View Full Version : Farewell to a legend

TheJamaicanP.M.
09/01/2005, 12:08 PM
I'm not sure if a previous thread was begun on Jamie Redknapp but as a Spurs fan, I'd just like to say thank you and farewell to the great man. Never has the club seen such a gentleman and inspiring figure as Jamie Redknapp. He's a true legend. I'm sure I speak for everyone on foot.ie when I wish him all the best at Southampton. Thanks for the memories Jamie.

Here's hoping that Michael Brown can fill the void left by our former club captain.

M@ttitude
09/01/2005, 12:15 PM
'Legend' is a bit strong now... His best years were at the pool. Wish him the best at southampton though, great move for him, his dads a great manager.

09/01/2005, 12:32 PM
and i thought this thread would be bout patrick j ;)

lopez
09/01/2005, 12:54 PM
and i thought this thread would be bout patrick j ;)Patrick J is more of a legend in my book than Jamie Redknapp. Who he anyway? :confused:

09/01/2005, 4:08 PM
A footballer Ive always admired.

Compare and contrast him with Becks.

Both have high profile wives, but Redknapp has stayed out of the limelight with his far more gorgeous wife.

If it wasnt for the injury vs S Africa in 1997 who knows what heights Redknapp would have gone to. Hope he does great at Southampton, starting with being injury-free.

09/01/2005, 4:15 PM
Both have high profile wives, but Redknapp has stayed out of the limelight with his far more gorgeous wife.

agreed. seems like a sound bloke

09/01/2005, 5:08 PM
Good attitude, limited ability. A bit like meself, but I'll not bore ye with the details of my own - rather limited - semi-pro career. :D

:D PP

4tothefloor
09/01/2005, 5:35 PM
So you're comparing yourself to Jamie Redknapp, PP?!

DolansWaistcoat
09/01/2005, 5:40 PM
His best days were behind him a long time ago but his old man might get the best out of him again.Great player though who's career was destroyed by injury.

I think Harry has him playing the hard man role at the moment because Jamie was really getting stuck in on his debut game.

09/01/2005, 8:47 PM
So you're comparing yourself to Jamie Redknapp, PP?!

I'm not half as good-looking as Redknapp the younger, I'm afraid. And I haven't even asked Mrs PP for her opinion on that. :eek: (although if she compares me to Harry, it'll be Cardboard City for herself tonight... :D )

:D PP

noby
10/01/2005, 10:08 AM
Here's hoping that Michael Brown can fill the void left by our former club captain.

But, with Anderton and now Redknapp gone, who will fill the void on the treatment table?

10/01/2005, 10:12 AM
^^^

"Sick-note" and "Out Patient". :)

Spurs will save millions.

Dillo
10/01/2005, 6:05 PM
And so say all of us PM! Despite having played for the Red Sh!te I have the utmost admiration for Jamie..... and his wife ;). He's made a major impact within the past decade. His footballing contributions are also impressive I suppose. I reckon Redknapp Senior has made one very astute signing in Redknapp Junior. Despite been a midfielder I believe he is the perfect replacement to fill the void left by striker James Beattie and Jamie's experience should be enough steer the Saints to safety. Spurs loss is Saints gain!

4tothefloor
10/01/2005, 7:33 PM
I believe he is the perfect replacement to fill the void left by striker James Beattie

Redknapp is nowhere near as fat as Beattie, so there's still a bit of a void left to fill

sylvo
10/01/2005, 10:27 PM
I'm not sure if a previous thread was begun on Jamie Redknapp but as a Spurs fan, I'd just like to say thank you and farewell to the great man. Never has the club seen such a gentleman and inspiring figure as Jamie Redknapp. He's a true legend. I'm sure I speak for everyone on foot.ie when I wish him all the best at Southampton. Thanks for the memories Jamie.

Come on PM, you know as well as I know that the only legends that have been down at White Hart Lane in the last 13 years have been Chas 'n' Dave.

Spuuuuurs are on dare waaay ta Weeembleeey.

BTW how come those two and the gezzer with the pork pie hat have not had a record out for years. :confused:

Dan K
10/01/2005, 11:21 PM
Not until I watched him at St Mary's on Wednesday did I realise how good he actually is. Never really paid much attention to him at Liverpool or Spurs, but now he's with us, I think he's going to be great for us.

Now, if I could only find where Louise sits....

11/01/2005, 9:03 AM

I'm a Spurs fan myself and although Rednapp comes across as a decent individual and good pro, his contribution to Spurs has been minimal. He spent most of his time at the club on the treatment table. I doubt if he even played 50 times for Spurs. I think Stephen Carr would have been more deserving of your accolades, having been at Spurs for over 12 years and playing about 200 league games. Rednapp is lucky to be still playing with the injuries he has had and I doubt if he will be still playing this time next year.

11/01/2005, 11:00 AM
Come on PM, you know as well as I know that the only legends that have been down at White Hart Lane in the last 13 years have been Chas 'n' Dave.
What about Warren Mitchell - I was there once when he was presented at half time, he got booed by the oh so intelligent Spurs fans who didn't cop the fact that Warren Mitchell supports Spurs, while it was Alf Garnett who supports West Ham

BTW how come those two and the gezzer with the pork pie hat have not had a record out for years. :confused:
2011 is their next scheduled release ;)

lopez
11/01/2005, 11:09 AM
Come on PM, you know as well as I know that the only legends that have been down at White Hart Lane in the last 13 years have been Chas 'n' Dave.Doesn't Brucie 'Good game! Good game!' Forsythe go down there a bit of tap-dancing? :D

Aldini98
12/01/2005, 10:27 AM

'true legend' - Yeah of course he is, COP ON, hes the most over rated injury prone midfielder Spurs have ever had (apart from Anderton)

'memories' - Really? He did knack all with the Yidos so I don't know what memories you're talking about mate !!! well except getting booked most weeks because he's now too slow.

On the other hand we all know hes a sound bloke and his wife is bleedin' massive :)

TheJamaicanP.M.
12/01/2005, 4:18 PM
'true legend' - Yeah of course he is, COP ON, hes the most over rated injury prone midfielder Spurs have ever had (apart from Anderton)

'memories' - Really? He did knack all with the Yidos so I don't know what memories you're talking about mate !!! well except getting booked most weeks because he's now too slow.

On the other hand we all know hes a sound bloke and his wife is bleedin' massive :)

Wouldnt expect you to understand Aldini98. Jamie Redknapp is a true legend.
If he hadnt had so many injuries to deal with, he would have been a great player. Can even remember him last season against his old club Liverpool. He was the best player on the park, bar none.

12/01/2005, 5:13 PM
I support Spurs and Redknapp is no where near been a spurs legend. There is more to been a legend than a few good games and been a nice blocke. Spurs legends are Steve perryman. Chris Hughton, Jimmy Greaves. Danny Blanchflower, Dave Mackay, Gary Mabbut, Glen Hoddle, Chris Waddle, Ossie Ardiles, Ray Clemence

Ledley King, Jermain Defoe, and Robbie Keane have the potential to be Spurs legends too.

ken foree
19/01/2005, 1:57 AM
I support Spurs and Redknapp is no where near been a spurs legend. There is more to been a legend than a few good games and been a nice blocke. Spurs legends are Steve perryman. Chris Hughton, Jimmy Greaves. Danny Blanchflower, Dave Mackay, Gary Mabbut, Glen Hoddle, Chris Waddle, Ossie Ardiles, Ray Clemence

Ledley King, Jermain Defoe, and Robbie Keane have the potential to be Spurs legends too.

no fat geordie i see :o

Karlos
19/01/2005, 7:50 AM
The only spurs legends i can think of are Christian Gross, George Graham and the white hart lane stadium announcer in the littlewoods cup semi final vs Arsenal who announced that tickets for the final would be on sale from the following Wednesday - he obviously meant for Arsenal fans! :) :D

In all seriousness, think Redknapp is a lovely guy and smashing player but hardly a Spurs Legend. I think the likes of Nicholson, Gazza, Hoddle, Perryman, Greaves et al are far more deserving of that title but there is no doubt that whereever Redknapp has been he has been a very loyal club man.

19/01/2005, 11:28 AM

Glad to see Gary Mabbut mentioned - one of the most honest to goodness reliable players Spurs ever had, and a gentleman to boot. He played for years for them though a diabetic I seem to remember. Often forgotten in these days of club-hopping.

19/01/2005, 11:32 AM
Maybe Paul Gascogine should be included as he was great during the Cup run of 91 but they he decided to make an arse of himself in the Final. Legend is a title which shoudl be hard to come by. I could have put Lineker down but I think to qualify as a legend you need duration of service, quality and passion for the shirt.