View Full Version : Top 3 pitches Bobby Charlton played on

harry crumb
12/01/2005, 9:37 PM
Bobby Charlton claims that the surface of Flower Lodge was one of the 3 best he has ever played on.

Its a pity the FAI lost it. But the GAA have made a good job of it.

Its easy to look back in hindsight but it was very short minded of them to sell it.

12/01/2005, 9:49 PM
Bobby Charlton claims that the surface of Flower Lodge was one of the 3 best he has ever played on.

Its easy to look back in hindsight but it was very short minded of them to sell it.

Where did the money go ??

12/01/2005, 10:41 PM
FAI never owned it

The AOH owed it and sold it to the GAA even though City offered more afaik

13/01/2005, 7:40 AM
The GAA paid £10,000 pounds more than the soccer "consortium" did. However, if given a chance, the soccer people would have upped the offer.

It's true that the pitch was fantastic. There were walls, about 4 feet high all around, and in this "box" the pitch was built on layers of sand, stones and coke.
Water drained away quickly through this so that the pitch was always in excellent condition.

jimhacker
13/01/2005, 8:10 AM

Where and when did Charlton say this - to my mind it is one of those silly myths that grow up around the game ........in my day it was Stanley Matthews who said this about the Lodge.

The G.A.A. have not made a good job of it - they have made a pig's ear of it and turned the place into a typical G.A.A weather beaten concrete/long grass excuse for a stadium.

Just because they have installed floodlights ( used , I think, 3/4 times a year) doesn't mean that they have done a good job on it.

13/01/2005, 8:14 AM
What do the G.A.A. use it for, does any particular club own it or is it used justfor certain games by the board?

I remember years ago watching the Ramblers play Sligo there in the semi final of the Cup, seemed massive then!

fosterdollar
13/01/2005, 8:48 AM
...the pitch was built on layers of ... and coke.
Is that what Robbie Fowler was trying to get at in Anfield that time? :D

13/01/2005, 10:13 AM
Is that what Robbie Fowler was trying to get at in Anfield that time? :D
I was waiting for those jokes to start....:)

Passive
13/01/2005, 10:47 AM

Yeah, I'd say Flower Lodge was way better than the pitches used by Europe's top clubs and the greatest international sides in the world. :rolleyes:

13/01/2005, 10:50 AM
Yeah, I'd say Flower Lodge was way better than the pitches used by Europe's top clubs and the greatest international sides in the world.
You bet it was.
A Damned Shame.

13/01/2005, 1:03 PM
What do the G.A.A. use it for, does any particular club own it or is it used justfor certain games by the board?

I remember years ago watching the Ramblers play Sligo there in the semi final of the Cup, seemed massive then!

It's a second ground for the county board after Pairc Ui Chaoimh. It's used very often for club championship games and most hurling and football National LEague games.

Since Pairc Ui Rinn has been used the pitch in Pairc Ui Chaoimh has improved an awful lot.

13/01/2005, 2:04 PM
Thanks for that Paudie.

rebelcorkbhoy
19/01/2005, 6:06 PM
passive your a funny man. well do ya know what rovers great pitch milltown reminds me of?
saipan- a f*cking car park

jimhacker
20/01/2005, 8:03 AM
Yeah, I'd say Flower Lodge was way better than the pitches used by Europe's top clubs and the greatest international sides in the world. :rolleyes:

No it wasn't !!

RedX
21/01/2005, 10:52 PM
In fairness to Miltown there was a great surface on that also...Tarmacam was it?..oh and i parked my car on it recently so there.. ;)

It was a shame that the Lodge was sold..at least the GAA kept it as a sporting arena unlike what would have happened if Owen O Callaghan bought it.. :(

anto eile
22/01/2005, 12:46 PM
It's true that the pitch was fantastic. There were walls, about 4 feet high all around, and in this "box" the pitch was built on layers of sand, stones and coke.
coke?? :confused:

22/01/2005, 8:10 PM
coke?? :confused:

yes a coal like substance only porous .

22/01/2005, 8:11 PM
Where did the money go ??

Well one of the directors of Cork Hibs at the time of their demise, owns a nice little venue in a place called Millstreet nowadays.

22/01/2005, 9:14 PM
Well one of the directors of Cork Hibs at the time of their demise, owns a nice little venue in a place called Millstreet nowadays.

When Cork Hinbs left football there was still a sizable amount of money (several thousand) in the bank in their name. this was still the case up until at least 15 years ago.

Hibs were a top team and their demise was a huge shock. Bacuzzi leaving didn't help but it would be the equivalent of Cork City going today.

Like another famous club that left before their time - Belfast Celtic their last game sof senior football were in the U.S. Hibs finished their stint in senior football with an 11 match tour of the U.S. going to coast to coast.

22/01/2005, 9:24 PM
Like another famous club that left before their time - Belfast Celtic their last game sof senior football were in the U.S. Hibs finished their stint in senior football with an 11 match tour of the U.S. going to coast to coast.

Yeah .... i read a good article on that in City Edition a few years back. If i can recall it was written by Rico (of course i could be totally wrong too)

That was my question, the AOL used to own it but were Hibs stoney broke or what ?? It came up recently in a convo/debate about fundraising/funds/profit and what is done with it when you compare Gah with foot.ie ..... interesting debate :rolleyes:

23/01/2005, 12:14 AM
Yeah .... i read a good article on that in City Edition a few years back. If i can recall it was written by Rico (of course i could be totally wrong too)

That was my question, the AOL used to own it but were Hibs stoney broke or what ?? It came up recently in a convo/debate about fundraising/funds/profit and what is done with it when you compare Gah with foot.ie ..... interesting debate :rolleyes:

Has anybody got a copy of the article, or know what programme it was in ?

Would be interesting to read it.

23/01/2005, 12:49 AM
Cant remember which one TBH ... maybe Joe or Donie Forde could help you out there, i rememeber it had info on the players that went over, the scores, travel arrangments, the mood and attitude in the Irish group.
Explains why so many questions were asked afterwards !!

jimhacker
24/01/2005, 10:25 AM
When Cork Hinbs left football there was still a sizable amount of money (several thousand) in the bank in their name. this was still the case up until at least 15 years ago.

Hibs were a top team and their demise was a huge shock. Bacuzzi leaving didn't help but it would be the equivalent of Cork City going today.

Yes, travel seems to be a bit dangerous for EL clubs.

When Cork Celtic went belly up, it emerged that they hadn't paid for their trip to Yeveran in the European Cup two years previously!

24/01/2005, 9:57 PM
Yes, travel seems to be a bit dangerous for EL clubs.

When Cork Celtic went belly up, it emerged that they hadn't paid for their trip to Yeveran in the European Cup two years previously!

Sorry Jim point of Information
COrk Celtic won the League in 1973/74 and played in Europe in 1974/75.
My lot only replaced them in 1979 so your timescale is a wee bit out.

sparkey
25/01/2005, 3:31 PM
FAI never owned it The AOH owed it and sold it to the GAA even though City offered more afaik
Who or what are the AOH? :confused:

25/01/2005, 3:38 PM
Who or what are the AOH? :confused:
Ancient Order of Hibernians? The guys who organise the Paddy's Day parade in America.

25/01/2005, 4:01 PM
The ground was paid for in the 1950's by the football public of Cork. There were door to door collections, fundraisers etc AOH used to have a team then and indeed played the opening match there in the F.A.I. Cup v Sligo in 1957. AOH had played in the cup earlier as well incl knocking out the holders Dundalk in 1950.

Hibs moved in 1962 (think I've got the year right here) from the Mardyke now a rugby ground but even hosted an International in its day to play there. The ground was held in trust and as per trust rules the trustees were entitled to sell it and do what they will with the proceeds. Legally entitled -morally they should have handed the ground over to the MFA or Cirk City. They did a deal and took the GAA's money rather than give Cork City a chance to buy it.

The Cork Celtic story is a new one on me and unlikely to betrue. they last played in Europe in 1974 yet didn't go out of football until 1979. Hibs left in 1976 with money in the bank and last played in Europe in 1973.

sparkey
25/01/2005, 4:02 PM
Thanks!

The Donie Forde
26/01/2005, 8:18 AM
Has anybody got a copy of the article, or know what programme it was in ?

Would be interesting to read it.

It was in one of the early issues last season (forget which 1 just now) - and NOT written by Rico, though he did come up with two articles on his days as boss at CCFC.

Donie

26/01/2005, 8:47 AM
From what I can tell the GAA have done feck all with the Lodge & anytime seen on tv looked like surface was wrecked.

The Lodge would have been great for city & good bit of space to improve the facilities.

jimhacker
26/01/2005, 3:24 PM
Sorry Jim point of Information
COrk Celtic won the League in 1973/74 and played in Europe in 1974/75.
My lot only replaced them in 1979 so your timescale is a wee bit out.

I recall Cork Alberts playing Dundalk in League Cup final at the Lodge I'm pretty sure in 1978 - and I'm fairly sure Celtic were gone by then! My time may be out but not by all that much!

Anyway, the point remains the same - travel and irish clubs can be a dangerous cocktail!

26/01/2005, 4:05 PM
I recall Cork Alberts playing Dundalk in League Cup final at the Lodge I'm pretty sure in 1978 - and I'm fairly sure Celtic were gone by then! My time may be out but not by all that much!

Anyway, the point remains the same - travel and irish clubs can be a dangerous cocktail!

Alberts played Dundalk over 2 legs in the 77/8 league Cup final.

I saw Celtic draw 0-0 with Limerick in January 1979 at Flower Lodge along with about 60 others. Celtic left the league at the end of 78/9 season. Alberts also left that season and Cork United and UCD joined the league for 79/80.

26/01/2005, 4:09 PM
To end the argument. From www.rsssf.com

Have to include 79/80 for reference but you might like to check the top of the league that season too. :D

1978-79
1.Dundalk 30 19 7 4 57-25 45
2.Bohemians 30 18 7 5 53-21 43
3.Drogheda United 30 17 6 7 60-40 42 [+2]
4.Waterford 30 17 8 5 48-32 42
5.Shamrock Rovers 30 17 3 10 45-25 37
6.Limerick 30 13 9 8 39-25 36 [+1]
7.Athlone Town 30 14 7 9 56-41 35
8.Finn Harps 30 15 6 9 56-41 34 [-2]
9.Home Farm 30 13 7 10 47-33 33
10.Sligo Rovers 30 9 7 14 35-40 25
11.Cork Alberts 30 7 9 14 35-49 23
12.Thurles Town 30 8 5 17 35-62 23 [+2]
13.Shelbourne 30 6 9 15 41-58 21
14.St.Patrick's Athletic 30 7 6 17 36-62 20
15.Galway Rovers 30 4 5 21 41-79 13
16.Cork Celtic 30 3 5 24 16-67 8 [-3]

NB: three matches (Drogheda 0-1 Finn Harps, Thurles 0-1 Cork Celtic
and Cork Celtic 0-0 Limerick) had points awarded (to Drogheda,
Thurles and Limerick) without G-D-L or goal records being changed.

1979-80
1.Limerick United 30 20 7 3 67-24 47
2.Dundalk 30 20 6 4 59-13 46
3.Athlone Town 30 16 7 7 60-24 39
4.Shamrock Rovers 30 14 10 6 61-29 38
5.Finn Harps 30 16 6 8 49-33 38
6.Bohemians 30 12 8 10 42-30 32
7.Waterford 30 8 15 7 38-33 31
8.Sligo Rovers 30 11 9 10 40-45 31
9.Drogheda United 30 6 16 8 36-41 28
10.Thurles Town 30 9 10 11 43-48 28
11.Galway Rovers 30 11 6 13 32-47 28
12.St.Patrick's Athletic 30 9 9 12 39-46 27
13.Home Farm 30 10 5 15 27-42 25
14.Cork United 30 6 4 20 22-56 16
15.University College Dublin 30 5 4 21 24-75 14
16.Shelbourne 30 3 6 21 30-83 12

Cork Alberts renamed Cork United.
University College Dublin elected to the league replacing Cork Celtic who went bust.

The Donie Forde
27/01/2005, 8:54 AM
Alberts played Dundalk over 2 legs in the 77/8 league Cup final.

I saw Celtic draw 0-0 with Limerick in January 1979 at Flower Lodge along with about 60 others. Celtic left the league at the end of 78/9 season. Alberts also left that season and Cork United and UCD joined the league for 79/80.

Pity I didn't know you in January 79, Gary - I was there too!

Alberts didn't leave the league as such, they changed their title to Cork United before being expelled at the end of 1981/82. They entered the league as Albert Rovers, changed name to Cork Alberts and again to Cork United. It was all the same club.

jimhacker may be slightly confusing himself: Alberts didn't replace Celtic - they replaced Hibs. Celtic and Alberts were in the league together for a few seasons...

Donie

jimhacker
27/01/2005, 11:20 AM
Thanks for all the above info lads.

That league cup final was a very good game and if i can test the old memory again, i think Alberts scored through Jimmy Nodwell and an absolute cracker from an interesting player called Jerry Finnegan.

27/01/2005, 11:49 AM
Pity I didn't know you in January 79, Gary - I was there too!

Alberts didn't leave the league as such, they changed their title to Cork United before being expelled at the end of 1981/82. They entered the league as Albert Rovers, changed name to Cork Alberts and again to Cork United. It was all the same club.

jimhacker may be slightly confusing himself: Alberts didn't replace Celtic - they replaced Hibs. Celtic and Alberts were in the league together for a few seasons...

Donie

Need to find the other 57 now "Donie" - my Dad was there too. Wednesday afternoon - horrible day. Game had been postponed from Christmas Eve if I remember rightly. I was absolutely gutted when it was called off. My Dad had to take me out of school and take a day off for the re-arranged game. Away games were a real novelty then - Galway, Thurles, Athlone, Waterford and Cork being the only practical ones and of course always the Cup games. Although I never got to any of the Cork albert(s) away games. We were back a year later to play Cork United and the Lodge was packed - thousands there but we were top of the league at the time and only drew 1-1.

I remember Albert Rovers changing to Cork Albert and then Cork Alberts - 3 seasons in the league and 3 names.

jimhacker
27/01/2005, 12:08 PM
Need to find the other 57 now "Donie" - my Dad was there too. Wednesday afternoon - horrible day. Game had been postponed from Christmas Eve if I remember rightly. I was absolutely gutted when it was called off. My Dad had to take me out of school and take a day off for the re-arranged game. Away games were a real novelty then - Galway, Thurles, Athlone, Waterford and Cork being the only practical ones and of course always the Cup games. Although I never got to any of the Cork albert(s) away games. We were back a year later to play Cork United and the Lodge was packed - thousands there but we were top of the league at the time and only drew 1-1.

I remember Albert Rovers changing to Cork Albert and then Cork Alberts - 3 seasons in the league and 3 names.

Thurles Town v Limerick cup match 1981 -took three games. Happy days!

27/01/2005, 1:00 PM
Thurles Town v Limerick cup match 1981 -took three games. Happy days!

3 in 1981 and 2 in 1979. we got there in the end in both cases.

Sad to see them go but they never had a chance in a GAA town. Clonmel or Tipperary Town would have been better bets to bring senior football to tipperary.

jimhacker
27/01/2005, 1:37 PM
3 in 1981 and 2 in 1979. we got there in the end in both cases.

Sad to see them go but they never had a chance in a GAA town. Clonmel or Tipperary Town would have been better bets to bring senior football to tipperary.

You barely made it (and with a good team) in 1981.

Yuo're right - TT never really had a chance but unlike some other sides they left the League with heads held high and nobody was owed any money.

Clonmel or Tipp Town -neither of them had the guts or the vision to try it.
If they were any good they would both at least be in the Munster Senior League.

27/01/2005, 2:03 PM
You barely made it (and with a good team) in 1981.

Yuo're right - TT never really had a chance but unlike some other sides they left the League with heads held high and nobody was owed any money.

Clonmel or Tipp Town -neither of them had the guts or the vision to try it.
If they were any good they would both at least be in the Munster Senior League.

We were lucky in the 2nd game in Thurles ok. We were reigning champions and still in the hunt for the title at the time but in decline. Lost in a replay at Kilcohan in the next round.

Went to all our league games there and crowds varied hugely. Thurles's last season - 81/2 we played there near the end and there was only a handful at the game.

I remember seeing Thurles play Stoke City in 1977 - Peter Shilton in goal. quite a few out from Limerick at that - lovely summers day Stoke won 6-0 if I remember rightly.

jimhacker
27/01/2005, 2:56 PM
We were lucky in the 2nd game in Thurles ok. We were reigning champions and still in the hunt for the title at the time but in decline. Lost in a replay at Kilcohan in the next round.

Went to all our league games there and crowds varied hugely. Thurles's last season - 81/2 we played there near the end and there was only a handful at the game.

I remember seeing Thurles play Stoke City in 1977 - Peter Shilton in goal. quite a few out from Limerick at that - lovely summers day Stoke won 6-0 if I remember rightly.

Yeah Shilton spent the night in Tom Brereton's pub!

Slight correction on the cup games - the second game was in markets Field with TT snatching a draw with 2 second half goals. If I remember rightly Kevin Fitzpatrick threw one in early in the second replay and we thought we were on our way but.........................

jimhacker
27/01/2005, 2:58 PM
Yeah Shilton spent the night in Tom Brereton's pub!

Slight correction on the cup games - the second game was in markets Field with TT snatching a draw with 2 second half goals. If I remember rightly Kevin Fitzpatrick threw one in early in the second replay and we thought we were on our way but.........................

On second thoughts .that may not be quite right! There were three games though!