View Full Version : General Old LOI Site Nostalgia

15/04/2016, 5:39 PM
I remember him as a whipper snapper on the old Eircom League message board Johnny Ward had. He was a student at the time if I remember correctly. Not too sure how many people still post on here that were on there, I know Dodge was on it but can't remember too many more unless they're under different names on here. I feel old now!

15/04/2016, 7:01 PM
Was there in the latter days myself.

16/04/2016, 8:25 AM
Me too. JW's board was a big thing for me in my early days following the league.

18/04/2016, 10:08 AM
I was there, I think I posted as Aidan back then. You could also post on that board anonymously, which meant it was all a bit mental at times.

Also used to post on Hoof! and Into The West among others. And I remember Hospital Pass and ElevenASide and Tom Carey's Irish Football site.

18/04/2016, 3:44 PM
Had a few heated discussions with 'I am Greenblood' or something like that. Remember 'In to the West', Mr A but no idea why. Cannot remember exactly what I posted as but i'm sure it had London in it but no reference to Dundalk hmmm - 1997 who was there to really wind up those days?

18/04/2016, 3:56 PM
There was a Derry Fan who posted as Frank Rizzo. Somebody always posted "Rizzo is a moron" within minutes of every post he made.

18/04/2016, 4:02 PM
Gave this its own thread after suddenly remembering I'm a moderator here and Gary Twigg hasn't really featured for a while.

Seagull
18/04/2016, 4:52 PM
I was there myself, young and foolish. Anyone remember this which was prominent on the site?
http://i66.tinypic.com/1zvbudl.jpg

18/04/2016, 5:26 PM
I was there, I think I posted as Aidan back then. You could also post on that board anonymously, which meant it was all a bit mental at times.

Also used to post on Hoof! and Into The West among others. And I remember Hospital Pass and ElevenASide and Tom Carey's Irish Football site.

Also remember wws the Pats fan who's sadly no longer with us. Dr Nightdub as well, saw him pop up on Twitter recently There was a Harps fan Mr T (?) that posted on there wasn't there?

I'd forgotten about eleven a side and Hospital Pass. Seems like a lifetime ago.

gufcfan
18/04/2016, 5:27 PM
I was there myself, young and foolish.
Now we don't have youth to hide our foolishness behind.

ger121
18/04/2016, 6:00 PM
I remember elevenaside and was another one irishsoccer or something? Around about the same time. This forum back in the very early noughties was my only real link to the league for discussions when I was in Oz. That and the now defunct Gypsiesweb. Interacting with other LOI fans pre social media was a lot harder in the old days...

18/04/2016, 6:53 PM
Irishfootienetwork was the one that got me initially, that was mid-late 00's though. A great site it was before it shut.

18/04/2016, 8:08 PM
Also remember wws the Pats fan who's sadly no longer with us. Dr Nightdub as well, saw him pop up on Twitter recently There was a Harps fan Mr T (?) that posted on there wasn't there?

I'd forgotten about eleven a side and Hospital Pass. Seems like a lifetime ago.

Yes remember each of them especially wws (which is bitter sweet is some way that I as a random LoI fan exiled still remembers at least his pseudonym and enthusiasm - and i'm not just being nice or sentimental just because!).

Good old windows 3.11 in the Uni Library with pals at neighbouring terminals sending you dodgy pop-ups (cant even remember how it was done as it wasnt via email) that wouldnt close, to try and get ye booted off by library staff or when a bunch of the ladies were walking by....wasn't long before it was just a dive for the power cable of the monitor strategy until the coast was clear to ctrl-alt-del or something. Before Orielweb et al, the Guardian used to publish LoI results in microscopic font but no table so used to keep my own table. Either that or ring home (public phonebox) after a game, still Thursdays or Sundays for us with instructions to folks to go to Aertel P222 and just read out the scores quickly...nuisance if there was a high scoring game and had to wait for the pages to change.

18/04/2016, 8:34 PM
I was on the JW site alright; started as UCD fan (not not Declan), but UCD fan (not Declan) gave out, so I changed to pineapple student.

When I registered here, pineapple student was too long, so I signed up as pineapple stud (the most characters I could have, I should add!). Then I thought about what I'd done, and re-registered.

18/04/2016, 8:56 PM
Lol pineapple stud...evokes images of grass skirts mixed with Homer Simpson like antics.

seand
19/04/2016, 7:56 AM
HospitalPass was a Daniel McDonnell initiative, iirc. He was heavily involved anyway. We'd just started getting it into a decent shape when it went pop (at least partly because DMcD was otherwise occupied with The Star etc). That would have been around 2001-03, I remember writing a piece for it in Hungary a couple of days after Dundalk had been hammered 5-0 by Varteks in Croatia (Sept 2002). Before that Daniel started OrielWeb in the late 90s. There's still the vestiges of it hanging around, if you want detailed match reports from Dundalk circa 1997-2001.

GCdfc
19/04/2016, 9:10 AM
HospitalPass was a Daniel McDonnell initiative, iirc. He was heavily involved anyway. We'd just started getting it into a decent shape when it went pop (at least partly because DMcD was otherwise occupied with The Star etc). That would have been around 2001-03, I remember writing a piece for it in Hungary a couple of days after Dundalk had been hammered 5-0 by Varteks in Croatia (Sept 2002). Before that Daniel started OrielWeb in the late 90s. There's still the vestiges of it hanging around, if you want detailed match reports from Dundalk circa 1997-2001.

http://homepage.tinet.ie/~chip/orielweb.html

19/04/2016, 9:34 AM
There was Soccer Central too. And probably a good few others I can't recall right now.

seand
19/04/2016, 9:48 AM

Cool, thanks. Still plenty of content there, circa 2002.

Interestingly and on the topic of nostalgia the links page is still there, not sure how many of these links will work but:

http://homepage.tinet.ie/~chip/links.html

Here's one that works.... Waterford United stopped in time December 2000
http://www.waterfordunited.iwarp.com/

19/04/2016, 11:20 AM

Just seeing that has had a whole load of memories come flooding back - thanks GC!

PartySaint
19/04/2016, 11:45 AM

Off the Ball used to give a full hour to LOI?? Down to 15 minutes now.

19/04/2016, 12:22 PM
Off the Ball used to give a full hour to LOI?? Down to 15 minutes now.

back when it was Dublin only. Went in there myself a few times as the token Pats fan.

They started off doing live commentary on Friday games but RTE stopped them

punkrocket
19/04/2016, 3:51 PM
I remember someone on elevenaside referring to the old firm as the ugly sisters and thought it was great. Used the term myself, just the other day as it goes.

D24Saint
19/04/2016, 7:21 PM
Remember that old loi forum fondly in fairness to the foot.ie lads have done a great job since its demise.

CuanaD
21/04/2016, 12:34 PM
Just realised I've been on this site nearly 12 years now!

When did foot.ie start?

atfconline
21/04/2016, 12:36 PM
I'm member 86 and I joined in June 2001, so June 2001 or thereabouts!

CuanaD
21/04/2016, 12:46 PM
I'm member 86 and I joined in June 2001, so June 2001 or thereabouts!

I finally joined in July 04, but I know I'd been "lurking" a good while before that - knowing me I probably started posting when the European games were on - probably something about coefficients!

21/04/2016, 1:49 PM
Had a short life as phootball.com wws brought me as he wanted this to become home to Pats fans. That didn't happen

Place was infested by Cork fans for years until they all got the hump and did their own thing

Larry 'da' Wyse
21/04/2016, 3:45 PM
1 May 2004 for me! Remeber the older sites ok. Might have been up there as yknaa. One name stands out: Julian Canny - Galway. Wasn't there a LoI mailing list back in the day ....

21/04/2016, 4:23 PM
Julian Canny - Galway. Wasn't there a LoI mailing list back in the day ....

Am pretty sure that was Julian Canny.

From Galway.

ger121
21/04/2016, 9:29 PM
I was on the JW site alright; started as UCD fan (not not Declan), but UCD fan (not Declan) gave out, so I changed to pineapple student.

When I registered here, pineapple student was too long, so I signed up as pineapple stud (the most characters I could have, I should add!). Then I thought about what I'd done, and re-registered.

I remember I used to think your name was Stu, until the penny finally dropped some time in 2004. i feel stupid just writing that:smirk:

22/04/2016, 9:06 AM
Ha!

Yeah, we had Poor Student, Bald Student, Mullet Student and Aberdonian Stu here for a while as well, so I presume you spotted the trend eventually. :)

Unfortunately, Aberdonian Stu didn't take up the suggestion that, when he came back from Erasmus, he should change his name to Irish Stu...

22/04/2016, 10:23 AM
if it's any consolation it took me considerably more than "a couple of years" to figure out his name wasn't Stu

22/04/2016, 10:29 AM
I just assumed he really liked Disco.

22/04/2016, 10:44 AM
if it's any consolation it took me considerably more than "a couple of years" to figure out his name wasn't Stu

I only really copped on around a year ago to be honest.

El-Pietro
22/04/2016, 10:59 AM
I've randomly met him twice in person and I thought his name was Stu. My apologies!

22/04/2016, 11:00 AM
OK, this is getting weird.

I know martinho calls me pineapple - but didn't think anyone else got confused by it!

22/04/2016, 11:51 AM
OK, this is getting weird.

I know martinho calls me pineapple - but didn't think anyone else got confused by it!

Haha that's our Martinho

22/04/2016, 12:50 PM
I feel weird and different for never assuming his name was Stu.

22/04/2016, 1:22 PM
I only really copped on around a year ago to be honest.

Brand new revelation to me! What is your first name then stu if its not Declan - if i'm allowed ask?

22/04/2016, 1:42 PM
Gotta have some secrets! :)

ger121
22/04/2016, 2:01 PM
Ha!

Yeah, we had Poor Student, Bald Student, Mullet Student and Aberdonian Stu here for a while as well, so I presume you spotted the trend eventually. :)

Unfortunately, Aberdonian Stu didn't take up the suggestion that, when he came back from Erasmus, he should change his name to Irish Stu...

Yeah it was Aberdonian Stu that finally gave the game away. You where the only 2 UCD fans I'd ever seen post on any forum. Like Hen's teeth you lot!

22/04/2016, 5:47 PM
Brand new revelation to me! What is your first name then stu if its not Declan - if i'm allowed ask?

fair play Nesta as I had forgotten Stus first name also!!

23/04/2016, 2:28 AM
fair play Nesta as I had forgotten Stus first name also!!

Well it must be Pineapple! Stu why the 'pineapple' bit?

23/04/2016, 3:24 AM

Michael McIntyre*

*I've never met stu but someone pointed him out many years ago. Got to love LOI. Since I'm in confession mode, thanks to our Martinho's habit of addressing people by their foot log in I saw Dodge once also many years ago :0

23/04/2016, 9:29 AM
Well it must be Pineapple! Stu why the 'pineapple' bit?
A habit of drinking a carton of pineapple juice at games. Started as a good luck thing in the run-in to the InterToto qualification. Been dry a few years now, bar one relapse in Dudelange last year. Stopped me getting kicked out of Turner's Cross one year - everyone else (six or seven of us) got kicked out maybe ten minutes from the end for drinking alcohol. I refused to leave cos I wasn't drinking alcohol. Steward rather smugly asked to have a sniff of the carton, and was disappointed to find it actually was fruit juice.

Anyways, we were 1-0 up at the time, and scored a second a couple of minutes later. Dem were the days!

23/04/2016, 4:46 PM
Michael McIntyre*

*I've never met stu but someone pointed him out many years ago. Got to love LOI. Since I'm in confession mode, thanks to our Martinho's habit of addressing people by their foot log in I saw Dodge once also many years ago :0

never so true. whenever I see dodge I call him by his login name. of course I only discovered a few yrs later that is his surname!!

Pablo Escobar
24/04/2016, 6:37 AM
A habit of drinking a carton of pineapple juice at games. Started as a good luck thing in the run-in to the InterToto qualification. Been dry a few years now, bar one relapse in Dudelange last year. Stopped me getting kicked out of Turner's Cross one year - everyone else (six or seven of us) got kicked out maybe ten minutes from the end for drinking alcohol. I refused to leave cos I wasn't drinking alcohol. Steward rather smugly asked to have a sniff of the carton, and was disappointed to find it actually was fruit juice.

Anyways, we were 1-0 up at the time, and scored a second a couple of minutes later. Dem were the days!
I remember that, it's going back a while. I think there were 6 of you there and 4 got thrown out. :D

24/04/2016, 8:30 AM
Ha! Yeah, it has to be around 2002 I'd say? Andy - who used to post here and now lives in Cork - refused to leave too as he hadn't been caught with drink. Though I think he'd just finished.

So yeah, good memory!

Edit - 2002 is spot on. Here (http://foot.ie/threads/3788-Own-up)'s the thread on here about it! foot.ie is old...