View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2016/17

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

Treaty Gooner
17/08/2016, 4:52 PM
Big win for the Boro against Len Earls tip Balla. See, I listened to the podcast...

AlanOB
17/08/2016, 5:10 PM
Haha! I spoke to him earlier, but had the good grace not to mention his tip ;)

AlanOB
18/08/2016, 9:14 PM
Geraldines 1-3 Nenagh: Tipp-top debut for Prem newcomers (https://limerickdl.wordpress.com/2016/08/18/geraldines-1-3-nenagh-tipp-top-debut-for-prem-newcomers/)https://limerickdl.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/dinenen.jpg?w=600

I had intended on covering the champions' first fixture, but was turned away at the gate and informed I wasn't welcome...

Treaty Gooner
18/08/2016, 9:50 PM
What were the other results?

18/08/2016, 10:12 PM
Moyross 1-5 Pike
Fairview 5-0 Killmallock
Carew 1-0 Aisling

faceoff
18/08/2016, 11:18 PM
Geraldines 1-3 Nenagh: Tipp-top debut for Prem newcomers (https://limerickdl.wordpress.com/2016/08/18/geraldines-1-3-nenagh-tipp-top-debut-for-prem-newcomers/)https://limerickdl.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/dinenen.jpg?w=600

I had intended on covering the champions' first fixture, but was turned away at the gate and informed I wasn't welcome...

Ooh that must have hurt.

superblues37
19/08/2016, 12:23 PM
Going by the rumour mill around town, Carew are the only one of many that wont be leaving him inside their grounds....

deadly man
19/08/2016, 8:01 PM
Going by the rumour mill around town, Carew are the only one of many that wont be leaving him inside their grounds....

Who are you referring to?

Treaty Gooner
19/08/2016, 9:36 PM
Let's give the guy a break boys, I'm not his biggest fan either but his report last night on the Nenagh game was grand, just the facts, very informative. I could take or leave the podcasts but I think what's done is done now and everyone's learned a bit of a lesson so let's move on.

deadly man
19/08/2016, 9:40 PM
Lads the podcasts and reports are excellent to be fair and very enjoyable,not allowing him into grounds to report on games is madness,all because one or two took offence to what he has to say,keep up the good work alan,f*** the begrudgers

southern kid
20/08/2016, 7:22 PM
Super reports Alan. Keep it up. Can we just get on with the football now an forget about personal ****e... stick to football Alan as your refers are excellent to read when I can not make games....

AlanOB
20/08/2016, 9:23 PM
Thanks for the encouragement lads, but I'm not going anywhere.

Eventually the penny might drop in this town that there is a popular group of "real football people" who have wanted me to go away for a very long time now.

But even if it doesn't, I'll still be there, going at the glass ceiling with a pickaxe. Have no fear of that.

I'll have another report in the morning :ball:

AlanOB
21/08/2016, 1:05 PM
Aisling Annacotty 2-0 Geraldines: Punch-drunk ‘Dines take nothing from AA meeting (https://limerickdl.wordpress.com/2016/08/21/aisling-annacotty-2-0-geraldines-punch-drunk-dines-take-nothing-from-aa-meeting/)https://limerickdl.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/aadines.jpg?w=600

deadly man
21/08/2016, 9:13 PM
Aisling Annacotty 2-0 Geraldines: Punch-drunk ‘Dines take nothing from AA meeting (https://limerickdl.wordpress.com/2016/08/21/aisling-annacotty-2-0-geraldines-punch-drunk-dines-take-nothing-from-aa-meeting/)

https://limerickdl.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/aadines.jpg?w=600

Great report as always Alan,i'm surprised you didn't cover the carew/balla game?are the rumours true your not allowed into 'Certain' grounds?

AlanOB
21/08/2016, 10:09 PM
Thanks.

As I said above, underneath Thursday's report from Garryowen, I was turned away from Carew Park on the same night and informed I wasn't welcome anymore.

So it's 'ground' singular as things stand. Anything else is just the usual wishful thinking from those who wish I would go away, as far as I know.

Kennycon
22/08/2016, 2:53 PM
Bad result for carew park and fairview the next game, any report on the carew and balla game , team line ups?

barryk
22/08/2016, 3:24 PM
Limerick Leader

Fairkop
22/08/2016, 10:07 PM
Good report AOB and what a headline,keep it going ...very enjoyable informative read.

Ballistinianlad
23/08/2016, 6:51 AM
Having been reading the comments here and on social media. Iv never seen anyone with as big a chip on their shoulder. Get over yourself man and just do the match reports.
O'Donoghue for Carew should get a look in. Serious player. Hasn't played one minute yet

Treaty Gooner
23/08/2016, 12:26 PM
Where does he play? Carew don't look like the same team that won 2 trophies last year at all.

Ballistinianlad
23/08/2016, 2:15 PM
Up front or on the wing usually. Lightening quick and a great finsiher.

23/08/2016, 3:28 PM
Having been reading the comments here and on social media. Iv never seen anyone with as big a chip on their shoulder. Get over yourself man and just do the match reports.
O'Donoghue for Carew should get a look in. Serious player. Hasn't played one minute yet

That Cian O'Donoghue? Didn't he sign for Fairview?

superblues37
23/08/2016, 4:32 PM

obrien and chip on his shoulder?? you must be kidding me this is a "FAI ACCREDITED JOURNALIST" youre on about here! this same "journalist" whinges when he doesnt get the recognition he thinks he deserves and doesnt realise that two highly respected guys have been covering limerick for more than 10 years yet he has the cheek to think that he can just take over their jobs just like that.

Ballistinianlad
23/08/2016, 5:41 PM
That Cian O'Donoghue? Didn't he sign for Fairview?
No Kenneth O'Donoghue I'm on about lad

deadly man
23/08/2016, 7:43 PM
No Kenneth O'Donoghue I'm on about lad

Never heard of him,hopefully he gets a game thursday evening,should be a good game,I fancy Carew to take the points
Anyone any idea of fairviews starting 11 against kilmallock?

superblues37
24/08/2016, 10:13 PM
any truth in mcgann gone back to pike?

Ballistinianlad
25/08/2016, 10:27 AM
Which would be the best match to attend tonight ?

25/08/2016, 12:51 PM
any truth in mcgann gone back to pike?

Ya he signed back for Pike.

25/08/2016, 12:54 PM
Which would be the best match to attend tonight ?

Has to be Pike vs Janesboro.

Treaty Gooner
25/08/2016, 8:14 PM
Scores tonight?

AlanOB
25/08/2016, 9:19 PM
Fairview Rangers 5-0 Carew Park: Carew not so solid in the face of five-star Fairview (https://limerickdl.wordpress.com/2016/08/25/fairview-rangers-5-0-carew-park-carew-not-so-solid-in-the-face-of-five-star-fairview/)https://limerickdl.files.wordpress.com/2016/08/viewcarew.jpg?w=600

Treaty Gooner
26/08/2016, 12:30 AM
But what do you really think Ballistinianlad?

Cruyff
26/08/2016, 6:28 AM
Ya feels like your holding back

Sea Bird
26/08/2016, 6:38 AM
Don't see too much wrong with the report. Carew look a shadow of last years team and fairview looked to have greatly improved, they have pace everywhere and should be contenders this year, it could have been a lot more than 5.

passandmove
26/08/2016, 7:31 AM
Have Carew many to come back?? Otherwise dey are in serious trouble

Sea Bird
26/08/2016, 7:53 AM
Have Carew many to come back?? Otherwise dey are in serious trouble

They looked to be missing a few alright, Dillon wasn't there and Grant and Mc grath didn't start, that's 3 important players from last season and i'm sure they were missing a few more, the manner of the defeat is worrying if you are a Carew supporter i'd imagine as they were blown away but you'd have to give Fairview credit for that, they look a different side to last season. The manager seemed to improve the dines every year he was there and he might be repeating the trick above in the view.

Ballistinianlad
26/08/2016, 9:40 AM
Hahaha I was ranting to be fair. Ah no the reports grand it's just his little dig at the Carew manager again. No need especially when we all know that's it's more personal than anything else.
Looks like the fairview manager won't be getting sacked so lads

Sea Bird
26/08/2016, 10:00 AM
Hahaha I was ranting to be fair. Ah no the reports grand it's just his little dig at the Carew manager again. No need especially when we all know that's it's more personal than anything else.
Looks like the fairview manager won't be getting sacked so lads

Why would the Fairview manager be sacked?? Have i missed something?

Ballistinianlad
26/08/2016, 10:55 AM
Did you not read your mans preview of the season. It's on page 1.

Sea Bird
26/08/2016, 11:33 AM
Did you not read your mans preview of the season. It's on page 1.

Absolute nonsense talk, the people that matter in Fairview want stability, the manager will be there for a guaranteed 3 years, then questions will start to be asked if progression is not made.

Treaty Gooner
26/08/2016, 11:48 AM
Stability my eye, they want trophies, same as every other club. One of the most decorated clubs in junior history in this country want trophies. Looks like they've a great squad and the battles with Janesboro and Pike are ones to look forward to. I see Moyross got off the mark too last night, they'll be hard to beat at home by the looks of it.

Sea Bird
26/08/2016, 1:20 PM
Stability my eye, they want trophies, same as every other club. One of the most decorated clubs in junior history in this country want trophies. Looks like they've a great squad and the battles with Janesboro and Pike are ones to look forward to. I see Moyross got off the mark too last night, they'll be hard to beat at home by the looks of it.

ha ha well obviously they want trophies but they know Rome wasn't built in a day and are prepared to give the manager time, he's under no pressure from what i hear so that talk is rubbish.

limfan
26/08/2016, 1:40 PM
They looked to be missing a few alright, Dillon wasn't there and Grant and Mc grath didn't start, that's 3 important players from last season and i'm sure they were missing a few more, the manner of the defeat is worrying if you are a Carew supporter i'd imagine as they were blown away but you'd have to give Fairview credit for that, they look a different side to last season. The manager seemed to improve the dines every year he was there and he might be repeating the trick above in the view.

I was at the game last night. Fairview looked like they could have rightly embarressed Carew if they put away some guilted missed chances especially in the second half (5-0 is still a hiding). Carew just didnt look up for the game at all and i think any side that don't turn up against fairview will be in trouble. Carew look under serious pressure already so they'l need a serious response against Pike in their next game. On another note, they was four Kerry lads in the Fairview starting line-up. Good to see fellow Kerrymen in the league :) Paul o donnell seems to have picked from an untapped market, suprised nobody else has tried.

Fairkop
26/08/2016, 6:11 PM
another excellent report and having watched the game a very comfortable victory for fairview who looked very impressive from start to finish.

Treaty Gooner
26/08/2016, 6:17 PM
So Pike, Boro or Fairview for the league?

27/08/2016, 4:27 PM
Second and last time I'm saying this,just to make it 100% clear lads,personal insults will be met head on by me with a suspension or a ban,don't say you weren't warned.

deadly man
27/08/2016, 9:10 PM
Some predictions for tomorrows games lads
nenagh 3-1 moyross
geraldines 0-6 fairview
carew 1-4 pike
janesboro 4-0 kilmallock

Both Carew park and Geraldines management must be under serious pressure to get a few wins on the board otherwise i can see both been disposed of sooner rather than later

Treaty Gooner
27/08/2016, 10:33 PM
You think? Rarely happens in junior football. Don't think I could even give you an example of a manager being sacked during a season. I'll stand corrected though.

AlanOB
27/08/2016, 11:09 PM
Dermot Finnan stands as a recent high-profile example.

passandmove
28/08/2016, 7:53 AM
What time Carew game on lads??