View Full Version : Athlone Town
ATFC-1887
03/06/2016, 2:52 PM
Sh*t has hit the fan big time now.
Game is off tonight. Players refused to turn up after being told they will not be paid again. Chairman has to resign now.
Jd2793
03/06/2016, 3:08 PM
Is the game 100% off?
03/06/2016, 3:27 PM
Does this mean waterford are about to win a game :eek:
03/06/2016, 3:56 PM
Sad state of affairs when they can't (or won't?) even fund a budget that size. Whether it's due to rows or not. Well at least if the worst should happen the ground is secure and Zombie Athlone could come back in due course. Pay the liquidator a few quid and you can have your history back too.
ATFC-1887
03/06/2016, 3:57 PM
Is the game 100% off?
Yep it is
bluewhitearmy
03/06/2016, 4:07 PM
Another club to go as FAI enjoy the euros and ignore it ever happened. Gonna cost us the gate from home game against em too.
03/06/2016, 4:38 PM
I think we can all agree that the saddest part of this is that athlone haven't one even semi decent player we'd have at our own clubs
WoodquayBoy
03/06/2016, 4:51 PM
I think we can all agree that the saddest part of this is that athlone haven't one even semi decent player we'd have at our own clubs
Surely the saddest part is one of the oldest clubs in the league is about to disappear?
ATFC-1887
03/06/2016, 4:52 PM
David Cassidy might disagree with you
03/06/2016, 4:53 PM
Hello asterisk my old friend..
Forgot about Cassidy actually I'd have him at LTFC
03/06/2016, 4:56 PM
Shocking state of affairs. It looks like Athlone will have to pull out, re-group and comeback for next season or after if they have the right structures in place. A short term solution is no good for anyone.
03/06/2016, 5:00 PM
David Cassidy might disagree with you
I'm sure he disagrees with lots of people.
Because he's a filthy dirty small knacker.
I wouldn't have him washing the boots of any of our midfield three but I suppose he'd do some of the lesser lights.
All the same, well done on having david cassidy on the books of your defunct club though. :good:
ATFC-1887
03/06/2016, 5:38 PM
Jesus limerick fans have grown some ego since they got relegated.
ger121
03/06/2016, 5:50 PM
So it's 2012 all over again. Four years ago, Nero played his fiddle while Rome burned. Nothing changes in the FAI. Conroy Report? Just a useless exercise in pretending to care about Irish Football.
ger121
03/06/2016, 5:51 PM
Is the game 100% off?
Probably. Unless you've a few quid to spare?
bluewhitearmy
03/06/2016, 5:52 PM
Shocking state of affairs. It looks like Athlone will have to pull out, re-group and comeback for next season or after if they have the right structures in place. A short term solution is no good for anyone.
Short term solution would suit us if it could get em to after we play em again at the Markets Field.
Town Legend
03/06/2016, 5:52 PM
Sad day for the League but more importantly for the fans of ATFC. I hope it doesn't come to them pulling out of the league but it doesn't look good. Another team going from the league while the great man Delaney leaves his credit card behind several bars in France for the loyal Man U, Liverpool etc fans to enjoy themselves. I can see one or two other clubs hitting the wall before next year.
03/06/2016, 6:19 PM
Jesus First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC fans have grown some ego since they got relegated.
Fixed. :good:
NeverFeltBetter
03/06/2016, 10:11 PM
This is going to be damaging to Waterford too of course.
It's not called the graveyard for nothing. The faster Limerick can get back to the top tier the better.
disgruntled
04/06/2016, 9:19 AM
Sad to see any League of Ireland club in trouble but you have to wonder why ?
Are they so badly run that they can't run a 1st Div team ?
Do the Soccer fans of Athlone not give a toss or is it something else ?
Its all very well blaming Delaney & the FAI but if clubs can't run their own affairs in a proper business like manner then its not up to the FAI to keep filling holes that clubs dig themselves.
total hoofball
04/06/2016, 9:52 AM
Its all very well blaming Delaney & the FAI but if clubs can't run their own affairs in a proper business like manner then its not up to the FAI to keep filling holes that clubs dig themselves.
The FAI awarded Athlone a Premier Division Licence for 2016 after Athlone failed to pay their players for the majority of last season 2015. They still have failed to pay their outstanding debts owed to players & staff from 2015 and now their 2016 players are not being paid - this is in total breach of the UEFA/FAI's own licencing criteria
Delaney, Gavin and the rest of the crooks in Abbotstown are fully complicit and liable for facilitating this disaster alongside Athlone's Board. And as we all know Athlone aren't the first club to go tits up under the FAI's 'governance' and won't be the last.
legendz
04/06/2016, 10:02 AM
They might need to drop down to the A Championship for a few years. Oh right, the plug was pulled on that intermediary development level.
04/06/2016, 3:41 PM
Oh right, the plug was pulled on that intermediary development level.
You should have probably mentioned that before...
Will Frank and Irene have to change their holiday plans to sort out this mess?
Comic Book Guy
04/06/2016, 3:56 PM
It's obvious that there's a big rift between the board and the supporters. The only way out of this is for the FAI to remove the current board and allow the supporters to take over as a trust (with an interim board elected by the supporters). If the supporters are given control of the club then there's hope that things can be turned around but if the present impasse continues then I'd fear that it would be the end.
NeverFeltBetter
04/06/2016, 3:59 PM
Seems like leveling a financial punishment at Athlone would be both pointless and self-defeating, and a points deduction, in a league without relegation where Athlone are already far off play-off/promotion places, even more so.
What are the odds the First Division is a six team league by the end of this season?
Is there anybody willing to keep the show on the road and restructure the club?
BTW, I disagree with Disgruntled. If two clubs (Athlone and Waterford) get licences to compete and are on the verge of collapse even before the Summer break, the operation of the regulations must be questioned, and that's down to Delaney and Co.
04/06/2016, 4:53 PM
It's obvious that there's a big rift between the board and the supporters. The only way out of this is for the FAI to remove the current board and allow the supporters to take over as a trust (with an interim board elected by the supporters). If the supporters are given control of the club then there's hope that things can be turned around but if the present impasse continues then I'd fear that it would be the end.
I'm not being funny but aren't they already a members club? Could they not call an EGM if enough members want one? I'm not au fait with their constitution but surely there's some kind of provision in there that they can use?
04/06/2016, 5:38 PM
I heard Alan Mathews on Shannonside today being interviewd about this saga. He seems a defeated man. I wouldnt be surprised if he will quit the club. If he comes on the market I would take him back and get rid of that waster Cousins as Mathews still has a lot to offer. He also confirmed that four of the team are pro and the rest are amateurs.. How did they spend this money from this Athlone fan who won a lot of money? How was this spent so quickly? Personally I would hate for them to go as you need a midlands derby and it was thanks to Athlone that we got into the league of ireland in the first place!
ATFC-1887
04/06/2016, 7:21 PM
I heard Alan Mathews on Shannonside today being interviewd about this saga. He seems a defeated man. I wouldnt be surprised if he will quit the club. If he comes on the market I would take him back and get rid of that waster Cousins as Mathews still has a lot to offer. He also confirmed that four of the team are pro and the rest are amateurs.. How did they spend this money from this Athlone fan who won a lot of money? How was this spent so quickly? Personally I would hate for them to go as you need a midlands derby and it was thanks to Athlone that we got into the league of ireland in the first place!
That money was to clear stadium debt for athlone town stadium Ltd. Completely different company to the club itself.
legendz
04/06/2016, 7:44 PM
There was an opportunity for a merger between First Division and A Championship years back. The First Division has regressed since then. If Athlone and Waterford sink, only 4 of the current First Division would seem in a position to step up to a single tier Premier. Some form of intermediary regionalised league might have to come back for the rest with B teams from the Premier being allowed as well.
cobhlad
04/06/2016, 9:25 PM
If Athlone and Waterford sink, only 4 of the current First Division would seem in a position to step up to a single tier Premier.
Only 4?
Comic Book Guy
04/06/2016, 10:29 PM
I'm not being funny but aren't they already a members club? Could they not call an EGM if enough members want one? I'm not au fait with their constitution but surely there's some kind of provision in there that they can use?
Wasn't aware that they were a members club but if so then surely they can call an egm?
NeverFeltBetter
04/06/2016, 10:42 PM
Looks like something will have to be done between now and the return of the league.
oldfan
04/06/2016, 10:53 PM
Does anyone in Athlone really care? Attendance's over the years would suggest few do care sadly.
NeverFeltBetter
05/06/2016, 12:14 AM
What, are they trying to strong-arm this new group into an unfavorable deal? Surely if the club folds next week (and leaves the LOI mid-season) they'll be nothing left worth taking over?
ATFC-1887
05/06/2016, 12:14 AM
There are plenty that care. Unfortunately over the last number of years the link between the club and community is completely gone. Mainly down to the current regime. If the group who have proposed to take over are succesful in their attempt, people will come back to support the club. Slowly but surely.
There is alot of bad blood between the current board and the people of Athlone and until they are removed, nothing will change.
They released a statement yesterday evening saying that if a deal isn't completed by Tuesday, then any future decisions will be taken by the current executive committee. Most people have taken this as an intention to fold the club.
ATFC-1887
05/06/2016, 12:16 AM
What, are they trying to strong-arm this new group into an unfavorable deal? Surely if the club folds next week (and leaves the LOI mid-season) they'll be nothing left worth taking over?
All they care about is the academy. They are setting up a midlands school of excellence and are hoping to sell players to England. They do not care about the first team and have said to certain people that they don't want a first team.
It's a dictatorship down there. Nothing else.
NeverFeltBetter
05/06/2016, 12:29 AM
Then why don't they just withdraw and be done with it?
ger121
05/06/2016, 11:12 AM
Will Frank and Irene have to change their holiday plans to sort out this mess?
They can do a conference call from the Riviera. The joys of modern technology.
disgruntled
05/06/2016, 11:48 AM
Is there anybody willing to keep the show on the road and restructure the club?
BTW, I disagree with Disgruntled. If two clubs (Athlone and Waterford) get licences to compete and are on the verge of collapse even before the Summer break, the operation of the regulations must be questioned, and that's down to Delaney and Co.
True but you & I both know that if the licencing rules were strictly applied that we might not even have a Premier Division such is the state that many of the clubs are in.
What the FAI are trying to do is encourage the clubs to carry out their affairs in a business like manner but the clubs simply aren't listening.
Bye the way I didn't realise the Tommy No Bobs had taken over Athlone, Bray,Waterford plus a few more clubs such is the way they are being run :o
disgruntled
05/06/2016, 11:55 AM
There are plenty that care. Unfortunately over the last number of years the link between the club and community is completely gone. Mainly down to the current regime. If the group who have proposed to take over are succesful in their attempt, people will come back to support the club. Slowly but surely.
There is alot of bad blood between the current board and the people of Athlone and until they are removed, nothing will change.
They released a statement yesterday evening saying that if a deal isn't completed by Tuesday, then any future decisions will be taken by the current executive committee. Most people have taken this as an intention to fold the club.
Read that statement.
Totally off the wall.
That board must be on a totally different planet to the rest of the town.
Listened to Mathews interview a couple of weeks ago & really felt sorry for the man.
ATFC-1887
05/06/2016, 6:52 PM
http://www.shannonside.ie/sport/team-manager-alan-mathews-speaks-to-shannonside-northernsound-about-athlone-towns-situation/
bluewhitearmy
05/06/2016, 10:44 PM
Whats the feeling in Athlone do ye hold out any hope that ye will see it through?
05/06/2016, 11:03 PM
Whats the feeling in Athlone do ye hold out any hope that ye will see it through?
Seems like all rests on whether this interested party can get control of the club.
gufcfan
05/06/2016, 11:15 PM
Seems like all rests on whether this interested party can get control of the club.
Sounds like a "Manchester businessmen" type story.
ATFC-1887
06/06/2016, 10:09 AM
Sounds like a "Manchester businessmen" type story.
They are made up of former members and lads not involved before.
06/06/2016, 12:05 PM
And what exactly are the current owners expecting to get out of this consortium? It looks to me their only intention has been to get as much money out of the club as possible. Your posts previously stating they were only interested in the youth team would back that up.
06/06/2016, 7:54 PM
If in doubt have another review
http://extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/16825/fai-order-independent-review-into-athlone-town/
total hoofball
06/06/2016, 8:04 PM
Is Fran going to order an 'independent review' to his own licencing regime?
Hopefully we'll see Fran on Soccer Republic tonight spoofing like he has always does by deflecting responsibility on how the LOI has gone in 10 years from players on €1,000+ per week not getting paid to 10 years later players on €30 per week not getting paid