View Full Version : Where do we go from here?
31/07/2016, 1:02 PM
I thought we played ok overall but didn't cope with Galway's tactical changes once we scored. We could easily have lost. From a first look at the new lads, Yann looks a decent enough addition an obvious threat at set pieces. Dsane worked hard but didn't have much impact aside from the effort that hit the post. Davy and Duffy should have been put on earlier as himself and Don were tiring. Didn't notice Coulter doing too much wrong to be honest.
Overall we've improved but I fear it's too late. Where are the wins going to come from?
31/07/2016, 3:30 PM
I thought that Yann was poor in defence for a person over six feet four he wouldnt go for headers which is shockin.. I thought that Coulter was massively improved from when I last saw him in Derry.. Haverty had a superb game for us along with Don Cowan.. The marking for our goal was amatuer to be honest.. Its the first time all season we have had two positive results in the league but its way too late for us now.. But I would accept us playin like this for the end of the season as we are goin to go down anyway..Kaleem also had a great game for us also. the way he took his goal was immense.. It was stupid for Davy Sully to be sent on with 89 mins on the clock.
Darklordsbane
01/08/2016, 9:55 PM
Good old Pats done us a favour there
DOC1982
02/08/2016, 12:56 PM
In fair to Cousins, he was shouting at someone to go to the edge of the box for the free kick that lead to the goal. Losing Dillon so early effected their play but there are more positives than negatives to take from the game.
02/08/2016, 2:28 PM
Phillip Coffey was sitting behind me in the stand, he would have never allowed that if he was on the bench he use to have panic attacks on the sideline if he saw anyone slacking from set pieces. Ever since he left we've become one of the most vulnerable teams in the country from set pieces. People constantly winning free headers and this kind of stuff happening. Gary Cronnin's a lovely guy but I've never seen him raise his voice once on the sideline.
02/08/2016, 4:31 PM
Phillip Coffey was sitting behind me in the stand, he would have never allowed that if he was on the bench he use to have panic attacks on the sideline if he saw anyone slacking from set pieces. Ever since he left we've become one of the most vulnerable teams in the country from set pieces. People constantly winning free headers and this kind of stuff happening. Gary Cronnin's a lovely guy but I've never seen him raise his voice once on the sideline.
yep you are dead right Gary is way too quiet.. Wish Graham Lawlor had stayed!
02/08/2016, 11:51 PM
yep you are dead right Gary is way too quiet.. Wish Graham Lawlor had stayed!
As good a coach as Lawlor was we were hopeless from set pieces with him as well.
03/08/2016, 4:39 PM
As good a coach as Lawlor was we were hopeless from set pieces with him as well.
as you had said elsewhere Philip Coffey was at game other night and should never have being gone from us.
04/08/2016, 3:59 PM
as you had said elsewhere Philip Coffey was at game other night and should never have being gone from us.
He wasn't a f*cking yes man hence why cousins got rid of him. Himself and Lawlor didn't end on good terms either. The man would fall out with his own shadow
L.T.F.C.
05/08/2016, 9:07 PM
Gannon and Hughes are the definition of passengers and end up sucking the life out of our game. M'Vita, Dsane and Makouta played well especially. Makouta wanted to play and always made himself available. Dsane did well for Sully's goal.
05/08/2016, 11:57 PM
Yet Gannon has the cheek to come out on Twitter and say it was a good performance before criticising those criticising the team. Too many passengers In this team and he's one of them. Lack of passion and fight would make you sick .
Darklordsbane
06/08/2016, 5:55 AM
I blame the substitutions Cousins made,
firstly when he made them,
secondly who he took off, Gannon should not have started but even allowing for that he should have been off,
we have been doing well without him I don't blame Hughes or Mc Glynn at least they tried,
and thirdly only 2 subs why not 3
sorry I don't know the new guy's name number 14 but he looked alright, clearly showing something in training so why not him and Jamie off the bench into the battle zone that is midfield, or better again start him and Jamie's energy was badly needed
I could be wrong but when we went 2/1 down I didn't hear any shouts from the dug out that Wexford had lost and let's push for at least a point,
I know you shouldn't have to use other teams losing as motivation but you could feel the confidence drain from the team after that goal
missed opportunity again with games running out
06/08/2016, 6:43 PM
I blame the substitutions Cousins made,
firstly when he made them,
secondly who he took off, Gannon should not have started but even allowing for that he should have been off,
we have been doing well without him I don't blame Hughes or Mc Glynn at least they tried,
and thirdly only 2 subs why not 3
sorry I don't know the new guy's name number 14 but he looked alright, clearly showing something in training so why not him and Jamie off the bench into the battle zone that is midfield, or better again start him and Jamie's energy was badly needed
I could be wrong but when we went 2/1 down I didn't hear any shouts from the dug out that Wexford had lost and let's push for at least a point,
I know you shouldn't have to use other teams losing as motivation but you could feel the confidence drain from the team after that goal
missed opportunity again with games running out
another thing is Shamrock Rovers had made their three subs by the time we made our first. why the lack of urgency in making a change. I rest my case.
06/08/2016, 7:34 PM
Every single week he waits till the 75th minute to make a change. He's an idiot
Darklordsbane
06/08/2016, 8:40 PM
I listened to his interview on Shannonside and he is blaming the desire of a player, I assume it's one of the back 4 so, whoever he is talking about is certain to be dropped for Wexford
06/08/2016, 9:26 PM
If desire is the issue he will be dropping Gannon and Powell too I assume? Nah will he f*ck, just looking to turn players into scapegoats.
07/08/2016, 6:06 PM
has anyone a link to this TC interview Fri nite as I cant find anythin on the Shannonside website?
07/08/2016, 6:31 PM
It's there Marty I listened yesterday. Not worth listening to. Same sh1te as always
Darklordsbane
08/08/2016, 5:55 AM
has anyone a link to this TC interview Fri nite as I cant find anythin on the Shannonside website?
http://www.shannonside.ie/sport/longford-town-suffer-defeat-in-tallaght/
Darklordsbane
27/08/2016, 5:37 AM
I thought I posted this already but don't see it anywhere I must have forgotten to send
I thought De Town did really well in the last half an hour last night,
I would hope that the team that finished the game are mostly the starting lineup from now on, bring in Skinner or the so called 3rd choice keeper neither can be worse than Coulter. Davy back when recovered, anyone but Powell, ( but to be fair he was mostly adequate enough last night) this would be similar to the team that drew with Sligo and Galway (ie no Gannon)
It could have been 10 nil up to the first hour but I thought apart from a couple of breakaway counter attacks we more than matched them in the last half an hour
10/09/2016, 9:41 PM
Well that was pathetic
10/09/2016, 11:21 PM
The players we have just aren't good enough. I thought they at least tried but we're a poor side, nothing in midfield, error prone defenders and a keeper who appears to be afraid of physical contact. I've left the strikers out as they are getting no service but it looked like their confidence is on the floor. We're gone now and the rest of this season is just about trying to plan for next year in the First.
11/09/2016, 9:31 AM
The players we have just aren't good enough. I thought they at least tried but we're a poor side, nothing in midfield, error prone defenders and a keeper who appears to be afraid of physical contact. I've left the strikers out as they are getting no service but it looked like their confidence is on the floor. We're gone now and the rest of this season is just about trying to plan for next year in the First.
Scrap the entire squad and start again next season. As soon as we are officially relegated let the 19's finish the season out and see if any of them can step up next season. The local goalkeeper can't be any worse than the 3 clowns we have had this season.
11/09/2016, 4:42 PM
Scrap the entire squad and start again next season. As soon as we are officially relegated let the 19's finish the season out and see if any of them can step up next season. The local goalkeeper can't be any worse than the 3 clowns we have had this season.
I was working last night and had no interest in it last nite tbh. I knew quite well that when I opened a paper this mornin that when I seen the result that we would have lost. I felt much better in myself not knowing the result as I accepted relegation months ago. I am not goin to bother wastin my money watchin this lot away. Now I understand how the Galway boys in 2011 felt after their season!
seen somewhere in the press that if we dont win another game that it would equal a record which was last in the 30s. To be honest if the club decide to run a dinner dance this year I for one wont be going as how you can support the worst team in history in the league of ireland and I wouldnt have the heart to go and I wouldnt enjoy it at all as I am fed up and depressed. The sooner the new season starts the better. Anyone any idea on Mathews stayin next year?
And before certain gob****es tell me to feck off I dont give a damn wot you think of me.
Darklordsbane
11/09/2016, 6:23 PM
I thought it was pretty good from De Town for the first half an hour,
the few positives I liked were
not the whole team in a bunch on one side of the pitch for goal kicks (I don't know why they bother because at least 85% of them go to the opposition)
not just standing in a bunch in the opposition box for the start of set pieces,
Mathews shouting at Mulhall and Powell to get out wider, I don't remember 1 ball to the corner which caused problems last night,
bodies on the goal line for set pieces (but that didn't last long)
Cowan staying forward for an outlet when we cleared the ball
Flynn giving out to Gannon
Mathews honesty in his interview on the radio
negatives Gannon 20% good 80% muck, players not fit, De town lost,
11/09/2016, 7:35 PM
Gannon is possibly one of the worst midfielders I've ever seen in a town jersey. Expected so much more from him after a good end to last season but he pulls out of every tackle and doesn't want the ball. When he gets it he just kicks it into the corners hoping it will look like a good pass. It's the midfield that cost us this season. We are so easy to play against.
11/09/2016, 8:39 PM
I expect Alan Mathews to have us better organised and there were some signs of that last night but individual errors cost us. He's building for next year and the rest of the season is about seeing if he can make anything out of what he has at the moment. Thought Jamie was much clearer on where he was expected to be and had a decent enough game with one or two good runs. Don was a threat at times too and lasted the full 90 which is unusual for him.
11/09/2016, 10:00 PM
I expect Alan Mathews to have us better organised and there were some signs of that last night but individual errors cost us. He's building for next year and the rest of the season is about seeing if he can make anything out of what he has at the moment. Thought Jamie was much clearer on where he was expected to be and had a decent enough game with one or two good runs. Don was a threat at times too and lasted the full 90 which is unusual for him.
I don't want to offend anyone but what game were you watching? Mulhall was absolutely dreadful. Error after error after error. I've never seen a lad to lose concentration as easilly as him. Great player going forward but needs to get his head into the game.
The Veteran
13/09/2016, 9:55 AM
I was working last night and had no interest in it last nite tbh. I knew quite well that when I opened a paper this mornin that when I seen the result that we would have lost. I felt much better in myself not knowing the result as I accepted relegation months ago. I am not goin to bother wastin my money watchin this lot away. Now I understand how the Galway boys in 2011 felt after their season!
seen somewhere in the press that if we dont win another game that it would equal a record which was last in the 30s. To be honest if the club decide to run a dinner dance this year I for one wont be going as how you can support the worst team in history in the league of ireland and I wouldnt have the heart to go and I wouldnt enjoy it at all as I am fed up and depressed. The sooner the new season starts the better. Anyone any idea on Mathews stayin next year?
And before certain gob****es tell me to feck off I dont give a damn wot you think of me.
Great attitude as ever Martinho. Where's your loyalty? You've spent the whole season on here moaning bout Section O , T.C, etc . . Yet you are begging people for Longford Town programmes & jerseys. Beginning to think you're in it for yourself
hollocaine
24/09/2016, 1:23 PM
Former defender Kevin Doherty on the bench last night assisting Mathews, himself a former defender. Of course, we also have former defender Cronin there in a coaching capacity now it seems.
This all sets us up for a full blooded assault on trying to maintain our Premier Division status by playing creative attacking football.
Oh wait...
24/09/2016, 4:33 PM
Great attitude as ever Martinho. Where's your loyalty? You've spent the whole season on here moaning bout Section O , T.C, etc . . Yet you are begging people for Longford Town programmes & jerseys. Beginning to think you're in it for yourself
ah if thats right say that to my face if you are brave enough to do so! I have gone to matches for years and will still go...It hurts me as an section O founder to see wot is happenin now.. why I am not allowed to say the truth.. other town fans are doing the same. I lost jerseys due to me being rushed into hospital and was just putting a plea out for fans that didnt want their merchandise to get in touch with me.. as for me begging for Longford town programmes if they wanted to I would pay them.
I am taking a step back for now as I have a hefty hospital bill to pay and am only going to home games.. Why am I not entitled as a senior fan to vent my frustration over the season.. If tony cousins had got his act together and section o hadnt fallen out over cup semi final I wouldnt have said a thing. If you had seen my form over the last 13 yrs on foot.ie this is the most depressing season in my nearly 26 yrs of goin to matches and theres only so much **** you can take.
oh by the way wot have you done for the club? at least I was supporters club secretary and was rep to the supporters trust. I wrote notes for the longford town notes and the supporters club notes. I done match reports for the leader. I have done stats for the website.
You are a gob****e of the highest order and have no problem in saying so..
24/09/2016, 5:24 PM
Former defender Kevin Doherty on the bench last night assisting Mathews, himself a former defender. Of course, we also have former defender Cronin there in a coaching capacity now it seems.
This all sets us up for a full blooded assault on trying to maintain our Premier Division status by playing creative attacking football.
Oh wait...
We seem to have a new member on the backroom staff very other week. You'd wonder the motives behind it sometimes.