View Full Version : How Many Goals Will First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC Score This Season
20/03/2016, 1:19 AM
After tonights exhibition game against cobh a lot of the talk was around how many goals First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC will score during their footballing showcase this season.
Just to clarify after three games First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC have scored 15 (FIFTEEN) goals.
At the moment the smart money seems to be around the 140 to 160 range. There have been a few cocky people around the 170 to 200.
Me personally? I think that over the course of the season there will be some weeks where we purposely don't bother playing so as to make the rest of the division look good. First Division Champions 2016 Limericks FC need a strong league every bit as much as the league needs a strong First Division Champions 2016 Limericks FC. It would be remiss of us to render nearly half the clubs in the league completely irrelevant.
As a result I'm going for 108.
How many goals does everyone else think First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC will score?
20/03/2016, 1:35 AM
I think you'll get stuck on 15, personally.
Ezeikial
20/03/2016, 7:53 AM
How many goals does everyone else think First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC will score?
Include or exclude those scored in matches where you had points deducted(*) ?
(*) Fielding illegal players / breaking 65% rule / being excessively arrogant a$$holes
PartySaint
20/03/2016, 9:10 AM
/ being excessively arrogant a$$holes
Well if Dundalk haven't been deducted points for this one, no one will.
I'm going to go with 167 with 40 of them coming against Shels.
LK37oldskool
20/03/2016, 10:31 AM
being excessively arrogant a$$holes[/QUOTE]
Pot and kettle comes to mind with that comment.
MattB11
20/03/2016, 10:54 AM
We only managed 42 last season, BJ Banda scored a great one in the Play Offs though
CraftyToePoke
21/03/2016, 1:13 AM
being excessively arrogant a$$holes
Where, when ? :)
Anyway, as I indirectly said in the 18/19th thread, this final total could well boil down to if or not Div 1 opponents of Limericks remaining 2016 promotion parade annoy us by trying to score consolation goals or not. As Waterford & Cobh found out, this is not smart. It only leads to more Limerick goals.
Its a variable making a present final goal tally prediction very difficult.
Just keep it under the 78 mark... it took us over 80 years to break the previous record.
21/03/2016, 10:42 AM
A follow-up - not entirely jokey - question is: will any team other than Limerick have a positive goal difference at the end of the season?
thomas72
21/03/2016, 12:21 PM
Limerick have probably a midtable premier team maybe just above that
There also full time compare to other teams in division one from 60 70mins on iv noticed in just 3 games fitness is a major telling factor Limerick were just 1up v cobh after 60mins cobh started to run out of steam while Limerick kept going until 90mins and scored another 5.
So I expect Limerick to run up a huge goal difference between there extra quality and fitness.
disgruntled
22/03/2016, 9:04 AM
After tonights exhibition game against cobh a lot of the talk was around how many goals First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC will score during their footballing showcase this season.
Just to clarify after three games First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC have scored 15 (FIFTEEN) goals.
At the moment the smart money seems to be around the 140 to 160 range. There have been a few cocky people around the 170 to 200.
Me personally? I think that over the course of the season there will be some weeks where we purposely don't bother playing so as to make the rest of the division look good. First Division Champions 2016 Limericks FC need a strong league every bit as much as the league needs a strong First Division Champions 2016 Limericks FC. It would be remiss of us to render nearly half the clubs in the league completely irrelevant.
As a result I'm going for 108.
I think Limerick will get a lot more goals than you got last year & a lot more goals than you will get next year when you are relegation fodder once again in the Premier div. Perhaps you should save some of your goals for when you are playing with the big boys once again :)
22/03/2016, 10:50 AM
No they haven't. Certainly not "above" midtable anyway
joey B
22/03/2016, 10:59 AM
You wouldn't have ran up them scores against Wexford or Harps last season .
UCD seemed too have regressed alot aswell Benson was a massive loss to them.
22/03/2016, 11:17 AM
In fairness, our result against Limerick was at least in part down to being down to ten men for 60+ minutes.
Benson's a loss of course. We'll probably end up like last season - picking up form as the season goes on. Remember we got three points from the first four games last year, and got knocked out of the League Cup First Round by Cabo.
22/03/2016, 11:33 AM
I've always thought UCD to be slow starters with the turnover of players. I expected them to get stronger as the season goes on.
22/03/2016, 2:44 PM
UCD always get better after exams are done (that sounds like a joke but it's true). A couple of the squad are still in secondary school.
22/03/2016, 4:47 PM
The Limerick Globetrotters should be giving teams a two or three goals headstart really. Maybe start taking players off and not replacing them or putting lads in goals if they're scoring too many.
placid casual
22/03/2016, 6:50 PM
What are the odds that Limericks is season will go t!TS up amid internecine rivalries, and UCD will win the 1st division instead.
blueblood
23/03/2016, 11:02 AM
What are the odds that Limericks is season will go t!TS up amid internecine rivalries, and UCD will win the 1st division instead.
23/5.
23/03/2016, 11:23 AM
There also full time compare to other teams in division one.
Limerick have not strengthened from last seaso really where they were relegated. What makes them mid table Premier all of a sudden?
They're full time. That makes a huge difference in the First Division.
bluewhitearmy
23/03/2016, 11:53 AM
Limerick have not strengthened from last seaso really where they were relegated. What makes them mid table Premier all of a sudden?
They're full time. That makes a huge difference in the First Division.
We are absolute miles ahead of what we started the season with last year.
Last seasons opener:
Conor O'Donnell
Sean Harding
Paudie O Connor
Aidan Price
Robbie Williams
Ian Turner
Paul O Conor
Shane Duggan
Ross Mann
Darragh Rainsford
Dean Clarke
This season so far:
Freddy Hall
Seamus Sharkey
Paudie O Connor
Robbie Williams
Shane Tracy
Paul O Conor
Shane Duggan
Lee J Lynch
Stephen Kenny
Chris Mulhall
Aaron Greene
Take into account too one of Paudie O Connor or Robbie Williams were not at centre back last season for a while and Dean Clarke was nowhere near as good as a striker as when he was moved to the wing when we managed to get players in. Also the team listed for this season isn't even the strongest team we will be able to put out this season. We are a hell of a lot better this year than the start of last and when we are full strength I wouldn't fear too much from anyone below the top 5 in prem.
23/03/2016, 12:00 PM
First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC only really assembled their squad for last season at the end of July. With hindsight this was a mistake.
First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FCs record for the final series of Premier Division games in 2015 was P11 W7 D2 L2.
First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC then went on to bottle the play-off as it is tradition on Shannonside. That's not to take away from finn harps. They proved that on the right day , on a terrible pitch, in a terrible ground, minnows can still do the business. It might not have been the right result for football but it is a lovely story all the same. Personally I'm delighted it happened for two reasons.
1. The promotion of finn harps to the premier division brought a much needed boost to county donegal, a thoroughly depressed and deprived part of our state.
2. So far this season has been thoroughly enjoyable, spreading the footballing gospel around some of the smaller clubs in Irish football. It's great to give the minnows a big day out, I'd like to think at least some of them will improve themselves from watching our professionals in action. It's a great opportunity for some of these lads to learn. And isn't that what football should be about? Helping one another and enjoying ourselves?
During the final series of games one of the supporters clubs of First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC intends to present each one of our opponents with a special set of participation medals before our games as a thank you. Obviously none of these other teams will be able to compete for the First Division championship this season. But by giving out these medals we hope that they will realise they are appreciated. Because ultimately without them lying down for us, First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC wouldn't be able to put on our exhibition games.
23/03/2016, 12:02 PM
As to where First Division Champions 2016 Limerick FC would finish in the Premier Division I have no idea. On the one hand half the Premier is absolute pony and we are gorgeously pretty to watch. On the other hand we defend like drunk children.
23/03/2016, 12:08 PM
Last seasons opener:
Conor O'Donnell
Sean Harding
Paudie O Connor
Aidan Price
Robbie Williams
Ian Turner
Paul O Conor
Shane Duggan
Ross Mann
Darragh Rainsford
Dean Clarke
The absolute DIRT of that :D
So many memories. :ball:
NeverFeltBetter
23/03/2016, 5:59 PM
I'd be confident the current Limerick side could compete in the 7th-9th range of the Premier Division, ala the first two years back up after the last escape from the FD.
The Limerick side that started last season would struggle to be competitive in this First Division.
blueblood
03/04/2016, 4:21 PM
Is there anywhere we can see a list of the current first division top scorers? just for a laugh like!!! I think our keerer is our only Player not to score yet, he should have taken our injury time penalty last night!
bluewhitearmy
03/04/2016, 5:27 PM
Is there anywhere we can see a list of the current first division top scorers? just for a laugh like!!! I think our keerer is our only Player not to score yet, he should have taken our injury time penalty last night!
Seen it lasntight ill try find it for ya, think we have 4 of the top 5 definitely top 2 in Aaron Greene and Robbie Williams.
03/04/2016, 7:28 PM
http://www.extratime.ie/topscorers/2024/101/first-division/
blueblood
03/04/2016, 8:07 PM
http://www.extratime.ie/topscorers/2024/101/first-division/
Good stuff thanks!👍
disgruntled
04/04/2016, 11:58 AM
Great to see Limerick doing so well :good:
The League of Ireland needs strong regional sides.
The challenge now is to go through the League season unbeaten.
Could it happen ?
The challenge now is to get promoted.
Market's Field
05/04/2016, 9:13 AM
Exactly!
05/04/2016, 10:01 AM
3 of the last 4 leagues have been won by "regional" sides, 5 of the last 6 FAI Cups too. Also 4 of the top 5 spots in the Premier Division held by regional sides.
Still, fair play to you playing your part in the first division
bluewhitearmy
05/04/2016, 3:28 PM
3 of the last 4 leagues have been won by "regional" sides, 5 of the last 6 FAI Cups too. Also 4 of the top 5 spots in the Premier Division held by regional sides.
He is a Cork fan so not sure what part he is playing in the first division.
Should have guessed by his name
disgruntled
06/04/2016, 10:57 AM
Could it happen ?
Even at this early stage it looks pretty certain that they will manage promotion, barring a complete collapse.
Always glad to add support to anything that doesn't come from Dubland :)
NeverFeltBetter
12/04/2016, 1:37 PM
Mentioned in fixture thread, but now with every team having played six games, astonishing to see Limerick are the only FD team with a positive goal difference.
joey B
12/04/2016, 1:45 PM
Really intrigued to see how they do against Wexford,I'd say Limerick will play the 1st team but Wexford will be squad players so might not tell us too much about how good Limerick might be.
NeverFeltBetter
12/04/2016, 1:57 PM
I'd say Russell will be taking the cups as seriously as possible this season, if things continue the way they are in the First Division. Only proper test of what the team can do against top flight opposition.
12/04/2016, 3:21 PM
Really intrigued to see how they do against Wexford,I'd say Limerick will play the 1st team but Wexford will be squad players so might not tell us too much about how good Limerick might be.
Can see why Wexford would play a second string team as survival is the most important thing but it's also very risky. They could be on the end of a hiding if they stick out a second string and we stick out full strength. You have to imagine their second string would only be about as good as mid to lower first division at best.
eitoof
01/05/2016, 9:49 AM
108 looks conservative now.