View Full Version : 2016 Fixture List

oriel
21/12/2015, 9:57 AM
Does anyone know when these are out for the PD and FD?

I read somewhere it may be tomorrow, but in recent years were these not released until early January, with the FD fixtures held off for a few weeks?

21/12/2015, 10:05 AM
Recent years has been before Christmas. Last year was 16th Dec.

ybig
21/12/2015, 10:11 AM
Will be today or tomorow at the latest. Im not sure if its just Premier . First Division shouldn't be delayed like last year you would think

21/12/2015, 11:04 AM
First Division will be delayed for sure. They'll wait until end of January before they're released to see if there's any new teams apply.

2015:

Premier - 16th December
First 29th January

2014:

Premier - 20th December
First - 14th January

2013:

Premier - 20th December
First - 25th January

2012:

Premier - 22nd December
First - 22nd January

21/12/2015, 11:15 AM
Will be today or tomorow at the latest. Im not sure if its just Premier . First Division shouldn't be delayed like last year you would think
FAI are talking to St Kevin's Boys about entering but unlikely to be this year if at all.

21/12/2015, 11:51 AM
Fixtures out at 11am tomorrow.

oriel
21/12/2015, 1:08 PM
First Division will be delayed for sure. They'll wait until end of January before they're released to see if there's any new teams apply.

2015:

Premier - 16th December
First 29th January

2014:

Premier - 20th December
First - 14th January

2013:

Premier - 20th December
First - 25th January

2012:

Premier - 22nd December
First - 22nd January

No annual moan this year Nigel about the delayed FD fixtures, if there is one !!!

21/12/2015, 1:15 PM
No annual moan this year Nigel about the delayed FD fixtures, if there is one !!!

Of course there is. It's ridiculous to say the least that they're only given a handful of weeks to prepare for their first game as opposed to a couple of months at Premier Division.

Just because Harps are out of the First Division doesn't mean I don't think it's ridiculous the treatment the division gets.

ybig
22/12/2015, 10:11 AM
http://www.sseairtricityleague.ie/news/6572-201SSE

Premier Division Series 1
Friday, March 4
Cork City v Bohemians, Turner’s Cross, 7.45pm.
St. Patrick’s Athletic v Galway United, Richmond Park, 7.45pm.
Finn Harps v Derry City, Finn Park, 8pm.
Wexford Youths v Longford Town, Ferrycarrig Park, 8pm.

Saturday, March 5
Bray Wanderers v Dundalk, Carlisle Grounds, 7.30pm.
Sligo Rovers v Shamrock Rovers, The Showgrounds, 7.45

Town Legend
22/12/2015, 10:17 AM
If you played 17 away last year then are you not entitled to 17 at home this year? I noticed someone on Twitter questioning that point. I know we played 17 away last year and have 17 away again this year.

Real ale Madrid
22/12/2015, 10:35 AM
If you played 17 away last year then are you not entitled to 17 at home this year? I noticed someone on Twitter questioning that point. I know we played 17 away last year and have 17 away again this year.

The Fixtures run in 2 year cycles - last year was the end of a 2 year cycle and this year starts another 2 year cycle - if you get 17 away this year you get 16 away next year.

22/12/2015, 10:38 AM

Cycle of fixtures changed this year far as I know. Next year you'll get 17 home if you stay up.

Cork and Wexford away twice in a row...eh..twice.

Derry, Shamrock Rovers and Dundalk in Monday night games.

But Derry at home to start the season and Bohs at home to finish the season balances it out somewhat.

Just happy to be there I suppose.

22/12/2015, 11:56 AM
17 homes; Cork, Wexford, Sligo, Harps, Bray and Pats. Those 6 teams also only have 1 midweek game at home

The 5 games that will defo move because of the Europa League are July 1st; Cork v Sligo, Pats v Harps, Galway v Rovers and July 8th; Rovers v Derr and Wexford v Cork. (Sligo v Pats on the Saturday might be OK depending on the draw)

Finlay Harp
22/12/2015, 12:08 PM
Thank you Santa!

22/12/2015, 12:50 PM
We've Cork at home on a Monday. Pretty useless scheduling there. Can't say I'm delighted with Bray away on a Monday either.
Will miss Longford away in the October, the day before Moldova away. I know it's not big numbers of people involved, but it'd be nice if the FAI left a few days free either side of away internationals.

Harps away first day is tasty though, TBF.

22/12/2015, 2:00 PM
Finn Park should be packed on 4th March. I'd expect as big if not bigger attendance in that game as we had for Limerick in the play-off.
Dundalk away always a decent away trip for us too.

22/12/2015, 4:03 PM

So no extra home game this year as was advertised on de towns Facebook page when selling season tickets. Someone jumped the gun.

L.T.F.C.
22/12/2015, 4:45 PM
So no extra home game this year as was advertised on de towns Facebook page when selling season tickets. Someone jumped the gun.
Do the season tickets include the cup?

22/12/2015, 4:49 PM

no! it has never happened!

L.T.F.C.
22/12/2015, 6:07 PM
Shocking price anyway!

GCdfc
22/12/2015, 9:13 PM
Dundalk away always a decent away trip for us too.

Don't forget to pack your Tayto and buy a stand ticket. We had enough complaints last season.

seand
23/12/2015, 10:30 AM
As Dodge mentioned the teams with 16 home games are the ones suffering two midweek home games too. So Dundalk, Longford etc will have 14 weekend home games while Harps, Bray etc will have 16 weekend home games. Awful planning. It's a significant financial hit to the likes of Longford and Galway on top of the massive financial (and sporting) hit of one less home game.

Regarding the midweek fixtures, I reckon you want lower profile games moved to midweek. Better to lose a few hundred off the gate when Bray or Harps are in town than 1,000+ if Rovers or Cork are the visitors.

23/12/2015, 12:05 PM
http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/derry-city-news/shiels-slams-fai-over-fixtures-1-7130922

Boo feckin hoo.

Calcio Jack
23/12/2015, 12:24 PM
http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/derry-city-news/shiels-slams-fai-over-fixtures-1-7130922

Boo feckin hoo.
Yet more compelling evidence that the sooner Derry move back to their own league in their own country the better- you don't like long distance travel to Cork etc well the answer is simple move on back.

PartySaint
23/12/2015, 1:15 PM

Boo feckin hoo.

I was hoping all our games would be at home but the FAI screwed us and now we have to play away as well, the b*stards

23/12/2015, 3:43 PM
Aye, bit of a weird moan there really, seems he wanted to play one of the Harps games out of sequence. I'd have given off more about the fact that the home Harps is a Monday night, Friday would have been much more craic. I don't know what relevance Cork (who we played away three times actually) and Limerick trips last year should have on the Harps matches either.
And besides all that, does Shiels really think the Brandywell will be getting redeveloped next season? What lies have we told him?

23/12/2015, 4:34 PM

Clubs not allowed include cup in season ticket I thought.

23/12/2015, 5:09 PM
Clubs not allowed include cup in season ticket I thought.

Correct, FAI regulations

sidcon
23/12/2015, 5:47 PM
Correct, FAI regulations
Incorrect not in any regulations, the only rule is a percentage of the gate goes to the away team and a smaller percentage goes to the FAI. Members of Bohemian's get to go to cup game for the last 2 years for €5

placid casual
23/12/2015, 7:15 PM
Yet more compelling evidence that the sooner Derry move back to their own league in their own country the better- you don't like long distance travel to Cork etc well the answer is simple move on back.

I couldnt agree more.
hopefully nature takes its course, sooner rather than later

MattB11
24/12/2015, 2:03 AM
Yea I don't think Derry's return to the Irish League will be happening anytime soon......or ever, and sure every team in the bloody country moans about the long distance away fixture's

24/12/2015, 7:55 AM
Yea I don't think Derry's return to the Irish League will be happening anytime soon......or ever, and sure every team in the bloody country moans about the long distance away fixture's
It's a special club who moans about their nearest away fixture though...

patrickccfc
24/12/2015, 10:17 AM

Boo feckin hoo.

If this is the precedent he wants to set then crusaders manager Stephen Baxter should've appealed to UEFA to get their champions league game moved to when he got back from his holidays

oriel
27/12/2015, 9:49 PM
If this is the precedent he wants to set then crusaders manager Stephen Baxter should've appealed to UEFA to get their champions league game moved to when he got back from his holidays

That was one of my favourite football stories of 2015. Champions of NI league, you would have known for months you are playing home and away from late June (in their case) and he has a family holiday booked. For me the best part is, he STILL went on it.

Incredible stuff.

On our own fixtures, mixed bag really. One home game less compared to 2015, but we have Cork at home twice, but Rovers away twice again.

Calcio Jack
28/12/2015, 10:25 AM
Incredible stuff.

On our own fixtures, mixed bag really. One home game less compared to 2015, but we have Cork at home twice, but Rovers away twice again.[/QUOTE]

Oriel- based on your recent kit launch where you revealed your inferiority complex/ obsession with 'Talla' which highlighted to the FAI that you seem to love playing there no doubt they thought allowing you play there would thrill you.🎣

Ezeikial
28/12/2015, 11:48 AM
This inferiority complex is probably based on recent results

Prior to winning the title in Tallaght in October the previous 10 meetings:

01.09.2015 (LGE) Dundalk 2-0 Shamrock Rovers (Finn 16, Gannon 68)
17.04.2015 (LGE) Shamrock Rovers 2-2 Dundalk (Drennan pen 56, 60; McMillan 45, Finn 46)
13.10.2014 (LGE)Dundalk 0-0 Shamrock Rovers
20.09.2014 (EAC) Dundalk 3-2 Shamrock Rovers (Massey 3, 47, Hoban 48; McGuinness 28, Kilduff 75)
15.09.2014(FCUP) Dundalk 1-2 Shamrock Rovers (Hoban 40; Sheppard 81, 88)
12.09.2014(FCUP) Shamrock Rovers 0-0 Dundalk
13.07.2014 (LGE) Shamrock Rovers 0-1 Dundalk (Hoban 66)
18.04.2014 (LGE) Dundalk 2-2 Shamrock Rovers (Kilduff 13, Finn 90; Towell pen 55, Meenan 61)
15.04.2014 (SSC) Dundalk 1-0 Shamrock Rovers (Shields 47)
24.03.2014 (SSC) Shamrock Rovers 1-2 Dundalk (Zayed 83; Towell pen 10, pen 33)

Calcio Jack
28/12/2015, 11:54 AM
This inferiority complex is probably based on recent results

Prior to winning the title in Tallaght in October the previous 10 meetings:

01.09.2015 (LGE) Dundalk 2-0 Shamrock Rovers (Finn 16, Gannon 68)
17.04.2015 (LGE) Shamrock Rovers 2-2 Dundalk (Drennan pen 56, 60; McMillan 45, Finn 46)
13.10.2014 (LGE)Dundalk 0-0 Shamrock Rovers
20.09.2014 (EAC) Dundalk 3-2 Shamrock Rovers (Massey 3, 47, Hoban 48; McGuinness 28, Kilduff 75)
15.09.2014(FCUP) Dundalk 1-2 Shamrock Rovers (Hoban 40; Sheppard 81, 88)
12.09.2014(FCUP) Shamrock Rovers 0-0 Dundalk
13.07.2014 (LGE) Shamrock Rovers 0-1 Dundalk (Hoban 66)
18.04.2014 (LGE) Dundalk 2-2 Shamrock Rovers (Kilduff 13, Finn 90; Towell pen 55, Meenan 61)
15.04.2014 (SSC) Dundalk 1-0 Shamrock Rovers (Shields 47)
24.03.2014 (SSC) Shamrock Rovers 1-2 Dundalk (Zayed 83; Towell pen 10, pen 33)

I rest my case , to coin a phrase ".. Thou doth obsess to much.."🎣

Ezeikial
28/12/2015, 12:01 PM
I rest my case , to coin a phrase ".. Thou doth obsess to much.."

Guilty as charged - I must confess to taking a particular delight in seeing arrogant Rovers fans crestfallen.

placid casual
28/12/2015, 8:33 PM
As with all Dundalk fans ,you overemphasise your teams effect on Rovers fans. We reserve our crestfallen nature for when losing to the bozo's (more than necessary in recent years!!). You guys are the current Sligo and will be scratching around the lower reaches of the LOI soon enough. Until then I would humbly suggest you enjoy your time in the sun.

oriel
28/12/2015, 8:49 PM
Nothing last forever and more so in LOI scene. However it's worth noting that Dundalk's main challengers in most competitions since 2013 has been Pats and Cork, the former won a league, a cup, and a league cup. The latter put in two decent seasons and came runners ups.

Placid, don't be at it now, Sligo didn't win two in a row, but they were a better side than Rovers over the same period.

Rovers at home was always a big game, always will be, but it's not necessarily the biggest game of the season. It's one I look forward to though.

This Dundalk dominance will certainly not last forever, might get another 2 years out of it, who knows, but we'll definitely enjoy it for as long as it lasts. It will end though, we'll agree on that.

28/12/2015, 8:52 PM
As with all Dundalk fans ,you overemphasise your teams effect on Rovers fans. We reserve our crestfallen nature for when losing to the bozo's (more than necessary in recent years!!). You guys are the current Sligo and will be scratching around the lower reaches of the LOI soon enough. Until then I would humbly suggest you enjoy your time in the sun.

You ok hun?
:silly::rolleyes::cool:

28/12/2015, 11:19 PM

Ye might want to go and get a snickers!

ybig
19/01/2016, 11:16 AM
The full fixture list for the Airtricity First Division 2016 season will be released on Thursday January 21st at 12 midday

Olander
19/01/2016, 1:00 PM
Any link where it should be released?
http://www.sseairtricityleague.ie/ you would assume?

SeanDMRooney
21/01/2016, 1:11 AM
Ceist would it not have made more sense to have Pats play Dundalk in the Presidents Cup rather than Cork as the winners of the League Cup ?

21/01/2016, 8:35 AM
Ceist would it not have made more sense to have Pats play Dundalk in the Presidents Cup rather than Cork as the winners of the League Cup ?

Presidents Cup is between winners of the League and FAI Cup though. Cork were runners up in both so it makes sense to play it between them. By any other logic you might as well have Wexford vs St Pats, just because.

dundalkfc10
21/01/2016, 8:58 AM
Presidents Cup is between winners of the League and FAI Cup though. Cork were runners up in both so it makes sense to play it between them. By any other logic you might as well have Wexford vs St Pats, just because.

Anyone with any clue about football knew it would be us V Cork.

Sure why not play Drogheda V Cabinteely as the 2 bottom teams!

GCdfc
21/01/2016, 9:14 AM
It should be Dundalk v Dundalk. It would be interesting to see our u-19's and fringe players against the first team.

Nailor
21/01/2016, 11:01 AM
http://www.sseairtricityleague.ie/images/2016_Season_SSE_Airtricity_First_Division_League_F ixture_List.pdf

21/01/2016, 11:06 AM
First Division - Series 1

Friday, March 4
Cabinteely v Athlone Town, Stadbrook, KO 7:45pm
Drogheda United v Waterford United, United Park, KO 7:45pm
Shelbourne v Cobh Ramblers, Tolka Park, KO 7:45pm

Saturday, March 5
Limerick v UCD, Markets Field, KO 6:30pm