View Full Version : Matchday 11- W/E May 8th

Pages : 1 [2]

10/05/2016, 7:49 PM
Ball seems to be boobling a lot.

Ye what? Hasnt Rafter moved from Derry or is he fit to start for Harps...

L.T.F.C.
10/05/2016, 7:52 PM
Good luck Tony...

GCdfc
10/05/2016, 8:55 PM
I can't wait for Kenny Shiels complaints about the dugout tonight! Surely they were at fault for the Derry not winning.

10/05/2016, 8:57 PM
What a last ten minutes in the Brandywell but that has to be one of the worst misses ever in LoI last kick of the ball!

patrickccfc
10/05/2016, 9:01 PM
What a last ten minutes in the Brandywell but that has to be one of the worst misses ever in LoI last kick of the ball!

Definitely up there with one of the worst misses I've ever seen. But yeah a very enjoyable final ten minutes.

Another win for us tonight, our best opening series of games since Caulfield came in. Dundalk still 4 ahead but I reckon it's going to be a close one this year.

White Horse
10/05/2016, 9:24 PM
Poor performance by Dundalk tonight. However, they did create several good chances and McMillan was particularly wasteful.

An excellent save from Rogers towards the end of the game was crucial.

Very good performance by Bray, although they only created the one chance.

oriel
10/05/2016, 10:13 PM
Dundalk may not be playing well consistently but that's 6 league wins on the trot tonight, and still operating with only one fit striker and some big players out for weeks.

O'Donnell has missed the last 3 and Mceleney is not far behind him either on games out. Kilduff might be out at least 3 more months. There's a chance O'Donnell and McEleney might be ready for Wexford end of May and both should definitely be ready for the final game before the break, away to Cork.

Just saw the goals from the Derry v Harps match, what a mental last 8 mins, and what a miss indeed right at the end, he looked like he had time to even take a touch. A draw prob a fair result though?

Dundalk will be just happy with the 3 points tonight.

10/05/2016, 11:14 PM
Above all else, it was a highly entertaining match in the Brandywell in glorious weather conditions.

There was some decent football played by both teams and the frantic last 10 minutes were a great advert for the league. Good atmosphere, friendly atmosphere despite reservations from a large amount of Harps fans about even travelling in.

Draw definitely a fair result, and there was four high quality goals scored. Proper derby game.

Match night organisation needs looked at in Derry. For all their complaints about Finn Park, there was no segregation, lots of Harps fans denied entry into terrace and told to go to seats, power tripping stewards not allowing Harps fans fly flags and also one kindly said to me "you want your head kicked in?" when trying to hurry us out of the ground after the game as we took down flags. That's only the tip of the iceberg, but we'll not go into it.

But, not to put a dampener on the night, it was a great occasion and it's great to have the north-west derby back in full flow.

10/05/2016, 11:30 PM
It may have sounded like a threat but i'm sure the steward meant hurry up and dont get isolated outside the ground unless you want yer heads kicked in. Tactless but maybe sound advice! Great header to go 2-2. Thought Patterson rolled the defender too easily. Easy to say but there were so many balls going across the Harps box it was only a matter of time before someone got on the end and put it in the net (or not as it happened at the end). Hope Harps are knackered after that effort for Friday:p

11/05/2016, 1:47 AM
Good performance from Rovers (not great by any means) in terrible conditions. Gary McCabe was excellent and Gary Shaw showed how much more he brings to the team than Drennan or North. Feeling positive going into the next couple of games now.

dundalkfc10
11/05/2016, 8:35 AM
Dundalk may not be playing well consistently but that's 6 league wins on the trot tonight, and still operating with only one fit striker and some big players out for weeks.

O'Donnell has missed the last 3 and Mceleney is not far behind him either on games out. Kilduff might be out at least 3 more months. There's a chance O'Donnell and McEleney might be ready for Wexford end of May and both should definitely be ready for the final game before the break, away to Cork.

Just saw the goals from the Derry v Harps match, what a mental last 8 mins, and what a miss indeed right at the end, he looked like he had time to even take a touch. A draw prob a fair result though?

Dundalk will be just happy with the 3 points tonight.

Kilduff will be back within 2 weeks according to a few last night.

He was warming up before the game last night.

PartySaint
11/05/2016, 8:44 AM
Saw a bit of the Derry game, pretty poor Harps crowd. I know it was a Tuesday night but this was their one big away Derby game of the season, would have expected a lot more of them as they're very well supported.

A much needed win for Pats last night to stop the rot (3 league defeats in a row). Longford at home now on Friday which should be a win but our home form has been pretty poor since Forrester left us.

11/05/2016, 8:46 AM
A draw was a fair enough result last night at the Brandywell, doesn't mean I'm not fecked off with it though.

Horgan had us read completely. Harps were drilled and really dictated the game. Their task was made a lot easier after their goal too.
Similar to Longford a few weeks ago, we can't deal with teams who play the style of football Harps did last night, and seem to revert to humping long balls up the pitch.
In saying that, we created enough chances to win that game. Lost count of how many teams we hit the ball over the bar. Might as well throw the lads on against Tyrone in Celtic Park on Sunday week, they'd do well.

Six minutes to go, 1-0 down, you'd obviously have taken the draw. It's just frustrating, to say the last, that we conceded the second and then that was followed up by an outstanding miss by Boyle. It looks worse on TV too. (Highlights here: https://setanta.grabyo.com/g/v/BFXBu7ofUQ8)

I think tonight showed the level we're at. We're alright, but not title or European spot contenders. As said before, I'd be happy with top half.

On match day organising, there generally isn't enforced segregation in the main stand in the Brandywell, more a case of away fans being directed to block A/B.
Not sure why some Harps fans couldn't go to the terrace, there were loads there.

Pitch wasn't looking the best either, and was bobbling a bit. It's getting rolled on Saturday, so hopefully that should sort it.

joey B
11/05/2016, 8:56 AM
Saw a bit of the Derry game, pretty poor Harps crowd. I know it was a Tuesday night but this was their one big away Derby game of the season, would have expected a lot more of them as they're very well supported.

A much needed win for Pats last night to stop the rot (3 league defeats in a row). Longford at home now on Friday which should be a win but our home form has been pretty poor since Forrester left us.

You only seen the Harps crowd the camera was directed at,there was loads on the terrace the camera was coming from,was a decent enough away crowd actually the biggest away crowd the Brandywell has seen in quite a while I'd say.

PartySaint
11/05/2016, 9:03 AM
You only seen the Harps crowd the camera was directed at,there was loads on the terrace the camera was coming from,was a decent enough away crowd actually the biggest away crowd the Brandywell has seen in quite a while I'd say.

That would explain it so

11/05/2016, 12:17 PM
There was probably more Harps fans on Lone Moor side than in the seats, which made it all the more confusing how we were directed away from there and to the seats by the stewards at the entrance Harps fans were told to go to.

venkman
11/05/2016, 4:00 PM
There was probably more Harps fans on Lone Moor side than in the seats, which made it all the more confusing how we were directed away from there and to the seats by the stewards at the entrance Harps fans were told to go to.

At least they gave you something to complain about.

mcgonigle
11/05/2016, 4:04 PM
I certainly didn't think McMillan would be beaten to the 'Miss of the night' award. Maybe he still wins for having multiple?

Worrying that we don't have a finisher, you get away with it against lesser opposition (no offence Bray!) but if that was say away to Cork or even worse in the Champions League it would be costly.

I still remember his sitter in Belarus and then the one on one in Oriel. We wouldn't have deserved to go through but we could have with a clinical finisher. Hopefully he finds some form!

MattB11
11/05/2016, 4:17 PM
I'm usually miles off with attendance guesstimates but I'd say there was about 12,000 Harps fans there last night

11/05/2016, 4:33 PM
Good luck Tony...

good riddance Tony and dont come back you are barred!!

placid casual
11/05/2016, 6:03 PM
Good win for Rovers last night,albeit against a Sligo side who were pish.
Lots of talk of Mikey drennans contract being ripped up, with his next likely destination being Dundalk in July. Sounds like they need a striker anyway. Not sure if he's the answer. If they are holding out for kilduff they really are desperate!

White Horse
11/05/2016, 6:14 PM
Lots of talk of Mikey drennans contract being ripped up, with his next likely destination being Dundalk in July.

Not a peep in Dundalk about that.

11/05/2016, 6:15 PM
Say it's just conjecture based on the fact Dundalk were in for him before. He seems to be gone from Rovers anyway. Shame, he had potential but he's been muck for 2/3 of his Rovers career.

Yossarian
11/05/2016, 6:29 PM

In fairness Kenny keeps his cards close to his chest and you never here much about a signing until a deal is done. Though I can't see Drennan coming to us. Probably more likely to see Hoban back.

11/05/2016, 6:53 PM
In fairness Kenny keeps his cards close to his chest and you never here much about a signing until a deal is done. Though I can't see Drennan coming to us. Probably more likely to see Hoban back.

Things not working out for him in England ? The nightmare scenario is that you get your hands on Fagan.

White Horse
11/05/2016, 7:27 PM
[/I]

The nightmare scenario is that you get your hands on Fagan.

That wouldn't be a nightmare for us ;)

11/05/2016, 7:34 PM
If Dundalk had Fagan fit for 33 games they'd win everyone of them

Luckily, he isn't going anywhere

placid casual
11/05/2016, 7:48 PM
Couldn't agree more. Fagan is the difference between pats being in Europe and not. Very injury prone tho, by the looks of it ,dodge?

Yossarian
11/05/2016, 10:31 PM
If Dundalk had Fagan fit for 33 games they'd win everyone of them

I think if we had Fagan up front we would run away with the league. The amount of simple chances our strikers miss is ridiculous. I still cant understand why we paid good money for Kilduff instead of trying to sign Fagan.

Yossarian
11/05/2016, 10:33 PM
[/I]

Things not working out for him in England ?

He's out of contract now at Oxford and they had loaned him to Grimsby in the conference but he hasn't played much for them. It wouldn't surprise me at all if he's back in Ireland in July.

12/05/2016, 12:23 AM
I think if we had Fagan up front we would run away with the league. The amount of simple chances our strikers miss is ridiculous. I still cant understand why we paid good money for Kilduff instead of trying to sign Fagan.
It was more a case of Pats dying to get rid of Kilduff while never ever willing to let Fagan go. That Pats got 10k for Kilduff is astounding

As for Fagan, he's had 2 injuries in 5 years with Pats. Hopefully he's back soon

12/05/2016, 8:44 AM
Id nearly be happy with the return of Anto Flood. Hoban to Rovers, Drennan to Pats, Fagan decides on a move to Dundalk for CL - with Kilduff and McMillan back to Pats in exchange....makes perfect sense for all!!

ToberonaTornado
13/05/2016, 1:36 PM
Hopefully this post is published before we hit Donegal(still on probation)
Tipping off for Ballybofey shortly.Shout-outs for decent pub in town(it's been 10 years since last up that way)
Thanks in advance.

13/05/2016, 3:41 PM
Barca Bar right next door to Finn Park.

ToberonaTornado
14/05/2016, 1:08 PM
Barca Bar right next door to Finn Park.
Cheers.How handy is that pub? too handy.......
Had great craic with the Harps fans both pre and post match.