View Full Version : Rio

backstothewall
02/08/2016, 4:02 PM
Not long now.

The Olympics of 2016 will come with all the usual reasons for cynicism. The unfinished construction. The Irish selection disputes (this year definitely no exception in that regard). And of course the drugs.

For all that I'm really looking forward to it. Everyone will be hoping the boxers do their thing but I would love Annalise Murphy to come home with a medal. The way she missed out in London couldn't have been harder for her to take

02/08/2016, 4:24 PM
First Olympics I genuinely couldn't give a crap about. Outside of the Irish contenders even I can't even consider watching it at all. Even then boxing is gonna be a horror show with how everything has goner and now the allegations of fixing.

backstothewall
03/08/2016, 7:25 PM
Do you think that will change once you see the tricolour and the cauldron is lit?

Opening ceremonies are usually a yawn fest but the Olympic one is always a good show. I really hope Pele doesn'the light it. He never played in the Olympics. The marathon runner who that mad priest attacked in Athens would be a much better choice for me.

04/08/2016, 8:29 AM
I never watch opening ceremonies.

As soon as the first fight starts I might start caring. We'll see.

backstothewall
04/08/2016, 2:44 PM
You missed a hell of a good show in London in that case. Credit where it's due. They needed an Irishman as the star of the show mind you.

04/08/2016, 3:10 PM
You missed a hell of a good show in London in that case. Credit where it's due. They needed an Irishman as the star of the show mind you.

Apparently I did. But I got over it.

04/08/2016, 4:42 PM
The smearing begins:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/olympics/2016/0804/806947-irish-boxer-olympics/

04/08/2016, 6:15 PM

Who was that?

It was ok in London, visually very good, but i felt they could have done much better with the music, its London ffs

China was a joke, all fake

I did like the Greek ceremony, a lot of history, but the Aussie one for me was the best.....fun and they did what i felt London should have done with the music, have a concert, get the people in the crowd going.

As for Rio, like Bonnie I might not even bother this year with the Olympics.....more to do with the Euros and how drained i felt after all that, not sure i could spend half my day/night watching more sport....

backstothewall
04/08/2016, 8:57 PM
Who was that?

Kenny Branagh.

I'd expect this one to be the Mardi Gras in a stadium. Can't really go too far wrong with that. Should be spectacular.

05/08/2016, 7:53 AM
7 years on this forum and I still think that when you guys are chatting it's one of ye talking to yourselves.

08/08/2016, 11:26 AM
Perhaps if bennocelt went back to being Billsthoughts you'd be less confused.

08/08/2016, 12:04 PM
Perhaps if bennocelt went back to being Billsthoughts you'd be less confused.

Even changing their names tut tut.

TheBoss
08/08/2016, 7:20 PM
What really grinds my gears (to borrow a phrase) about the Olympics is people will watch even if they know absolutely nothing about the sport. Before long they become an "expert" on the sport for about a week and a few days they forget about it. Also, when they show "sports" like shooting, archery, diving, fencing, trampolining for example, who actually watches it and wants to watch it cause those "sports" are extremely rarely or never shown on TV in the in-between years so the general public would have absolutely no clue about the competitors or the rules but just watch to see their fellow countrymen try to win a medal even though they are bamboozled to why someone won or lost.

08/08/2016, 7:27 PM
I wonder who is RTE's expert on trampolining?

peadar1987
08/08/2016, 7:30 PM
Annalise took the bullet in the first race in the Laser, but picked the wrong side up the first beat in the second (and didn't help herself by being very slow off the line), and finished 14th. She's lying 4th at the moment, with 2 out of 10 races done.

Finn Lynch is looking like he's set for solid mid fleet mediocrity in the men's competition. It's his first Games though, so mediocrity is probably grand!

peadar1987
08/08/2016, 7:32 PM
What really grinds my gears (to borrow a phrase) about the Olympics is people will watch even if they know absolutely nothing about the sport. Before long they become an "expert" on the sport for about a week and a few days they forget about it. Also, when they show "sports" like shooting, archery, diving, fencing, trampolining for example, who actually watches it and wants to watch it cause those "sports" are extremely rarely or never shown on TV in the in-between years so the general public would have absolutely no clue about the competitors or the rules but just watch to see their fellow countrymen try to win a medal even though they are bamboozled to why someone won or lost.

That's one of my favourite parts of the Olympics. Finding a sport you know next to nothing about and trying to learn as much as you can about it so you can follow an Irish athlete, or just enjoy the spectacle. Especially if there is a good commentator (or a knowledgeable mate) to explain things, I think it's great. I almost never watch boxing outside of the Olympics for example. Never watch Judo. No interest in cross-country horse racing. I've watched all of those events and more this time and really enjoyed them.

backstothewall
08/08/2016, 7:49 PM
That's one of my favourite parts of the Olympics. Finding a sport you know next to nothing about and trying to learn as much as you can about it so you can follow an Irish athlete, or just enjoy the spectacle. Especially if there is a good commentator (or a knowledgeable mate) to explain things, I think it's great.

The opposite can be true though. The guy RTÉ have on the basketball should be shot in the mouth.

peadar1987
08/08/2016, 9:20 PM
The opposite can be true though. The guy RTÉ have on the basketball should be shot in the mouth.

True. Most of the BBC commentators seem to be okay though. Or at least a bit better at having an "expert" to turn to for things the main chatterer doesn't understand

backstothewall
08/08/2016, 11:52 PM
True. Most of the BBC commentators seem to be okay though. Or at least a bit better at having an "expert" to turn to for things the main chatterer doesn't understand

The best Olympic sports are the ones where you need virtually no knowledge. Weightlifting is good for this.

"That last Russian lad lifted 175kg. This Romanian guy is trying 176 to beat him. Lets see if he can manage it...

...Nope, too much for him. Now, this next Korean lad is going for 178. Lets see if he can manage it...

...etc"

09/08/2016, 7:59 AM

Yeah but watching on the BBC you have to wade through montage after montage before seeing any sport.

peadar1987
09/08/2016, 10:55 AM
Lily Xu has been DSQ in race 2 for delaying her penalty spin at Mark 3, so Annalise is now up to 3rd in the standings. All to play for when the discard kicks in later in the series.

The best Olympic sports are the ones where you need virtually no knowledge. Weightlifting is good for this.

"That last Russian lad lifted 175kg. This Romanian guy is trying 176 to beat him. Lets see if he can manage it...

...Nope, too much for him. Now, this next Korean lad is going for 178. Lets see if he can manage it...

...etc"

I do like a little more complexity. Finding out why people were going to ground in the judo, or hearing about the paddle technique in the canoe slalom was cool, and something a little different from what I normally watch. I'm not going to watch canoe slalom every week, but for a few weeks at the Games I love it.

As a player and supporter of two minority sports (sailing and hockey), I think it's great to see people taking an interest, even if it's only brief. Until they appoint themselves armchair experts, that is.

Yeah but watching on the BBC you have to wade through montage after montage before seeing any sport.

Ah, montages. The flower arranging of televised sport.

09/08/2016, 3:30 PM
No anthems for Ireland v Germany in the hockey - both teams had to sing them on their own. Half impressed that the Irish team got through it tbh! Especially as a verse of Ireland's Call went through the stands v Holland, and of course one of the players has a brother playing for England...

peadar1987
09/08/2016, 4:20 PM
No anthems for Ireland v Germany in the hockey - both teams had to sing them on their own. Half impressed that the Irish team got through it tbh! Especially as a verse of Ireland's Call went through the stands v Holland, and of course one of the players has a brother playing for England...

And the lads more than holding their own on the pitch as well. Great reverse stick goal, although the keeper really should have done better.

Annalise's start has been delayed due to light winds, which won't suit her. She's the tallest girl in the fleet, and probably one of the heaviest as well. Light and shifty conditions tend to make things a bit less predictable as well, and as one of the leaders she won't want things shaken up too much.

09/08/2016, 5:06 PM

How's Kirk Shimmins playing? I know his dad who went over to support him.

09/08/2016, 5:20 PM
Leinster Division 12 is the highest I ever got in hockey. I don't think I'm really qualified to comment on how Olympic players are playing!

We lost 3-2; bit under the cosh for a lot of it, but to be expected against the two-time Olympic champions. We seem to have done reasonably well so far, albeit that we've yet to get a point.

peadar1987
09/08/2016, 9:14 PM
How's Kirk Shimmins playing? I know his dad who went over to support him.

Leinster Division 12 is the highest I ever got in hockey. I don't think I'm really qualified to comment on how Olympic players are playing!

We lost 3-2; bit under the cosh for a lot of it, but to be expected against the two-time Olympic champions. We seem to have done reasonably well so far, albeit that we've yet to get a point.

All the lads are doing pretty well. I'm in the same boat as Stu, I peaked at a low enough level to have no right to pass comment on Olympic players! (I think I played one game in Leinster Division 3, and the coach stopped returning my calls!). I think their inexperience at this level is showing a little, they've been very much in the games, putting in strong performances against superior opposition, but the other teams (especially the Dutch) have been so clinical when they come forward, and their conversion rate from short corners has been far better than ours. I'd still back us against Canada, and against Argentina, who knows?

Annalise had a 4th and a 7th today, after leading the second race briefly, but getting a bad shift up the second beat. Lying second behind Lily Xu just now, but all the girls around her apart from the Dane have got bad results on their card, so can't afford another slip-up or too many risks in the next 6 races.

10/08/2016, 10:49 PM
Anyone else think the judging in the Ward fight was harsh. Yer man Mina can't box. Gutted.

11/08/2016, 12:15 AM
Anyone else think the judging in the Ward fight was harsh. Yer man Mina can't box. Gutted.
Was a bizarre one alright. Went in with arms flailing and elbows everywhere, then clinched and kept flailing his other arm. Ward didn't know how to deal with it.

11/08/2016, 8:11 AM
In fairness to Wars how do you deal with it. I mean he got penalised twice for holding when it was clear that there was very little he could do if your man was wrestling with him. Several times he ran at Ward and threw punches while the ref was still in the middle and not restarted the fight.

When Ward only won the first round 2-1I think the writing was on the wall that the judges wanted only one winner.

That's what you get for alerting the world to match fixing possibilities. Conspiracy maybe but outside of the Azeri fighter on Tuesday night we haven't faced anyone of "class".

And I'm an awful bitter ******* when Ireland lose.

MeathDrog
11/08/2016, 3:28 PM
Your man was brutal but Ward didn't have a good fight himself. It was an awful fight really.

11/08/2016, 4:19 PM
Better news today, rowers into their finals, hockey team win and Donnelly wins in the boxing.

11/08/2016, 5:12 PM
Your man was brutal but Ward didn't have a good fight himself. It was an awful fight really.

It was a terrible fight. But after a comfortable first round I didn't think Ward was in trouble until the wrestling really heated up.

12/08/2016, 1:32 PM
Rowing time!!! Hon Sinéad and Claire! And Paul and Gary!

EDIT: Girls never really in it. Great achievement getting there.

12/08/2016, 1:54 PM
A medal! Silver for Paul and Gary.

More shtake and shpuds (http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/rio-2016-extras-30004165/10607602/)!

12/08/2016, 1:56 PM
A medal! Silver for Paul and Gary.

More shtake and shpuds (http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/rio-2016-extras-30004165/10607602/)!

My heart watching that. So close. Go wan the lads.

12/08/2016, 2:00 PM
Fantastic rowing from the lads. Brilliant to watch. Gutted for the girls though, but such a great effort and a proud moment for the Jennings family in Letterkenny, after so many near misses for Sinead, and Catrionas heartbreaking marathon run in London 2012.

Another good day for Letterkenny on the track though, Mark English qualified with a comfortable run in his 800m heat. Another outside bet for a medal here.

Eminence Grise
12/08/2016, 2:52 PM
"sports" like shooting, archery, diving, fencing, trampolining for example

I fenced competitively for years (sabre, mainly) - Irish Open QF, intervarsity champion, up against cadet, senior and veteran internationals (Irl, NI, UK) a lot of the time: trust me, it's a sport. :cool:

Well done, the rowers! Any day we get a medal is a good day!:applouse:

12/08/2016, 3:16 PM
Sonia O'Sullivan not impressed with the 10k WR being absolutely smashed there. She's 'questioning' how easy it was for 3 women to get under 30 minutes, despite 5 people only ever having done it previously.

The winner of the race just broke the record by 14 seconds, and hardly looked out of breath afterwards. Suspicious.

12/08/2016, 3:17 PM
I fenced competitively for years (sabre, mainly) - Irish Open QF, intervarsity champion, up against cadet, senior and veteran internationals (Irl, NI, UK) a lot of the time: trust me, it's a sport. :cool:

Well done, the rowers! Any day we get a medal is a good day!:applouse:

https://thenakedphysio.files.wordpress.com/2016/03/749956.png

Eminence Grise
12/08/2016, 3:21 PM
I fenced competitively for years (sabre, mainly) - Irish Open QF, intervarsity champion, beaten by cadet, senior, veteran internationals (Irl, NI, UK) and rank amateurs a lot of the time: trust me, it's a sport. :cool:

Slight correction of the record there.:D

12/08/2016, 3:38 PM
Sonia O'Sullivan not impressed with the 10k WR being absolutely smashed there. She's 'questioning' how easy it was for 3 women to get under 30 minutes, despite 5 people only ever having done it previously.

The winner of the race just broke the record by 14 seconds, and hardly looked out of breath afterwards. Suspicious.

It's obvious what went on. I'm tired of this.

12/08/2016, 7:39 PM
And then you hear Niall O'Toole on OTB earlier and now on RTÉ2 just now talking to the lads and everything is alright with the Olympics again.

My stream froze after they crossed the line so i missed out on Neville Maxwell bursting into tears on air. I love it when you get to see people being emotional about their (minority) sports.

Real ale Madrid
12/08/2016, 10:50 PM

Its the selective suspicion that I find hard. Bolt does 9.58 with his arms outstretched for the last 10m and no one bats an eyelid. Almost as big a joke in relative terms to what happened this evening.

Watching the hockey - our lads hanging on 1-0 down after the 1st Q. Argentina should be out of sight.

12/08/2016, 11:22 PM
Its the selective suspicion that I find hard. Bolt does 9.58 with his arms outstretched for the last 10m and no one bats an eyelid. Almost as big a joke in relative terms to what happened this evening.

Watching the hockey - our lads hanging on 1-0 down after the 1st Q. Argentina should be out of sight.

You're right about the selective suspicion. The only thing about Bolt's regards (as off the wall they are and as mental it is that the only people that have beaten him tend to be cheats themselves) is that the times have come down gradually. It;s not like a 23 year old record got smashed on this particular day!

Harte playing a blinder in goal. Shame to be 2-1 down now,

Real ale Madrid
12/08/2016, 11:47 PM
2-2 now - Argentina bottled it last night - 10 mins left - whatever the result they've done very well.

edit - aaaaaannd its gone again 3-2 Argentina.

NeverFeltBetter
16/08/2016, 3:18 PM
Michael Conlan had a good 'ol rant after that decision. Looked fairly mad alright. I wonder if combination of O'Reilly's drug suspension and coaches comments on judges after Taylor had an effect on the panel?

Bolt is one of those strange untouchables. I've been scolded by perfectly reasonable people for daring to suggest the human body can't go that fast over 100 metres naturally. It'll turn out like Lance Armstrong one day.

16/08/2016, 3:21 PM
Michael Conlan had a good 'ol rant after that decision. Looked fairly mad alright. I wonder if combination of O'Reilly's drug suspension and coaches comments on judges after Taylor had an effect on the panel?
I doubt they could care less about either of those things. That Russian is winning gold whether he makes it out of the ring alive or not.

peadar1987
16/08/2016, 4:52 PM
Annalise Murphy is an Olympic medallist. So proud of her, fantastic job Annalise! :)

16/08/2016, 4:57 PM
I doubt they could care less about either of those things. That Russian is winning gold whether he makes it out of the ring alive or not.

Didn't see the fight so I don't know whether he was "cheated" or not but all three judges gave it to the Russian and he should have just taken it on the chin (pun intended). He sounded a bit like Alex Ferguson/Mark Hughes/Random Premiership manager when some decisions went against them. To be honest 4 years ago Katie was fairly lucky to be awarded that win in the final bout and her opponent claimed there was bias going on. Such is a sport where judges have to make up their own mind - I am not sure that it is a scientific art.

16/08/2016, 5:02 PM
If you haven't seen the fight I don't think you have the context to say what he should have done.