View Full Version : Fixtures- April 22nd/23rd/25th
El-Pietro
28/04/2016, 1:54 PM
He's 32 and has been playing at the top for well over a decade. I wouldn't imagine he can recapture his peak performances (Bohs 2008, Pats 2013). I've said for a while now O'Donnell is the best player in the league
Shields for me.
Yossarian
28/04/2016, 2:04 PM
Shields for me.
Can't agree there. O'Donnell is well ahead of Shields. He does the good defensive tasks that Shields does but he offers much more in attack. I also think that if Shields is pressed quickly when he gets the ball that he has a tendency to panic whereas you never see O'Donnell panic on the ball.
PartySaint
28/04/2016, 2:05 PM
Shields for me.
O'Donnell is miles better than Shields.
wonder88
28/04/2016, 2:29 PM
For me two influential players for Pats league win were Russell and Bisto Flood(when he came in). Minus those two and I think Dundalk would have pipped them. Cillian Brennan and Bohs under Fenlon should have won that first title that Michael O Neill won with Shamrock Rovers, would Bohs fans agree?
Also a sign of a good player is how much they perform/improve a less talented squad if they move, Fletcher and Johnny Evans would be an example at WBA this season. Not sure how far behind Cillian is Connor Powell in terms of honours and PFAI awards. Other recent award winners are Mark Quigley and Jay McGuinness.
Really bad luck for Luke Byrne, he looked promising when he first came in for Bohs, and hope he makes a full recovery.
El-Pietro
28/04/2016, 2:33 PM
I can only go on what I've seen, but they look a lot weaker without Shields than they do without O'Donnell.
O'Donnell started 12 league games last season and still made the PFAI team of the year- by the time of the vote that would have been 8 or 9. Two thirds of a crocked SOD > Shields. And I love Chris Shields.
For me two influential players for Pats league win were Russell and Bisto Flood(when he came in). Minus those two and I think Dundalk would have pipped them.
Both fine players with great seasons but Bolger won the Pats player of the year and Brennan won the league player of the year.
Russell was there in 2012 too but the difference for Pats in 2013 was Brennan and Conan Byrne. They brought the team on hugely
It'll be good to get Roddy Jr back in the league so these debates over who the best player is can end once and for all.
28/04/2016, 6:12 PM
No, I wouldn't
Clouded judgement, i get that:)
He never did make it in the UK, that's good enough for me. Big fish small pond (muddy pond at that)
jinxy lilywhite
28/04/2016, 9:00 PM
I can only go on what I've seen, but they look a lot weaker without Shields than they do without O'Donnell.
Disagree with that.
Take even the FAI cup final. I thought cork were getting in top up too the sean gannon injury. Kenny switched shiels to RB and skip came on then after and controlled the game from the start of the 2nd half on.
The boys are right. When shiels is pressed quickly he panics and loses the ball. Also he struggles to pass the ball more than a couple of metres.
mcgonigle
28/04/2016, 9:10 PM
The boys are right. When shiels is pressed quickly he panics and loses the ball. Also he struggles to pass the ball more than a couple of metres.
I agree that O'Donnell is the better player and the best in the league, but I don't agree with your description of Shields. He is not as composed as O'Donnell but he rarely losses the ball when pressed, less than the majority of LOI midfielders.
As for struggling to pass the ball 2 meters, I think we all know that's rubbish
placid casual
28/04/2016, 9:35 PM
Watching the Rovers-Dundalk match the other night It was noticeable how shields was the heartbeat of the team. O'donnell was fine but didn't have as much impact before he had to go off.
As for comparing O'Donnell to Brennan- do me a favour. O'Donnell had a lot of competition in the Rovers midfield when he was at Rovers so didn't play as often as he liked
Brennan is an indication of how far away Rovers have fallen, on the road to success.
Disagree with that.
Take even the FAI cup final. I thought cork were getting in top up too the sean gannon injury. Kenny switched shiels to RB and skip came on then after and controlled the game from the start of the 2nd half on.
The most impressive part of that was he was clearly injured. He struggled to move and still controlled midfield against Cork
No surprise to see Cork invest heavily in midfield this season
29/04/2016, 3:43 PM
The most impressive part of that was he was clearly injured. He struggled to move and still controlled midfield against Cork
No surprise to see Cork invest heavily in midfield this season
Liam Miller was so traumatised by the experience he emigrated.
29/04/2016, 3:47 PM
Was at Turners X last year when Cork battered Pats. Brennan was trying to take possession from Mark O'Sullivan maybe 25 yards from goal and just gave up utterly and flopped to the ground. Unhindered, O'Sullivan trotted on to score. I know you can't judge a player on one moment but that one encapsulated all that has held Brennan back for me.
Jd2793
29/04/2016, 3:53 PM
We got battered that first half aswell Pats a complete no show 2nd half wouldn't mind a repeat scoreline of that tonight
29/04/2016, 4:14 PM
Was at Turners X last year when Cork battered Pats. Brennan was trying to take possession from Mark O'Sullivan maybe 25 yards from goal and just gave up utterly and flopped to the ground. Unhindered, O'Sullivan trotted on to score. I know you can't judge a player on one moment but that one encapsulated all that has held Brennan back for me.
He was as uninterested on Monday. Obviously a player who needs to be motivated and that's not something that comes easily for him playing for a club he doesn't like.
Pablo Escobar
29/04/2016, 5:47 PM
Yeah I'd agree with that. That was particularly poor. The guy has all the talent in the world, but moments like that are definitely a negative on him.
Shields for me.
You are possibly forming that opinion on the excellent display he gave away to Cork last April. I think from where he was in 2012, Shields is probably the most improved midfielder in the league.
He can have a few poor games though and his touch at times lets him down, you get impressions he needs to be fully concentrating in every single match for 90 mins, overall though he has been excellent since the middle of 2013.
I would O'Donnell as the best MF in the league though. Finn is showing signs that he will be that player maybe next season. Miele was also very good last season and worth a mention. Bolger is effective at what he does.
30/04/2016, 11:22 PM
Shields is obviously one of the least talented players in the Dundalk team and probably the least talented midfielder in most games he plays. But he's maximised his talent through hard work. Guys like Massey and Boyle would fit into the same category.
Ezeikial
01/05/2016, 8:53 AM
Guys like Massey and Boyle would fit into the same category.
Watching the Troglodytes has clearly affected your judgement or sanity
mcgonigle
02/05/2016, 7:46 PM
I think Boyle is the best defender in the league myself
White Horse
02/05/2016, 7:54 PM
"Maximising their talent through hard work". I agree.
"Least talented on the pitch"? I doubt you are saying that about Massey or Boyle.
02/05/2016, 11:33 PM
Well I meant that about Shields. Maximising their talent was about Boyle and Massey, neither of whom would be the most naturally talented around, as opposed to the likes of Horgan and O'Donnell who are naturals. It's a compliment.
placid casual
03/05/2016, 8:57 PM
Jesus wept, some of the you Dundalk fans could do with a bit of perspective. You have a couple of decent players, a few fair to middling players , and a few clogger's. Saying they are all the best in the league is not as big an achievement as you seem to believe ,when by common consent the league is of an exceptionally poor standard at present.
Ezeikial
03/05/2016, 9:12 PM
Jesus wept, some of the you Dundalk fans could do with a bit of perspective. You have a couple of decent players, a few fair to middling players , and a few clogger's. Saying they are all the best in the league is not as big an achievement as you seem to believe ,when by common consent the league is of an exceptionally poor standard at present.
I can't resist - I'd love to know which players fall into what categories!
Louth4sam
03/05/2016, 9:41 PM
Massey, neither of whom would be the most naturally talented around,
Massey has played futsal internationally for Ireland. Very very skillful player.
I like Massey but saying he's played futsal for Ireland therefore he must be very skilful is hilarious
Louth4sam
03/05/2016, 10:06 PM
I like Massey but saying he's played futsal for Ireland therefore he must be very skilful is hilarious
Ah here, I was giving that as an example. Futsal is a sport based on dribbling and ball control. Would a hard working player as Massey has been described fit into that category?
I have seen Massey play for past three seasons. I think I'm a better judge of his skill levels than opposition fans that see him a couple of games a season. Massey is one of the most skillful players in the Dundalk team. The defensive side of his game has been his major weakness but he has improved himself greatly.
03/05/2016, 10:15 PM
I'm not saying any of the players aren't talented, just that some are clearly naturally adept. I doubt Brian Gartland would get into the Ireland futsal team but he's clearly a very natural footballer, whereas for somebody like Shields or, yes, Massey I reckon it doesn't come quite as easily. I didn't mention anything about skills or ball control. That's all I meant and I wasn't expecting it to turn into such a rigmarole.
dundalkfc10
04/05/2016, 7:49 AM
I'm not saying any of the players aren't talented, just that some are clearly naturally adept. I doubt Brian Gartland would get into the Ireland futsal team but he's clearly a very natural footballer, whereas for somebody like Shields or, yes, Massey I reckon it doesn't come quite as easily. I didn't mention anything about skills or ball control. That's all I meant and I wasn't expecting it to turn into such a rigmarole.
Gartland is probably our worst player on the ball that we have!
Ah here, I was giving that as an example. Futsal is a sport based on dribbling and ball control. Would a hard working player as Massey has been described fit into that category?
I know lads who've played futsal for Ireland and they wouldn't play in the top tier of the LSL. The amount of people who play futsal here is tiny so it's no indicator of anything
And again, I like Massey. I was just saying the futsal thing means nothing at all
I can only suspect Charlie has mixed up his centre halves if he thinks Gartland is a better footballer than Boyle
04/05/2016, 9:15 AM
Howie King once played beach football for Ireland.
Howie king was also once described by the Star as a 'towering hitman'.
G'wan Howie!
04/05/2016, 11:41 AM
This old 'league is at its lowest standard but it was a higher standard when we were last champions' nugget. I think the league was exceptionally poor throughout the 1980s (except 81/82 and 87/88) it was totally pathetic 90s (except 90/91 and 94/95)! As said before I hope the standard remains as you say exceptionally poor as long as Dundalk dominate in to the next decade!
The PFAI TOTY I find is a good benchmark for players' standing in the league and among their fellow players. The 2015 team would be strengthened by the inclusion of Finn, McEleney will be there in 2016 if he gets an injury free run. Shields wasn't included yet was outstanding at important times last season. Lack of a ruthless striker is still an issue and could result in the league being a closer contest than it would otherwise. Rogers is finally shaking off the calamity waiting to happen feeling so could get in the 2016 side. Meenan and Mountney are by no means beyond a team of the year shout but their battle for a starting berth with each other and the reduced number of games it causes would see them out of contention. Then you have the back 4 who were all included 2015 and as currently the team that has conceded least would be a good bet for being the top back in the league again.
04/05/2016, 1:36 PM
Gartland is probably our worst player on the ball that we have!
Hence why I deliberately didn't say anything about ball skills. Since there's a lot more to being a footballer than that.
mcgonigle
04/05/2016, 4:29 PM
Hence why I deliberately didn't say anything about ball skills. Since there's a lot more to being a footballer than that.
Like looking buff in your jersey...