View Full Version : What has the FAI ever done for the eL?
Can anyone come up with FAI positives for the eL?
Does the FAI give clubs any funding or is it all Government & Lottery?
Any technical courses?
Didn't they give some sort of merchandising course/presentation last year?
12/01/2005, 7:57 PM
I am not being funny here but so far i have come up with nothing .... nothing that the league couldn't do on its own or nothing that it hasn't done and off its own back too probably. If we got a list of five things they have done for the league we would be doing very well ... hard pushed to start it.
When I thought about it realised the FAI don't even give the eL money cos all comes from the government.
FAI probably needs the eL more as can't have international team with national league.
kevincronin2000
13/01/2005, 9:23 AM
If i am correct they took control of staging Cork City's home game versus Galatasaray at parc de plonk at a time when the club could'nt run a tap. (or a football club or stadium).
Clones Road Cas
13/01/2005, 9:28 AM
When I thought about it realised the FAI don't even give the eL money cos all comes from the government.
FAI probably needs the eL more as can't have international team with national league.
Not a big fan but the embaressment aside Im not sure thats true. dont Lichstenstein teams play in the Austrian League. Not sure but thought i read that somewhere, andorra and San Marino the same. Could be wrong though.
They did buy out a few grounds and bail out a few teams in financial difficulty.
Their ticketing allocation for el fans is pretty good.
The Regional technical people are good if the clubs work with them and the SFAI link is important as it raises the standard of youngsters coming into the league.
Aside from that though nothing direct comes to mind
Passive
13/01/2005, 11:24 AM
Some of the many things the FAI have done for us:
1. Not put money into football infrastructure.
2. Appoint as Life President the man who attempted to murder Ireland's leading club.
3. Divert monies away from the league and into junkets to Old Trafford.
4. Publically support an English side against and Irish side.
5. Delay the publication of fixture lists.
6. Encourage the mass deportation of young footballers to Britain.
7. Refuse to push for media coverage.
8. Issue a press release supporting Cork Celtic against NEC.
9. Refer to the Eircom League Premier Division as "the Premiership".
10. Generally refuse to even acknowledge the presence of the EL, placing sole focus on the international side and standing by while the EL dies a long, cruel death.
13/01/2005, 11:35 AM
4. Publically support an English side against and Irish side.
What is this?
13/01/2005, 11:52 AM
Not a big fan but the embaressment aside Im not sure thats true. dont Lichstenstein teams play in the Austrian League. Not sure but thought i read that somewhere, andorra and San Marino the same. Could be wrong though.
They did buy out a few grounds and bail out a few teams in financial difficulty.
Their ticketing allocation for el fans is pretty good.
The Regional technical people are good if the clubs work with them and the SFAI link is important as it raises the standard of youngsters coming into the league.
Aside from that though nothing direct comes to mind
It's not set-in-stone that you have to have a national senior league - hence why certain tiny nations get away with it - but your position within UEFA/FIFA is seriosuly weakened if you don't - particularly if you're already on or looking to get onto committees.
This, combined with the fact that the British clubs have a permanent rep on UEFA, meant that the FA of Wales made a pre-emptive move to set-up their own league in 1992. It was purely a defensive measure re their national team and their ability to get the rotating British chair (other nations rightly complain that it is an unfair anacronysm for British FA's to be permanently represented, so would seize any chance to knock one of them).
sullanefc
13/01/2005, 12:02 PM
All i know is that anytime a united ireland national team is mentioned, a united league is also mentioned and vice versa, because apparantly you can't have one without the other.
13/01/2005, 12:22 PM
All i know is that anytime a united ireland national team is mentioned, a united league is also mentioned and vice versa, because apparantly you can't have one without the other.
You could have an all-island team and keep 2 separate leagues - you can split a country up into as many leagues as you want really. The issue is whether you'd still have Euro slots for each league, which could be a struggle (though fortnuately it doesn't look like many more nations will appear in Europe to create pressure on this).
I'm sure UEFA/FIFA could be persuaded to accept an all-island league whilst keeping the separate national teams, or vice-versa, as part of the peace process. I think there'd be a very strong case to make here, if it was considered the way forward. Though over time I think even the staunchest of fans would find it a bit strange to have one league but 2 'national' teams.
13/01/2005, 12:29 PM
Don't Liechstenstein teams play in the Austrian League. Not sure but thought I read that somewhere, Andorra and San Marino the same.
FC Vaduz - Liechtenstein's biggest club team - play in the Swiss Division Two (ask the Longford fans! ;) ). Think the other Liechtenstein teams play in regional Swiss leagues. San Marino and Andorra have leagues of their own, though a team called San Marino lost in a play-off one of the Serie D leagues in Italy last year...
Passive
13/01/2005, 1:30 PM
What is this?
Liverpool were playing either UCD or Shels a few years ago and one of the Merrion Square brigade (think it was the President at the time) said, "well, I'm a Liverpool fan". NY Hoop would fill in the details if his workplace hadn't banned him from foot.ie :p
13/01/2005, 1:35 PM
I understand the current interim Chief Executive is/was a fervent member of the Tipperary Man Utd Supporters Club.
Only in Ireland :rolleyes:
padjoe
13/01/2005, 1:39 PM
FC Vaduz - Liechtenstein's biggest club team - play in the Swiss Division Two (ask the Longford fans! ;) ). Think the other Liechtenstein teams play in regional Swiss leagues. San Marino and Andorra have leagues of their own, though a team called San Marino lost in a play-off one of the Serie D leagues in Italy last year...
we know fc vaduz play in the swiss division two but can someone explain how they qualify for europe?
Passive
13/01/2005, 2:17 PM
I understand the current interim Chief Executive is/was a fervent member of the Tipperary Man Utd Supporters Club.
Unbelievable. And EL fans think it's great that they give us a few international tickets. :mad:
Lucifer is an Honourary Life President, ffs. :mad:
13/01/2005, 2:17 PM
we know fc vaduz play in the Swiss division two but can someone explain how they qualify for europe?
As winners of the Liechtenstein national Cup competition. That's why they're only ever in the UEFA Cup.
nothing. and why the clubs don't turn around and tell them where to go, I'll never know
Tipperary Man Utd Supporters Club.
How many other Tipperarys can there be around the world? :confused: :p
13/01/2005, 3:00 PM
Definitely a MU fanatic. From an article in Sunday Indo on 24 October:
At 37, Delaney, imbued with massive self-belief, resourcefulness and a will do get things done his way, has crammed more into his tender years than most. A millionaire Waterford-based businessmen, father of twins, lifelong devotee of Waterford United, Manchester United and the Kilkenny hurlers, he has worked assiduously to reach his position as the master mandarin in Merrion Square.
There is a good chance that as an FAI officer he has wangled his way to be the UEFA observer at MU's home CL games.
13/01/2005, 3:25 PM
Definitely a MU fanatic. From an article in Sunday Indo on 24 October:
At 37, Delaney, imbued with massive self-belief, resourcefulness and a will do get things done his way, has crammed more into his tender years than most. A millionaire Waterford-based businessmen, father of twins, lifelong devotee of Waterford United, Manchester United and the Kilkenny hurlers, he has worked assiduously to reach his position as the master mandarin in Merrion Square.
There is a good chance that as an FAI officer he has wangled his way to be the UEFA observer at MU's home CL games.
To be fair, it does state that he's a lifelong Waterford United fan as well.
Most fans of Irish teams are fans of football in general (Jaysus - you'd have to be to watch most of it !). As much as I dislike Irish people supporting English teams, it's not unusual for an EL fan to be an active supporter of a club like Man U or Celtic along with their own club. I would have more of a problem if he wasn't interested in any Irish team.
If, however, through his current position he broadcasts his interest in Man U more than Waterford, then that would be very wrong for the head of Irish football...
13/01/2005, 3:31 PM
Can Partizan or any of the Waaaaaaaaaaaaterfurd lads confirm how often he attends the RSC?
Ronnie
13/01/2005, 3:42 PM
Agreed, no problem with people supporting a foreign team, provided they don't contradict themselves and say they don't follow Irish soccer - like the fact that there were more Waterford people glued to the box to watch a English League match than attended Waterfords first cup final since 86!
13/01/2005, 4:02 PM
Maybe its just me being narrow minded but I have a problem with the Chairman of our domestic football association following a foreign domestic team.
In the same way I have a problem with the Taoiseach following a foreign domestic soccer team.
I believe its deeply unpatriotic, from individuals that are in public office and who should be setting an example to the country.
I've nothing against EL fans supporting English teams as well but I believe different standards should apply to public figures.
13/01/2005, 4:43 PM
..In the same way I have a problem with the Taoiseach following a foreign domestic soccer team...
Thought I read somewhere that Bertie was also a MU fan, not sure though.
harry crumb
13/01/2005, 6:07 PM
Milo Corcoran also supports Manchester United.
13/01/2005, 6:33 PM
Thought I read somewhere that Bertie was also a MU fan, not sure though.
Do you not remember his appearance on "The Premiership", drooling over the Reds
As for Milo, he is also a Waterford United fans and while I can't comment on Delaney I have seen Corcoran at numrous Waterford games in the Brandywell
13/01/2005, 8:41 PM
To be fair, it does state that he's a lifelong Waterford United fan as well.
I wonder could he name more than eight, no six of the current squad ??
I'd say not !! :(
13/01/2005, 8:48 PM
Do you not remember his appearance on "The Premiership", drooling over the Reds
Man of the people my B0LL0X !!
The guy is a príck !!
13/01/2005, 11:25 PM
Man of the people my B0LL0X !!
The guy is a príck !!
He presided over the squandering of the funds raised at Waterford United by their Share issue a few years back. :eek: