View Full Version : Football Questions..

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17

Kerry Blue
09/02/2005, 12:20 PM
Sorry lads.
There isn't someone else!
Mis-information on my part. Had Wenger down as Japan manager before moving to Arsenal. He was of course manager of Grampus 8.

monutdfc
09/02/2005, 12:32 PM
Alex Ferguson was appointed Man Utd manager in October 1986. Did he not manage Aberdeen at the start of that season after the World Cup?

09/02/2005, 12:43 PM
Question so...

Think this is right...

Name the only British team to have a 100% winning record against Barcelona in European competition?

Dundee United

they are the only British team to have won both legs of a tie v Barca and have done so twice 66/7 and in the 80's.

Liverpool are the only other British team I believe to beat Barca in th eNou Camp in Europe.

09/02/2005, 1:11 PM
Yep. Quarters of the 86/87 UEFA Cup was the other time, to be exact. Scored twice in the last five minutes in Spain too...

Pat O' Banton
16/02/2005, 12:44 PM
Was asked this in the pub and can only get so far with it.

Players who have played in EPL and have scored a goal in a Champions Leauge Final (i.e. post 1992) Apparently there are 9 of them.

16/02/2005, 12:46 PM
Sheringham and Solskjaer obviously. McManaman for Real v Valencia.

My CL knowledge doesn't go much further than that though... Who was yer man Derby signed from AC Milan? Think he might be one.

16/02/2005, 12:48 PM

Players who have played in EPL and have scored a goal in a Champions Leauge Final (i.e. post 1992) Apparently there are 9 of them.
Sheringham
Solskjaer
McManaman
Morientes :confused:
Henry :confused:

16/02/2005, 12:57 PM

Just saw this now,
From the top of the head I'd say.

Ravenelli (Juve)
Desailly (milan vs Barca1994)
McManamanananananana (Real vs Valencia2000?)
Sheringham(1999)
Solskjaer(1999)
Kluivert(ajax vs milan 1995)
Mendieta (Valencia vs Bayern2001)
G Vialli(juve)

16/02/2005, 12:58 PM
Perhaps I've made an error somewhere, but I seem to have come up with ten:

Desailly (Milan 94)
Kluivert (Ajax 95)
Ravenelli (Juventus 96)
Litmanen (Ajax 96)
Riedle (Borussia Dortmund 97)
Sheringham (Manchester United 99)
Solskjaer (Manchester United 99)
Morientes (Real Madrid 2000)
McManaman (Real Madrid 2000)
Mendieta (Valencia 2001)

16/02/2005, 12:59 PM
Sheringham and Solskjaer obviously. McManaman for Real v Valencia.

My CL knowledge doesn't go much further than that though... Who was yer man Derby signed from AC Milan? Think he might be one.

That was stefano eranio and no he didn't score in the cl final.

Pat O' Banton
16/02/2005, 4:48 PM
Perhaps I've made an error somewhere, but I seem to have come up with ten:

Desailly (Milan 94)
Kluivert (Ajax 95)
Ravenelli (Juventus 96)
Litmanen (Ajax 96)
Riedle (Borussia Dortmund 97)
Sheringham (Manchester United 99)
Solskjaer (Manchester United 99)
Morientes (Real Madrid 2000)
McManaman (Real Madrid 2000)
Mendieta (Valencia 2001)

Seems all present and correct, was missing Desailly, Litmanen and Mendieta myself.

Kerry Blue
18/02/2005, 7:27 PM
Don't know if this has been asked before, and I'm pretty sure I'm right this time. :o

There are 5 players who have won the European Footballer of the Year award but have never played in a World Cup final tournament.
Name them.

lopez
18/02/2005, 11:29 PM
Don't know if this has been asked before, and I'm pretty sure I'm right this time. :o

There are 5 players who have won the European Footballer of the Year award but have never played in a World Cup final tournament.
Name them.George Best for one, defo. George Weah another???

cullenswood
18/02/2005, 11:52 PM
George Best for one, defo. George Weah another???

Did Jean Pierre Papin ever make it to a World Cup?? I think France fecked up before USA '94??

19/02/2005, 2:59 AM
Why the question mark? :)

We were the previous team to beat them too, in '84!

UCD beat Rovers in February 1988 in the 4th Round in front of a deserted Tolka.

Kerry Blue got the score right of the Anderlecht game. Bremen came back from 0-3 down at home to Anderlecht with half an hour remaining to win 5-3.

What did the FAI Cup Finals at Lansdowne between 1991, and 1994 have in common?

Which club did Mo Johnston leave Celtic for?

19/02/2005, 10:32 AM
Did Jean Pierre Papin ever make it to a World Cup?? I think France fecked up before USA '94??

Papin was a "star" of Mexico 86 missing chance after chance after chance.

Kerry Blue
19/02/2005, 12:07 PM
George Best for one, defo. George Weah another???

Yes. Both Best and Weah never played in World Cup.
As gspain has pointed out Papin isn't one.

There are 3 more.

26/02/2005, 3:40 AM
What did the FAI Cup Finals at Lansdowne between 1991, and 1994 have in common?

Which club did Mo Johnston leave Celtic for?

The 1991-1994 finals all finished 1-0. Derry and Shels broke the trend in '95, when Derry won 2-1.

Mo Johnston left Celtic for Nantes in 1987, and left them for Rangers in 1989.

Liverpool won 9-0 against Crystal Palace in September 1989. What was the score of Liverpool's next league game?

One country led a game 1-0 and were 1 minute away from qualifying for the 1996 European Championships. Then they conceded an equalizer. They had 2 games left to play in their group after that, yet they still failed to qualify for the finals. Who were they?

Kerry Blue
26/02/2005, 2:53 PM
Liverpool won 9-0 against Crystal Palace in September 1989. What was the score of Liverpool's next league game?
They drew 0-0 with Norwich City at Anfield.

One country led a game 1-0 and were 1 minute away from qualifying for the 1996 European Championships. Then they conceded an equalizer. They had 2 games left to play in their group after that, yet they still failed to qualify for the finals. Who were they?
Norway.

01/03/2005, 12:40 AM
Which player has managed to get relegated from the Premiership five times?

stojkovic
01/03/2005, 11:49 AM

Name them.

Lev Yashin
George Best
George Weah
Pavel Nedved
Andrej Shevchenko

stojkovic
01/03/2005, 11:58 AM
In answer to the TWO players to play in two WC Finals with different teams, there is actually SEVEN players who have done this ;

Altafini - Brasil and Italy
Luis Monti - Argentina and Italy
Puskas - Hungary and Spain
Santamaria - Uraguay and Spain
Prosinicki - Yugoslavia and Croatia
Jarni - Yugoslavia and Croatia
Suker - Yugoslavia and Croatia

QUESTIONS -

1. Who came on as a sub in a WC match and scored a hat-trick ?

2. Who came on as a sub in a WC FINAL, scored, and got taken off ?

Both are within last 30 years.

stojkovic
01/03/2005, 12:02 PM
Liverpool won 9-0 against Crystal Palace in September 1989.
Liverpool had EIGHT different goalscorers that day - a record.

stojkovic
01/03/2005, 12:04 PM
I will hazard a guess at this - was it IRELAND ?

Northern Ireland equalised and we then lost to Austria and Portugal.
I thought that we had THREE games left (losing to the Austrians twice on the bounce)

Am I right ?

01/03/2005, 12:11 PM
QUESTIONS -

1. Who came on as a sub in a WC match and scored a hat-trick ?

2. Who came on as a sub in a WC FINAL, scored, and got taken off ?

Both are within last 30 years.

1. A guy called Kiss did it for Hungary against El Salvador in '82, not sure if you're thinking of the same one.

2. Altobelli for Italy vs. West Germany, also in '82.

I'm fairly Puskas didn't actually make it onto the pitch for Spain in 1962 (?), although he was included in the squad.

stojkovic
01/03/2005, 12:18 PM
1. A guy called Kiss did it for Hungary against El Salvador in '82, not sure if you're thinking of the same one.

2. Altobelli for Italy vs. West Germany, also in '82.

I'm fairly Puskas didn't actually make it onto the pitch for Spain in 1962 (?), although he was included in the squad.
Correct and correct.

Yes its funny what we think of as 'played' or 'in squad'.
If your country wins the WC but you don't play a single game - you still get a medal - ie Ronaldo in 1994.
If you don't win and you don't play it's 'he never played in a WC' scenario.

stojkovic
01/03/2005, 12:19 PM
Why did Osvaldo Ardiles wear number 2 in 1978WC and number 1 in 1982WC ?

And have England ever done this ?

01/03/2005, 12:23 PM
Why did Osvaldo Ardiles wear number 2 in 1978WC and number 1 in 1982WC ?The numbers were picked on alphabetical order.

And have England ever done this ?No idea, I'll guess no. :D

stojkovic
01/03/2005, 12:30 PM
The numbers were picked on alphabetical order.
No idea, I'll guess no. :D

Correct - with ONE exception, a certain Diego Armando.
Argentina do this regularly but give the odd player his own way like Batistuta and the like.

Incorrect, England did the same in 1982, with the exception of the goalkeepers and Kevin Keegan - who thought he was Maradona.

stojkovic
01/03/2005, 12:34 PM
FIVE players have won the clean sweep of 1. European Player of the Year (1956+), 2. World Player of the Year (1982+), 3. FIFA World Player of the Year (1991+) in the same year. Who are they and who done it twice?

01/03/2005, 3:02 PM
If your country wins the WC but you don't play a single game - you still get a medal - ie Ronaldo in 1994.

But didn't he get thrown on as a sub in extra time, or am I misremembering / believnig a George Hamilton error?

01/03/2005, 3:18 PM
FIVE players have won the clean sweep of 1. European Player of the Year (1956+), 2. World Player of the Year (1982+), 3. FIFA World Player of the Year (1991+) in the same year. Who are they and who done it twice?

George Weah? Only once.
Zizou ?

stojkovic
01/03/2005, 4:08 PM
George Weah? Only once.
Zizou ?
Incorrect - Weah only won 1 and 3 in the same year.

ZiZou is correct - in 1998 he won all three.
He also won 3 in 2000 and 2 & 3 in 2003.

Kerry Blue
01/03/2005, 11:36 PM
Lev Yashin
George Best
George Weah
Pavel Nedved
Andrej Shevchenko
The last 4 are correct but Lev Yashin played in 3 World Cups; 1958, 1962 and 1966, and was reserve keeper in 1970.

There is another European Footballer of the year who never played at a World Cup.

02/03/2005, 8:31 AM
Incorrect - Weah only won 1 and 3 in the same year.

ZiZou is correct - in 1998 he won all three.
He also won 3 in 2000 and 2 & 3 in 2003.

Ronaldo surely?

02/03/2005, 8:32 AM
The last 4 are correct but Lev Yashin played in 3 World Cups; 1958, 1962 and 1966, and was reserve keeper in 1970.

There is another European Footballer of the year who never played at a World Cup.

Dejan Savicevic?

stojkovic
02/03/2005, 9:37 AM
Ronaldo surely?
Yes.
So youse have ;
Zinedine Zidane 1998
Ronaldo 1997 AND 2002

three more to go

stojkovic
02/03/2005, 9:41 AM

SIVORA ?

02/03/2005, 11:08 AM
Marco van BAsten

Roberto Baggio

Luis Figo?

stojkovic
02/03/2005, 11:19 AM
Marco van BAsten

Roberto Baggio

Luis Figo?
First two are correct, Figo won Euro and World Player in 2000 and FIFA player in 2001. Strange !

So you have Zidane, Ronaldo (twice), van Basten and Baggio.

There is one more player who has won all three in the same year.

QUESTION :

Name the FOUR players from Soviet Union/Russia/Ukraine who have won European Player of the Year ?

02/03/2005, 11:40 AM
5th player - Rivaldo

USSR players:
Igor Belanov
Andriy Shevchenko
Rinnat Dasseyev?
Oleg Blokhin?

stojkovic
02/03/2005, 11:57 AM
5th player - Rivaldo

USSR players:
Igor Belanov
Andriy Shevchenko
Rinnat Dasseyev?
Oleg Blokhin?
Rivaldo is correct in 1999.

You have three right, Dasaev is wrong.

stojkovic
02/03/2005, 11:58 AM
Kingdom,

am i right with SIVORA ?

02/03/2005, 1:05 PM
Kingdom,

am i right with SIVORA ?

Dragan,

I don't know the answer to that question as it was the other Kerryite who posed the question initially, that person being Kerry Blue.

If I was guessing I'd imagine it was Besty!

Kerry Blue
02/03/2005, 5:06 PM
QUESTION :

Name the FOUR players from Soviet Union/Russia/Ukraine who have won European Player of the Year ?
Lev Yashin
Oleg Blokhin
Igor Belanov
Andriy Shevchenko

And you're wrong about Sivora.
He played for Italy in the 1962 World Cup.
Keep trying! :)

Kerry Blue
02/03/2005, 5:07 PM
Puskas actually did play for Spain in 1962. He played in all 3 of their Group games!

02/03/2005, 5:18 PM
Any answers on this one?

Think there's an equivalent for getting relegated from the English Premier in three consecutive years - any takers?

Kerry Blue
02/03/2005, 5:29 PM
Is it Ashley Ward?

02/03/2005, 5:31 PM
Doh! I assumed Irish Premier! :o

I'm going to go with my answer for the three times in a row - Neil Redfearn? Has racked up a few anyway! Was also relegated from Division Three last year too!

stojkovic
03/03/2005, 9:24 AM
And you're wrong about Sivora.
He played for Italy in the 1962 World Cup.
Keep trying! :)
You are correct about Sivora. He was Argentinian but played for Italy in 1962 under the name SIVORI.

The answer is ;

ALFREDO DI STEFANO

I assumed he played for Spain in 62, but although in the squad, he never played a minute.