View Full Version : Conor Masterson D QPR (loaned to Gillingham) b.1998

08/01/2016, 10:11 PM
First appearance on the bench for Liverpool tonight for the U19 player. Might get another chance to make an appearance in the replay.

samhaydenjr
09/01/2016, 3:53 AM
2-2 with Exeter? You'll never win anything with kids. Good for Masterson on getting noticed but may betoo early to read too much into it, considering half the team put out are in their teens. On the other hand, I think he'd have been the youngest in that squad

DeLorean
09/01/2016, 10:52 AM
I think the Liverpool kids deserve more credit for that result than Exeter to be honest, despite the way it's being portrayed. I'd have expected the more seasoned pros to have been able to bully Liverpool with their experience, physicality and general knowhow. It's not as if many of those young fellas are too likely to end up playing at the very top level themselves. Obviously an Anfield date is something for Exeter to treasure, but I'd be very reluctant to praise them for the result itself. All a bit beside the point I know.

Bungle
09/01/2016, 11:08 AM
He is a very talented lad. I think he is only 17, so unless Liverpool were winning comfortably, it isn't the right time to throw him in.
At least, it's a confidence boost for him that he is very highly thought off and he would seem to be ahead of other lads of his age.

Pity about Cleary. By all accounts, he is impressing Klopp. Hopefully, he gets a chance in the coming weeks.

Crosby87
09/01/2016, 2:33 PM
If you look at Wiki, the only Conor to ever get capped is the man who swims upstream, though there are a few Cons in there. So he would be only the second. I guess Mr. Clifford never ended up getting capped? You guys should make sure this list is accurate.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Republic_of_Ireland_international_football ers

09/01/2016, 7:41 PM
If you look at Wiki, the only Conor to ever get capped is the man who swims upstream, though there are a few Cons in there. So he would be only the second. I guess Mr. Clifford never ended up getting capped? You guys should make sure this list is accurate.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Republic_of_Ireland_international_football ers
The Cons would all be Cornelius, not Conor. Clifford never made a full cap, no.

Crosby87
09/01/2016, 7:50 PM
Con, connie or conor. Which ever you prefer.

10/01/2016, 3:22 AM
http://eil.com/images/main/Des+OConnor+With+Feelings+443572.jpg

11/01/2016, 9:55 AM
He looks older there than he does now...

KK77
11/01/2016, 11:54 AM
Conor Masterson has described the ‘surreal’ moment when he found out he would be in Liverpool’s matchday squad for Friday night's FA Cup third round tie away to Exeter City.

The centre-back, who only turned 17 in September, appeared on Jürgen Klopp’s bench for the first time in the 2-2 draw against the League Two outfit.

The Dublin born youngster was an unused substitute on the night, but insists the experience was an unforgettable one.

“It's a bit of a dream come true if I'm honest,” he admitted to Liverpoolfc.com. “It was surreal. I got told Thursday that I was going to go up and train at Melwood and then on Friday I travelled with the team.

“We had the team talk and I got told I was on the bench. I just couldn't believe it. It was an unbelievable feeling. I was taken aback to be honest.

“Jürgen just said to me 'if you get a chance to go on, then go out and enjoy yourself. There's no pressure on you. Just go and do your best.'”

It was a hectic few days for Masterson as he then started for the U18s on Saturday morning in their 3-0 win over Manchester United at the Academy, having returned from Devon the night before.

He added: “I tried to get to bed as quick as I could and get ready for this game because I wanted to play.

“Critch [U18s manager Neil Critchley] said to me 'you don't have to play because they might want you for Sunday' but I wanted to play.

“It is always good to beat them. The way we did beat them was comfortable and really good.

“We weren't really worked at all to be honest. We just focused on what we had to do and we did that.”

Crosby87
11/01/2016, 5:02 PM
He looks like a sure fire future captain.

https://talentshunter.files.wordpress.com/2015/05/conor-masterson-talents-hunter.jpg

18/01/2017, 7:20 PM
Captaining Liverpool's academy side against Man City tonight, game is being broadcast on City's facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/mancity/videos/10158236062610455/
Caoimhin Kelleher on the bench for Liverpool, currently 2-1 down

18/01/2017, 7:50 PM
He looks like a sure fire future captain.

https://talentshunter.files.wordpress.com/2015/05/conor-masterson-talents-hunter.jpg

ah sure you'd miss Crosby all the same... :D

DeLorean
17/02/2017, 10:47 AM
Called into Liverpool training camp (http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/connor-masterson-joins-liverpool-tour-12612799)

19/02/2017, 4:43 PM
Klopp's been impressed with him: http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/liverpool-boss-klopp-brewster-dhanda-12622885

“I knew them both from training with us already,” Klopp told the ECHO.
“I also spoke with Pep and it was a logical decision.
“We could have taken Rhian Brewster or a few other guys, but Yan Dhanda and Conor Masterson are the next boys.
“Pep is the man for this. We needed two players and we decided on Yan and Conor.
“I know all of the boys and that’s really cool. It’s a good group. They have worked well, really good attitude. Yan and Conor have fitted in well.”

samhaydenjr
20/02/2017, 2:54 AM
Called into Liverpool training camp (http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/connor-masterson-joins-liverpool-tour-12612799)

Hopefully that's promising news, but IIRC Dan Cleary went on that training camp last Spring before being cut last Summer. That said, Masterson is younger so I get the feeling that it isn't a "last chance to impress or else..." situation

DeLorean
20/02/2017, 7:43 AM
Yeah Klopp is only going to say nice things anyway but encouraging that he was one of the guys called up.

DeLorean
22/09/2017, 11:17 PM
Nathan Murphy reckons Masterson might make the Liverpool bench tomorrow after being left out of their U23 squad (although one reply suggests he was an unused sub) - https://twitter.com/nathanmurf/status/911316478158364677

samhaydenjr
23/09/2017, 12:31 AM
Nathan Murphy reckons Masterson might make the Liverpool bench tomorrow after being left out of their U23 squad (although one reply suggests he was an unused sub) - https://twitter.com/nathanmurf/status/911316478158364677

He was: https://www.premierleague.com/match/23044/premier-league-2/2017-18/liverpool-v-spurs

liamoo11
23/09/2017, 9:25 AM
He was: https://www.premierleague.com/match/23044/premier-league-2/2017-18/liverpool-v-spurs
Would be fantastic been a strange start to season he has only played 2 or3 games at 23s. It us not totally clear that he is the main centre half for the 23 s Philips seems to have played slot simioiar age and Loyd Jones very experienced with league football experience. They seem to b rotating kellwher and grabara in goals for 23s with GraBara still eligible for 18s where he played last night.

23/09/2017, 3:41 PM
Not in the squad today: https://twitter.com/LFC/status/911613263724580864

DeLorean
24/09/2017, 12:28 PM
Damn you Nathan Murphy.

26/09/2017, 12:55 PM
Sent off for Liverpool in the UEFA Youth League today: http://www.uefa.com/uefayouthleague/season=2018/matches/live/index.html?day=2&session=1&match=2023073

21/11/2017, 2:11 PM
Liverpool's UEFA Youth League game against Sevilla is streaming on uefa.com at the moment: http://www.uefa.com/uefayouthleague/season=2018/matches/live/index.html?day=5&session=1&match=2023121
Masterson starting in central defence, McAuley on the bench

liamoo11
21/11/2017, 6:30 PM
masterson and rice with Duffy could be a lovely three centre halves set up with 2 good footballing centre halves and Duffy allowing us have Brady and Coleman as attacking full backs which would let you play the diamond if you could get McCarthy fit maybe Mcclean struggles to get into the diamond with 5 at the back is he a good enough footballer?

Dunners
23/11/2017, 11:46 AM
I like it Liam

Randolph
Rice Duffy Clark
Coleman Brady
Arter McCarthy Meylor
O'dowda
Hogan

DeLorean
23/11/2017, 12:17 PM
I like it Liam

Randolph (30)
Rice (19) Duffy (26) Clark (28)
Coleman (29) Brady (26)
Arter (28) McCarthy (27) Meylor (28)
O'dowda (22)
Hogan (25)

I just put their ages (by the time we play again) in brackets for the craic, with Danny's post about our ageing side in another thread in mind. That team has an average age of 26 which is a pretty big improvement, without looking significantly weaker than what we've been selecting for the last couple of years.

mark12345
23/11/2017, 7:11 PM
masterson and rice with Duffy could be a lovely three centre halves set up with 2 good footballing centre halves and Duffy allowing us have Brady and Coleman as attacking full backs which would let you play the diamond if you could get McCarthy fit maybe Mcclean struggles to get into the diamond with 5 at the back is he a good enough footballer?

I like the way you think

samhaydenjr
23/11/2017, 11:49 PM

This part would have sounded better if you wrote it like this: "masterson and rice with Duffy could be a lovely three centre halves set up with 2 good footballing centre halves... and Duffy"

CraftyToePoke
24/11/2017, 1:22 PM
"masterson and rice with Duffy could be a lovely three centre halves set up with 2 good footballing centre halves... and Duffy"

But then on MOTD the other week they picked out his distribution through a game and lauded it, him and his CB partner for his club. They panned Ashley Williams and Jagielka on the same broadcast and Michael Keane was dropped entirely from his side.

03/04/2018, 9:58 PM
Masterson trained with the Liverpool senior team today and, with the senior team struggling with injuries, is reportedly in line to be named on the bench against Manchester City tomorrow night

samhaydenjr
04/04/2018, 6:44 PM
Masterson trained with the Liverpool senior team today and, with the senior team struggling with injuries, is reportedly in line to be named on the bench against Manchester City tomorrow night

Wow - there he is, on the bench, No. 63. http://www.bbc.com/sport/live/football/43325214. I know it's down to some injuries Liverpool have, but still a fantastic achievement - by my reckoning, the first Irish player in a matchday squad for the quarters in seven years

04/04/2018, 8:02 PM
Stokes was on the bench for Celtic in March 2013: http://www.skysports.com/football/juventus-vs-celtic/teams/280775
Last Irish players to see gametime in the later stages of the Champions League were John O'Shea and Darron Gibson in May 2011: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/europe/9473853.stm
Gibson still the last Irish player to score in the Champions League

05/04/2018, 9:04 AM
what are the odds Masterson will be involved with the Liverpool team this weekend against Everton?

DeLorean
05/04/2018, 10:14 AM
what are the odds Masterson will be involved with the Liverpool team this weekend against Everton?

I read that Klavan's injury was fairly minor so maybe he'll be back. Will he be tempted to rest Lovren or Van Dijk? Maybe not with such a healthy cushion for the return leg. Salah surely won't be risked after coming off last night so that might free up another place in the squad hopefully.

His interview from last night - https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2018/0404/952227-liverpool-boss-klopp-impressed-by-confident-masterson/

And Klopp's comments - https://twitter.com/RTEsoccer/status/981658033531928577?s=19

DeLorean
06/04/2018, 3:50 PM
Klopp mentioned Masterson in his Meyseyside derby press conference today - https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/jurgen-klopps-full-transcript-ahead-14500390

Is there a chance we could see more youth at the weekend? And how confident are you of dipping into that youth?

I've said many times about young players that it's not about getting the opportunity, it's about being ready for the opportunity. Conor Masterson last year in the U18s and is in his first year with the U23, still a very young lad. It's a completely different experience. They are all around and because we gave next generation loans to different clubs like Ejaria, Ojo, Wilson, Marko, all these boys are in different clubs now.

That's how it is. You have to use the next generation, they are there, really talented boys and I'm always ready for using them but in the right games in the right moment. We'll see when that will happen.

Bungle
07/04/2018, 5:51 AM
https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/klopp-pondering-derby-debut-for-masterson-36783000.html

Even if Conor doesn't play today,it is evident that Klopp rates him very highly. I think he could play a bit before the end of the season.

Like Declan Rice, he is mature beyond his years, is a bit of a leader, good on the ball and can play in midfield. A very good player to keep an eye on.

DeLorean
07/04/2018, 10:57 AM
Masterson makes the bench again. Klavan is back fit so that's a pretty good sign.

Diggs246
07/04/2018, 11:03 AM
I would be confident, he will get a few minutes pitch time at the end of the game if either team have the game won

Olé Olé
07/04/2018, 1:26 PM
Nil all it finished. And they brought on the Ox, Firmino and Alexander-Arnold. All of this is quite fair. Hopefully his chance comes before the season's end when a better set of circumstances are presented.

samhaydenjr
07/04/2018, 8:13 PM
Glad to see him hold his place in the matchday squad - after his appearance on the bench against Man City, i was thinking that he was making good progress but that a decent loan move would be the best option for him next season, but now it's starting to appear like Klopp has plans for him in the not-too-distant future. Amazing to think that a year ago, our only centre-back options in the Premier League were an about-to-be-relegated John O'Shea in the twilight of his career and Kevin Long, who only had a couple of Premier league games under his belt. And then Declan Rice made his debut and has established himself at West Ham, Shane Duffy and Ciaran Clark got promoted and Long became semi-regular at Burnley. Hopefully Masterson will manage an appearance or two before the end of the season and put himself into contention for regular first-team consideration next season. Plus, if Derby go up, Alex Pearce and/or Richard Keogh could also become Premier League regulars. And we've yet to see how far Lee O'Connor, Ryan Nolan and Tyreke Wilson can go. So definitely some positive developments for our defence over the past/next twelve months.

DeLorean
08/04/2018, 12:00 AM
Interviewed by Newstalk after the match today - https://twitter.com/offtheball/status/982721245073563650?s=19

16/07/2018, 12:59 PM
FAI posted this earlier, promoting the upcoming pre-season friendly between Liverpool and Napoli
sIjZxE43xOw

liamoo11
12/12/2018, 7:37 PM
with matip and Gomez gone till February this must surely be a huge chance for him to be involved for Liverpool. he has been back from his knee injury for the last few 23 games and Phillips the other 23s centre half has missed the last few with an Achilles issue

liamoo11
14/12/2018, 2:30 PM
https://m.independent.ie/sport/20year-old-dubliner-conor-masterson-called-into-liverpool-first-team-squad-for-sundays-manchester-united-clash-37626918.html . Good news if true be nice to see him in bench at some point over Christmas

29/03/2019, 9:30 AM
Masterson linked with a move to Norwich in the summer in this morning's papers. His contract is up, so it could just be agent talk to get him a new deal at Anfield.

Little bit concerned that he still hasn't made his first team debut, and is arguable behind Corey Whelan in the race to partner van Dijk in defence now following Whelan's loan experience.

Thought Dara O'Shea was the better of the two centre halves in the U21 game against Luxembourg last Sunday, you could see the difference first team football at Exeter had on him.

Cathalsmart
29/03/2019, 10:42 AM
Wouldn’t be a bad move to be honest, considering Norwich will be in the premier league next season (most likely). Also the qualities in a CB will likely be different in the eyes of Norwich than in the eyes of Liverpool.

liamoo11
29/03/2019, 12:31 PM
Great but hopefully Norwich don't get promoted. Himself and idah and maybe power would have obviously much better chance of playing in championship rather than in a struggling premier league side. I am surprised Masterson s contract is up wasn't there right fanfare about him signing a new contract last summer? He needs games so wherever he goes he needs to play even if its league 1. Thought he looked so comfortable on ball against Luxembourg as he always does. He does need to physically develop alot though

Cathalsmart
29/03/2019, 12:52 PM
Think Irish players should either go to the championship on loan or leave England altogether.

Deckydee
04/07/2019, 8:27 AM
Signed by QPR > https://www.balls.ie/football/former-liverpool-defender-conor-masterson-found-new-club-413416