View Full Version : LFC to retrun to Hogan Park

GalwayFrancis
04/01/2005, 6:28 PM
Limerick FC have today declared that ambitious plans for the future will be announced at a Press Conference, taking place at the Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, at 6:15 pm on Wednesday next, January 5th.

Items on the agenda include the unveiling of the new first team manager, together with details of ambitious plans for development of the recently....more (http://www.soccercentral.ie/viewstory.asp?id=14443&mainheading=Eircom&viewstory=yes)

04/01/2005, 8:06 PM
ahh thanks dude couldnt do the link nice one :)

GalwayFrancis
04/01/2005, 10:36 PM
ahh thanks dude couldnt do the link nice one :)

dont know what you ment by that geal353, but for anyone who couldnt go thru that link heres the full text:

Limerick FC have today declared that ambitious plans for the future will be announced at a Press Conference, taking place at the Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, at 6:15 pm on Wednesday next, January 5th.

Items on the agenda include the unveiling of the new first team manager, together with details of ambitious plans for development of the recently secured Hogan Park, which will see Limerick FC return to the ground they occupied from the mid 80’s until a few seasons ago.

An announcement will also be made regarding the Under 21 side, and new signings, both on and off the pitch.

The consortium, led by businessman Danny Drew, is very excited and optimistic about the future of Limerick FC. There has already been significant financial investment from the new owners, with more to follow, and no stone will be left unturned in the quest to return Limerick to its rightful place in the top flight.

“This is indeed a milestone in the history of Limerick FC. I firmly believe that as Irelands third city, but its sporting capital, Limerick must be represented among the elite in Irish soccer once again. The proper financial and managerial structures are now in place to really make this work, and I’m very excited to be involved in shaping the future of Limerick FC.”

04/01/2005, 10:41 PM
“This is indeed a milestone in the history of Limerick FC. I firmly believe that as Irelands third city, but its sporting capital, Limerick must be represented among the elite in Irish soccer once again. The proper financial and managerial structures are now in place to really make this work, and I’m very excited to be involved in shaping the future of Limerick FC.”

Fair play lad ... thats what we like to hear !!

LFC in Exile
05/01/2005, 10:47 AM
What a wonderful day. :)

A few seasons and we will be scrounging for tickets for a big European game at Rathbane. The rugby fans might need something else to shout for at that stage (only kidding - plenty of room for a Heineken Cup along with an eL Championship in the city).

By the way, we need a new name for that ground. Could interest be generated in the city by starting a campaign to name it. Get us onto the news pages for a while anyway and let the council blow off some steam.

Great days.

John D, tell them to get the season tickets on sale asap! :ball:

Partizan
05/01/2005, 11:45 AM
Great news for the Lims, I'm delighted about all this. I just live around the corner from the Lodge, Elm Park (cardboard city) and might very well pop up to say Hi to the lads, slk, Blue is Beautiful, gael353 over a pint.

btw, Pat looks to be staying at Waterford. the Club relased a statement today on www.btid.tk, IBSC website on the players who have left and Pat's name is not on the 'OUT' list.

05/01/2005, 12:26 PM
thanks partizan, and those "players out" thing was posted two months ago so....if pat hasn't signed yet etc etc ill let you know tomorrow after tonights signings are announced.

clownboy
05/01/2005, 12:39 PM
How many players are expected to sign tonight lads??Hopefully Pat is back..Is Paul Finnucane staying?? hopefully because they are an excellent partnership

Partizan
05/01/2005, 12:43 PM
thanks partizan, and those "players out" thing was posted two months ago so....if pat hasn't signed yet etc etc ill let you know tomorrow after tonights signings are announced.

Kevin O'Brien has been added to the list if you look closely. well I might just hop along up meself to check it all out.

Colin Heffernan is Pat's best buddy and his aquisition by Rennie was double pronged, good player and a little incentive to keep Pat. All shall be revealed tonight.

05/01/2005, 12:46 PM
dum dum dooooooowhhhhhh! lol roll on tonight everyone has to wear some EL kit if not ill be there to sell some to ye :)

05/01/2005, 1:40 PM
congrats. delighted to see thing moving in the right direction for ye. here's to a munster derby in limerick next season in the premier

Clones Road Cas
05/01/2005, 2:32 PM
Good to see Limerick back up an running again. Limerick need a good team with a good ground. Best Wishes.

Clones Road Casual

05/01/2005, 9:46 PM
congrats lads heres hoping for promotion for ye! that 250/1 betlooks excellent value all a sudden! :p

carrickharp
06/01/2005, 7:39 AM
Yeah as above all the best lads good to see things working out for you at last :)

JohnD
06/01/2005, 8:49 AM
Thanks Lads for all the best wishes.
No names were mentioned "on the record" last night but expect they will be revealed soon, Derek mcCarthy is back though !

Most of the first Team were there along with a lot of Junior Players who were all meeting NOC (Noel O'Connor) on a one to one basis. The New Manager spoke about the need for Local Players and players playing to their potential.

Not a lot of detail other than what we already knew came out of the meeting. 7,000 all seater stadium in approx 3-5 yrs. This year we are going to have 600 seats and will be playing in Hogan Pk from the start of the season. Friday Night fotball is proposed as well. Shuttle Buses for supporters from West and South of the County as well as Ennis will be provided this season. Nice attendance of Supporters there amongst the Press (Echo,Leader,Star, Sun, 95Fm) reporters.

All in all an optimistic evening and new owners seem very approachable and want to have a close working relationship with the Supporters Club.

All the best

JohnD :)

dutchie
06/01/2005, 8:53 AM
just wondering any news from yesterday on players coming in and players going out,will limerick have their own official web site,whos with noel o connor,any mention of managers for u21 and u18,roll on the good times:

LFC in Exile
06/01/2005, 10:05 AM
[QUOTE=JohnD]All in all an optimistic evening and new owners seem very approachable and want to have a close working relationship with the Supporters Club.[QUOTE]

Good news John - a strong/stronger supporters club is still very important.

By the way - any chance of a bus from Cork? :D

JohnD
06/01/2005, 10:28 AM
Sorry to have mised your call last night LFC in Exile. Hope you were kept up to date by some of the lads.

As we will have a U21 team next year there will lots of new players coming in. As I said earlier a lot of Junior lads were there last night who with last years squad and new faces coming in will make up the numbers. I see Kevin O'Brien is looking to move for Waaaterford would be a good signing for us. I remember him scoring a peach in the Jacks a few years back.

The Rumour mill has it that Sweeney :D , D. Warren, Paddy P are all coming to Limerick.

There will be a new guy over the Program with some input from the SC , He posts on here quite a bit :p
Also an offical website is going to be setup which the SC will have a link off to a new SC website.Kinda like a Portal if you get my drift.

We will not have an U18 team next season but will have in the future. We will be competing in the U21 league and no managers have been announced yet.

Thats all I can think off at the mo I will post later if more stuff comes to mind.

All the best

JohnD

LFC in Exile
06/01/2005, 11:07 AM
Sorry to have mised your call last night LFC in Exile.

The Rumour mill has it that Sweeney :D , D. Warren, Paddy P are all coming to Limerick.

Thanks John, got the low down off Deise. As for the rumour mill - if we got two out of those three we would be laughing. As I suggested Warren on this board a few weeks ago I will take the credit for it (since it couldn't be anything to do with certain peoples links to Cork City). You could make my day entirely by rounding that to a nice foursome with Stevo. Or am I just getting too greedy. :p Happy days!

A suggestion for the SC as well is to try and get some singing/chanting going at home games. We are good at away games but get all shy when we are at home.

deise deserter
06/01/2005, 12:38 PM
Good news as long as all goes to plan. Very positive meeting with the exception of the moron from the schoolboys leagues who only ever seems to turn up at these meetings to whinge like a little b!tch. I find it very hard to listen to someone who attends more meetings than matches.

Squad-wise things are looking promising. Everyone cross your fingers. :p

Partizan
06/01/2005, 1:33 PM
The issue of Paddy Purcell remains to be seen, but I will say Purcell will stay for another season at the Blues and then hop back to Limerick.

Limerick will just miss out on promotion next season as they are in the process of rebuilding the Club from the ineptness of the previous incumbants. It will take at least two years to assemble a decent enough squad and coaching staff as well as putting structures in place to ensure Limerick's stability and make a real push for promotion.

Waterford are more or less an established mid table Premier Division Club who just lost the Cup Final, as well as being financially secure while Limerick finished bottom of the First and are only now after years in the doldrums finally beginning to put their house in order and will remain in the First for a couple of years although with a good vision for the future.

Given these circumstances Purcell will stay for another year with us. Then again, the lure of his hometown may be too irresistable. We have already lost Ben Whelehan to Dublin City. :eek:

Buller
06/01/2005, 2:54 PM
thats a gud point. itll take time 2 rebuild a club like them who have been in de "doldrums" for years... :o

LFC in Exile
06/01/2005, 3:13 PM
I am not so sure. The first division is a strange league. There really is very little to choose between all of the teams. If Limerick could get four to five new players (decent ones) they will challenge this year. It will of course take a few years (more than two) to create real stability but promotion from the first requires good players and a bit of luck - why not. :ball:

07/01/2005, 8:57 AM
Lads you're certainly making difficult for me.

Over the last 3 years I've been to Jackman Park and Pike Rovers SG in my attempt to visit as many EL club's grounds as possible.

Now due to your constant groundhopping I'll have to make another trip to Limerick next season :mad:

Seriously though best of luck next season and I hope this is the start of something big for Limerick.

By the way who owns Hogan Park now?

LFC in Exile
07/01/2005, 9:20 AM
Lads you're certainly making difficult for me.

Over the last 3 years I've been to Jackman Park and Pike Rovers SG in my attempt to visit as many EL club's grounds as possible.

Now due to your constant groundhopping I'll have to make another trip to Limerick next season :mad:

Seriously though best of luck next season and I hope this is the start of something big for Limerick.

By the way who owns Hogan Park now?

You can join the select and elite group who have been to every eL ground in Limerick. :)

07/01/2005, 5:36 PM
From what i head the other night anyway the ground has been leased for 100 years from Peter Hogan and i imagine Danny Drews name is on the lease.

4tothefloor
07/01/2005, 8:02 PM
Peter Hogan will be doing well if he can still remember his own name in 100 years time, so we can claim squatters rights by then :D

08/01/2005, 2:23 PM
Hill Celtic are returning to THEIR ground as we have returned to OUR one. They've been well looked after.

LFC in Exile
08/01/2005, 2:52 PM
where does hill celtic go now does anybody know since they played there football out of there for the last few years

Was it the mention of squatters that put that thought into your head? :) They must have had a ground before they took up residence in Rathbane - I presume they are gone back there.

09/01/2005, 1:25 PM
work has started. The JCB'S are in since last week clearing the place, prepairing the ground work for the new structures. painters are going to paint the place and all the old seats have been ripped out. The entrance is not pretty. A lot of the old houses around there are boarded up and the road in is vary,,,, i dunno. The outside of the ground looks very run down but shur why wouldnt it the last time it was looked after was when it was built in 1983. Ill get some pics tomorrow. The "mound" behind the cork rd end is being taken away but the area behind the dug outs is huge. The workers are all right to talk to but id say avoid visiting for a week or two at least.

10/01/2005, 12:34 PM
You can join the select and elite group who have been to every eL ground in Limerick. :)

Never made it to the Market's Field I'm afraid.

10/01/2005, 11:38 PM
Excuse my lack of memeory of which ground is which;

Jackman Park is the one at the round about by the new bypass next to the swimming pool?

Hogan Park is the one by the train station?

Market Fields, Grey Hound track?

Pike Rovers I know.

11/01/2005, 7:10 AM
Excuse my lack of memeory of which ground is which;

Jackman Park is the one at the round about by the new bypass next to the swimming pool?

Hogan Park is the one by the train station?

Market Fields, Grey Hound track?

Pike Rovers I know.

Jackman Park is the one by the Railway Station

Hogan Park/Rathbane is the one on the bypass.

The Markets Field is the Greyhound stadium.

LFC Blue
11/01/2005, 9:00 AM
[QUOTE=gael353]work has started. The JCB'S are in since last week clearing the place, prepairing the ground work for the new structures. painters are going to paint the place and all the old seats have been ripped out. The entrance is not pretty. A lot of the old houses around there are boarded up and the road in is vary,,,, i dunno. The outside of the ground looks very run down but shur why wouldnt it the last time it was looked after was when it was built in 1983. Ill get some pics tomorrow. The "mound" behind the cork rd end is being taken away but the area behind the dug outs is huge. The workers are all right to talk to but id say avoid visiting for a week or two at least.

Did you get them pics yet Gael??

11/01/2005, 3:43 PM
indeed i did but im not going to put them up untill i get some more. The ones i have show the shear enormity of me, sorry the place :p its massive. Problem is its very very muddy up there at the mo and its mainly a clearing up thing thats being done. Next week the real work starts, i belive the 600 seats arrived last night, and whisper it softly but judging on the work thats being done right now that there will be a stand built in the comming season at the opposite end to the existing shed. Also that swimming pool looks ripe for a ball and chain ;) if ye get my drift. Hill Celtic will be moving into the back pitch so i was told. But lads the place is bloody massive. And as one fellow fan said to me yesterday 'its all very exciting'.

LFC Blue
14/01/2005, 8:18 AM
Well Gael any more info on the developement of STADIUM RATHBANE!!Will it still be known as Hogan Park or whats the story there?? I can't wait to see them pics.With LFC you nearly have to see it to believe it sometimes.I'll always remember an interview on 95FM the time we got the big crowds for the Dundalk Cup games under Dave Connell when Father Joe proclaimed that the first blocks in the new clubhouse would be layed within three weeks!!!

14/01/2005, 8:20 PM
no real news but i did hear today from a Fairview source that Tommy Barrett had signed for us on Thursday evening :) I think as Hogan no longer has the ground we should change it and yea i think something like stad luimni to pull down gailge grants as well as stopping any other sports group from taking it might be good. At the PC it was stated that if a sponsor came in they would consider it. No real news and im going to go up the start of the week to see if there are any developments up there. sorry for the lateness of the pics lads but there are others on there with pretty nifty cams who can do it also but i will do it promise

lim abroad
15/01/2005, 3:45 AM
is it true that tommy barrett signed,he would be a major addition to the squad,a proven goalscorer who's also very versatile,he even played in goals for the view last season.im really looking forward to a promising season fot the blues this yeaR

LFC in Exile
17/01/2005, 10:55 AM
no real news but i did hear today from a Fairview source that Tommy Barrett had signed for us on Thursday evening :) I think as Hogan no longer has the ground we should change it and yea i think something like stad luimni to pull down gailge grants as well as stopping any other sports group from taking it might be good. At the PC it was stated that if a sponsor came in they would consider it. No real news and im going to go up the start of the week to see if there are any developments up there. sorry for the lateness of the pics lads but there are others on there with pretty nifty cams who can do it also but i will do it promise

Stad Luimni? Na - don't like it. Gaeilge grants - what are you on?

Whats wrong with Rathbane? Anyway, I think looking for a sponsor would be best option. Stick their name on it for a few quid.

Alternatively, in the interest of generating some interest in the city why not a comptetition run through the Leader or Echo or Live 95 to come up with a name. At least it gets the club onto the radio/paper in teh off-season.

17/01/2005, 12:24 PM
im not against rathbane, its just its not called rathbane its hogan park which i want rid of. The reason i said call it an irish name was a few years ago galway united got grants for having advertising stuff in irish now maybe it was minister O'Cuiv giving to his eloctorate but i think if we dont go down the stadfium naming route we can do that or both. Great idea about the comp to name it though on the media i think we should do a pole here anyway in the meantime.

17/01/2005, 12:28 PM
i think we should do a pole here anyway in the meantime.
poll here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=21163)

17/01/2005, 1:33 PM
I doubt we could get any gaeilge grants because we're not a gaeltacht area.

LFC Blue
20/01/2005, 8:30 AM
Anyone up in Rathbane lately?? How's developement progressing??

20/01/2005, 10:07 AM
I voted for sponsors name simply because the ground is going to be called either 'Ratbane' or 'Hogan' by punters anyway. They might as well get the few quid to have it called whatever on the sports results.

Maybe whatshisname will stump up to have it called "sporting Limerick park".
Maybe then he'll stump up to have Limerick FC sponsor Limerick GAAs shirts :eek: Can you imagine that? The green Limerick GAA shirt emblazoned across the front with Limerick FC -playing REAL football ...not this made up hokum ****e!!! :cool:

20/01/2005, 1:43 PM
Anyone up in Rathbane lately?? How's developement progressing??

Well I went up with gael353 the other day and once the three horses and the goat got out of our way we could see that they've cleared away an awful lot of the rubbish that had accumulated there. Not a lot of concrete stuff yet though.

4tothefloor
20/01/2005, 10:42 PM
Well I went up with gael353 the other day and once the three horses and the goat got out of our way

NOC's latest signings. Great.....an improvement on last years squad already. Premier league here we come!

LFC Blue
04/02/2005, 8:21 AM
Anyone up in Rathbane lately lads. Any pics????

04/02/2005, 10:35 AM
No pics im afraid but its does look a lot cleaner lot of rubble, broken glass, horses etc. have been removed. The outside of the ground and the approaches however are truly manky :(

LFC Blue
04/02/2005, 11:26 AM
Horses :D :D :D What about the playing surface? It was always very troublesome so i don't expect that has changed. With hard ground during the Summer i'd say them ridges in it could be a nightmare for our flying wingers!

04/02/2005, 12:05 PM
Horses :D :D :D What about the playing surface? It was always very troublesome so i don't expect that has changed. With hard ground during the Summer i'd say them ridges in it could be a nightmare for our flying wingers!

Are you implying that maybe Hill Celtic neglected the hallowed playing surface :eek: :D Ya pitch has seen better days alright shame as i remember it was a fine pitch years ago but has suffered from neglect by Limerick and Hill Celtic