View Full Version : Drums

09/01/2005, 1:27 AM
anyone got any suggestions on drums for football matches- what kind of drum, what size, where to get them. Derry fans in particular- what do ye have

Dr.Nightdub
09/01/2005, 1:49 AM
Here you go:
http://www.tifo.it/ce/prodotti.php3?foto=558DL.jpg

I know it says €59 is the price, but allowing for Western Union fees, post & packing, etc, you're looking at the guts of €150 all in (unless they've dropped their prices since a couple of years ago). Mine came without drumsticks but they're only a tenner a pair in any musical instruments shop.

Dr.Nightdub
09/01/2005, 1:55 AM
Sorry, duff link. Go onto the TIFO home page, change it into English then it's the first item in the "Not by voice alone" section.

09/01/2005, 4:20 PM
cheers Doc- we have 2 of them already, and I'm trying to check out something bigger, louder and more durable. thanks anyway

dortie
09/01/2005, 5:07 PM
cheers Doc- we have 2 of them already, and I'm trying to check out something bigger, louder and more durable. thanks anyway

We have 3 snare drums and a bass drum (BPSC). We usually buy the snare drums from a local store but the bass drum(s) are usually 2nd hand. You should maybe contact any organisations/bands in Cork and ask have they anything. We got a few from the AOH in the past (For next to nothing).

09/01/2005, 8:29 PM
We got a good drum very cheaply on eBay. Drums are very expensive to buy seperately when new, but can often be gotten hold of for a song second hand.

jimhacker
10/01/2005, 9:01 AM
When we go north for the Setanta cup you could try scabbing a few off a kick the pope band.

10/01/2005, 9:38 AM
Dublin City have a massive one... Sponsored buy carrolls of course!!!! But it's huge. Saw it a year ago at that infamous match in whitehall...... ;)

jimhacker
10/01/2005, 9:43 AM
Dublin City have a massive one... Sponsored buy carrolls of course!!!! But it's huge. Saw it a year ago at that infamous match in whitehall...... ;)

But have they got anyone to beat the thing?

Maybe it's for the use of the away supporters!

harpskid
10/01/2005, 6:38 PM
we have 2 floor toms and a snare. I got the snare from a local music shop and the Floor Toms came from e bay and as Galway Harps says were fairly cheap

10/01/2005, 10:31 PM
Thought the large kinda see thru drum ye derry lads had at last city game at the brandy was best i've seen.

10/01/2005, 10:40 PM
Thought the large kinda see thru drum ye derry lads had at last city game at the brandy was best i've seen.

Oh right , the instruments.... thought for a second ye had gone Leinster League all of a sudden :p

11/01/2005, 8:26 AM
But have they got anyone to beat the thing?

:D :D :D :D :D

11/01/2005, 1:36 PM
yeah, agreed. derry fans- what kind if drum is that one, and where did ye get it?!

11/01/2005, 2:09 PM
Nah, although a few lippy Corkies nearly acquired some distinctive drum-based headgear last year.

The drum is a bit of a sore subject round these parts, ever since Breifne managed to break the strap somehow :p

11/01/2005, 3:02 PM
Nah, although a few lippy Corkies nearly acquired some distinctive drum-based headgear last year.
Oh Sheri, your threats sound soooooo masculine.....:D

11/01/2005, 3:05 PM

The drum is a bit of a sore subject round these parts, ever since Breifne managed to break the strap somehow :p
Only a matter of time before you replied sheridan!!! ;)

Ringo
12/01/2005, 12:00 PM
that was got from Waltons.

12/01/2005, 12:08 PM
that was got from Waltons.
Did carrolls sponser it because it had carrolls written all over it!!! :confused:

Ringo
12/01/2005, 12:13 PM
Did carrolls sponser it because it had carrolls written all over it!!! :confused:
Waltons are one of their suppliers, so they got it cheap!

12/01/2005, 12:17 PM
Waltons are one of their suppliers, so they got it cheap!
Lucky yous... That sponsership go down the pan no that your gone down the pan!! P.S. Not having a go at DC or supporters for once! Us bray fans know what it's like down there..... ;)

Ringo
12/01/2005, 1:42 PM
Lucky yous... That sponsership go down the pan no that your gone down the pan!! P.S. Not having a go at DC or supporters for once! Us bray fans know what it's like down there..... ;)
no still very much there

dortie
13/01/2005, 6:53 PM
yeah, agreed. derry fans- what kind if drum is that one, and where did ye get it?!

2nd hand from the AOH....

Derek
15/01/2005, 11:33 PM

The drum has been fixed since the Longford game.

15/01/2005, 11:56 PM
I know, I was sitting in your vehicle watching you fix it :p

Good work on the St. Paul's link-up, btw! I shall have more to say on the matter before the weekend's out.

16/01/2005, 9:45 AM

I never saw any DC fans at any of our games :eek:

16/01/2005, 12:05 PM
I never saw any DC fans :D never mind the rest of that sentence ;)

Derek
16/01/2005, 2:29 PM

You must be blind and deaf, I banged the drum so hard it nearly broke. There was approx 40 Dubs for that game, I reckon we made more noise than the whole Longford crowd which seemed to be made up of school kids who spent more time chasing each other around than watching the game. ;)

16/01/2005, 3:21 PM
You must be blind and deaf, I banged the drum so hard

I'm pretty sure im not blind and deaf.

There was approx 40 Dubs for that game

40 dubs :D thats funny.

16/01/2005, 3:27 PM
There was approx 40 Dubs for that game,
is that including max power? ;) :p

16/01/2005, 11:20 PM
Come off it there was never 40, about ten I'd say including one lad in front of me banging his drum to mighty fine effect, the only one chanting at all as far as I could see 'CITY! CITY! BANG BANG', im only slaggin lads before ye get too offended..Agreed about the kids though, that's what happens when kids are free, that game was particularly bad, I couldn't stand any more background chit chat of who was shifting who :)

Derek
19/01/2005, 12:06 AM
Come off it there was never 40, about ten I'd say

Right, OK, lets have a count, There was me and the drum(that's 2), Two of my kids(that's four), Sheridan(that's five), the Chairman and family(wife, daugther and freind)(that's 9),Cottsy's dad(thats 10), some injured DC players(that's 13), The club photographer(that's 14) anyway you get the jist. :rolleyes:

Ringo
19/01/2005, 6:33 AM
Right, OK, lets have a count, There was me and the drum(that's 2), Two of my kids(that's four), Sheridan(that's five), the Chairman and family(wife, daugther and freind)(that's 9),Cottsy's dad(thats 10), some injured DC players(that's 13), The club photographer(that's 14) anyway you get the jist. :rolleyes:

Me & Danny

Breifne
19/01/2005, 7:03 AM

I was in Flancare Park twice last season, for the League Cup clash game, and the first league game, the 0-0 draw.

There were a few Dublin City supporters at both games (approx 15 - 20). There were more at the second game, derek and sheridan included, i couldn't make it unfortunately.

19/01/2005, 2:58 PM

That's hilarious!!
You are actually able to compile a list of the names of all the fans who went to an away game! :rolleyes: :D
And how do the club photographer, injured players and the chairman count as supporters?!! :confused:
Poor old Dublin City!

19/01/2005, 3:12 PM
Fair enough there was more than ten then, I wasn't counting players and officials, or the Seery family..I wasn't being anti DC I just genuinely didnt reckon there was anywhere near 40 there

19/01/2005, 3:16 PM
Dont forget the subsitutes bench, ye had at least 10 people there if you include the subs and the coaching staff:D

harpskid
19/01/2005, 3:57 PM
That's hilarious!!
You are actually able to compile a list of the names of all the fans who went to an away game! :rolleyes: :D
And how do the club photographer, injured players and the chairman count as supporters?!! :confused:
Poor old Dublin City!

More importantly - how does the buckin' drum count :D

19/01/2005, 5:17 PM
More importantly - how does the buckin' drum count :D
Yeah, you would have thought that would be the giveaway, but obviously concepts like self-deprecation, humour and basic reading comprehension haven't been rolled out country-wide yet.

19/01/2005, 10:32 PM
Poor old Dublin City!next step is to start counting the flags and then the seats in the away end :D

20/01/2005, 9:27 AM
:D never mind the rest of that sentence ;)
:D :D :D lol