Barrett

Myler
Dessie

12/01/2005, 1:33 PM
On the current squad, I'd agree.

12/01/2005, 2:11 PM
We'll have Gary Cronin as an option for the left too and more than likely at least one central midfielder, possibly two

Sonic
13/01/2005, 12:11 PM
Digger,

Dillo
Barry
O'Connor
Prunty

Kirby
Deano
Martin
Barrett

Myler
Dessie

No Lavine surprise surprise there xlex :rolleyes:

Xlex
13/01/2005, 2:06 PM
suggest your 11 then Sonic. Believe it or not, it is a close call between Lavine and Baker... Myler is a good pro who knows where the net is. He works hard and is a clever footballer, something I believe Lavine isn't.:p

So would you put Myler on the bench?

town73
13/01/2005, 2:09 PM
Stephen Paisley should start the season at centre half.

Xlex
13/01/2005, 2:13 PM
I forgot about Paiso. When you think about it, there is going to be some competition for places. Manager must have plans for O'Connor and Myler all the same... Perhaps it might prove hard to hold on to Barry next season and maybe it's preparation. The Drogs don't hold these lads in such respect for no reason. There's a real sence of loss there.

observer
13/01/2005, 2:31 PM
Looks like ye are all consigning Eric to the bence for the season.
Whilst conceding Mylers scoring record in the past the quality of ball being provided to the front runners needs to be improved considerably on recent seasons for him to prosper. Remember much of his success is from penalties and free kicks and I feel he may be slowing up a bit in general play.
Then again supposing the quality of ball improved and Eric was playing would he not score more goals?
Also perhaps the worst penalty taker in the history of the league might decide to let someone else have a go! Nah that would never happen as Alan is happy with a 50% return from the spot.

Xlex
13/01/2005, 3:05 PM
the quality of ball being provided to the front runners needs to be improved considerably on recent seasons for him to prosper. Remember much of his success is from penalties and free kicks and I feel he may be slowing up a bit in general play.

Agree 110% with you there and on the penalty takers. And any striker would prosper if we played to feet. Myler has the skill to play that game. Still, couldn't be looking forward to a season more.

13/01/2005, 3:52 PM
delighted with the signings about time too! davy byrne has being linked with us with tom mohan and if these guys come we will have some squad for next season!

i assume myler will take the setpieces outside the box like last seasons effort in the last game of the season!

we will be hard to beat again next season!

13/01/2005, 4:48 PM
Digger,

Dillo
Barry
O'Connor
Prunty

Kirby
Deano
Martin
Barrett

Myler
Dessie

No Spud Murphy??

town73
13/01/2005, 5:21 PM
No Spud Murphy??

Instead of who?

13/01/2005, 10:09 PM
Nah that would never happen as Alan is happy with a 50% return from the spot.

Why have a go at Alan ffs, as far as I know Barry is captain and put himself forward on the pitch,not a conscious managerial decision, how many penos did we get last year, one I think, did Barry take it? no..

observer
14/01/2005, 11:48 AM
If you were manager of a team and the captain insisted on taking the penalties, half of which he missed, would you not replace him as penalty taker? I thought Barry missed two last year (one in the pre season) but maybe I am wrong. Anyway the main point I wanted to make was that comparing strikers who take penalty's and those who don't is a bit unfair. The original idea was not to have a cut at Alan but now that you mention it Longfordian yes I blame him 100% for allowing Barry continue as penalty taker after he missed in both a League Cup Final and an FAI cup final.

14/01/2005, 12:50 PM
I can see your point alright but as far as i know he told him he wasnt taking them any more, perhaps he should have told him more forcefully but what was he going to do, run on the pitch and grab the ball off him? I'd rather see someone else taking them too though to be honest, and I forgot that he'd also missed one in Athlone this season in the league cup, we only got two penos all season, we got one in pre-season as well which he scored. Either way there's more important things going on..

14/01/2005, 3:32 PM
didnt vinny score from a peno against cork last season? :)

Sonic
14/01/2005, 6:48 PM
Myler is a good pro who knows where the net is. He works hard and is a clever footballer, something I believe Lavine isn't.:p

So would you put Myler on the bench?

lavine is not a clever footballer dont make me laugh xlex :) too late

and to your second question yes i would have him on the bench well actually i wouldnt have bought him but that is another matter altogether.

anyway my team from the current squad:

Digger
Dillo
Ferguson
0 Connor
Paisley
Kirby
Martin
Fitzgerald
Prunty
Lavine
Baker

and yes cosmo no spud ;)

I must admit that i am happy to get o connor as i rate him better than Gartland.another thing xlex if matthews was to play myler it would baker that should be dropped because at least with eric he will give 100% baker doesnt.also if your claim that myler is an out and out goalscorer(minus penos and free kicks) then eric would be a perfect foil for him.Another thing that strikes me about the above posts is the absence of Shane Barrett.remember it is only two seasons ago he was one of cup heros.also worth noting is the fact he was on the left for three quarters of the season which i never liked he is an option up front.I still think we are two signings short of the finished article yet martinho.

briano
14/01/2005, 8:53 PM
hang on a second, dessie works as hard as anyone else and has the class to go with it, as good as eric may be, dessie is a lot fitter, works a lot harder and also has a lot more natural ability to go with it. he also keeps his head down and although is a flare player he never expects to be treated any different to any of the other players, his goal scoring record last season alone would put him ahead of eric. another thing, as happy as i am to c o'connor come in, who is a top player, he's still a a long way off gartland, and paisley fot that matter.

Flea
14/01/2005, 9:21 PM
hang on a second, dessie works as hard as anyone else and has the class to go with it, as good as eric may be, dessie is a lot fitter, works a lot harder and also has a lot more natural ability to go with it. he also keeps his head down and although is a flare player he never expects to be treated any different to any of the other players, his goal scoring record last season alone would put him ahead of eric. another thing, as happy as i am to c o'connor come in, who is a top player, he's still a a long way off gartland, and paisley fot that matter.This post is one of the worst I've ever seen :D . I've been reading all the posts and peeps shouldn't be slagging off Matthews :mad: . But also Eric :mad:. Dessie Baker is lazy, his work rate is bout 40% of the rest of the team. Myler and Lavine or Myler and Barrett.Secondly I dunno where you heard keeping your head down is the way to go! "Keep it up you muppet" is the saying I would think my dear boy, spiffing good.Thirdly more abiltiy than Eric- Eric is past his best, I'll admit that, when Eric was in his prime for Galway his pace and ball control were second to none.He now has huge experience.Fourthly, Dessie head is a fooking zepplin balloon unlike Eric's ambitious mature head :rolleyes: . Fifthly, your some biy, I doubt Alan even how good Paiso is considering hes played a handful of games as he has benn hampered through injury etc. :rolleyes:

briano
14/01/2005, 11:18 PM
you call yourself a fan?? how can you call one of your players a useless prik... it doesnt make sense.I never slagged off eric i just pointed out that dessie was a better team player and probably scored more goals in a season than eric has since he's been at the club... which is what they are payed to do...am i wrong??and i never slagged off matthews either... plus why are you sayin how good eric was at galway thats no good to longford town is it.. and if we're gettin into that dessie was class at shels... he's won everythin in the league and is the most succesful player at longford with a world cup medal to boot!!!!!!!

Flea
14/01/2005, 11:32 PM
you call yourself a fan?? how can you call one of your players a useless prik... it doesnt make sense.I never slagged off eric i just pointed out that dessie was a better team player and probably scored more goals in a season than eric has since he's been at the club... which is what they are payed to do...am i wrong??and i never slagged off matthews either... plus why are you sayin how good eric was at galway thats no good to longford town is it.. and if we're gettin into that dessie was class at shels... he's won everythin in the league and is the most succesful player at longford with a world cup medal to boot!!!!!!!
Oh I'm such a useless fan looking out for the benefit of the club condemning timewasters :rolleyes: For the record are you a sunshine boy. I don't know why everyone is so eager to lose Eric, Vinny who next Digger. If you read the post I do not accuse you of slagging Matthews.If you read the post you will see that I am comparing like with like- Eric in his primeat Galway to Dessie in his prime now. Finally, yes you are entitled to think that Dessie is a better player but Eric is not paid to score goals he is paid to play the best he can. Some people are so narrowminded they can't see his excellent play, "Oh hes not scoring", how many clear cut chances did he get last season? Even with Galway he wasn't a natural finisher, as for Dessie you said it pal, he done it all with Shels and thats where his ambitions lie, to get back there. :)

briano
14/01/2005, 11:45 PM
well if you compare dessie in his prime to eric dessie wins hands down his record speaks for itself... and sorry hes a centre forward and they are suppose to chip in with the odd goal here and there you know... plus dessie set up some many goals aswell in all round play hes better than eric(IMO) and i wouldnt wanna get rid of digger or vinny those lads wouldnt go off and paly in a big five a side competition half way through the season like eric did and then get the hump when hes was fined for it... to mention eric in the same sentence as vinny and digger is an insult to what those two have done for longford... i like eric but im a realist and he looks after number 1 but thats football and thats life

Flea
14/01/2005, 11:54 PM
well if you compare dessie in his prime to eric dessie wins hands down his record speaks for itself... plus dessie set up some many goals aswell in all round play hes better than eric(IMO) and i wouldnt wanna get rid of digger or vinny those lads wouldnt go off and paly in a big five a side competition half way through the season like eric did and then get the hump when hes was fined for it... to mention eric in the same sentence as vinny and digger is an insult to what those two have done for longford... i like eric but im a realist and he looks after number 1 but thats football and thats life
A sure you know best, sure Eric only saved the club.Yeah hes looking after no.1, that must be why Dessie is playing voluntarily then :rolleyes:

and sorry hes a centre forward and they are suppose to chip in with the odd goal here and there you know... A hint give up the Championship manager its impairing your views, and stop asking the coaches on the game for their opinion on Eric- he has progressed at the the club at an acceptable rate...

14/01/2005, 11:56 PM
This post is one of the worst I've ever seen :D . I've been reading all the posts and peeps shouldn't be slagging off Matthews :mad: . But also Eric :mad:. Dessie Baker is a useless prik, his work rate is bout 40% of the rest of the team. Myler and Lavine or Myler and Barrett.Secondly I dunno where you heard keeping your head down is the way to go! "Keep it up you muppet" is the saying I would think my dear boy, spiffing good.Thirdly more abiltiy than Eric- Eric is past his best, I'll admit that, when Eric was in his prime for Galway his pace and ball control were second to none.He now has huge experience.Fourthly, Dessie head is a fooking zepplin balloon unlike Eric's ambitious mature head :rolleyes: . Fifthly, your some biy, I doubt Alan even how good Paiso is considering hes played a handful of games as he has benn hampered through injury etc. :rolleyes:

if your gonna say things like that about our players have the balls to use your own name and not hide behind some user name. and btw have you ever had a chat with alan about his squad, bceuase if you had ur unique as he doesn't go around talking about his players......

btw how do you know what mylers work rate is within our team if he has never played for us.

Flea
15/01/2005, 12:02 AM
I take back what I said about Dessie.Sorry Dessie :( It was out of order. I do stand by the idea though that his workrate is bad and I would like to think Eric is due more from the team and particularly the fans. He shouldn't be brushed off like he is trying to be. I never referred to Myler's workrate :confused:

15/01/2005, 12:10 AM
I take back what I said about Dessie.Sorry Dessie :( It was out of order. I do stand by the idea though that his workrate is bad and I would like to think Eric is due more from the team and particularly the fans. He shouldn't be brushed off like he is trying to be. I never referred to Myler's workrate :confused:

eric wasn't the most model player last season, and others can back that up. remember the 5 a side in galway......

from europe onwards eric was a changed man, but he still took half a seasons wages and give us no return at all......

dessie is eh unique, thats the best way to put it and when he is on his game he is amazing, but he has his lulls and he needs a kick in the bottom sometimes as well.

Flea
15/01/2005, 12:15 AM
eric wasn't the most model player last season, and others can back that up. remember the 5 a side in galway......

from europe onwards eric was a changed man, but he still took half a seasons wages and give us no return at all......

dessie is eh unique, thats the best way to put it and when he is on his game he is amazing, but he has his lulls and he needs a kick in the bottom sometimes as well.Yes thats the best way of describing Dessie, as for Eric, one mistake tars his entire history with the club. Nobodys perfect, but it didn't go to the extremes of somebody named Avery John ;)

15/01/2005, 12:20 AM
Yes thats the best way of describing Dessie, as for Eric, one mistake tars his entire history with the club. Nobodys perfect, but it didn't go to the extremes of somebody named Avery John ;)

no he didn't and i'm goin to air the dirty laundry here, i have much respect for eric as he made a few mistakes but came back a better player ( for his age ) and i hope to see him up front next season

Flea
15/01/2005, 12:22 AM
no he didn't and i'm goin to air the dirty laundry here, i have much respect for eric as he made a few mistakes but came back a better player ( for his age ) and i hope to see him up front next season
Here here :)

15/01/2005, 1:00 AM
No Spud Murphy??
But...Alan Murphy?!?! He's sh!te!! :D

Sorry. Very long-running joke!

Nice to Johnny Martin getting in the team anyways. Good hardworking player, but of ability too. Makes a change from seeing players go downhill after leaving UCD too.

15/01/2005, 1:11 AM
how will mr finn do in his new home ???

15/01/2005, 1:22 AM
how will mr finn do in his new home ???
That is like soooooooo 2004! :)

We'll get over it. Like we've goten over losing other players...

15/01/2005, 2:02 AM
Jaysus lads, looks like ye had a lively night on here.. The way I judge Myler and O'Conor on first impression is that the Drogs fans did not want to lose either of them at all and have the height of respect for both of them, Gary Cronin too which is a good sign. It remains to be seen just how good they are for us but im willing to be optimistic about their chances..

As for whether O'Connor is better than Gartland or Paisley, I haven't seen enough of him to make a proper judgment but he is very highly rated by a lot of people so we'll be hopeful he can replace Gartland adequately, and he does need replacing. I believe we are talking to or have talked to two central midfielders which if they come would give the squad a very strong look to it, all in all I'd be optimistic about doing well next season, 10/1 for the Carlos Santana Cup looks like a good flutter to me :)

Sonic
15/01/2005, 1:28 PM
dessie is eh unique, thats the best way to put it and when he is on his game he is amazing, but he has his lulls and he needs a kick in the bottom sometimes as well.

i will echo cop ons sentiments earlier on this board living off his hat trick :ball:

briano
15/01/2005, 1:54 PM
every player goes through lulls thats football plus its more likely that part time players go through more lulls than full time player and maybe dessie is not use to bein part time.... plus we know dessie is capable of great play and not bein disrespectable to longford but if he was to produce this all the time he'd probably still be at man u let alone shels or de town....the players had a great year last year but when a players form dips thats when its up to the rest of the team to cover in for them and thats what they did... thats what makes a great team gentlemen.....

15/01/2005, 2:07 PM
Dessie is way too lazy. If you ever just watch the difference between him and Eric for about 10 mins and you will see a huge difference in work rate.

Anyway, My team would be:

Digger
Dillo, Baz, Daz ;), Prunts
Martin, Deano, Kirbs, Barrett/Cronin
Myler, Eric/Barrett

Sonic
15/01/2005, 6:17 PM
[QUOTE=briano] man u[/ QUOTE]

are they from rooskey :rolleyes:

Sonic
15/01/2005, 6:24 PM
i like eric but im a realist and he looks after number 1 but thats football and thats life

just look at the 34th minute of memories and heroes and you will find who eric is looking after briano

Albert
17/01/2005, 9:45 AM
Desssie amy need a kick sometimes, but has a huge amount of natural talent, and to be honest i think many people have been unfair to him. Yes he has had lulls but I think his goals (from some poor enough service) prove that the good moments and the good performances far outweighed the bad and anyone that wouldnt have Dessie in the team is leaving out the one player who can really unlock any defence in the league, a guy cant be on his game every single match and I would love to see him more consistent, but like I say he has had more good performances than bad, he was top scorer, and it would be a crime to leave our team without someone of his ability. To be honest Ive never seen anything from him to suggest that he doesnt care about the club or the fans, in fact id say the opposite after some of his celebrations

Sonic
17/01/2005, 12:01 PM
Desssie amy need a kick sometimes, but has a huge amount of natural talent, and to be honest i think many people have been unfair to him. Yes he has had lulls but I think his goals (from some poor enough service) prove that the good moments and the good performances far outweighed the bad and anyone that wouldnt have Dessie in the team is leaving out the one player who can really unlock any defence in the league, a guy cant be on his game every single match and I would love to see him more consistent, but like I say he has had more good performances than bad, he was top scorer, and it would be a crime to leave our team without someone of his ability. To be honest Ive never seen anything from him to suggest that he doesnt care about the club or the fans, in fact id say the opposite after some of his celebrations

In fairness albert would you not celebrate no matter who you were playing with if you scored a goal from 30 yards

Albert
17/01/2005, 12:41 PM
well I enjoy his salutes to the fans even after the match even if he hasnt scored. and if he can score from 30 yds, all the more reason to play him

18/01/2005, 9:58 AM
Looks like ye are all consigning Eric to the bence for the season.
Ignoring the bitch fest, Avril should be consigned to a different club imo. Too often over recent seasons he's had attitude problems both on and off the pitch - how many second chances does he deserve?

Sonic
22/01/2005, 4:27 PM
Yep Mace, you got it in one. Can't help it, but still thinkin' 'bout that 30 grand offer from Derry ..................... :mad: :(

again you show yur limited knowledge of football and fail to see the impact eric has on our team but i suppose you are intitled to your opinion no matter how wrong it is ;)

Dillo
22/01/2005, 11:41 PM
Have to agree with you there Sonic. Say what you like about Eric Lavine but in my view he surely ranks as our greatest ever signing. Since his arrival from Galway Utd, his contributions to LTFC have been outstanding. He has scored some hugely important and breathtaking goals and has worked his socks off on occassions when others just dropped the heads. One could say he maintained Town's Premier Division status on his own that season under 'Jose Lawlor' and his wonderstrike that night in Ballybofey will be remembered by Town fans for manys the day. There's no doubting he's had his problems (some self-inflicted) and it hasn't all been plain sailing for our dreadlocks dinamo. But at the end of the day (as Dave O' Leary so often says!) one must have the utmost respect and deepest gratitude for King Eric, our Barbados international who has done more than most for the Longford Town cause. God Bless you Eric.

TheJamaicanP.M.
23/01/2005, 2:09 PM
Agree wholeheartedly with you Dillo. He's done so much for Longford Town. What would the girls of Longford Town do without him?! It is generally recognised that Ireland's participation in the World Cup finals can bring about a baby boom. In a similar way, Eric's arrival to the midlands has generated a baby boom. Thanks for everything Eric. :D

23/01/2005, 2:21 PM
What is it with you two, do ye ever disagree about anything? :D ..Any post from Dillo will be followed with an 'I agree with Dillo' post from the PM, or vice versa if the PM posts originally, nothing wrong with it really if that's the way ye want it but it is kind of curious, and has led to accusations of ye being the same person in the past..As I say (slipping into Dave O'Leary mode there), it's kind of strange, like they say if two people agree on everything there's only one fecker thinking..

On the subject of Lavine, he wouldn't go anywhere at this stage anyway and there'd be no stampede to sign him so he'll be around for next year, whether that's his last hurrah with Longford we'll see but he'd be 35 by the time the following season started, though if you asked him he'd deny it :p

24/01/2005, 8:48 AM
Sure sign back Holt, on a life contract, as his free got us into the play off's that year :rolleyes:

It says a lot, that his defenders can only point back to 2001. ffs, do the maths.

Sonic
24/01/2005, 4:30 PM
im pointing to erics constribution since he came macy and the effort and workrate he has put in since then has been second to none.-Do the maths :ball:

Sonic
24/01/2005, 4:33 PM
What is it with you two, do ye ever disagree about anything? :D ..Any post from Dillo will be followed with an 'I agree with Dillo' post from the PM, or vice versa if the PM posts originally, nothing wrong with it really if that's the way ye want it but it is kind of curious, and has led to accusations of ye being the same person in the past..As I say (slipping into Dave O'Leary mode there), it's kind of strange, like they say if two people agree on everything there's only one fecker thinking..

On the subject of Lavine, he wouldn't go anywhere at this stage anyway and there'd be no stampede to sign him so he'll be around for next year, whether that's his last hurrah with Longford we'll see but he'd be 35 by the time the following season started, though if you asked him he'd deny it :p

i think its more you cant belive more than two people disagree with you longfordian :D :mad:

24/01/2005, 4:47 PM
Where exactly in that post did I say anything about disagreeing with me? I said they agree with each other, doesn't necessarily mean they disagree with me, the two aren't mutually exclusive.. :rolleyes: ...Sure at least 50% of people on here disagree with me most of the time and it'd be a pretty boring site if they didn't, just like it'd be hell if everyone agreed with you :D :mad: as you'd say yourself