View Full Version : April 1st/2nd Fixtures
02/04/2016, 11:04 AM
Section O have fallen out with the board, the board have fallen out with Section O, Section O are fallen out with themselves. It's all a shambles at the CCS these days!
Think more is being made of that on here than by the group itself. The truth is the numbers simply aren't there anymore. Nigel is right we are positioned ideally for travel but if even the Die hards aren't excited to go to home games you can't expect to be filling busses to away games
Town Legend
02/04/2016, 11:48 AM
I think the thing that's disheartening to all the die hards is the way TC has gone about things this year. After a decent finish last year all the talk was about pushing on and breaking into the top 5. But TC, instead of improving the squad decided to do it with younger untried players and its backfiring big time.
02/04/2016, 1:57 PM
I think the thing that's disheartening to all the die hards is the way TC has gone about things this year. After a decent finish last year all the talk was about pushing on and breaking into the top 5. But TC, instead of improving the squad decided to do it with younger untried players and its backfiring big time.
Yep totally agree with you, in fact you wouldn't mind as much if he came out and said look we need to cut the budget so we may have a younger squad this season but to claim we are trying to build on last season by bringing in untested players for experienced pros is just iterating. Also on attendances, I don't think there's ever been a greater disconnect between players and fans. Due to the lack of social media and PR the club are doing, nobody knows anything about the players whereas down the years the club has so many personalities like Digger, Lavine, Prunty and Kirby and people came out to watch them as much as anything. You talk the average punter on the street and the only thing they can tell you about Town is that ''they are all dubs''.
02/04/2016, 2:53 PM
Dundalk are very good at playing the referee to be fair.
Nah! Refs turn a blind eye due to being tired of the likes of Caulfield in their ears aggressively for 90mins every game. While the home dugout in Oriel is slightly nearer the 4th official Kenny certainly didn't use this ridiculously claimed advantage. Sheils saying he couldn't see the match properly as a result of the dugouts position - well he neeeds reminding that teams change half after 45mins and any advantage or disadvantage swings. I hope this all he has to worry abut this season!
Thought a draw was a fair enough result last night between Dundalk and Derry. It was a decent match, Dlk definitely the better side in long parts of the first and for the last 15 mins, but Derry took control of the MF for a good period in the second half, esp when Shields went for his second yellow, careless by him, but deserved.
Looking back at the sending off for McCormack, for that challenge he didn't deserve a yellow.
Derry definitely an improved outfit, Patterson is a huge improvement up front for them, and they reminded me a bit of Bohs last year, no reason why Derry can't challenge for a euro spot.
Dundalk need to get sharper up front, that's only 1 win in 3 now at home.
02/04/2016, 4:32 PM
They were shocking in Finn Park last week too. Mystery how it was only 1-0.
There was four of them in Ballybofey last week too. FOUR.
I had no idea of away crowd there but thats an eyeopener thats for sure! with the **** on the pitch this year people are holding on their cash to what they think of the important matches they should go to where we have a chance..
02/04/2016, 4:36 PM
[QUOTE=Town Legend;1864666]Section O have fallen out with the board, the board have fallen out with Section O, Section O are fallen out with themselves. It's all a shambles at the CCS these days![/QUOTE
Dalymount park is way closer than Ballybofey and yet we couldnt run a bus. there was people that used to go on the bus that do not go on it any more.. I dont know why the supporters club had to stop buses as I think more people would have went on it if they knew it was supporters club that was runnin it. its that bad at the moment that senior supporters committee members dont go to away matches any more and that says a lot! no offence to our lads that do a sterling job trying to organise buses but thats my take on it.
02/04/2016, 5:23 PM
[QUOTE=Town Legend;1864666]Section O have fallen out with the board, the board have fallen out with Section O, Section O are fallen out with themselves. It's all a shambles at the CCS these days![/QUOTE
Dalymount park is way closer than Ballybofey and yet we couldnt run a bus. there was people that used to go on the bus that do not go on it any more.. I dont know why the supporters club had to stop buses as I think more people would have went on it if they knew it was supporters club that was runnin it. its that bad at the moment that senior supporters committee members dont go to away matches any more and that says a lot! no offence to our lads that do a sterling job trying to organise buses but thats my take on it.
No offence but that has nothing to do with it Marty, I ran the busses on behalf of the supporters club and last season they even chipped in when we were short for some games. It's not a section O bus, it's not a supporters club bus it's just a fecking bus for anyone who wants to take it. Don't see what difference it makes what it's branded as. The simple fact is we don't have the numbers at the moment, nothing else to it.
gufc2000
02/04/2016, 7:01 PM
Limerick just after regaining the lead against Shels, 2-1 now
gufc2000
02/04/2016, 7:21 PM
Ended 5-1 to Limerick
02/04/2016, 7:31 PM
Looks like Shelbourne angered them by having the cheek to score against them. So who's going to get the play off spot then?
02/04/2016, 7:53 PM
As I predicted First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC played as poorly as possible today in an effort to help out the league.
Unfortunately shelbourne athletic just weren't good enough to capitalise. They have a couple of handyish players that with a bit of luck could move up to their parent clubs pats and bohs. Is it a pity for Irish football to see shels in the state they are now in? A mixture of nobodies and never will bes. Their support gets smaller every year. About 25 tweens in their Christmas clothes writing graffiti with a gold glitter pen one of them stole from their little sister. The saddest sight iv ever seen was their pitch invasion at 1 all. For the rest of their lives they will have to live with the stigma of having invaded a pitch during a game they lost 5 1. It was like watching the reaction of torquay fans if they scored a goal against barcelona. small time with a capital small.
So there you have it league. We did our best. We played terribly. And we still won 5 - 1.
First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC clearly have their work cut out to give someone a result in the First Division.
I hope for the good of the game we manage it. :ball:
patrickccfc
02/04/2016, 8:01 PM
What's the record points total and goals scored in the first division? Could be smashed if things continue like this.
Sean McGuire misses a penalty up in Sligo just now
El-Pietro
02/04/2016, 9:02 PM
I dont want this to come across as a bitter post. We didn't do enough to win tonight. weak penalty from maguire and I think schlingermann had one save to make for the rest of the game. Every cross we made went right into his hands. Extremely frustrating to watch.
With that said...
As card happy as sutton was last night, the ref tonight refused to use his cards. At least for about the first hour. I'm all for refs letting games flow but there were some obvious professional fouls that he only have free kicks for including one for Healy just outside of the box.
The most agregious decision was when Karl Sheppard was taken down by Schlingermann as Shep tried to nick the ball past the keeper in the box. Now the view from the away section isn't ideal but I don't understand how it is possible for the ref to not send the keeper off in that situation. We were fuming before the missed penalty. As I said we didn't do enough to win the game but it would have been a different game if the last 35 minutes (plus stoppage) had been played against ten men.
sligo played well tonight. especially at the start of second half where they came at us quickly and put a lot of pressure.
Now I hope to get home before 2 am
White Horse
02/04/2016, 9:04 PM
Finished up 0-0 in Sligo.
No easy games in this league, Sligo is a difficult place to go, we have a lot of travel to do.
What else will Caulfield say?
El-Pietro
02/04/2016, 9:10 PM
are any of those statements untrue? They don't excuse our result but they are correct. Im starting to think the league is going to be pretty tight all the way through. With longford cut adrift early on. but I can see a series of results where everyone starts beating everyone else. no runaway leaders.
White Horse
02/04/2016, 9:15 PM
Im starting to think the league is going to be pretty tight all the way through. With longford cut adrift early on. but I can see a series of results where everyone starts beating everyone else. no runaway leaders.
I agree. Teams are better organised this year. There will be more draws and shock results that last year.
strikeforce
02/04/2016, 9:17 PM
Finished up 0-0 in Sligo.
No easy games in this league, Sligo is a difficult place to go, we have a lot of travel to do.
What else will Caulfield say?
We got the 3 points up in the worst ground in the Country is what I think he would say. :worship::worship::worship:
02/04/2016, 9:19 PM
Get on Harps at 500/1 for the league now.
White Horse
02/04/2016, 9:26 PM
We got the 3 points up in the worst ground in the Country is what I think he would say. :worship::worship::worship:
No point if you can't follow it up with beating the bottom team though.
Nicking away wins is one thing. The test of champions is going to away grounds, outplaying teams, and coming away with three points.
Cork have yet to prove that they can do that consistently.
redarmyfaction
02/04/2016, 9:44 PM
Nicking away wins is one thing. The test of champions is going to away grounds, outplaying teams, and coming away with three points.
Cork were outplayed tonight, we are better than out table position, a lot of players new to the league, it will take a while to adjust.
TheBoss
02/04/2016, 9:45 PM
I was half listening to 98fm at about 10 and it came to sport section of the news and they seem to living in a different universe when it comes to the League of Ireland, I have absolutely no idea how they even got this wrong.
"Just the one game in the Airtricity League Premier Division tonight, it ended Sligo Rovers 2, Bohemians 3"
Just for the record the last time Bohemians won 3-2 at the showgrounds was in 1961.
ger121
02/04/2016, 9:49 PM
Watched a bit of the Limerick game on the Shels live stream. They are gonna walk the 1st Division. About the only thing Limerick don't have is a Sponsor. Thought with how things have gone since the move to the Markets Field that wouldn't be an issue?
Good win for us and badly needed. Sets us up for our annual beating of Rovers in 2 weeks time
strikeforce
02/04/2016, 9:53 PM
Listen fella, your preaching to the converted. Seems like he sets up the team totally different for home and away games. You saw how pumped up we were against you. Why cant this be the case every away day...... No lessons learnt, just excuses.
atfconline
02/04/2016, 9:56 PM
I was half listening to 98fm at about 10 and it came to sport section of the news and they seem to living in a different universe when it comes to the League of Ireland, I have absolutely no idea how they even got this wrong.
"Just the one game in the Airtricity League Premier Division tonight, it ended Sligo Rovers 2, Bohemians 3"
Just for the record the last time Bohemians won 3-2 at the showgrounds was in 1961.
That's actually how the U17 game finished there today.
Redzer
02/04/2016, 9:57 PM
Yeah I heard that myself on the way home from the Showgies and said WTF, April fools was yesterday lads.
TheBoss
02/04/2016, 10:18 PM
What's the record points total and goals scored in the first division? Could be smashed if things continue like this.
Sean McGuire misses a penalty up in Sligo just now
(2 for win) (If 3) - 41 (56) [Drogheda United 1990/91]
Points per game
(3 for win) - 2.73 [UCD 1994/95]
(2 for win) (If 3) - 1.83 (2.72) [Derry City 1986/87]
Goals
73 [Cork City FORAS Co-op 2011]
Goals per game
2.5 [Derry City 1986/87]
roversforever
02/04/2016, 10:21 PM
Not every penalty is a sending off. It was a stonewall penalty but i think the ref got it right....the ball was gone towards the corner flag, he wasn't going to score.
Thought we played well tonight, plenty of heart and effort. No chance of Cork winning the league. They haven't improved since last year. Still well drilled but not very exciting going forward. Maguire has started the season well but tonight i didn't see any improvement in him since he left us. Cork will always be difficult to beat but it takes more than that to win a league. Hopefully things starting to look up for us now.
mcgonigle
02/04/2016, 10:49 PM
Looks like nobody is going to win the league this year. Everyone is awful, worst standard ever, should we just pack it up now? Maybe give Limerick both titles?
02/04/2016, 11:53 PM
Looks like nobody is going to win the league this year. Everyone is awful, worst standard ever, should we just pack it up now? Maybe give Limerick both titles?
The real question is could Nobody do what Rovers and Dundalk failed to do and win it three times in a row?
NeverFeltBetter
03/04/2016, 12:03 AM
Overall, the 77 points Cobh got in 2007 and the 73 goals Cork scored in 2011 are the records.
Since it became an eight team league, the 62 points Limerick got in 2012 and 63 goals Wexford scored in 2015.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/04/2016, 1:21 AM
It wasn't a goal scoring opportunity whatsoever. The ball was going out for a throw in. It was a definite penalty as he fouled him in the penalty area after he knicked the ball ahead of him but no way was it a red card. Based on your logic every penalty should be a red card.
We we were decent tonight. At least we managed to put 2 halves of football together. Still though it's 2 goals from 6 games which is worrying. Have the makings of a team there but need to get a win or two on the board soon enough.
After watching Oriel last night good to see a ref not so card happy. Could easily have booked a lot.
03/04/2016, 8:58 AM
Before the Shels game Limerick were 8/1 to go unbeaten in the league for the rest of the season and 1/9 to win the division.
03/04/2016, 12:09 PM
Paul tuite and the Dublin media were the only person in Tallaght who missed Brandon Miele's blatant hand ball for rovers 1st goal on Friday night . Smallest crowd I've ever seen there despite Gufc having upto 200 fans there.
placid casual
03/04/2016, 6:33 PM
A game I expected Rovers to win, and they did just that.
wasn't a deliberate handball from where i was standing
03/04/2016, 8:33 PM
[QUOTE=Martinho II;1864722]
No offence but that has nothing to do with it Marty, I ran the busses on behalf of the supporters club and last season they even chipped in when we were short for some games. It's not a section O bus, it's not a supporters club bus it's just a fecking bus for anyone who wants to take it. Don't see what difference it makes what it's branded as. The simple fact is we don't have the numbers at the moment, nothing else to it.
fair enough point made there. had forgotten completely about contributions from supp club. suppose it goes around in cycles! for years up to the late nineties there were never away buses. suppose it has come to this stage! nothin can be done Im afraid.. if our form improves and club gets arse in gear then maybe.
LOI_Fanatic
03/04/2016, 9:32 PM
Paul tuite and the Dublin media were the only person in Tallaght who missed Brandon Miele's blatant hand ball for rovers 1st goal on Friday night . Smallest crowd I've ever seen there despite Gufc having upto 200 fans there.
Our crowd was poor,but no way did you's have 200 there!
L.T.F.C.
04/04/2016, 12:11 AM
[QUOTE=Martinho II;1864722]
To be honest I would have little interest in getting a bus with 10 lads roaring ****ed down the back.
04/04/2016, 12:30 AM
And the Galway media apparently. I didn't see a handball but that doesn't mean there wasn't one. Just it wasn't incredibly obvious.
PartySaint
04/04/2016, 8:32 AM
They have a couple of handyish players that with a bit of luck could move up to their parent clubs pats and bohs.
If they're really good they'll come straight up to us (Lee Desmond), if there are still some doubts over them they'll go to our B team (Bohs). I'm really looking for to Ben Mohammed making the step up next season.
El-Pietro
04/04/2016, 9:13 AM
It wasn't a goal scoring opportunity whatsoever. The ball was going out for a throw in. It was a definite penalty as he fouled him in the penalty area after he knicked the ball ahead of him but no way was it a red card. Based on your logic every penalty should be a red card.
Firstly, my logic was that it was a clear goalscoring opportunity, not that every foul should result in a red card. Cop on and read what I've said.
If the highlights show that the ball was going out of play then fair enough, but from where we were positioned it looked like Shep had him beat and had an open goal. I'll wait until I get to see the replay tomorrow after work.
And the Galway media apparently. I didn't see a handball but that doesn't mean there wasn't one. Just it wasn't incredibly obvious.
Galway media didn't miss it and neither did nutsy who said it was a handball after the game.
Firstly, my logic was that it was a clear goalscoring opportunity, not that every foul should result in a red card. Cop on and read what I've said.
If the highlights show that the ball was going out of play then fair enough, but from where we were positioned it looked like Shep had him beat and had an open goal. I'll wait until I get to see the replay tomorrow after work.
Did Cork play 4-4-2 v Sligo? Noticed over the w/e that both Shephard and Maguire started, or was the former on the wing?
Is there any concern about the goals from Cork, 9 scored, but 6 were in one game, also note you have only scored 1 away in 3 games, then again it was a big win, but a penalty all the same.
04/04/2016, 10:27 AM
[QUOTE=outspoken;1864732]
To be honest I would have little interest in getting a bus with 10 lads roaring ****ed down the back.
I get the feeling that's the imagine people get of these 'section O' bus, they are very timid compared to what people imagine. Anyway some people prefer to drive and that's fair enough but after a long week I like to sit back with a few cans and have the craic on the way to an away game, it's all personal preference. Would be hopeful we can get something going for Sligo in a few weeks.
04/04/2016, 11:25 AM
Thought a draw was a fair enough result last night between Dundalk and Derry. It was a decent match, Dlk definitely the better side in long parts of the first and for the last 15 mins, but Derry took control of the MF for a good period in the second half, esp when Shields went for his second yellow, careless by him, but deserved.
Summed up well there.
Was worried when Dundalk went one up so early, but they didn't really push on and go for it, which was pretty surprising.
With ourselves, thought we were alright. Held our shape well, which was going to be important, and limited the damage Dundalk were able to do. I'd say the first may have boring to watch as a neutral though.
Second half improved as a spectacle, though I don't think Shields sending off had much to do with it. The numerical advantage wasn't all that noticeable really. Disappointed that we didn't press on after our goal, but after our red card, we'd always have taken the point.
On Sutton, pretty awful performance. 13 yellows, with two reds. Some justified, but a lot of fouls given when there was really no call. It wasn't a dirty game, though Dundalk's diving (or going down easy, to be kind) didn't help matters. Was funny to see Gerard Doherty get booked for taking ages with a goal kick. He probably wasn't even trying to waste time, that's just usual for him. We'd be 1-0 down with two minutes to go and he'd still take an eternity.
We're doing well this season, much moreso than we expected. Shields is chatting about aiming for a European spot. I think that's very ambitious. The main thing is; nine points clear of the play-off spot!
Dundalk, IMO, looked a poorer side than that of last year. Not the same hunger and no urgency to finish the game off. Horgan was brilliant and created problems for us all night though. As mentioned, they need to win their home games.
On a side note, what's the craic with the bar at Oriel? Are we allowed in or not? Some Derry fans (the ones in the stand) were allowed in, whilst the ones in the terrace weren't initially, then were. After leaving the bar, could hear the stewards arguing about it, they seemed quite annoyed that we were allowed in. Great banter in the bar at HT too, always enjoy the craic in Oriel.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/04/2016, 12:09 PM
Did Cork play 4-4-2 v Sligo? Noticed over the w/e that both Shephard and Maguire started, or was the former on the wing?
Is there any concern about the goals from Cork, 9 scored, but 6 were in one game, also note you have only scored 1 away in 3 games, then again it was a big win, but a penalty all the same.
Shepard played on the right wing.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/04/2016, 12:11 PM
We'll see but seeing as he kicked the ball away from the goals I don't see how it could be a clear goalscoring opportunity
El-Pietro
04/04/2016, 12:23 PM
I can't speak for anyone else, but no not really. I'm worried about how we have performed in two away games.
Summed up well there.
Was worried when Dundalk went one up so early, but they didn't really push on and go for it, which was pretty surprising.
With ourselves, thought we were alright. Held our shape well, which was going to be important, and limited the damage Dundalk were able to do. I'd say the first may have boring to watch as a neutral though.
Second half improved as a spectacle, though I don't think Shields sending off had much to do with it. The numerical advantage wasn't all that noticeable really. Disappointed that we didn't press on after our goal, but after our red card, we'd always have taken the point.
On Sutton, pretty awful performance. 13 yellows, with two reds. Some justified, but a lot of fouls given when there was really no call. It wasn't a dirty game, though Dundalk's diving (or going down easy, to be kind) didn't help matters. Was funny to see Gerard Doherty get booked for taking ages with a goal kick. He probably wasn't even trying to waste time, that's just usual for him. We'd be 1-0 down with two minutes to go and he'd still take an eternity.
We're doing well this season, much moreso than we expected. Shields is chatting about aiming for a European spot. I think that's very ambitious. The main thing is; nine points clear of the play-off spot!
Dundalk, IMO, looked a poorer side than that of last year. Not the same hunger and no urgency to finish the game off. Horgan was brilliant and created problems for us all night though. As mentioned, they need to win their home games.
On a side note, what's the craic with the bar at Oriel? Are we allowed in or not? Some Derry fans (the ones in the stand) were allowed in, whilst the ones in the terrace weren't initially, then were. After leaving the bar, could hear the stewards arguing about it, they seemed quite annoyed that we were allowed in. Great banter in the bar at HT too, always enjoy the craic in Oriel.
The general rule of thumb is, away fans going to the terrace do not gain entry to either of the two bars. For away fans going to the stand, depending on the match, they are sometimes allowed in pre match into the main bar, and at times, again depending on the game, to the upstairs bar at HT, it is rare though for any away fan to gain admission at HT.
Dundalk have not clicked into gear yet, that’s for sure, the only ‘2015’ type of performance has probably been the second half away to Pats. I think one of the reasons, apart from the obvious Towell leaving, is Kenny has yet to settle on his MF and wings, O’Donnell, Finn and Horgan are the only 3 from 5 who have started all 6 games. McEleney is only back from injury, Shields is going through his loss of form phase, Benson hasn’t started yet and might be a big player yet, right side is still between Mountney and Meenan. He has also been chopping and changing up front, so there is plenty of time for SK to fine tune his starting xi.
One thing is for sure, I don’t see any club winning the league by a big margin this season, if it is to be Dundalk & Cork as the 2 favourites, possibly Rovers not too far off, all 3 (or even a 4th) could be in contention going into the last month.
Ps I wouldn't be ruling Derry out of a euro spot as a target, no reason they can't challenge for this if their form continues, but very early days (for all clubs), we are barely into April.
04/04/2016, 6:10 PM
5 points dropped already is not the best start and below expectations. If other sides had dropped 5 home points they would worry due to the previous consistency of Dundalk's results even when playing below par. Sheils has done a decent job preseason, new players in and getting the basics spot on by not being pulled out of position and keeping shape, tough to break down especially when the team playing Derry isnt firing on all cylinders. A fit McEleney will be very important to us this season, as mentioned a settled and reasonably in form striker. Attack wise Horgan and Finn are carrying other players that havent hit the ground running. Expected with Gannon and his injury.