View Full Version : BREAKING: Official FAI Euro 2016 song teaser is out

23/05/2016, 1:06 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IOp2beHvlVk

Fixer82
23/05/2016, 11:32 AM
'Óró 'sé do bheatha bhaile' was used during '94 World Cup as well.
Personally I don't like this, it's kind of over-produced soulless dance music. Sounds more akin to something Dutch or Swedish would use.

Nothing has ever come close to Olé Olé. Especially when the Uileann Pipes kick in at the end

23/05/2016, 12:28 PM
As soon as you see the lyrics despair decends. The off-the-shelf "from Cork to Donegal..." jiggerypokery with it's suggestion of standing atop some peak casting a glad eye o'er the rolling glens. Then the Tallaght nightclub floor-filler, sub-Eurovision arrangment kicks in.

It makes the Manics cringe-inducing tribute to Europe (yes Joey Tempests Europe) for the Welsh seem majestic in it's scope and makes me yearn for Danas 1982 norn-Iron one that sticks so deep in the memory I can't seem to excavate it in tune or title.

Why must we be so afflicted? ...and this is just the tip of the iceberg.

DeLorean
23/05/2016, 12:54 PM
Is it just me or does it sound like George Hamilton says "one all" after Long's goal? "Out of the fog has come clarity" was a good line, although not exactly spontaneous I would think.

23/05/2016, 2:18 PM
Full version is on soundcloud here: https://soundcloud.com/the-manual-podcast/the-irish-roar
I'll have to listen to it a few times. I wasn't a fan of The Rocky Road To Poland either, but it did grow on me eventually.

23/05/2016, 2:45 PM
Full version is on soundcloud here: https://soundcloud.com/the-manual-podcast/the-irish-roar
I'll have to listen to it a few times. I wasn't a fan of The Rocky Road To Poland either, but it did grow on me eventually.

Sounds all right to me, though i'd have edited out
Okey Dokey Bill.
the first verse
the line Italy belgians Swedes will never beat the BIG
and have a less over- produced chorus.

24/05/2016, 9:09 AM
and makes me yearn for Danas 1982 norn-Iron one that sticks so deep in the memory I can't seem to excavate it in tune or title.

This one?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hHg2_vCmZQQ

Surely nobody would yearn for that.

DeLorean
24/05/2016, 9:25 AM
The writer was on Newstalk earlier. He was saying John Delaney saw them playing live (at some event I'd imagine) and asked them to put something together for the Euros after the show. The writer himself was only born in 1990 so was relying on some others in terms of research. He said he had to make some reference to Bill O'Herlihy having been such a big part of all our previous tournaments.

24/05/2016, 9:25 AM
And yet it's undeniably better. If this is the official one (which will be backed, endorsed and playlisted to death by RTE) then Today FM must have the Coronas or their non-union clap along equivalent recording their anthem as we speak -in aid of some home for very pale boys to morally arm wrench people into buying it. Then the dick measuring competition can begin in earnest.

24/05/2016, 9:46 AM
The writer was on Newstalk earlier. He was saying John Delaney saw them playing live (at some event I'd imagine) and asked them to put something together for the Euros after the show. The writer himself was only born in 1990 so was relying on some others in terms of research. He said he had to make some reference to Bill O'Herlihy having been such a big part of all our previous tournaments.
It was the Centenary celebration on Easter Monday, they performed the final section, which was the worst part of it in my opinion

And yet it's undeniably better. If this is the official one (which will be backed, endorsed and playlisted to death by RTE) then Today FM must have the Coronas or their non-union clap along equivalent recording their anthem as we speak -in aid of some home for very pale boys to morally arm wrench people into buying it. Then the dick measuring competition can begin in earnest.
You're on the right track, but it's the other way around, the song debuted on the Ian Dempsey show on Today FM. Who are owned by Denis O'Brien. Who pays part of the manager's wages. What a happy coincidence.
It was a similar situation with Rocky Road to Poland, the video has the Today FM logo all over it (see below) so 2FM joined forces with Jedward to release Put The Green Cape On, with the proceeds going to the ISPCC

r5aZjE15Ye0

24/05/2016, 9:57 AM
Has anyone been watching the Soccer Republic competition? Haven't seen it myself, but apparently one song a week, with the idea that the winner gets some airtime on RTÉ over the Euros.

I know the song I mentioned previously (http://foot.ie/threads/211456-It-begins?p=1870497&viewfull=1#post1870497) (former foot.ie member - below) was featured there last week - but no idea what else has been shown, or if any of it is any good?

DeLorean
24/05/2016, 9:58 AM
It was the Centenary celebration on Easter Monday

Yep... he even said that actually.

24/05/2016, 10:09 AM
Missed this. O'Brien also owns Newstalk. What another happy coincidence.

24/05/2016, 12:46 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yv95WRg_Reo Okay this NI fan composition made me feel a bit better about 'ours' yet still entertained me more. It's the little things that make it special. Like the sample of someone tapping a biro on a wet brick they've used for a kick-drum.

24/05/2016, 12:49 PM
Is he singing that underwater?

24/05/2016, 3:37 PM
Jesus that NI one is atrocious.

24/05/2016, 5:16 PM
Is that what Ulster Scots sounds like?

Fixer82
24/05/2016, 5:32 PM
Is that what Ulster Scots sounds like?

No, Ulster Scots sounds exactly like English :silly:

24/05/2016, 6:44 PM
"Acordeon's playin" he must be their new striker.

That was one unspeakably atrocious song. With that mono ethnic Union Jack flying in your face, they should have stuck with Rule Britannia or Land of Hope and Glory.

Eminence Grise
24/05/2016, 8:22 PM
I've tears running down my leg listening to that! Dear God, I hope they're tears.

CraftyToePoke
24/05/2016, 8:27 PM
There is great comfort in it lads, no matter how bad our song, or indeed no matter how badly we do, there will always be that song. To laugh hard at.

24/05/2016, 9:47 PM
I though that this has to be a spoof of sorts but I should have known that they were the duo behind that smash hit, the classic "Step into the Light".

Euro2 (http://www.musiccharts.click/northern-ireland-football-fans-made-song/)is a successfull producer- and DJ duo – formed by Michael Schaller and Thomas H. Schaller. The two soccer enthusiasts achieved a high recognition beyond the music scene with their smash hit “Step into the Light”.
With their assertive musical statement “France – we are coming” they are presenting a strong soccer stadium anthem for 2016:

EalingGreen
24/05/2016, 11:04 PM
Okay this NI fan composition made me feel a bit better about 'ours' yet still entertained me more. It's the little things that make it special. Like the sample of someone tapping a biro on a wet brick they've used for a kick-drum.OK, it's pretty bad.

But not as bad as this one:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nfHp3iARaNU

And as the great Jimmy Cricket would say, "C'mere, there's more"

24/05/2016, 11:47 PM
These 'fan efforts' are obviously being put together on the same very limited 'song' builder. Same title, same graphics, same lyrics in the chorus, same muffled Hannibal-Lecter-in-a-mask voice.

25/05/2016, 8:16 AM
That's pretty disturbing alright -at least the few seconds I could stick were. So, am I correct in thinking these are made by some loon who has one for everyone in the audience so to speak?

EalingGreen
25/05/2016, 10:26 AM
So, am I correct in thinking these are made by some loon who has one for everyone in the audience so to speak?Yes, you are correct.

Finally.

(The description immediately underneath the video provided a clue as to who/what was behind it:
Northern Ireland Soccer song. 30 years from Mexico to France: France we are coming, Northern Irish Football back on track 2016! (c) 2016 All rights reserved! Music & Lyrics: Michael Schaller, Thomas H. Schaller.
A soccer song as sign of a peaceful competiton 2016 in France!

Still, if you're looking for an authentic NI fans' song, you might try this one:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unGYG-jqXm8

25/05/2016, 10:57 AM
the description is missing "with apologies to Smokie."

25/05/2016, 11:03 AM
No more than the one stu threw up earlier, there are some weird looking yokes in that video :8

EalingGreen
25/05/2016, 11:13 AM
the description is missing "with apologies to Smokie."Well spotted, it's a cover version of an old song.

A bit like this one, for instance:

Published on 27 Apr 2012
Friday, May 4th saw the release of 'The Rocky Road to Poland' -- The OFFICIAL Republic of Ireland song for Euro 2012. This is the official video which was shot and edited by the great people at Room 4 (www.room4.tv).
The track was written by Ray D'Arcy Show listeners and recorded in Windmill Lane Studios by super-group Damien Dempsey, Bressie, Danny O'Reilly (Coronas) and The Dubliners (John Sheehan, Barney McKenna, Eamonn Campbell, Patsy Watchorn).
The Irish Euro 2012 Squad and Ray D'Arcy Show listeners also feature on the track which was produced by legendary producer John Reynolds.

No "apology" to DK Gavan there...

25/05/2016, 11:16 AM
the description is missing "with apologies to Smokie."
The chorus begs the add on.

..............................Paris
Paris, where the fck is Paris?

25/05/2016, 11:24 AM
Well spotted, it's a cover version of an old song.

A bit like this one, for instance:

Published on 27 Apr 2012
Friday, May 4th saw the release of 'The Rocky Road to Poland' -- The OFFICIAL Republic of Ireland song for Euro 2012. This is the official video which was shot and edited by the great people at Room 4 (www.room4.tv (http://www.room4.tv)).
The track was written by Ray D'Arcy Show listeners and recorded in Windmill Lane Studios by super-group Damien Dempsey, Bressie, Danny O'Reilly (Coronas) and The Dubliners (John Sheehan, Barney McKenna, Eamonn Campbell, Patsy Watchorn).
The Irish Euro 2012 Squad and Ray D'Arcy Show listeners also feature on the track which was produced by legendary producer John Reynolds.

No "apology" to DK Gavan there...

It didn't need one

EalingGreen
25/05/2016, 11:45 AM
The chorus begs the add on.

..............................Paris
Paris, where the fck is Paris?So apologies to Roy "Chubby" Brown it is, then. ;)

EalingGreen
25/05/2016, 11:46 AM
It didn't need oneIn your opinion...

25/05/2016, 12:32 PM
It didn't need one

Sensational and groundbreaking piece of writing. At one point it even rhymes the word 'team' with the word ...erm ...'team'.

25/05/2016, 12:36 PM
its not the worst in fairness lads

EalingGreen
25/05/2016, 1:00 PM
Sensational and groundbreaking piece of writing.Er, it's meant to be a football song, not Shakespeare...

At one point it even rhymes the word 'team' with the word ...erm ...'team'.Where's that, then?

(Full lyrics here: https://www.facebook.com/LondonNISC/ )

DannyInvincible
25/05/2016, 1:24 PM
Hi, EG. Are you defecting for good or is it just a brief sojourn? ;)

There are some posts here (five in a row) that might be of interest to you: http://foot.ie/threads/147164-Eligibility-Rules-Okay?p=1805271&viewfull=1#post1805271

I got in touch with a guy based in Switzerland called Yann Hafner - he's a sports lawyer and scholar of FIFA's eligibility rules - and he cleared up a few things for us in relation to how each rule is to be interpreted and when exceptions may be granted.

Gather round
25/05/2016, 1:33 PM
EG's next project is an entire album* of classic Smokie covers:

Oh, Carroll
Something's been making me red, white and blue
Don't play your Libero big G
Mexico 86 Girl
Ward Ward Angels
For a few Dallas More
It's your Lafferty

* ask yer Ma

25/05/2016, 1:52 PM

There are some posts here (five in a row) that might be of interest to you: http://foot.ie/threads/147164-Eligibility-Rules-Okay?p=1805271&viewfull=1#post1805271

I got in touch with a guy based in Switzerland called Yann Hafner - he's a sports lawyer and scholar of FIFA's eligibility rules - and he cleared up a few things for us in relation to how each rule is to be interpreted and when exceptions may be granted.
He's on a sojourn, it's ungentlemanly to mention the war.

25/05/2016, 1:58 PM
Did the ballad ever recover from this spoof?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=bUy83PKjkOI

EalingGreen
25/05/2016, 2:02 PM
Flying visit (barely time to browse these days, never mind post)

25/05/2016, 2:09 PM
Er, it's meant to be a football song, not Shakespeare...

Where's that, then?

(Full lyrics here: https://www.facebook.com/LondonNISC/ )

was talking about rocky road to poland ...and I stand corrected there anyway. Misheard lyrics happen readily when ones fists are wedged in ones ears

zero
25/05/2016, 2:27 PM
is this single for charity then?

Fixer82
26/05/2016, 4:23 PM
Anyone see the Thai Tims one? By far the best song I've heard so far

26/05/2016, 4:25 PM
yep its very good. I even shared it on my wall in facebook. Just waiting for stutts to comment on it, and then admit he didn't watch and doesn't need to, to express his disdain for frying pans and camper vans.

26/05/2016, 9:10 PM
It's impressive how the Thai Tims manage to end most lines with a word that ends in O
In that I include Bordo, sorro and Carlo.

Siberian
27/05/2016, 10:21 AM
Anyone get the impression the Thai Tims were brainwashed from an early age :D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tgraNfRzAGs

backstothewall
27/05/2016, 12:32 PM
Anyone get the impression the Thai Tims were brainwashed from an early age :D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tgraNfRzAGs

It might be 125 years later but clearly there is still some institutional memory from being set up by a Christian Brother.

On the songs they are all rubbish. Unless you rip off the melody from something very well known and keep everything very simple you have no chance of people singing it on the terraces.

Metrostars
27/05/2016, 4:31 PM
Another Norn one:
EL2YD2mLTCk

Tremendous amount of output from the lads up there...

27/05/2016, 4:42 PM
The Irish song isn't entirely brutal, but I don't agree with the use of 'Óró sé do bheatha abhaile' in the song. A rebel song isn't exactly representative of the nation of Ireland.

It's desperately hard to write a football song though. You have to borrow a song from somewhere to make it into a classic, take "Put 'em under pressure" for example, it would be nothing without the unmistakable riff of Johnny Fean from Dearg Doom.