View Full Version : Jonathan Hayes (W Aberdeen b.1987)
25/10/2019, 12:21 PM
Is he our only foreign based player playing European football?
U19 striker Conor Noss was in the bench for Borussia Monchengladbach again last night
Fixer82
25/10/2019, 1:54 PM
Ah yes of course.
Doherty and Hayes both struggling to get into the international team
irishfan86
26/10/2019, 1:42 AM
Liam Kelly at Feyenoord too. Although he hasn’t really been able to properly make the breakthrough there.
26/10/2019, 7:41 AM
Liam Kelly at Feyenoord too. Although he hasn’t really been able to properly make the breakthrough there.
Didn't even make the bench on Thursday
07/11/2019, 4:13 PM
Second start of the season for Hayes tonight - away to Lazio
07/11/2019, 7:10 PM
He earned a 10/10 for effort this evening , such an impressive work rate, the guy just self generates energy. in the mix for man of the match, in the LB position which is probably his weakest.
irishfan86
08/11/2019, 4:59 AM
He earned a 10/10 for effort this evening , such an impressive work rate, the guy just self generates energy. in the mix for man of the match, in the LB position which is probably his weakest.
Funny how people can interpret games so differently. No question he put in a great shift in terms of work rate, in what was a terrific team performance.
But it’s clear he’s not a fullback from his positioning— early in the match especially I thought he allowed his marker to cross into the box too easily. Grew into the match to be fair and I’m happy for him.
08/11/2019, 10:27 AM
BBC's match report said he was out of his depth!
seanfhear
08/11/2019, 10:29 AM
Nice for the Fella to be getting this opportunity heading for the twilight of his career . Nice to play for a Club of Celtics size .
Fixer82
08/11/2019, 11:40 AM
He’s not a full back so a decent shift for him. I’d like to see him in the Irish squad
08/11/2019, 12:35 PM
BBC's match report said he was out of his depth!
Not so much out of depth, he was out of sorts in the position as a wing back in a 352, but also the whole team were out of sorts for the first 30 or so minutes. He's a very confident player, as if he hasn't the slightest doubt about his ability to play a role, any role at this level. He eventually got control of the left side, helped out in the centre, even made a few interventions on the right side as well as those support sprints along the left wing.
It's mainly why I'm not a fan of 352 for Ireland, when you don't have round pegs for round holes, it's to do with a level of uncertainty and unfamiliarity with the structure, for those first 30 minutes in that game Celtic should have been punished greater.
09/11/2019, 8:48 PM
But we do have round pegs for round holes in a 352. Stevens and Doherty excel in their roles in a 352. Egan, Duffy, Clark all perfect for it. Which is why it's just bizarre that Mick started 352 with Stevens left centre back. Ridiculous really.
10/11/2019, 9:07 PM
I hear Hayes played really well today.
13/11/2019, 8:35 PM
But we do have round pegs for round holes in a 352. Stevens and Doherty excel in their roles in a 352. Egan, Duffy, Clark all perfect for it. Which is why it's just bizarre that Mick started 352 with Stevens left centre back. Ridiculous really.
Regardless of who are in the 5 at the back (3+2), the midfield 3 still need to be able to not lose the ball. The Celtic Lazio game demonstrated in the first 30 minutes what mayhem can happen to a 352 when the middle 3 keep losing the ball. And that was with 3 very decent central defenders.
Of course we have some players who can do 352 but we don't have a team who can just step into the maelstrom of two crunch games and do it against two very capable teams like Swiss and Denmark who will retain possession and press hard until they get the clear advantage.
Ireland's chronic problem is with central midfield and added to that is a coach who is struggling to make the best sense out of what we have.
Fixer82
08/12/2019, 7:59 PM
Medal for Jonny today
08/12/2019, 8:06 PM
In the post match interview he was asked if Celtic deserved to win,
he replied "NO"
08/12/2019, 11:01 PM
Watched this one. Hayes wasn't great. Rangers should have comfortably won that game. Forster man of the match easily, Rangers could be there until next week and not score.
Nice to see Hayes get himself a medal though.
CraftyToePoke
30/05/2020, 12:49 PM
Leaving Celtic with more medals than his pockets can carry.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2020/0530/1143558-hayes-announces-celtic-exit-with-emotional-farewell/
seanfhear
30/05/2020, 3:27 PM
Leaving Celtic with more medals than his pockets can carry.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2020/0530/1143558-hayes-announces-celtic-exit-with-emotional-farewell/
Great to see an Irish Player with so many medals. Also probably at the time he joined Celtic, it probably looked a bit too late in his career. All in all, a nice football story ! !
Colbert Report
31/05/2020, 6:31 PM
Any idea who he is signing with?
31/05/2020, 6:47 PM
Stoke and Preston linked with him today. He's a free agent, so no transfer fee
01/06/2020, 11:36 AM
He was offered a new contract at Celtic but prob wanted a better one.
He started the league cup final in December with a dislocated shoulder, played on after breaking a bone in his foot on the hour mark and still gave 110%
Probably his finest memory, delivering a coup de grace (https://streamable.com/6366lw)to Rangers at Ibrox in the 93rd minute.
Olé Olé
01/06/2020, 11:54 AM
Cardiff, Stoke and Preston have been linked.
Aberdeen boss has said they can't consider signing anyone until they have more clarity on their finances.
Olé Olé
01/06/2020, 11:55 AM
He was offered a new contract at Celtic but prob wanted a better one.
He started the league cup final in December with a dislocated shoulder, played on after breaking a bone in his foot on the hour mark and still gave 110%
Probably his finest memory, delivering a coup de grace (https://streamable.com/6366lw)to Rangers at Ibrox in the 93rd minute.
On the contract front, He says something a little different to that here: https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11787/11998008/jonny-hayes-admits-leaving-celtic-is-hard-after-being-told-he-would-be-offered-a-new-deal
irishfan86
01/06/2020, 6:37 PM
I imagine many clubs will be reluctant to buy players during this situation. If Celtic aren’t bringing in much in the way of enforcements, could clear path for more involvement for the young Irish contingent there. I expect many clubs around the world will be much more open minded about giving their kids a chance given this financial environment.
Celtic are going for 10 in a row next year and in all likelihood will strengthen significantly.
I hate to sound like a broken record as regards the young Irish lads at the club because I always say this but they have in truth probably less chance of being involved next season than they did this, and I would reiterate my opinion that under Neil Lennon will get next to no opportunities anyway.
Back on topic, Jonny Hayes was a limited player but a good servant and universally popular figure and I am delighted that he had such a successful time at the club.
Olé Olé
02/06/2020, 9:48 AM
I agree with the last paragraph. Always nice to have an awe-struck Irish lad in the first team. Maybe they dumped Hayes to bring in McClean!
seanfhear
02/06/2020, 10:54 AM
I agree with the last paragraph. Always nice to have an awe-struck Irish lad in the first team. Maybe they dumped Hayes to bring in McClean!
Scottish football needs a bit of a Gee Up. I am not sure if this is what it needs !
Nicola Sturgeon could do with out that particular choice !
I suppose that is why ( all of the aggro ) it would not happen in this day and age !
Don’t think he ever came across as awe-struck! Professional, committed, adaptable & versatile without being the most technically gifted more what I was getting at.
24/06/2020, 10:55 AM
No longer a free agent.
Jonny Hayes: Winger rejoins Aberdeen on two-year deal (https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/53135877)
Aberdeen say Jonny Hayes has made a "significant financial sacrifice" to rejoin the club on a two-year deal.
seanfhear
24/06/2020, 3:02 PM
No longer a free agent.
Jonny Hayes: Winger rejoins Aberdeen on two-year deal (https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/53135877)
Aberdeen say Jonny Hayes has made a "significant financial sacrifice" to rejoin the club on a two-year deal.Is he paying to play for them ? ?
Eirambler
24/06/2020, 3:56 PM
Pretty much, he's deferring his first year of wages. Aberdeen are in poor financial condition due to coronavirus so I doubt he'll ever see them to be honest.
24/06/2020, 5:53 PM
Is that what's called 'signing on a free'?
seanfhear
24/06/2020, 9:39 PM
Pretty much, he's deferring his first year of wages. Aberdeen are in poor financial condition due to coronavirus so I doubt he'll ever see them to be honest.
Now that is doing a Club a Favour. Well done that Man. How many of the Big Time Usual Suspect Posers would do it ?
25/06/2020, 5:58 PM
Can't imagine he was on anything overly substantial at Celtic either. Fair play to him. Great gesture.
25/06/2020, 6:28 PM
Can't imagine he was on anything overly substantial at Celtic either. Fair play to him. Great gesture.
By SPL standards he was on a very good salary at Celtic, Eur 935,000 p/a. At the time there was competition to sign him, Celtic had to equal or outbid N.Forest and Cardiff.
Diggs246
25/06/2020, 10:02 PM
By SPL standards he was on a very good salary at Celtic, Eur 935,000 p/a. At the time there was competition to sign him, Celtic had to equal or outbid N.Forest and Cardiff.
935k in the spl. That doesn't sound right. Are u sure?
25/06/2020, 10:14 PM
935k in the spl. That doesn't sound right. Are u sure?
No I am not sure, as in 100% certain.
But that is what was reported and seeing as the average player salary at Celtic fc is reportedly close to Eur1m p/a, it has credibility.
The wage bill at Celtic use to be quite a sum of money when Hartson, Sutton and Larsson were playing, but these days it would probably be under Eur 35m p/a
23/08/2022, 8:53 AM
300th appearance for Aberdeen at the weekend
seanfhear
23/08/2022, 9:15 AM
300th appearance for Aberdeen at the weekend
Great Achievement.