to overlook the impact the bookmakers might have on the game. That sure is 9 goals they've conceded to Nenagh in two games where Nenagh were well priced underdogs. That's Nenagh who Aisling Annacotty have beaten home and away in the league, who drew at home to relegated Geraldines and who Fairview have played three times and beaten three times. Pathetic.

Fairkop
20/04/2017, 10:20 PM
Spot on TG,some pathetic carry on as of late ,the current league champions have,nt covered themselves in glory either in recent games,Standards have dropped steadily on the pitch....but also most certainly off it as well.

Tractor Boy
21/04/2017, 10:52 AM
Well I definitely fancied Pike to beat Nenagh but how silly of me to overlook the impact the bookmakers might have on the game. That sure is 9 goals they've conceded to Nenagh in two games where Nenagh were well priced underdogs. That's Nenagh who Aisling Annacotty have beaten home and away in the league, who drew at home to relegated Geraldines and who Fairview have played three times and beaten three times. Pathetic.

Both Pike and Nenagh last night played the game with under strength sides. To suggest that bookmakers have an impact on games is ridiculous. Give credit where credit is due. Every team drops points and bare in mind Nenagh to my knowledge have beaten every team in the Premier division (in all competitions) bar Fairview. Looking at the table I think its great to see more than one team in contention for the league coming to the end of a season rather than a 1/2 horse race. That shows the league is becoming more competitive on the table standings but I wouldnt get to see many games so I cant comment on the standard of football in the games.