View Full Version : Post Ireland V Italia, Rome 1990
anto eile
22/01/2005, 2:26 PM
Thanks for that Cowboy. :o Actually there was a gaelic music festival going on in Bally MacEera in a pub since closed down and there was a lecture given in Irish. No one said 'no English' but I thought I'd give my very limited Irish a bash at the bar. True I knew the confusion it could bring. I was learning it here in the early 90s with Conchita and the only conversation I've ever properly had was with a Spiddal man before our game against Denmark in 92. Don't use then you'l lose it. My mate with me, who was a Millwall fan, was fluent in it as his parents were from West Connemara and spoke it at home. BTW, isn't poteen known as 'water of death or something' in Irish?
poitín. poit is hangover. "ín" is diminutive. could be little hangover possibly!but dont take it as gospel,youd wana double check
anto eile
22/01/2005, 2:28 PM
There are enough people coming into the country now with absolutely no interest in Ireland or Irish affairs without our own turning their backs on their identity and tradition.
our own have been turning their backs on us for centuries
Lopez, first time I have seen this. Love the second verse:
O Lord our God arise,
Scatter her enemies
And make them fall;
Confound their politics,
Frustrate their knavish tricks,
On Thee our hopes we fix,
Oh, save us all!
Says it all really. Can picture the Burberry hat brigade beltin this out and using it as justification for kickin the sh*te out of all and sundry.
Not forgetting singing it while the fuzz from various countrys that are lucky enough to have their presence, are busy smacking them over the heads with the auld batons, and then getting the blame for provoking them. :D
anto eile
22/01/2005, 2:36 PM
We have to realise that the symbols of the southern state don't represent them, so we have to use symbols that are representative of both communities (like the shamrock).
the tricolor does represent them, whether they like it or not..eh bit of an oxymoron there i know!anyway a symbol of peace between the two communities on the island, with both communities representated equally on the flag, shouldnt be seen as a threat/enemy/object of hatred
no because that wouldn't be the 'in' thing to do now would it but dont you forget the thousands of people who died for ireland fighting the british, many of whom were from england. short memories...feckin eejit springs to mind
Ireland must be the only country where so many people like to forget the sacrafice people made in the contrabution to freedom, other countrys in Europe have huge national celabrations about when the nazi's got kicked out of their country as well as America going bonkers on the 4th of July, but in Ireland its kept a bit quite in case someone in Brit-tan or the Irish/British media gets upset.
As for a change in the anthem, when we have a 32 county republic then we can have an mix of Amhran Na bhFiann and the sash my father wore. :rolleyes:
**** the song, and **** David **** Humphreys...Ah the voice of reason.
Stop being such an Orange apologist, Lopez. YAWN! To some that's what I am. To others, I'm nothing but a chucky bigot. As gypsy would say '**** the *****ing shower of ****s the ****ing lot of the ****ers.' :eek: :D
He's the only total inguurrliish one out of the lot of them.Perhaps. But he's not the only one who's official father differs from his biological father in that house.
Ireland must be the only country where so many people like to forget the sacrafice people made in the contrabution to freedom, other countrys in Europe have huge national celabrations about when the nazi's got kicked out of their country as well as America going bonkers on the 4th of July, but in Ireland its kept a bit quite in case someone in Brit-tan or the Irish/British media gets upset.
We make St Patrick's day our national day and people are still complaining of its 'sectarian image' etc. Easter Monday or nothing.
As for a change in the anthem, when we have a 32 county republic then we can have an mix of Amhran Na bhFiann and the sash my father wore. :rolleyes:We should have that for the rugby. How about a grandmaster funk re-mix with a bit of Shaggy going 't'wasn't me' in the middle just to point out that no-one is to blame for the plus 3K deaths of the troubles. :eek:
Cowboy
22/01/2005, 5:20 PM
uisce beatha or fuisce
I stand corrected
22/01/2005, 10:23 PM
As for the Blue Peter thing - it was seen as sectarian because the Red Hand was placed in the centre of an outline of ireland covered in the union jack and some northern loyalist paramilitaries have murals of the 6 counties covered in the union jack.
The Red Hand used on the yellow background flag for the 9 county province of Ulster (eg. Gaa) is fine. There is a lot of confusion over the origins of the Red Hand.
Unionists like the idea of when the brits first came here a general said he would give a sum of money to the first man to lay his right hand on ireland and a left handed soldier hacked off his right hand and threw it from the sea as they approached the beach and there it lay covered in blood.
Nationalist are more with the idea that it was the symbol for the Eoighin family in Tyrone (ie. Tír Eoighin) and hence the Red Hand symbol is on the Gaa jerseys of Tyrone.