View Full Version : How much money do players earn playing for Ireland?
Metrostars
05/01/2005, 2:49 AM
Do anyone know how much money players earn when they are called up by Brian Kerr and play for Ireland?
Right now, there is a dispute between the US Soccer Federation and the US Players Union about how much pay they get. It is a bad situation, so much so that two friendlies for this month have been cancelled and the USSF says they will exclude current US national team players for the upcoming World Cup qualifier against Trinidad & Tobago on Febuary 9th if it is not sorted out by February 1st. They will probably use college kids and/or amatuers.
Basically the players union is saying that the USSF has made a ton of money off games they play in and that they are not getting a fair share. They say the European based players often lose out because they miss out on appearance bonuses they would earn with their clubs because of the extra travel time. They're asking for a 100% increase while the USSF has offered a 38% increase. Apparently all members of a squad called up for a game get $5000 plus expenses.
anto eile
05/01/2005, 3:43 PM
afaik the irish players were last i heard paid £750 per game in punts. though that i think was raised recently to roughly E1500 (euro) per game.i find it ludicrous that usa players get $5000 plus expenses, at elast $6000 surely.players shouldnt receive a penny for representing their country. id consider compensating some players if their wages are below a certain level. ie players who earn less than lets say E2,500 per week might be permitted to have their costs (flight and accomodation) covered.but to actually receive a flat-rate payment for playing for you country is sickening when you consider most irish players dont need the money.ie roy keane on £50,000 per week getting an extra coupla grand to play for ireland is a disgrace.
In Tony Cascarino'e book he says he couldnt afford to retire towards the end of his career cause he needed the 800pound match fee!
They should count themselves lucky every time they pull on that shirt. A decent gesture right now would be to donate their match fee from the forthcoming friendlies to the tsunami relief efforts. Anyone second that?
i agree.
livehead1
05/01/2005, 6:08 PM
we should start a campaign for ireland players to donate the fee from the friendly against portugal, or at least all ireland players in the premiership who feature..... if word of the idea got to one of the senior members of the squad i could see it hitting off. anyone know any of the players? i could have 1 ;)
what u all think ?
05/01/2005, 8:08 PM
i could have 1 ;)
whats the wink for and who?
livehead1
05/01/2005, 8:44 PM
well the gaelic football team that i play for..the chairman is good friends with andy reid if its worth mentioning anythin to him he could give him a message
05/01/2005, 8:44 PM
$5000 ..... thats around €3800, ball park anyway .... disgrace ... they should be given anything, they should wear the shirt with pride. €1500 is over the top aswell for Irish players ... i'd agree with the if someone earns under €2000 then give them expenses
These game put players in the shop window ..... that is enough .... if they dont like it then dont play, end of !!
And the likes of David Connolly (cant remember the game) giving out because he wasn't asked to play in a game, when he actually couldn't play anyway, a little upjumped príck .... some of them would want to really step back for a bit and sort themselves out.
05/01/2005, 9:20 PM
They should count themselves lucky every time they pull on that shirt. A decent gesture right now would be to donate their match fee from the forthcoming friendlies to the tsunami relief efforts. Anyone second that?
after Pablo 2nding that, I will 3rd it :)
Metrostars
06/01/2005, 1:11 AM
Discussion about this on a US soccer board:
http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/showthread.php?t=156506
Plus a USAToday article:
http://www.usatoday.com/sports/soccer/national/2005-01-04-notebook-labor-impasse_x.htm?csp=34
onenilgameover
06/01/2005, 2:32 AM
That's not a bad idea at all. I recknon there would be support form it but it has to be the players dicision or at least look like it is. That is why it would be a good idea to ask players directly. its a bit of a tricky on that. It would be a bit rude to push it on em no matter what they make.
Hibs4Ever
06/01/2005, 7:17 AM
I don't think players should be paid for playing for their country. But if they weren't, where would all the sponsership money and match ticket money go? Me thinks the head people at the FAI would get nice pay rises instead.
fosterdollar
06/01/2005, 8:27 AM
Wonder how many of you lot would donate a weeks wages to the Tsunami fund? This whole thing is charity gone mad. The onus is not just on people in the public eye to provide relief in Thailand. And it may be worth noting that there are other worthy causes out there aside from SouthEast Asia that are not getting as much media attention - many of them in Ireland.
06/01/2005, 11:03 AM
Magoo, I somehow don't see 100,000 people dying in the next few weeks from anything other than diseases in the stricken Asian countries. Its a lot more important than anything else right now and I have donated about 2 days wages. Most of the players would not be donating anywhere near a days wages if they were to donate their international appearance money.
fosterdollar
06/01/2005, 11:15 AM
Most of the players would not be donating anywhere near a days wages if they were to donate their international appearance money.
I doubt that that is true if it's EUR1500/EUR2000 an appearance as mentioned. Anyway, as was referred to above, the international organisations are making money from players providing services for int games and i believe the players should be rewarded for this. If it is such a big money spinner for them then why do so many retire internationally long before club?
06/01/2005, 11:23 AM
I doubt that that is true if it's EUR1500/EUR2000 an appearance as mentioned.
Most players are earning more than €10,000 (£7k) per week.
onenilgameover
06/01/2005, 10:03 PM
Magoo.......ye can't be goin round sayin stuff like that. People are comin up with different ways of generating money through inovation and ideas...Thats why the amount is inspiring..This is just another idea and a good one at that. I've given about a days wages myself and organised a few mates to throw in a couple of quid each in a collection bin after some pool and some bowlin. The guy in the plex gave us a bowlin pin to make a trophy out of for doin so....so stick it....Bad attitude ye got there fella...
dr_peepee
07/01/2005, 11:34 AM
I read a while back that allot of the players already donate their match fees for internationals to charity!.... Don't know how true it is?
fosterdollar
07/01/2005, 11:44 AM
Magoo.......ye can't be goin round sayin stuff like that. People are comin up with different ways of generating money through inovation and ideas...Thats why the amount is inspiring..This is just another idea and a good one at that. I've given about a days wages myself and organised a few mates to throw in a couple of quid each in a collection bin after some pool and some bowlin. The guy in the plex gave us a bowlin pin to make a trophy out of for doin so....so stick it....Bad attitude ye got there fella...
I'm not trying to take from the obvious worthiness of the cause in SE Asia but i would feel it important not to gloss over the fact that there are elements of hypocrasy appearing pretty regularly over this event. The suggestion that players donate money they earn in internationals just because the amount they get was questioned by someone else is an example of this whole charity gone mad thing i referred to earlier. Suddenly, the 'ideas' for charity have all turned into 'anywhere there is money involved, give it to thailand'. I'm sorry but the whole thing is very easy despite everyone's good intentions.
The match fee for players is basically just expenses instead of players providing receipts. They probably agree to give up merchandising rights for that fee too. €1500 doesn't seem too much meaning approx 30k per match.
Would be crazy to pay players based on how much they earned & giving to charity should be a personal thing & i'm slightly uneasy about public figures publicising their donations.
livehead1
08/01/2005, 12:15 AM
ye but for a cause like this they can publicise all they want no1 gives a F8ck, jst get the $$ off them!!!!!
ramondo
08/01/2005, 11:35 AM
Maybe getting off topic but have to agree with Magoo about the whole charity bandwagon:
Hey let's have a charity pool match and donate the proceeds to tsunami victims
Hey let's have a concert and donate to tsunami victims
Hey let's give two days' wages to tsunami victims
Well, if it makes you feel better about yourself go ahead. Compared to the thousands of millions being donated by governments around the world (effectively coming from taxpayers' pockets) the extra few quid from the man on the street is peanuts. If you cared that much you'd spend your money on a plane ticket, get out there and help out.
Of course it's a good cause, but I'd be ****ed off if I was a player and was expected to donate a match fee to a cause someone had decided on my behalf. I'd like to make that decision myself - and not have to justify or defend my actions either way.
08/01/2005, 12:57 PM
Compared to the thousands of millions being donated by governments around the world (effectively coming from taxpayers' pockets) the extra few quid from the man on the street is peanuts.
What a stupid thing to say. There has probably been more money given to Asia from the general public in this world than there has by world government's. If everyone thought like you none of that money would be there.
edit: Just reading over your post again I can't believe anyone would say some of things you have TBH. Your last point is justified you could have opened your post a bit better to get your point across.
fosterdollar
10/01/2005, 9:24 AM
...and furthermore, I'd completely forgotten what a self-obsessed nation of selfish little $hits we have become in modern Ireland.
What exactly are you looking for here? For everyone to hand in recepits of what the donated to the Tsunami fund? Or what they donated to charity in general. Get off your moral high horse will ya. The points raised were not anti-charity or selfish. What they were was anti-bandwagon hypocrisy. There's no harm in it being pointed out you know. If it takes a massive disaster like what happened in Asia to get you or anyone else off their asses and start thinking about making charitable donations, then mayb it these people who should be worried about becoming selfish little sh*ts.
10/01/2005, 9:35 AM
Again, I think its foolish of anyone not to donate solely because they are "anti-bandwagon". Nothing close to this has happened in my life time. This has the potential to kill 100 times more than the 9/11 disaster, the one which we actually got a day of work to grieve. If it takes something like this for people to start given to charity regularly then fair enough.
ramondo
15/01/2005, 6:30 AM
Yep, my bit about personal donations versus government ones was a stupid thing to say, I'll admit that.
However - and I realise it is off topic - I just want to point out what I was getting at:
The numbers being quoted for money raised for tsunami relief and aid are huge but I'm just not impressed. Is it just me or have we, in our vastly improved economies, lost sense of the value of money? It's just too easy to throw some notes into a donation or send it electronically and kid ourselves we're doing our bit. When I was a kid the Trocaire box on the dinner table at Lent could never had held more than two to three quid - but it seems to me it had a lot more value than anything I could donate today.
Hey, that's just me. Before I shut up I'll say I've made a small donation and will probably make a larger one soon. What I won't be doing, as in the case of last Saturday outside the Opera House in Sydney, is make a song and dance about it.
Metrostars
18/01/2005, 2:08 PM
To give ye lads an update on this....all hell has broken lose. The USSF (Like FAI) had proposed an arbitrator but the players union didnt like it as it was mainly on USSF's terms. Then the union proposed a "mediator", the USSF says fine, as long as you promise not to strike during the remainder of the WC qualifying. The union says they'll promise not to strike but only if USSF starts paying them the 38% increase the union has already said wasnt enough. USSF says, f-off.
So then Bruce Arena the manager started calling uncapped players in MLS and lower European leagues but they say no as they don't want to be scabs. Now he is calling in players from the USL leagues (second and third division). The game is on February 9 against T&T and the USA is f-ed if they send a crap team down there. Forfeitting is not an option as if they do they'll be kicked out of the World Cup for a few years.
But I believe, somehow they'll sort it out by the end of January. They can't be that stupid/greedy? Or maybe they can.
Metrostars
19/01/2005, 1:39 PM
Here are the two player payments proposals.....makes for interesting reading:
http://www.ussoccer.com/services/fullstory.sps?iNewsid=142150
Metrostars
24/01/2005, 3:26 PM
BTW, they've sorted out their differences for now and Arena can use his regular players for the Feb 9 T&T game.