View Full Version : Mahon Point

25/01/2005, 11:24 AM
It's opening next week and I am looking forward to this for one reason and one reason only i.e. it finally hearlds the arrival of Pizza Hut to Cork!!
I believe there's going to be McDonalds, KFC and Pizza Hut in the centre so that should keep me well fed for the next few weeks! :D

Ruairi
25/01/2005, 11:25 AM
Damn culchies coming down from the sticks just for a bit of pizza...

25/01/2005, 11:28 AM

Very nice Pizza though! :D

eoinh
25/01/2005, 11:29 AM
Is there a cinema going in there as well?

Aldini98
25/01/2005, 11:29 AM

Cork=Culchies...... :rolleyes:

Ruairi
25/01/2005, 11:30 AM
afaik know yeah, not for another few months though.

going down there next wednesday on me day off for a bit of shopping/pizza/staring at women..

25/01/2005, 11:40 AM
Bout freakin time there is a Pizza Hut in Cork.

Its reckoned that once Mahon Point opens it'll cause chaos on the Link Road. Its bad enough as it is, but the congestion, certainly for the first few weeks, will be murder.

Anyone know who the 'celebrity' opening it will be??

I believe there's going to be McDonalds, KFC and Pizza Hut in the centre

Over ever fattening population will get even fatter. Great :D

25/01/2005, 11:42 AM
I'm looking forward to seeing if the Eddie Rocket's burgers are still as nice as the last (and first) time I had one about five years ago. Pizza Hut chicken dippers are nice too, although the Apache Pizza ones are just as nice and their Buffalo Apache pizzas are to die for.

25/01/2005, 11:53 AM
It's opening next week and I am looking forward to this for one reason and one reason only i.e. it finally hearlds the arrival of Pizza Hut to Cork!!
I believe there's going to be McDonalds, KFC and Pizza Hut in the centre so that should keep me well fed for the next few weeks! :D

Ahhhh yes - our nation's city of culture. Good to see its inhabitants clambering for American fast food emporiums like the famine itself was still in full-swing...

That's it guys - ignore your indigenous Irish food chains and give your cash to large faceless foreign corporations who's sole contribution to the Irish economy will be minimum wage labour, aesthetically unappealing premises, and yet another arena in which skangers will try to claim compo for 'slipping' in the toilets...

Ahhhhh - you can almost smell the culture. Or is that the family-size variety bucket with free Vienetta....?

And just for the record - Derry got its first (note use of the word 'first') Pizza Hut over a decade ago. Apparently the company favour real capital cities when they choose locations.... :p :D :cool:

25/01/2005, 12:10 PM
about bloody time an Eddie Rocketts came to Cork.

So "Empty Pockets" is coming to Cork?
They sell beer with their meals so Gary could have a very valid point about traffic chaos. ;)

$Leon$
25/01/2005, 12:16 PM
Eddie Rocketts. Staple diet of any Kerryman in Dublin.

never known a kerry man to splash out

25/01/2005, 1:00 PM
Eddie Rockets = MacDonalds Quality * 2 times Price.

If Pizza Hut is highlight of Year of Culture ye sure giving loads of ammo to the rest of this foot.ie

Ruairi
25/01/2005, 5:02 PM
Eddie Rockets = MacDonalds Quality * 2 times Price.

If Pizza Hut is highlight of Year of Culture ye sure giving loads of ammo to the rest of this foot.ie

noone mentioned it was. colm's stomach got exicted, that's all :eek:

mahonpointsc.ie (http://www.mahonpointsc.ie) for the full list of whats on offer....

25/01/2005, 10:35 PM
yay, welcome yankee imperialism and yer crappy food :rolleyes: ;)

whats wrong with lennox's lads for ****s sake :D

26/01/2005, 12:50 AM
It smacks of the typical "cant tell one City from the next" english high street, no character at all. Plastic, artificial, contrived the lot of it.

All though might keep alot of people out of the City and make it easy to do stuff in there, every cloud has a silver lining ehh !!

26/01/2005, 7:49 AM
With any luck, M&S will move down there, and take those English chain store womens shops with them from St. Patrick's Street, so we can cordon of the little bit of England down there in one place, and then we can have our own Irish main street and none of this "High Street" bullsh*t.

Cork is still an Irish city, but if too many more of those English chains come here, we will turn into just another provincial English city, just like Dublin.
KEEP CORK IRISH!
:p

26/01/2005, 8:56 AM
List of shops looks like Liffey Valley to me once swop a few names...

26/01/2005, 9:02 AM
List of shops looks like Liffey Valley to me once swop a few names...

Is Owen O'Callaghan not the main developer of both locations?

ollie
26/01/2005, 9:36 AM
er dont mind pizza hut. i heard so much bout their pizzas and must say they r sh!t. cant beat DOMINO'S :D

don't mind those outlets KC's in douglas is the place to go.Definitely the best chipper in cork......

......bar lennoxs of course ;)

26/01/2005, 10:04 AM
going down there next wednesday on me day off for a bit of shopping/pizza/staring at women..
In Mahon?
Good luck.
Staring at bulgy overhang on those pyjamas-ey tracksuit pants our sluts have?
No thanks.

26/01/2005, 10:34 AM
Is Owen O'Callaghan not the main developer of both locations?

He definitely was involved in Quarryvale as was called when developed.

Has Mahon shed its old image now?

jofyisgod
26/01/2005, 1:47 PM
In Mahon?
Good luck.
Staring at bulgy overhang on those pyjamas-ey tracksuit pants our sluts have?
No thanks.

My thoughts exactly-still, lots of jobs and handy to have i guess.
You can't beat heading into Town though!

26/01/2005, 2:03 PM
I thought Flynn Construction built EVERYTHING in Cork...

Think Sorensens did the drainage.
SISK and PJ Hegarty are still big players in Cork.

26/01/2005, 6:51 PM
KEEP CORK IRISH!
:p
**** that. KEEP CORK CORK

27/01/2005, 11:10 PM
Has anyone heard the adverts on the radio for little england ???

Straight out of the Lisas Angel Simpsons episode !!

05/02/2008, 10:54 AM
This is going to nearly double in size.
Construction to begin this year, possibly in the coming weeks.
New building to commence where the overflow car park is with Marks & Sparks as anchor tenant.
Permission sought for the current Tesco and underground carparks to become multi-storey.

05/02/2008, 11:10 AM
Oh deary me.

05/02/2008, 10:50 PM
I could get away easily enough without a car in Dublin but always felt Cork completely dependent on the car. Mahon Point are only giving the people what they want I suppose.

MojoPin
05/02/2008, 11:10 PM
but what about xmas parking? they must build that car park at least ten stories to cope with the aamount over xmas if they are expanding and getting rid of the overflow car park

05/02/2008, 11:55 PM
I don't know the specifics but that overflow car park is huge so I reckon there'll still be space there.
It does sound crazy alright though.
They should open up the entrance on the side of Mahon anyway to relieve local traffic.

MojoPin
06/02/2008, 11:12 AM
they should have a fly over that takes traffic off the ring road direectly too the shopping centre its a disaster coming to mahon form the tunnel as you have to pass 3 sets of traffic lights to get into the carpark from the tunnel. on a busy day it can take up to 30 minutes

06/02/2008, 11:17 AM
they should have a fly over that takes traffic off the ring road direectly too the shopping centre its a disaster coming to mahon form the tunnel as you have to pass 3 sets of traffic lights to get into the carpark from the tunnel. on a busy day it can take up to 30 minutesBut what you're getting into there is traffic coming from the other side of the ring road - they'd have the same complaints. there should be 2 entrances, for the east and west directions respectively.

06/02/2008, 5:55 PM
Is there that much space there at the overflow?

The traffic lights there are annoying alright,the ones at the end especailly just as you turn in. I find it's easier to take the 2nd Douglas exit on the link, carrying on straight at the lights and aproach it from there.

06/02/2008, 7:20 PM
I always come at it from the Skehard Road side, much easier, coming from the other sides off the link at busy times is a complete nightmare.