View Full Version : Shelbourne steel Images for website

dougdub
19/01/2005, 12:48 PM
Hi All,

Up until a couple of hours ago Shelbourne where stealing images from Premium TV in the UK.

The Shelbourne homepage brought you to a landing page which was copied in its entirity from Premium TV and changed to Shelbourne colours and crest.

All the Premium TV sites in the UK have a landing page as its the websites brand image.

Example:

http://www.rovers.co.uk

I rang premium tv through the number on their website and they are not affliated in any way with them. Soon after my conversation the page was removed by Shelbourne FC.

Premium TV where very angry that artwork and brand identity(both copyrighted) where used without permission.

Good luck with wiggling out of this one ! "Small man with a small website budget" lol

Ollie are ya there ?? Or too busy avoiding tax !!

Can they do anything legal at all ??

19/01/2005, 12:50 PM
lol :D

gypsyfella
19/01/2005, 1:58 PM
thats very petty of you... Jesus what harm is it doing??

jofyisgod
19/01/2005, 2:13 PM
thats very petty of you... Jesus what harm is it doing??

Hate Shels but agree with this-would you be bothered?

PS-It's steal not steel.

carrickharp
19/01/2005, 2:13 PM
Steal not Steel :rolleyes:

dougdub
19/01/2005, 2:29 PM
Sorry about the steel oops. I didn't think I was back in school ! Oh those where the days ! Sir lol ;)

It annoys me because other clubs have to pay good money for designers to come in and do the work, these guys charge top whack.

How would you like it if your club spent €1000's on a great site only for another club come in copy source and and change the club crest and away they go for a fiver and a dial up connection ?? :confused:

It's typical of Shelbourne cutting corners like they always do. The revenue will soon come down on them over other tax issues.

Passive
19/01/2005, 4:20 PM
It may be a small point, but it's another example of unprofessionalism in the EL. The league needs to promote a positive image and this is another example of the mentality that is holding us back.

joeraki
19/01/2005, 4:21 PM
It annoys me because other clubs have to pay good money for designers to come in and do the work, these guys charge top whack.

holy jesus, some people really need to get out more. You give internet nerds a bad name :D

eamoss
19/01/2005, 4:36 PM
lol, I was thinking the same thing when I saw it on shels website.

he he still funny :D

exile
19/01/2005, 6:28 PM
all very petty :rolleyes:
but very funny got to love it :D :D :D

19/01/2005, 6:40 PM
Typical small time bitter Shels obsessed gypsie.

Enjoy the inter toto and Glen Crowes hat trick in Dalymount next year dougdub, I'm sure this will be a great comfort for you then :)

Bald Student
19/01/2005, 6:55 PM
Typical small time bitter Shels obsessed gypsie.

Enjoy the inter toto and Glen Crowes hat trick in Dalymount next year

An example of irony

19/01/2005, 7:01 PM
An example of irony

Not really, I'm not bitter or obsessed with Bohs I was just pointing out that this is possibley the most pathetic post I've seen on foot.ie in responce to the post. Unless you mean Ollie Byrne, which would be a fair point I'll admit :D

Bald Student
19/01/2005, 7:06 PM
I was just pointing out that this is possibley the most pathetic post I've seen on foot.ie

So far so good. After doing that you had a cheap dig at his club, immediatley after accusing him of having a cheap dig at yours.

19/01/2005, 7:23 PM
So far so good. After doing that you had a cheap dig at his club, immediatley after accusing him of having a cheap dig at yours.

I didn't accuse him of having a dig at Shels I accused him of being so sad, bitter and obsessed with Shels that he'd actually consider posting on the issue that he did. There's cheap digs at Shels every second post on here to be fair, I'd have some post count if I felt I had to respond to them all.

Bald Student
19/01/2005, 8:03 PM
There's cheap digs at Shels every second post on here

O.K. There are cheap digs at most clubs here. I guess I just react badly to them.

As it happens, I think what he did (telling on Shels) was quite funny. A mild bit of closed season troublemaking. Had I spotted that, I'd definatley be showing off too.

dougdub
20/01/2005, 12:53 PM
Well I had a day off sick was bored and took it upon myself to stir up some fun for myself !

Anyhow foot.ie is fantastic and its great we all have a platform to have a bit of craic about Irish Football !

Now anyone else have any juicy cheap digs we can fire Shels way lol :D

20/01/2005, 1:31 PM
if you want an example of petty, visit the shelbourne message board and enter any Cork City related phrase and something else gets entered into your post. e.g. Rebel Army= rabble army etc etc

Now thats petty. The whole website is a joke and well done for spotting it

gypsyfella
20/01/2005, 2:30 PM
well i wish someone would come in and pay for a Bohs site - its crap...

20/01/2005, 2:33 PM
well i wish someone would come in and pay for a Bohs site - its crap...

Steal one! but wait a minute if any other club bur Scumbourne did it they'd probably be fined

But you know yourself. one rule for Ollie "20 john player blue" Byrne and aonther for the rest of us

20/01/2005, 3:53 PM
Steal one! but wait a minute if any other club bur Scumbourne did it they'd probably be fined

But you know yourself. one rule for Ollie "20 john player blue" Byrne and aonther for the rest of us

Are you implying Shelbourne are above international copywrite law? :D

We're more powerful then the ****ing mafia if you believe posts on here :D

20/01/2005, 4:08 PM
He didn't steal anything.

As he says on the $hels board, 'I unfortunately mirrored it a little too well ...' :D

20/01/2005, 9:26 PM
I can't believe the starter of this thread was enough of a sad ******* to spend the money on an international call to actually ring up this crowd, jesus christ :D

Xlex
20/01/2005, 10:24 PM
well, I'll echo that Shels mans comment. I think that he's allowed his explaination and it was damn right petty to ring England trying to get one over a eL fan who's doing his club a fine favour by producing a good site. Very dissappointed in you. Club rivalry is all well and good but that's too much.

dougdub
21/01/2005, 7:20 AM
From the Shelbourne site: "The problem was I did like the Premium Ad idea. I unfortunately mirrored it a little too well, but I didn't take their images. I don't think any of the clubs were having a Shelbourne Casino Night or Dinner Dance? Eitherway I have changed it. I guess the point is "Is the one up there legal to have" Its an ad. Rectangle in shape, advertising an event. I can't think of any other splash screen design other than a circle maybe? Anyways I have changed it accordingly but I can show anyone interested, the Photoshop PSD file with the composition of the images. The other problem is the Premiem TV sites use IMPACT font on images. I too was using it. If I re-use impact am I breaching copyright. The one up now cant possibly be considered under their realm of copyright."

Well fair play to ya, I only copied the nike logo for my new company because I like the idea lol :D Copyright my old son you might have heard of it you cant just go around thinking things are nice and blatantly copying it ! !

The reason I did it was plain and simple I am sick of Shelbourne Football Club and Ollie Byrne thinking they can get away with anything. It's not bitter or twisted I would simply say its getting even after Ollies comments last season and if you want to try break down why I did look no further than Ollie "ex con" Byrne because that man is a bigot towards my club and our fans !

stickyjoe
21/01/2005, 8:06 AM
if ever there was a thread that shows up why people think the EL and its supporters are whingers and a joke its this one.

My jaysus u wouldn`t see pettyness like this in a schoolyard

we all have problems with people/clubs in the league but ringing up a foreign company and trying to rat up a genuine EL man whose doing a great job with the shels site is disgraceful. sites like that need to be encouraged not shut down !

21/01/2005, 10:42 AM
The reason I did it was plain and simple I am sick of Shelbourne Football Club and Ollie Byrne thinking they can get away with anything. It's not bitter or twisted I would simply say its getting even after Ollies comments last season and if you want to try break down why I did look no further than Ollie "ex con" Byrne because that man is a bigot towards my club and our fans !

You do realise Ollie Byrne has nothing to do with that website whatsoever and rarely even visits it? I doubt he even knows about what happened and if he did he's probably laughing at the money you wasted ringing an English company to be a sad *******.

21/01/2005, 10:47 AM
if ever there was a thread that shows up why people think the EL and its supporters are whingers and a joke its this one.

Yeah, I mean you wouldn't see anything so petty being posted in English football forums or even in the General Football forum here.... :rolleyes:

21/01/2005, 11:39 AM

we all have problems with people/clubs in the league but ringing up a foreign company and trying to rat up a genuine EL man whose doing a great job with the shels site is disgraceful. sites like that need to be encouraged not shut down !

The thing is though, I bet if it were Bohs that were "mirroring it too well" :D someone from $hel$ (probably the convict himself) would be ringing up England, and then the media over here.

Ollie fought the law and the law won.

21/01/2005, 12:32 PM
The thing is though, I bet if it were Bohs that were "mirroring it too well" :D someone from $hel$ (probably the convict himself) would be ringing up England, and then the media over here.

No, no they wouldn't. Nobody would care.

dougdub
21/01/2005, 1:08 PM
""Same old Shelbourne always cheating"

Oh by the way the call was free ! It was on a company mobile !

21/01/2005, 1:20 PM
No, no they wouldn't. Nobody would care.
I hardly think that claim stands up......

21/01/2005, 7:54 PM
I hardly think that claim stands up......

I do, it would be of no benefit to Shels at all so Ollie and co. wouldn't be interested. In fact, this whole thing seems to be over 'getting Ollie' which is what makes it so laughabley feeble, I doubt Ollie even knows about it. It's a website run by fans.

Oh by the way the call was free ! It was on a company mobile !

I can't believe you took the time to ring them - you're possibley the saddest ******* I've ever seen on the internet :D And christ that is some claim to make, but I think it might well be true.

21/01/2005, 9:41 PM
I can't believe you took the time to ring them

Slash ... cant help thinking that you are a tad biased though !! :p

21/01/2005, 10:01 PM
Slash ... cant help thinking that you are a tad biased though !! :p

That's true but I'm not the only one who's saying that to be fair. I just find it amazing really, and I thought I'd too much time on my hands!

21/01/2005, 10:15 PM
I just find it amazing really

I did too :p ...... it thought it was "school yard" tactics, it totally reminded me of one of those cheesy little pranks ...... and i loved it :D ..... it was brilliant and brighten up my day !! You have to have laughed at it yourself !!

dougdub
22/01/2005, 2:18 PM
I hope that if any good has come out of this whole business is that Shelbourne Football Club will sit up and take notice that people are watching and even something as little as this can cause a stir.

I wonder what I will unearth next ??

Oh and can I have a receipt with that please Mr Byrne :D

joeraki
22/01/2005, 2:33 PM

A life ?? :D

dougdub
22/01/2005, 3:24 PM
ha ha !! Says a Dundalk fan !! What will you unearth next a proper team lol :D

22/01/2005, 4:29 PM
I hope that if any good has come out of this whole business is that Shelbourne Football Club will sit up and take notice that people are watching and even something as little as this can cause a stir.

Oh and can I have a receipt with that please Mr Byrne :D

Again do you even realise it's a site run by fans that "Mr Byrne" has nothing to do with and more than likely isn't aware what's happened? Sorry, I mean, yeah I bet he's gutted that the website he runs single handedly had to slightly alter it's entrance picture, he'll think twice before he messes with the mighty Bohs next time!

joeraki
22/01/2005, 8:51 PM
ha ha !! Says a Dundalk fan !! What will you unearth next a proper team lol :D

Why bother. Sure It doesn't take much to beat Shels Northside feeder club in a Cup Final :cool:

22/01/2005, 8:59 PM
Why bother. Sure It doesn't take much to beat Shels Northside feeder club in a Cup Final :cool:

Now come on, they're the big feeder club :D

22/01/2005, 9:13 PM

I have to say that this comment is particularly nasty and cutting.
This thread, while it started out really good .... it just gets better and better :p

"Shels Northside feeder club" ..... classic !!

24/01/2005, 8:56 AM
I have to say that this comment is particularly nasty and cutting.
This thread, while it started out really good .... it just gets better and better :p

"Shels Northside feeder club" ..... classic !!

I'd rather be a feeder than a franchise! :cool:

24/01/2005, 12:26 PM
I'd rather be a feeder than a franchise! :cool:

Touché !! ..... right back at ya Shels fans !! :p

24/01/2005, 2:15 PM
A franchise with over 100 years of history and one of the founder members of the league because we play on the other side of the city now? Eh, ok, some franchise that is :confused:

And A Face, a Cork fan would want to think before going on about Franchises :D

24/01/2005, 3:10 PM
A franchise with over 100 years of history and one of the founder members of the league because we play on the other side of the city now? Eh, ok, some franchise that is :confused:

Yes, but how many of your young fanbase know that history?
Feeder team or no, I don't think you'll find Bohs scouting out stadium locations in Ringsend anytime soon!

24/01/2005, 6:45 PM
Yes, but how many of your young fanbase know that history?
Feeder team or no, I don't think you'll find Bohs scouting out stadium locations in Ringsend anytime soon!

If we had the benefit of the FAI pumping money into our own ground for the international team like Bohs, or of not being absolutley robbed of two grounds in our spiritual home I'm sure we'd still be there. Frankly considering what happened us it's a wonder we survived at all, let alone went on to become the best team in the land again. Franchise my arse.

harpskid
24/01/2005, 6:53 PM
My God you are a sad individual, taking time out to whinge about something so petty.

I say fair play to the Shels dude for taking time to create his club a website and promote them. The more eL sites there are the better for all of us!

24/01/2005, 7:06 PM

Au contraire mon aime, Cork City FC aren't involved in any franchise right now, and the one we were involved in wasn't worth talking about as it didn't amount to anything ....... and Slash ..... i didn't open my mouth about it ..... sheeze ... you're getting very shirty when the word franchise is mentioned ...... is there a nerve there or what like !! :p