View Full Version : League games

Pages : 1 [2] 3

16/07/2016, 8:31 PM
Awful accident tonight 2 rows in front of me young lad no more than 6 or 7yrs of age cobh lad with his dad his finger somehow got caught on the seat lost the tip of his finger very upsetting viewing poor lad was in serious distress people trying to find to tip of his finger on the ground to put it in ice.
Hope he is OK with my small one only 4 got very upset aswell.

I was a few more rows back - horrible screams that will stay with me for a while.

thomas72
16/07/2016, 8:37 PM
I was a few more rows back - horrible screams that will stay with me for a while.

Ya it was a horrendous situation I was looking at the empty seat beside me trying to work out were would he of caught it on couldn't figure it out

16/07/2016, 11:39 PM
What made it worse was a ****ing lunatic running around alarming the whole stadium screaming at everyone, EVERYONE to call an ambulance. The first aid guys were on the scene quickly and the unlucky kid was on his way to the hospital within five mins.

On the pitch lee jay is saving Russell and his idiotic selections. His son who snuck back into the club a few weeks ago is now being selected once more over tracy and Murphy. Hes playing left back but is hopelessly out of his dept there. His tackling is soft, his headers soft his pace or lack of it is very noticeable. But his slow distribution makes having Aaron Greene on the pitch pointless. Everything is slower out of defense with Russell. Its like having a Lamborghini and driving to sligo, but the travelers are on the move from tubercurry and your going 40kph.
Great to see Duggan back hopefully o'flynn will be sorted for next week also. Great crowd too. Hope the move to Friday is a once off for the shels game

Lims4ever
17/07/2016, 8:30 AM
We're doing enough to win but that's about all awful to watch at times , I suppose at this stage we all turn up expecting to win and the team seems to relax once they go a few up and got very sloppy again especially second half cobh unlucky not to score we gifted them plenty of chances , How Sean Russell is at left back I'll never know he is useless there too slow caught out of position time after time .Great to have duggan back made a massive difference straight away , we're winning but nowhere near the style we were earlier in the season going through the motions alot of the time we'll take it at this stage keep winning and finish the season unbeaten . I presume the only reason shels game is Friday is because we're playing the semi of the cup the following Monday which is still even madness with such an important game and the travelling involved , hope the kid from cobh is OK horrendous that was so freak whatever happened

NeverFeltBetter
17/07/2016, 11:36 AM
Jesus, does anyone know if the kid is OK?

da bishop
17/07/2016, 2:48 PM
Routine win .....yawn.hope the young lad is ok.

bluewhitearmy
17/07/2016, 3:06 PM
Harsh to have a go at the man asking for ambulance he was very near the incident and was no doubt panicked by it all himself, obviously would have been better if everyone had stayed calm but its easier said than done and he was only trying to make sure the lad got attention as quickly as possible.

On the game the way we started well and at one stage I thought we were going to hammer em Greene and Kenny were killing their full backs but they got back into it and we did get a bit sloppy at the end. Its unrealistic to expect us to play the way we did at the start of the season all the way through it though so I am more than happy to keep winning without every week being total football just last week we looked back to our best near the end of the Waterford game. Great to see Duggan back and Tracy too hopefully now we can get O'Flynn back for Derry.

Johnnie C
18/07/2016, 10:55 AM
Hope the young lad OK. Shane O'Connor impressed for Cobh the other night, a player worth considering for next season maybe ?

19/07/2016, 4:57 PM
Plus, a clean sheet. :)

bluewhitearmy
21/07/2016, 6:57 PM
Cabinteely at home moved to 2pm kick off. Not greatest of times but had to be moved logical decision made by the club.

LK37oldskool
21/07/2016, 7:06 PM
Half price entry to those going to Celtic game. What about the rest of us going to MF all season, and even before that.

bluewhitearmy
21/07/2016, 7:43 PM
I don't think they have said half price anywhere tbf but I do hope they will do something for the Limerick fans that were there all along and not bothering with this Celtic thing to support Limerick. No point getting upset about it until details are out if they do something for those people as well as people with tickets to Thomond then its great for all.

LK37oldskool
21/07/2016, 7:54 PM
Having re read the article your correct, their will be some form of reduction for those going to thomand Park. Hope the rest of us get as much recognition.

bluewhitearmy
21/07/2016, 7:56 PM
It will be very frustrating if it is just the day trippers that get a discount. I mean its obvious what the club are thinking that they will make extra cash if some of the people going to Celtic can be enticed to go and that others were going to go anyway so don't need an incentive but it just doesn't look good imo when so many people were making a big push for people to head to Markets Field instead of Thomond.

bluewhitearmy
21/07/2016, 10:14 PM
Was told earlier the Saturday of Cabo game is actually the first day of English Premier League too so now we are going up against that at 2 o clock on Saturday surely Friday was the better choice with that in mind.

21/07/2016, 10:30 PM
To be honest I would have hoped the club would have stuck to the original kick off time.

I reckon most regulars would have gone anyway.

We might pick up a few that were going to the Celtic game but also we might lose a lot that can't make 2pm on a Saturday due to work and other commitments. It could end up being of no benefit and cost the club with the reduced prices.

bluewhitearmy
21/07/2016, 10:50 PM
Going up against the opening fixtures of premiership makes no sense anyway it would be a disaster if there was a smaller crowd than usual for us winning the league after we backed down and moved.

22/07/2016, 8:03 AM
Going up against the opening fixtures of premiership makes no sense anyway it would be a disaster if there was a smaller crowd than usual for us winning the league after we backed down and moved.

Ya i agree. Look I can see why the club would want to move it but I just feel we should have stuck to our usual time and said feck the rest.

Lims4ever
22/07/2016, 10:37 PM
It should have been the Friday night the Saturday at 2pm makes no sense at all can't see the benefit of it , as for tonight's game poor poor stuff, for such a fine setup that athlone have the place is like a morgue no atmosphere whatsoever people protesting outside the ground aswell , got the job done and the win but awful to watch pitch didn't help I suppose

LK37oldskool
23/07/2016, 10:28 AM
Good to hear live 95 mentioning the fans not happy with the 2 pm kick off. I'm devastated that I won't make it. Typical.

23/07/2016, 11:20 PM
What did we learn in Athlone:

1. Lee Lynch needs to be brought in off the wing. Assist of the year aside he's a waste of time out there.

2. It is possible to nod off for a minute during a league of ireland game.

3. Half interested Robbie Williams is classier than the rest of the division to an almost embarrassing degree.

4. We badly need shelbourne to bring a bit of tempo to the markets field next Friday so we can give Derry a game Monday.

5. Aaron Greene needs to be out wide when he's not the main makeshift striker. No space for him in the middle he spent the first hour last night with the athlone 6 literally up his arse.

6. Freddie Hall needs to stop **** acting. I totally understand the concept of pushing the back four up and the keeper sweeping but he's taking the ****.

7. Once the league is wrapped up we are going to be HARD to watch for the last seven or eight games.

8. Duggan badly needs the game against shels to be ready for Derry Monday. He was dirt, obviously very rusty in fairness we know he's quality.

9. Paul O'Conor has recently been moving the ball so slowly I can see the earths crust shifting under him.

10. Tony Whitehead moves the ball slower than four Paul O'Conors trapped in jam.

There, who would have thought you could get ten discussion points out of that last night?!

As for the Cabo festival of farce I just hope ucd gain enough points or we lose enough points to push the title race out another week.

The whole thing is so TYPICAL LIMERICK.

LK37oldskool
23/07/2016, 11:31 PM
Sorry LTID, point 8? Who is Duffy? I missed that memo.

23/07/2016, 11:32 PM
Sorry LTID, point 8? Who is Duffy? I missed that memo.

He's what my spellcheck thinks Shane Duggan is! :/

LK37oldskool
24/07/2016, 10:00 AM
Looking at the fixtures, is the away game against Drogheda the league decider? My maths aren't the best. 😁

da bishop
24/07/2016, 9:53 PM
What did we learn in Athlone:

1. Lee Lynch needs to be brought in off the wing. Assist of the year aside he's a waste of time out there.

2. It is possible to nod off for a minute during a league of ireland game.

3. Half interested Robbie Williams is classier than the rest of the division to an almost embarrassing degree.

4. We badly need shelbourne to bring a bit of tempo to the markets field next Friday so we can give Derry a game Monday.

5. Aaron Greene needs to be out wide when he's not the main makeshift striker. No space for him in the middle he spent the first hour last night with the athlone 6 literally up his arse.

6. Freddie Hall needs to stop **** acting. I totally understand the concept of pushing the back four up and the keeper sweeping but he's taking the ****.

7. Once the league is wrapped up we are going to be HARD to watch for the last seven or eight games.

8. Duggan badly needs the game against shels to be ready for Derry Monday. He was dirt, obviously very rusty in fairness we know he's quality.

9. Paul O'Conor has recently been moving the ball so slowly I can see the earths crust shifting under him.

10. Tony Whitehead moves the ball slower than four Paul O'Conors trapped in jam.

There, who would have thought you could get ten discussion points out of that last night?!

As for the Cabo festival of farce I just hope ucd gain enough points or we lose enough points to push the title race out another week.

The whole thing is so TYPICAL LIMERICK.....Oh sweet whatever..only one answer to all that ..yawn.

bluewhitearmy
30/07/2016, 7:05 PM
Much better lastnight than recent weeks and one of the points LTID made was put to bed anyway Duggy was fantastic completely ran the show so great to see he is after knocking some of the rust off. Thought it was Tracys best game all season too. Great to see John O Flynn come back with Derry on the way. Please god now Martin does nothing mental and just brings Shaun Kelly back in at right back and moves Paul O Conor back in to the middle for Derry.

31/07/2016, 10:35 AM
Ya for Derry you'd be hoping we go with:

Freddy

Kelly
Paudie
Robbie
Tracey
Paul O Connor
Duggy
Lynch
Kenny
Greene
O'Flynn

Would have no problem with Mulhall there either, thought he was excellent the other night and deserved his goal for his hard work. Aaron Greene is completely wasted in the 10 position. Leave him on the left wing. If we don't make any silly errors we should give Derry a good go. There is a lot of quality in our starting 11.

bluewhitearmy
31/07/2016, 12:48 PM
Ya for Derry you'd be hoping we go with:

Freddy

Kelly
Paudie
Robbie
Tracey
Paul O Connor
Duggy
Lynch
Kenny
Greene
O'Flynn

Would have no problem with Mulhall there either, thought he was excellent the other night and deserved his goal for his hard work. Aaron Greene is completely wasted in the 10 position. Leave him on the left wing. If we don't make any silly errors we should give Derry a good go. There is a lot of quality in our starting 11.

Surely it has to be that team with only Mulhall possibly starting in place of O'Flynn the only change you could make. I thought Russell did well v Shels but if he was to start it throws other things off cos if he starts in the middle then Lee J has to play deep and is wasted if he plays out wide left then Greene has to come in to middle and Lee J drops deep and both are wasted. Russell can be very good on the ball but strong physical games just don't suit him and I expect thats what Derry will be. I think with the proper full strength midfield 3 we could see the best game of the year from Paul O Conor cos he sits and protects the back 4 well but doesn't have anyone to do that against really in the league he will up here.

With the O Flynn Mulhall thing I wonder would it be better to start O'Flynn try and get ahead and then work to keep it or start with Mulhall and set the tone with him working so hard and being a great physical presence and then unleash JOF from the bench when they tire. Can make a case for either tbh.

NeverFeltBetter
01/08/2016, 8:56 PM
Seriously great achievement, getting to the final.

02/08/2016, 12:15 AM
We've played 3 premier teams this season, goals for 8 goals against 0.

02/08/2016, 9:04 AM
Great win, great fans, long long drive. It was disappointing to see lee jay on the bench (injured) as with him playing we would have been at our strongest. His replacement well, hopefully a club can be found for him cos hes very very poor. How he stays on for 90 is a joke and quite embarrassing. His signing this season wasnt even announced, just snuck in after ten winning games. Yes we changed a winning team to accommodate him. We should always play our strongest team where possible and russell jnr is not part of that strength.
For the final I believe the fai take most if not all of the gate so I dont mind if its in Dublin

02/08/2016, 9:21 AM
The Final needs to be in Limerick for a support perspective. Winning a final in Limerick as well as the league and getting promoted could see us tagging on a lot more fans for next season or even for the last couple of games. It might mean nothing in the pocket initially but long term it would be great. I also think the two finalists get a percentage of the gate after all costs are covered.

Russell shouldn't be starting but he hasn't been terrible either. If lynch wasn't injured you'd have to assume he would
have started.

02/08/2016, 9:34 AM
Russell shouldn't be starting but he hasn't been terrible either. If lynch wasn't injured you'd have to assume he would
have started.
Ah ha thats where you'd be wrong. kelly, lee jay, kenny, aaron greene, tracy and chris mulhall are and have been dropped to accommodate this.....talent

02/08/2016, 10:52 AM
Sean Russell had the assist for the only goal of the game and set up what should have been another goal early in second half.

No serious alternative to playing him last night. I'd have a gripe with him wide left and Greene number 10 (switch them surely?) but in fairness Sean Russell doesn't pick the team.

Is he one of our better players?? No

Does he get singled out because he's the bosses son?? Absolutely

bluewhitearmy
02/08/2016, 2:24 PM
Ffs we get to a final and one of the first comments on here is to complain about someone can we never just be a bit of positive and enjoy things a bit. As LTID said to me at half time lastnight their are other people on the team that make the exact same mistakes as Sean does and it goes completely un-noticed but he does the tiniest thing and all of a sudden its a huge deal cos people are looking for him to make a mistake. As LTID said too if he had been in the 10 and Greene on the left I'd have had no problem when first seeing the team but as things stand we beat the team 3rd in the premier up in the Brandywell so I think its safe to say the way Martin set up was ok.

Anyway the positives. I said in the lead up to this we could see the best of Paul O Conor going up against a better team and he was brilliant covered a lot of ground breaking things up and keeping it simple to get us going forward. Probably the best game Paudie has ever had for us reminded me of the time he went up against Marky Sull against Cork same with Shane Tracy I can't remember seeing a better game from him defensively strong in the tackle and calm bringing it out. Chris Mulhall is an absolute animal too he ran himself into the ground he always does but he went the extra mile lastnight often chasing down from right back all the way across the field to the left back never giving them time on it. Freddy too was fantastic some of his saves were top top class. Fantastic night in front of a great away support for such a long trip. Buzzing still from it.

LK37oldskool
02/08/2016, 5:53 PM
Lads, gael is a constant moaner. Every win is followed by a post whinging about one thing or person or similar. I've posted before that we need to enjoy this season and a good cup run is brilliant but getting to a final is fantastic. Well done the Superblues and also the supporters last night, they sounded great.

da bishop
02/08/2016, 9:30 PM
What a great result,team[ALL the team] and manager take a bow.

CraftyToePoke
02/08/2016, 11:12 PM
Very unfair to come on here and find a negative angle and focus in on it after that result last night.

Well done to all involved, great night for the club and the game in these parts. Delighted.

bluewhitearmy
06/08/2016, 12:39 PM
Poor poor performance for most of that match clear they were suffering after Derry and I think its fair enough considering all they put int the game Monday. But my god what fantastic attitude and spirit this lot have they could easily have just given up and seen the game out and I don't think anyone could have complained too much. Instead they battled and battled and gave us another unbelievable moment for this season fantastic scenes when that header went in I thought Freddy Hall was going to end up inside the stand with us at one stage.

bluewhitearmy
06/08/2016, 3:41 PM
Also what about Sean Russell getting from half way line back to get that ball off the line that would have ended the game and then whipping in a great cross for the equaliser.

06/08/2016, 10:01 PM
Also what about Sean Russell getting from half way line back to get that ball off the line that would have ended the game and then whipping in a great cross for the equaliser.

What was he doing at the half way line..........drop him.

bluewhitearmy
08/08/2016, 8:39 PM
Looks like Pats in the final then.. Would people have preferred to pay Rovers or happy with this one?

08/08/2016, 8:40 PM
Probably Rovers because they would have brought a bigger crowd you would imagine. We should have a big enough crowd if it's in the Markets Field regardless.

bluewhitearmy
08/08/2016, 8:56 PM
Who do you reckon is better for us playing wise? Russell has done well v Pats with us but Fagan is a huge threat.

08/08/2016, 9:15 PM
Probably six of one. Both teams have been patchy this season but both would have been favourites against us anyway. I don't think it will make a huge difference. Fagan will be deadly if we are sloppy. Outside of him I wouldn't be extremely worried about any of their players. Should be a good game with both attacking minded teams.

bluewhitearmy
08/08/2016, 9:18 PM
Suppose we are at a stage now where while it would be disappointing to lose its hardly the end of the world its just unbelievable to be in the final.

09/08/2016, 12:28 PM
I would have liked to play Rovers with Bradley and Clarke's Limerick links. Either way, I'm excited to be there. Derry away in 2002 was an early high water mark for me as a Limerick fan.

LK37oldskool
13/08/2016, 8:57 AM
Anybody hear of an injury to Sean Russell?

13/08/2016, 3:42 PM
Anybody hear of an injury to Sean Russell?

Just that he is out for the rest of the season.

bluewhitearmy
13/08/2016, 4:46 PM
Just that he is out for the rest of the season.

Might not be now depending on when he can get surgery.

Dull game today atmosphere and game completely flat but one point to go so how bad.