View Full Version : Setanta Cup Draw - 2005

26/01/2005, 8:52 AM
What do people think would be our best draw?

Out of
Shelbourne,
Longford Town,
Linfield,
Glentoran,
Portadown

I'd like to see us get Linfield and Portadown and then meet Longford in the final. That would ensure decent away support at the pool games and great interest in the final.
I'm sure them boys and girls from up north would love to visit the European Capital of Culture. Not much chance of Shels travelling in numbers.

Rebal Boy
26/01/2005, 9:05 AM
I'd like to see City get Longford and Linfield the way they wouldn't have to go up north twice. I think City would have a very good chance of getting to the final if that was the group. We'll see how it goes anyway.

26/01/2005, 9:30 AM
Anyone but Portadown, (purely on the basis of a section of their following and the town).

Glentoran I would like, they have a decent following and would be a good bunch to meet I think.

26/01/2005, 9:58 AM
Anyone but Portadown, (purely on the basis of a section of their following and the town).

Part of the idea of this cup is to overcome these issues.
By "issues" I also mean the preconcieved notions that people may have about another club or location.

26/01/2005, 10:32 AM
We'll be playing LT & Shel$ enough times this season & IL clubs would be a welcome change.

26/01/2005, 11:58 AM
By "issues" I also mean the preconcieved notions that people may have about another club or location.
If you notice, Peadar, I said "section" of their crowd. Read any IFA league mb and comments from fans, and a lot will point out the problem some of Ports fans cause.
I mentioned the town because I have been there many times, and have had problems there simply because I have a "Southern" accent.
I have no pre-concieved notions, only personal experience and the experience of others.
I am 100% behind the concept of all-Ireland competition and the sooner we have it the better.

26/01/2005, 12:05 PM
I have no pre-concieved notions, only personal experience and the experience of others.

I accept that patsh but as I said, hopefully cross border competition can go some way towards changing attitudes on both sides.
Thankfully all my experiences up north have been positive and I hope that visitors to Cork from the north can say the same.

26/01/2005, 12:17 PM
If you notice, Peadar, I said "section" of their crowd. Read any IFA league mb and comments from fans, and a lot will point out the problem some of Ports fans cause.

We have enough "problem fans" of our own especially for the bigger games. Hopefully we can contain that element that turns up once a year for Rovers game looking for trouble.

jimhacker
26/01/2005, 3:47 PM

It'll take more than a Setanta cup to overturn people's notions of Portadown!

26/01/2005, 8:47 PM
The FAI will be behind it in some way so I recon that they'll do a 'League Cup' on it and do a bit of rigging. City to get Portadown coz of the Billy Woods connection and Shels to get Linfield coz of Fenlon.;) Dont know about the other 2 though. Id hope that we get 2 IL teams in our group just to break up the monotony of the eL teams.

26/01/2005, 9:12 PM
question...final is on 21st may but is there any venue yet for it or are they waiting to see who the finalists are?

27/01/2005, 8:36 AM
final afaik will be in lansdowne road..OR windsor park in the eventuality of there being 2 northern teams in the final.

27/01/2005, 9:13 AM
I checked Setanta listing on NTL this morning & said nothing about Cup draw on tv live.

27/01/2005, 9:19 AM
lads if it aint on tv you can rest easy, stay by your PC's.

Cork City Official Supporters Club will have PRO Colm O'Sullivan live in attendance at the Setanta Cup draw and as soon as anything is announced, I will have it posted here on foot.ie :)

27/01/2005, 11:14 AM
I don't think it's on tv afaik.
So well done to the supporters club for getting news out of Louth so quickly though!

27/01/2005, 12:26 PM
If it is on ... can someone tape it .... might need it later on !!

adamd164
27/01/2005, 1:18 PM
I want Longford (cause IMO we can beat them - I'm not being c0cky :cool: ) and Linfield (cause, although the dicks will be out in force, there would be an added spice)

27/01/2005, 2:01 PM
If it is on ... can someone tape it .... might need it later on !!

im trying to arrange getting it taped and delivered to shedend.com media.

Druss
27/01/2005, 4:49 PM
Well its gone half five. Whats the story? Where am i going, when do i have to get my flexi leave in for? :D

27/01/2005, 5:06 PM
Setanta Cup Draw - 2005
------------------------------------------------------------------------
thanks to Colm from the Cork City Official Supporters Club for the text from the draw venue.

Group 1
Shels
Cork City
Portadown

Group 2
Longford
Linfield
Glentoran

City's first game v Shels at Turners Cross March 29th

adamd164
27/01/2005, 5:07 PM
What's goin on :confused:

Druss
27/01/2005, 5:08 PM
:mad: I wanted my trip to Windsor Park. I think that is possibly my least favorite combination of teams.

27/01/2005, 5:10 PM
Group 1
Shels
Cork City
Portadown

We can beat both of those teams.

I think that is possibly my least favorite combination of teams.

Me too but that sets us up nicely for a final with Longford. :)

adamd164
27/01/2005, 5:13 PM
Jesus I jinxed us by saying I wanted Longford+Linfield. :mad:

WHAT A SH1TTY DRAW!

27/01/2005, 5:18 PM
Will be good practice researching our European opponents.

Druss
27/01/2005, 5:19 PM
We can beat both of those teams.

Me too but that sets us up nicely for a final with Longford. :)

Nah..Glentoran in the final. :cool:

27/01/2005, 5:19 PM
B*llox!
The worst draw possible....:mad:
Don't care about $hels but in combination with the one team from the North I hoped to avoid, its a b*lls....:(

Oh well, we have to accept what we have got and put a supreme effort into winning this.

27/01/2005, 5:22 PM
1st 2 fixtures in city'd group

Shels v Portadown March 22
City v Shels March 29

so presumably then
Portadown v City next ???

27/01/2005, 5:23 PM
Probably worst draw we could have got. No visit to Belfast either.

Portadown 392km from Cork but only 138km from Dublin. Unlikely to be an overnighter now...

Odds on Longford will drop now.

27/01/2005, 5:37 PM
Those $hels w*nkers are thrilled to be playing us. They will get to "humiliate us twice".....hmmm, we shall have to wait and see about that....

27/01/2005, 5:39 PM
DATE & FIXTURE SCHEDULE
GROUP 1
NO. DAY DATE FIXTURE HOME CLUB v AWAY CLUB
1 TUE. 15/3 IFA 1 v FAI 2 Glentoran v Longford Town
4 MON. 4/4 FAI 2 v IFA 3 Longford Town v Linfield
6 TUE. 19/4 IFA 3 v IFA 1 Linfield v Glentoran
7 MON. 25/4 FAI 2 v IFA 1 Longford Town v Glentoran
10 TUE. 10/5 IFA 3 v FAI 2 Linfield v Longford Town
11 MON. 16/5 IFA 1 v IFA 3 Glentoran v Linfield

GROUP 2
NO. DAY DATE FIXTURE HOME CLUB v AWAY CLUB
2 TUE. 22/3 FAI 1 v IFA 2 Shelbourne v Portadown
3 TUE. 29/3 FAI 3 v FAI 1 Cork City v Shelbourne
5 MON. 11/4 IFA 2 v FAI 3 Portadown v Cork City
8 MON. 25/4 IFA 2 v FAI 1 Portadown v Shelbourne
9 MON. 2/5 FAI 1 v FAI 3 Shelbourne v Cork City
12 MON. 16/5 FAI 3 v IFA 2 Cork City v Portadown

rebel army no1
27/01/2005, 7:57 PM
the Guards wont be happy with that draw either, portadown are known for their "loyalist ways". :( :(

iceman
27/01/2005, 8:08 PM
the Guards wont be happy with that draw either, portadown are known for their "loyalist ways". :( :(

Would'nt worry too much about that rebel army no1 , Drogs played them in two friendlies last year - home and away - and there was no hint of any sectarianism , in fact a good time was had by all.

While I did'nt personally travel to Portadown some of the lads did and they were made very welcome.

As far as transport is concerned the Enterprise train stops in Portadown and there is an excellent coach service every half hour from Dublin with www.aircoach.ie

harry crumb
27/01/2005, 9:40 PM
Getting Shels is the worst draw we could have got. Id say whoever wins this group will be favourites. Shels will be very strong.

27/01/2005, 10:08 PM
As far as transport is concerned the Enterprise train stops in Portadown www.aircoach.ie

Uuuuuuuu! The Enterprise! I wish someone from CIE would take a ride on that so they could see how to run a train :(

Portadown is in the middle (http://www.mapquest.com/maps/map.adp?ovi=1&zoom=4&mapdata=dUZx%2bAxiDGamyXIWst7tIzDdP2ELnwW9XPan7O8Y y6GQgwj8OdoECmdBuOPgOE6OcHouS%2frsOt1c5qZ6ik%2beIE yF6R1K%2fUDui1YIIywqTcE6VfkwycIij3hjD5q7q6ZzLGGi05 xJACmpEMZCPDYm6csoC75NyKFSepKFcdT4aLCLB1ckBTT2kogV DkDn%2bYin8G4vzVW32gdfLYjmCRHBThmFV%2fQa6OIATdO68I gPkdz4xhXWAwRhj13Gf4WvnDQkeng8G2eB6D2HMQVDgbiXCqfC 9a9Gca17KHRYYULRZWqtVPOUNMsCjhnjbo%2bLfHQW3R6qkVZ3 RoZgnahBWWaRp4%2bJ2alRwyu0dB%2fcc%2fSXJLryKOvlre4Z dmfdc4ois780EFqPsWZZAf45VexUAnaO60DlRFgcr2o6JvI72S sFJ7XL5JhXw3y9y1%2fYMtHfbawyWJohnv52GF74B7VAWN%2fU 519kDhwswV63) of the map. No mention of it on the Aircoach website though. :confused:

From CIE (www.cie.ie)

Dublin Connolly -> Portadown 11/04/2005
0935-1109
1100-1234
1320-1454
1520-1654
1650-1816

Portadown -> Dublin Connolly 11/04/2005
2038-2215
(Kinda fecked for getting back)

Directions (http://www.irishleagueforums.net/directions/portadown.shtml) also help

Shamrock Park is the home of Portadown Football Club

It is located on the Brownstown Road in Portadown, above the Mahon Industrial Estate and to the left of the Peoples Park! Im liking the sound of Portadown a bit more now :)

28/01/2005, 8:40 AM
I wonder will the Rebel Army chant be misunderstood...?

If they lose Vinny Arkins will be lot poorer side.

28/01/2005, 11:02 AM
Might as well be the first to say this...

Group of Death! :eek:

28/01/2005, 12:29 PM
Dublin Connolly -> Portadown 11/04/2005

Sorry to but in and all but have you any idea how much a return to portadown from Connolly would cost? I can't find it on the website anywhere.

kevincronin2000
28/01/2005, 5:14 PM
Sorry to but in and all but have you any idea how much a return to portadown from Connolly would cost? I can't find it on the website anywhere.

you can get the one rail ticket from cork to portadown which includes the bus from hueston to connolly station. Try www.irishrail.ie

adamd164
28/01/2005, 5:22 PM
If they lose Vinny Arkins will be lot poorer side.
Damn right - he's a legend!! :cool:

ANYONE INTERESTED IN TRAVELLING BY TRAIN CLICK HERE (http://www.irishrail.ie/your_journey/timetables_junction3.asp?From=Cork&To=Portadown&Month=04&Day=11&Changes=2&DepDate=11%2F04%2F2005&DepTime=09%3A00%3A00&ArrDate=11%2F04%2F2005&ArrTime=16%3A54%3A00&radioservice1=1&uid1=Z90460&arrSta1=Dublin+Heuston&ap1=4&sc1=B&rc1=R&dtime1=20050411&serviceBrand1=I&uid2=0001&at2=1330&arrSta2=Dublin+Connolly&dtime2=20050411&serviceBrand2=+&uid3=Z90177&arrSta3=Portadown&sc3=F&rc3=R&dtime3=20050411&serviceBrand3=I&valid=Runs+every+Monday+to+Thursday+from+13+Decemb er+until+10+December%3B+except+22%2C29+January%3B+ 5%2C12%2C19%2C26+February%3B+5%2C12%2C19%2C26+Marc h%3B+2%2C9%2C16%2C23%2C30+April.&Details.x=23&Details.y=14) - It shows the details for the train leaving Cork @ 9am and arriving in Portadown @ 4.54pm, this includes one change of trains in Dublin, for which the bus tickets are included.

colblimp
28/01/2005, 11:36 PM
ANYONE INTERESTED IN TRAVELLING BY TRAIN CLICK HERE (http://www.irishrail.ie/your_journey/timetables_junction3.asp?From=Cork&To=Portadown&Month=04&Day=11&Changes=2&DepDate=11%2F04%2F2005&DepTime=09%3A00%3A00&ArrDate=11%2F04%2F2005&ArrTime=16%3A54%3A00&radioservice1=1&uid1=Z90460&arrSta1=Dublin+Heuston&ap1=4&sc1=B&rc1=R&dtime1=20050411&serviceBrand1=I&uid2=0001&at2=1330&arrSta2=Dublin+Connolly&dtime2=20050411&serviceBrand2=+&uid3=Z90177&arrSta3=Portadown&sc3=F&rc3=R&dtime3=20050411&serviceBrand3=I&valid=Runs+every+Monday+to+Thursday+from+13+Decemb er+until+10+December%3B+except+22%2C29+January%3B+ 5%2C12%2C19%2C26+February%3B+5%2C12%2C19%2C26+Marc h%3B+2%2C9%2C16%2C23%2C30+April.&Details.x=23&Details.y=14) - It shows the details for the train leaving Cork @ 9am and arriving in Portadown @ 4.54pm, this includes one change of trains in Dublin, for which the bus tickets are included.

But what about getting back home???? :confused:

02/02/2005, 2:39 PM
There's a rumour that our game against Shels is being moved to Monday the 28th of March.

02/02/2005, 2:48 PM
Would make sense considering the Ireland game is on alright.