View Full Version : Limerick FC v Shelbourne - 2/4 - Markets Field
CraftyToePoke
29/03/2016, 3:48 AM
They put Drogheda away 3-0 last week and stuck 5 past Cabinteely in the cup game just before that also, so will they put it up to us Saturday more than others have managed to do ye think ?
And could we see a 2k attendance at a Div1 home game possibly for this one ?
thomas72
29/03/2016, 7:08 AM
I think they'll will have a bit more than the rest imo but I still think we will win the game
I'll go 3-1
NeverFeltBetter
01/04/2016, 9:35 PM
Club Twitter account says Aaron Greene is doubtful for tomorrow due to illness. Shaun Kelly carrying a knock too.
LK37oldskool
02/04/2016, 7:58 AM
Twitter saying Kelly trained all week and could be available for tonight.
02/04/2016, 10:22 AM
Club Twitter account says Aaron Greene is doubtful for tomorrow due to illness.
http://s3cf.recapguide.com/img/tv/117/9x6/The-Simpsons-Season-9-Episode-6-41-2395.jpg
NeverFeltBetter
02/04/2016, 11:39 PM
Jeez, following along on Livescore made it look like Limerick got really annoyed that Shelbourne had the temerity to score.
Averaging five goals a game in the league. I wonder if they can keep that going through the first series?
AlanOB
02/04/2016, 11:53 PM
Limerick's performance was complacent and error-strewn between the opener and Williams' winner, especially in the second half. The scoreline flattered them to a large extent.
Five minutes before the equaliser, Tracy missed an interception to let Lorcan Shannon through, who should have scored.
On such fine margins...
thomas72
03/04/2016, 7:00 AM
Definitely the best team we played in this league they were actually organised at the back as mad as it sounds scoring five 70mins iit was end to end.
No way a 5-1 scoreline
Market's Field
03/04/2016, 8:35 AM
Limerick's performance was complacent and error-strewn between the opener and Williams' winner, especially in the second half. The scoreline flattered them to a large extent.
Five minutes before the equaliser, Tracy missed an interception to let Lorcan Shannon through, who should have scored.
On such fine margins...
Agree that it was our poorest performance of the season to date and we were very sloppy for lots of the game. Disagree on the fine margins piece. Your argument might have some validity if the chance came after the equalizer. They may never have got their actual equalizer if they had scored that chance since we upped our game at 1-1. You could just as easily argue that it would have been game over after half an hour if Kenny hadn't missed his great chance.
03/04/2016, 9:40 AM
We controlled the entire first half without taking the chances on offer. Got a little complacent in the second and let them into the game for about a 10 minute spell and then like every other game we upped it again and took over. Lads Shels put up a fight but come on, we had one of our poorer performances and still managed to win 5-1. Can't please everyone I suppose. I certainly would not say it was fine margins to score 4 more goals than the opposition.
03/04/2016, 11:25 AM
We batter teams in the first half, then go to sleep in the second half and start to look sloppy at the back again. If and when they score, we wake up and go up a few gears and score. Our fitness is a massive factor late on also.
As LTID said to me on the bus to Athlone, it's easy to imagine us walking this division just because everybody else is so weak, then getting back into just the same trouble as last season in the premier, because we're still hopeless defensively, and we're not scoring 4 or 5 every game.
03/04/2016, 11:52 AM
You'd imagine if we go back to premier we could strengthen defensively though. Paudie will have another year of senior football under his belt, Kelly should be back at full fitness and we will have given some younger lads game time throughout this season. There is no real point in looking forward to next season and thinking if we have the same defense we could be in trouble because as we all know in the LOI there can be whole sale changes in squads. From what I can see at the moment there is no one in the premier I'd be terrified of us playing. A year from now we could be in a completely different situation.
I also think with us in so much control and with so little for our defense to have to do it is understandable to get complacent and when it's so open at the back due to attack it can always become at bit disjointed. I know id be pretty ****ed off if we were going 1 or 2 up in this league and then turning around, going more defensive and shutting out games when there is the chance to really push on and finish teams off. Higher risk, higher reward, at least for this season anyway.
AlanOB
03/04/2016, 11:56 AM
We controlled the entire first half without taking the chances on offer. Got a little complacent in the second and let them into the game for about a 10 minute spell and then like every other game we upped it again and took over. Lads Shels put up a fight but come on, we had one of our poorer performances and still managed to win 5-1. Can't please everyone I suppose. I certainly would not say it was fine margins to score 4 more goals than the opposition.
There were no chances on offer; Limerick's control was completely benign. Kenny and O'Flynn had half chances, but we created nothing clear-cut from the opener until O'Flynn put the game to bed in the 78th minute.
Williams' winner was a set-piece, which forced Shels to come out of their (very thick) shell and get caught on the break twice. Injury time penalty adds further gloss.
Setting aside the rose-tinted specs, one is forced to acknowledge that the scoreline is unreflective of what was a disappointing showing for the most part. Further, the individual errors committed by Tracy for the Shannon chance and Williams/Hall for the goal show that LTID and osarusan's bus conversation is one that has a lot of validity.
da bishop
03/04/2016, 1:01 PM
5-1..................for the most part it was what it is ........a stroll...so ......yawn.
03/04/2016, 1:31 PM
There were no chances on offer; Limerick's control was completely benign. Kenny and O'Flynn had half chances, but we created nothing clear-cut from the opener until O'Flynn put the game to bed in the 78th minute.
Williams' winner was a set-piece, which forced Shels to come out of their (very thick) shell and get caught on the break twice. Injury time penalty adds further gloss.
Setting aside the rose-tinted specs, one is forced to acknowledge that the scoreline is unreflective of what was a disappointing showing for the most part. Further, the individual errors committed by Tracy for the Shannon chance and Williams/Hall for the goal show that LTID and osarusan's bus conversation is one that has a lot of validity.
It doesn't matter what minute we put the game to bed, it was won comfortable while, as acknowledged by me above with no rose tinted glasses on, not playing very well. 3 points in the bag, +4 goals, time to move onto the next game. Defensive frailties against premier opposition a non point at the moment as we are playing in the first division.
blueblood
03/04/2016, 1:46 PM
[QUOTE=AlanOB;1864813]There were no chances on offer; Limerick's control was completely benign. Kenny and O'Flynn had half chances, but we created nothing clear-cut from the opener until O'Flynn put the game to bed in the 78th minute.
What!!! Limerick should have been at least 2 if not 3 up by half time, Shels never looked like scoring dispite all Halls attempts to help them!!!
Market's Field
03/04/2016, 1:50 PM
Kenny's chance was far more than a half chance. All he had to do was pass the ball into the net - he passed it wrong side of the post.
bluewhitearmy
03/04/2016, 5:04 PM
Win 5-1 to go 7 points clear and still some are unhappy. I don't get the point with mentioning Robbies goal was a set piece, is it a bad thing that we are very good from set pieces this season? No mention of the fact that Shels only actually scored from a howler from Freddy either.
While it would be great to play fantastic ball and be mistake free all the time it isn't possible so I'll settle for winning 5-1 on an off day. I wouldn't be worrying about next year at all yet either just enjoy whats happening at the moment plenty of time for worrying about what could be a weakness next season then the time is right.
04/04/2016, 9:03 AM
You'd imagine if we go back to premier we could strengthen defensively though. Paudie will have another year of senior football under his belt, Kelly should be back at full fitness and we will have given some younger lads game time throughout this season. There is no real point in looking forward to next season and thinking if we have the same defense we could be in trouble because as we all know in the LOI there can be whole sale changes in squads. From what I can see at the moment there is no one in the premier I'd be terrified of us playing. A year from now we could be in a completely different situation.
I also think with us in so much control and with so little for our defense to have to do it is understandable to get complacent and when it's so open at the back due to attack it can always become at bit disjointed. I know id be pretty ****ed off if we were going 1 or 2 up in this league and then turning around, going more defensive and shutting out games when there is the chance to really push on and finish teams off. Higher risk, higher reward, at least for this season anyway.
Yeah, that's all fair enough, and there isn't much point in worrying really.
Although I don't think that it really is a high risk high reward strategy. What I mean is that I don't think the goals we concede are an inevitable consequence of our attacking play - inevitable but acceptable because we will score more.
I think they are purely down to complacency and sloppiness rather than an attacking attitude, and I think we could tighten up the defense a lot more without losing any of the threat up front.
I would guess that Martin Russell is tearing his hair out at the way we switch off at times - even with all the goals and wins, it must be frustrating for him.
thomas72
04/04/2016, 11:16 AM
I know alot of people think the league is in the bag already but would I be right in saying a win against drogheda next week that could very well be more than enough to win this league after unbelievably 6 games a win see us go 10 pts clear of 2nd place drogheda imo that's to much already to make up looking at the lack of quality of teams in this league that they will be taking points off each other alot.
NeverFeltBetter
04/04/2016, 12:05 PM
It'd be 8 points if UCD won next weekend and Drogs lost.
Way too early to be talking like this league is won. One bad stretch of injuries and it could all go wrong.
04/04/2016, 9:19 PM
Yeah, that's all fair enough, and there isn't much point in worrying really.
Although I don't think that it really is a high risk high reward strategy. What I mean is that I don't think the goals we concede are an inevitable consequence of our attacking play - inevitable but acceptable because we will score more.
I think they are purely down to complacency and sloppiness rather than an attacking attitude, and I think we could tighten up the defense a lot more without losing any of the threat up front.
I would guess that Martin Russell is tearing his hair out at the way we switch off at times - even with all the goals and wins, it must be frustrating for him.
I would agree the goals conceded have been down to sloppiness and complacency and that's why I wouldn't be overly worried. What I mean is we are attacking so much and in so much control it can cause the back 4 to switch off a bit. Another season under the belt for Paudie, a chance to grow a bit as a player, win the league and keep a similar back 4 all season and I will be very happy. I wouldn't be looking much further than that.
NeverFeltBetter
04/04/2016, 10:59 PM
Goals: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xIOIjfmXaCg
Were Shels fans causing any trouble? Looks like game ended with a few stewards standing guard at the away stand, more than were there for Limerick's first goal at that end.
bluewhitearmy
04/04/2016, 11:21 PM
Were Shels fans causing any trouble? Looks like game ended with a few stewards standing guard at the away stand, more than were there for Limerick's first goal at that end.
Few of em had a little pitch invasion after they equalised, quite embarrassing for em with the final score I would imagine.
NeverFeltBetter
04/04/2016, 11:31 PM
That sounds mortifying.
bluewhitearmy
04/04/2016, 11:49 PM
That sounds mortifying.
You can see it on the video of the second half on Shels facebook page.
05/04/2016, 1:29 AM
Way too early to be talking like this league is won. One bad stretch of injuries and it could all go wrong.
It would take a dream team style yacht disaster/hostage situation for that bad of a stretch.
Even if Lee Lynch, Shane Duggan and Aaron Greene were all killed in some kind of hot air balloon accident we'd still have Kelly, Sharkey, Williams, Tracy, O'Connor, Mullhall, O'Flynn etc to call upon.
The League is won. I'm going to enjoy the year, we've had enough bad ones.
Can actually see circumstance where we could lose this Friday on that tiny, nasty, little pitch. I hope we don't, because I'd like to see us win all our first series of games but even if we do, will it matter in the long run? Nope.
It's not that teams don't know how to defend against us. It's that at this level, on most nights, they re just going to be incapable of defending against us. Because they are not fit enough and they are not good enough.
Shels came down and put ten behind the ball. We were shocking for most of the game. And we won 5 - 1.
That sounds mortifying.
In a way I feel sorry for them. Mam and Dad gave them a few quid for a day out. They put on their nice Christmas clothes and got their gold glitter pens. Probably after having a load of fizzy drink and sweets on the bus down. It's kind of understandable that they got a bit over excited.
But, as I said on the main page, for the rest of their lives they will have to live with the stigma of having invaded a pitch in celebration in a game that they lost 5 - 1. Dancing around like Torquay fans celebrating a goal against Barcelona. THEY INVADED THE PITCH CELEBRATING IN A MATCH THEY LOST 5 - 1.
Having said that, let's assume some of those kids grow up to have kids of their own someday. And they bring their kids along to watch shels playing in the Leinster Senior League. Eventually the child is going to look up one day and ask their Daddy: "Daddy, what did you do in the Markets Field?". And will any of them be able to look their own kid in the eye? It's the type of thing that could ruin a father son relationship I'd imagine. Tragic, tragic stuff. So while they should never be allowed to forget it, I think human decency means we shouldn't make too big a deal about it. So many ruined lives. :bad:
thomas72
05/04/2016, 7:13 AM
They wrecked two pubs before the match mclysaghts and o deas seems now there is conflicting reports on what happened in o deas Limerick supporter who was in there told me one thing BWA says that never happened. When the match started they racially abused Freddie hall another Limerick fan has commented on that on facebook on Limerick page its under paudie interview he also complained to the club about it. It was pointed out to the linesman by Limerick supporters on the popular side he said he heard it.
If ref has it in his report is another thing.
05/04/2016, 9:06 PM
Also, can somebody, somebody, anybody tell the announcer to shut his mouth every once in a while.
"Lets make some nooooooooise".
Jesus christ, it's like he simply not allow any silence at half-time - it has to be an incessant stream of him repeatedly announcing any bloody thing that he sees at all.
thomas72
05/04/2016, 9:46 PM
Also, can somebody, somebody, anybody tell the announcer to shut his mouth every once in a while.
"Lets make some nooooooooise".
Jesus christ, it's like he simply not allow any silence at half-time - it has to be an incessant stream of him repeatedly announcing any bloody thing that he sees at all.
Why is it so loud thou 😨😨
06/04/2016, 10:51 PM
Ladies....and gentlemen. ..........tonights official attendance........between the superblues.......Limerick fc and shelbourne......is one thousand.....three hundred and sixty.
We again would like to thank you for your continued support. Lets here some noise.....ooooo oooohhh ooooo etc etc.
He really needs to shut the fupp up
CraftyToePoke
06/04/2016, 10:58 PM
Ah Jaysus Gael, they day you come on here and say something positive, I will worry your are sick, or something :)